Lamborghini Urus makes launch debut in Singapore

The Lamborghini Urus recently celebrated its global premiere at the company’s headquarters in Sant’Agata Bolognese, and has now made its launch debut in Singapore, just a week later. Reservations for Lamborghini’s second SUV model (first being the LM002) are now open in Singapore (price not given), with deliveries set to take place in 2018.

The Urus’ Singapore debut marks the SUV’s first appearance outside Italy, with the event taking place at the ArtScience Museum in Marina Bay Sands. To celebrate the occasion, 122 Lamborghini cars assembled to break the record in Asia for the largest number of Lamborghini cars in a convoy.

Under the bonnet, the Urus is powered by a specially-developed 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8, which outputs 650 PS and 850 Nm of torque. An eight-speed automatic gearbox is paired with the mill, along with an all-wheel drive system to divert torque appropriately frontwards and rearwards.

Performance wise, the sub-2,200 kg SUV will make the century sprint in just 3.6 seconds, with the next 100 km/h arriving 9.2 seconds later. The top speed is pegged at 305 km/h, and it’ll only take 33.7 metres for the Urus to come to a full stop from 100 km/h.

Dubbed the “world’s first super sport utility vehicle (SSUV),” the Urus’ styling is as you’d expect of a Lamborghini – striking, and yet retaining certain cues of the similarly-named concept that previewed it five years ago.

The angular theme of the exterior is reflected inside the cabin as well, which comes with a mix of leather, Alcantara, aluminium, carbon fibre and wood. Customers will also have a plethora of personalisation options to browse through to create their dream Urus.

GALLERY: Lamborghini Urus

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Did you know that singapore has the highest number of Singaporeans that owns lamborghini?

now u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 20
    • Jaafar Karim on Dec 15, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Singaporeans earn a lot. They can afford these cars. They have the 3rd highest GP per capita in the world. Malaysia GDP Per Capita is No 40 plus

They work hard to enjoy high pay. They earn 6x more than Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 46
    • Theres alwiz been a healthy rivalry between the Lambos is SG and the Felalis in MY. Oh yeah, we have the highest Felali count in ASEAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 80
      • Jimmy on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:29 pm

Patek versus Va-cher-on Con-stan-tan.

Malaysians always want to be have the Number One things, it is good if we honestly work hard to earn them.

Ever turn down a RM 5 million ringgit ?

• AbdulChongKumar on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Singapore has the highest number of USD millionaires in the world. It also boasts a higher per capita income, even higher than Switzerland now. So of course Lamborghini and Ferarri will go to Singapore first.

• Hussein Mahdi on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:21 am

why we don’t have highest per capita also? We have the highest and most amount of natural resources in the world.

But Singapore has ZERO natural resources.

So how come they got highest per capita income?

• Panjang on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:38 pm

Proton Kurus SUV kamming soon

• johnorangmelayupakainamamatsalleh on Dec 17, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Nonsense. More Ferraris, Lamborghini, Porsches and Rolls Royces registered in Singapore than in Malaysia.

• Jaafar Karim on Dec 18, 2017 at 12:41 am

Gaji purata Singapore Gomen Servant is SGD5000 (RM18,000)

Gaji purata Putrajaya Gomen Servant is RM1200

RM1200 vs RM18,000

No wonder they can buy Lambo

• topkek on Dec 18, 2017 at 5:55 pm

That 18k is for senior manager, then you compare with B40 pipu?

Topkek

• James on Dec 15, 2017 at 7:49 pm

“Singapore has the highest number singaporean owns lamborghini”. Very well word play. You deceive most of PT readers.

• Fellow citizen on Dec 16, 2017 at 8:36 pm

Singapore also has the highest number of kiasu

• Wow also singapore has the highest ratio of singaporeans.

• A super SUV that is faster than super cars!
    Lamborghini only for those colonies in Malaysia, too expensive for ordinary people like me. We run our business, there is still chance to own 5series or E-class but impossible for Lamborghini, unless………….

• Wong Fei Hong on Dec 15, 2017 at 3:51 pm

Unless you work for Sabah Water Department…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • Or Penang One Stop Center
        Or Slgr Sand Mining Department…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 41
        • Huzaimi3 on Dec 17, 2017 at 2:16 pm

MY Submarine. Help plzz.

forgotten whr i parked it :((

• Jaafar Karim on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Penang is now another Singapore. So much investments coming in. All Mat Salleh now invest in Penang only

• Hussein Mahdi on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:22 am

work for Putrajaya better, can get RM2.6 bil free

• 12yrsold on Dec 15, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Still can own a Lambo “if” U Kena Lottery. Otherwise, together we can always dream Right !

• how much there? RM3,000,000?

• Need to add 10X on top for COE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
    • Jaafar Karim on Dec 16, 2017 at 8:10 am

many have told you before that this is not true. I have also told you this many times. COE cannot be 10x the price of the car john

I have showed you examples before. As the above, if car is 3 million, COE cannot be 30 million. That means the car will be RM33 million?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • “I have also told you this many times”.
        Arent u new here? Oh wait, now I see what u did…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Hussein Mahdi on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:51 am

COE cannot be sepuluh ganda bang. This is the same person who says Malaysia got cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest cars in the world

• Ben Yap on Dec 15, 2017 at 1:39 pm

this SUV can smoke all SUVs.

• honestly, the suv looks very plain if not ugly. Do not have the ‘wow’ factor like their cars. By the way, singaporean will buy lambo and race in malaysian highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Dec 15, 2017 at 3:28 pm

I think by next year we shall see Urus and xc60 earlier on the road than CHR.

UMW so slow mo

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 15, 2017 at 4:27 pm

The most expensive VW yet…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Thelustmachines on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Tells you how mighty VW is right? Bentley Bentayga, Lamborghini Urus, Porsche Cayman and Audi Q7. All of them global best sellers making huge profits. What more do you want?

• BowArrow on Dec 15, 2017 at 7:05 pm

wow Singapore got Huracan Performante already?? look at that yellow huracan with wing.

• Alvin on Dec 16, 2017 at 12:30 am

No doubt. That’s currency power right there with 122 Lamborghini autoshow. Even Huracan costed less than a million sgd. For us Malaysian, 1.2 millions without tax. Consider us unfortunate for being in-debt PR.

• Hussein Mahdi on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:24 am

why is Singapore currency 3.3 to the Ringgit.

In 1983, Ringgit was 1 to 1 with Singapore dollar. In 30 years, our currency become 300% less

• Chris on Dec 16, 2017 at 1:22 am

What’s the appeal of a super SUV? Later will turn turtle?

• Proton iz King on Dec 16, 2017 at 11:02 am

My proton Neo can smoke this Lambo. Anyday, anytime and anywhere.

• This is a ‘made in italy’ german car. German parts and ex porsche design head. It doesnt sound like a lambo either. Pity the mug who buys one.