VW Tiguan Comfortline gets RM5,099 ‘Wild’ package

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has introduced a ‘Wild’ styling package for the Tiguan Comfortline. The pack includes aluminium sports pedals, a chrome trunk garnish, a chrome load lip protector, chrome exhaust trim, scuff plates with the Tiguan logo, and “VW Tint” window film. The Wild package retails for RM5,099.

The Wild package is a local effort to visually boost the Comfortline, the entry of the two Tiguan trim levels in Malaysia, the other being the Highline. The CKD locally assembled Tiguan Comfortline is priced at RM149,578, or RM154,677 with the Wild package. The Highline is priced at RM169,578, all on-the-road excluding insurance.

Recently, VPCM quietly rolled out an MIB infotainment system update for the Tiguan Comfortline and Highline. The Highline now has an eight-inch Discover Media system while the Comfortline gets a similarly sized Composition Media system. The latter loses out on Discover’s GPS navigation and a reverse camera. Check out our video of the slick-looking new system.

The second-generation Tiguan, launched here exactly a year ago, is powered by a 1.4 litre TSI engine with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. The single turbo engine is mated to a six-speed DSG wet dual-clutch automatic gearbox. The official claimed fuel consumption is 6.7 litres per 100 km (14.9 km/l) in the European cycle. 0-100 km/h in done in 8.9 seconds.

Like all current VW models (effective January 1, 2018), the Tiguan comes with a free three-year (or 45,000 km) maintenance programme along with a five-year factory warranty and five-year roadside assistance. Head over to CarBase.my for full specs and details.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Comfortline

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• thepolygonal on Apr 06, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Modify a bit with bodykit so that it looks like Hyundai Matrix…

• Muzaffar Shah on Apr 06, 2018 at 4:05 pm

VPCM is very greedy. Already Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world, somemore VPCM want to hantam Malaysians even more and squeeze the rakyat more.

The least VPCM should do is give this package free. After all per car sold, they make a huge profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
      • Will Give It FOC Very Soon on Apr 06, 2018 at 4:38 pm

VPCM don’t know Malaysia market. You cannot sell because the car looks “cheap”. To clear your stockyard but go dig deeper in consumer’s pocket?

Come on, you just should introduce Highline for all your models. If Malaysians interested in cheaper alternative, they will always go for Honda or Toyota. Understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • VPCM alredi gip huge diskaun until u complain no RV. Apa mau lagi?
        Jual mahal pun salah.
        Jual murah pun salah.
        Adoi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 28
    • All these can get from ali or taobao at 1/5 the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • This is a very very good car, the chassis and engine are superb. It also looks really good in real life!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • The Saga bodykit styling looks more premium

https://paultan.org/2017/09/13/tuned-shows-revised-proton-saga-bodykit-rm5490/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • RM150k can’t give led drl and projected headlamp as standard?

• Ongtk on Apr 06, 2018 at 4:54 pm

The Comfortline has no keyless entry, start-stop, and LED DRL. Basic features on most cars nowadays. Even the ever popular MyVi has them. Why don’t VPCM include these as standard items and sell at the existing price? I am sure this addition will move the stock. Forget about the wild package?. I would buy the Highline over the Wild package Comfortline for the RM15k difference.

• Proton oh Proton on Apr 06, 2018 at 4:24 pm

ugly ducking….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Wheres the ‘Wild’ in this? Got so much chrome, why not call it Chrome package instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Apr 06, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Go and design your own car la. Complain about everything. The Tiguan looks very good already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
      • Go and learn how to read la. Im not talking about the car just the add on package. Wild means jackup suspensions, stronger absorbers, step up plates, bullbars, winch, rows of foglights, offroad rims, chunky tyres. Not chrome everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
      • Muzaffar Shah on Apr 06, 2018 at 11:03 pm

Kunta, you are right. Anyway if people talk a lot, go design your own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • wait.. what ? on Apr 08, 2018 at 1:23 pm

they had the premium or chrome package some sort offering to the market previously. but now come up with the WILD package, but everything the same as those previous offers. just the additional badge behind..what’s the point..

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 06, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Ah crap and here we thought VW revised the kit count to match the better equipped CRV and CX5. The Tiguan price doesn’t make sense against the Japanese lineup which has driver assists and LED headlights.

• Its conti driving dynamics and branding is worth the diff, no? As a conti user, u shud know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Honda Fan on Apr 07, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Conti is always conti and the ride experience is not the same. CRV will forever be the most popular C segment SUV, loosing only short while to X-trail previously. But it is hard to really admire the CRV in the ride dynamics, comfort and NVH. The current CRV is out for few months, there are already so many on the roads, at the same times there are so many complaints and there is already an ongoing recall as I understand.

In terms of ride quality I will take the Tiguan anytime but for the cost of ownership, I need to think twice.

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Apr 06, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Seen more new CX-5 than this .., so far i only see 2 on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • tell me who think this car is good looking?

i think it looks like crap that sells in some third world country.
    they still design boxy car these days?

• stastasta on Apr 09, 2018 at 2:35 pm

boxy shape is practical. if design curvy and edgy car , you will complain not enough interior space.

• Any news when the new Polo will come in?