No more bribes for driving licences: transport minister

Kopi-o driving licences will soon be a thing of the past – new transport minister Anthony Loke has stated he will get tough on bribery, and plans to eliminate the practice in the acquisition and issuance of driving licenses in the country, the New Straits Times reports.

News reports had reported Loke as saying that Malaysians will no longer be able to bribe their way to a driving license. He said that from now on, anyone who fails their driving test will simply have to retake it.

“I will be tackling this problem,” he said in a speech he delivered at Road Transport Department (JPJ) appreciation dinner over the weekend. He said that he had received multiple complaints and requests regarding the department, even before being sworn in.

He acknowledged that the practice has been around since the time he himself obtained his driver’s license and pledged to spend time studying the issue. The move to clean up the act was welcomed by the Associations of Driving Schools/Institutes Malaysia (Perpisma), which said that eliminating bribery will help rebuild the image of the industry.

Occasionally, the ‘sale’ of driving licences lands corrupt officials in hot soup. In 2016, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) detained 14 people in Sarawak, including three JPJ officers, to facilitate investigations into illegally obtained licences, in which those for various vehicle classes were issued without the need to take a driving test.

Do you think that the practice can be cleaned up entirely? Did you pay for yours? Share your thoughts on the kopi-o licence issue in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post about banning bribes for driving licenses reveal widespread frustration with the current corrupt practices in driving schools and licensing processes in Malaysia. Many highlight how bribery, dubbed "kopi-o," has been a longstanding issue, with some sharing personal experiences of paying off officials to pass tests or obtain licenses. There's criticism of driving schools offering "guaranteed passes," and concerns that corruption compromises road safety and driver qualification standards. While some see the move as positive, others doubt it will completely eradicate bribery given entrenched practices. Several comments emphasize the need for better driver education, discipline, and enforcement, and criticize the current culture supporting unfair practices. Overall, the sentiment is mixed but leans toward support for reform to improve transparency and safety.

• Last time i paid kopi-o no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • Keramat boy on May 23, 2018 at 11:49 am

Incompetent driver spotted

• This shows that our previous gov cares for the poor, unlike the new gov. Some pipu need their driving license lah, be considerate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 55
        • It’s not about poor or rich. It’s about whether people who are not qualified to drive, should be allowed to drive A driver who doesn’t know how to drive can end up causing accidents and killing people!

• The poor can’t afford to pay for driving tests twice if they fail, deswai they pay bribes. We must understand

• I hate john on May 23, 2018 at 6:53 pm

People like u pls dissapear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • $enSe on May 26, 2018 at 3:08 am

If the poor can afford to pay for bribe then they cannot pay for the second test? It’s not about the poor of rich it’s about getting qualified as a sensible driver…

• i hope ser Loke can kasi turun the fee to get the license too,,really expensive even for b2 m-bike wants rm500 plus maa! and for those who failed their test jpj pun kna bayar lots of money for re-test! deswai paid kopi-o!! ooo waiii!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Since when you are allowed to bribe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Thanos on May 23, 2018 at 1:33 pm

to the past gov supporters:

run. for the end is near

• Valid question receive retarded response.

Bro. New government can tolerate dissent better than past government. Deal with it.

• hateshonda on May 23, 2018 at 11:00 am

habis la mat rempit

• Habis la dedak

• sohai on May 23, 2018 at 11:06 am

In the old days, 80s, there was perhaps one “valid” reason for kopi-o. Some of the people that took the ‘undang’ test were simply illiterate. And because of that, some rules were bent.
    But in today’s climate, I cannot find a reason why Kopi-o is still needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • PayForIt on May 23, 2018 at 11:13 am

It can be done but very hardly difficult because konco2 already terbiasa follow what bosses do. Also driving school instructor always have way to deal undertable with authorities staff. Sometimes undetectable.

• Ontheroad on May 23, 2018 at 11:18 am

Are those drivers who always break rules such as driving slow on right fast lane especially, are kopi o lesen ka? Since they dont know the rules that is already explain during driving course. They feel remeh temeh and wasting time go course to take lesen, so go easy kopi o n no idea abt rules on the road.

• Many drivers don’t know about the right of way too. Getting in and out of junctions like they own the road. Me and wife usually joked drivers that don’t know this basic of driving must be lesen kopi-o.

• Michael Song on May 23, 2018 at 2:04 pm

There’s no such thing as ‘fast lane’. Its called passing lane. All lanes should be driving the speed limit, but if you can’t drive the speed limit you should go to the lane as far left as possible. So if I am driving in the right most lane and driving the speed limit I should not expect you to be flashing my car and tailgating me although that’s what happens all the time :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Eddie Chin on May 23, 2018 at 3:30 pm

I humbly beg to differ. You said it yourself that it is a “passing lane”. Therefore if you’re not using it to overtaking another vehicle, please go back to the middle / slow lane. If other people are breaking the speed limit, it is their responsibility. I used to think this way too that if I keep to the speed limit, I can stay on the lane as long as I like. Driving overseas changed this I and now realize I was selfish =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • “Ikut Kiri Kecuali Memotong” or “keep left unless overtaking”. Even if you are driving at speed limit, you don’t have any rights to stay at the most right lane without moving to the left if a faster driver want to overtake you.

• Hahahaha! Same ol same ol story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Yazid on May 23, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Not surprised. HAHAHAHAH!

https://paultan.org/2015/06/09/no-such-thing-sarong-policy-jpj/

• BOYRACER on May 23, 2018 at 11:35 am

I think it is a good idea however I’m not sure how they going to go about eliminating it.Hopefully it can be done.
    If the person keeps on failing their driving test then that person shouldn’t be behind the wheels at all.

• BOYRACER on May 23, 2018 at 11:39 am

I thinks it’s a very good move but Im not sure how are they going to completely eliminate it.
    If the person keeps on failing their driving test then they shouldn’t be behind the wheel at all.Plain and simple.

• isuzuki on May 23, 2018 at 11:44 am

Do you know the driving learning hours is only 10 ? Sepuluh, ten hours, and the driving schools expect you to send your kids to take the test, and strong urge you to PAU??????? Gila. I remember the last time I spent 23 hours learning, then only I took the test. Nowadays ONLY TEN HOURS?!?!?!

• Escobar on May 23, 2018 at 11:55 am

So… were those(most) Myvi “King of the Road” drivers change lanes without using signal lights, kopi-licensed?

• Along on May 23, 2018 at 11:55 am

Kopi O’ licence and lesen terbang can be fight if JPJ test conducted on Saturday and Sunday (Friday and Saturday in Johor, Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu)… Reason for Kopi O’ licence/lesen terbang is not because of failed test (true for most case but not the root cause) but rather time constrains (root cause)… Weekdays JPJ test only for student leavers, who works on weekends, and future commercial vehicle drivers (Taxi, Bus or Lorry drivers)… Weekends test only person who have weekday jobs… I know the weekend test will be packed by learners but worth of it to fight Kopi O’licence/lesen terbang…

• Kopi-o on May 23, 2018 at 12:07 pm

“He acknowledged that the practice has been around since the time he himself obtained his driver’s license”
    So the minister himself has got a kopi-o licence ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Mine is kopi ice license hooray on May 23, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Attend theory class or not nvm. After few years surely eveyone will forget some of the rules, infact hazardous driving behaviour is based on individual and not the theory lessons. most corrupt and important role lay on the evaluator on the road tests. Get rid of that you eliminate kopi o lorrr

• Said by every minister ever

• turborider on May 23, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Just to share, i kopi-o for “on road test” as the driving institute told me normally first time they will won’t let you pass if you never give kopi-o. The JPJ official is from Ipoh (dun ask me what is his name lah), before the road test start, driving institute agent told him this is my brother (you know what he mean by brother la). During test he scold me up side down for drove wrong path as supposed, end the end of test, he said let me pass (already kopi-o wat) and asked for my hp number, said want me to treat him satay and pump petrol for him. I tot he was joking, aftet 2 weeks later, he really called me and asked me to come out. I immediately ignore him and blocked his number, he really want kopi-o x2 cups… lol

• I suggest to change back to old Gov on behalf of those who can’t pass their driving tests

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • sohai on May 25, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Is a democracy. You can choose whoever you want for whatever reason that’s close to your heart.

You just have to wait 5 years…

• Lembu Jinni on May 23, 2018 at 1:13 pm

Last time tried checked, it’s a norm many driving schools offer “guarantee pass package for learners”. Now all those driving schools business has temporarily stop offering this package since new transport minister has sounded out.

• What’s wrong with paying for kopi-0? I mean if our leaders can do it, why not the rakyat? Shud not be double standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Sincere on May 23, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Turunkan harga lesen by 20%. It will help ease the burden of rakyat

• good days are coming! it’s so frustrating seeing terrible drivers, senseless drivers and drivers with little to no skills in manoeuvring the vehicle, driving on the road.

• Ben Yap on May 23, 2018 at 2:12 pm

those with Kopi-O license will find it difficult to handle high-powered cars like the Civic 1.5 turbo. that’s why turbo or supercharged cars are not suitable for kopi-o license drivers. they should stick to 1.0 NA engines.

• With the quality of drivers on the road today, this move should be lauded. Do keep in mind it will be a long time before you see an improvement in the behavior of drivers.

You have slow drivers hogging the fast lane, Q-cutters, people who jump 3 lanes suddenly just because their turn is just over there forcing everybody to slam on the brake, overtaking on the left, not keeping to their lane, actually these are all illegal but people do it with impunity.

• habislah ahmoi kaki lesen terbang on May 23, 2018 at 3:36 pm

most impacted will be chinese lady.. always want lesen terbang..
    i myself work for sekolah memandu, deswai i know.
    serve you right!

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on May 23, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Of course, most of their skills is like ‘makan taik keluar dedak’, that’s why they want lesen terbang and buy auto only (even guy also not spared). Honestly, although i can drive both manual and auto cars, but when i drive an auto cars the driving skills and control is like total shit, far more different compared with driving a manual cars.

• Bernard on May 23, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Anthony Loke, Please wipe out the mat rempits!

• Tyler on May 23, 2018 at 7:58 pm

Bribery is the job of SPRM, not the Ministry of Transport! Hello, is it more important than lorry pasir and road safety.

• Jimmy on May 23, 2018 at 9:19 pm

Anthony is a good person.

Time and experience.
    Vision and wisdom.

• Hanafi Bin Suhada on May 24, 2018 at 5:45 am

Check also B full licence procedure as it is too easy to get during buying new big bikes. Without any test…..

• Mechanic on May 24, 2018 at 6:31 am

There will be no accidents if everyone follows the rules.

• Kopi-o budaya kita. Hargailah budaya kita

• Mythoughts on May 24, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Manner n behavier should be taught from early school days the ministry should implement it in school for safety rules then only when they drive on the road they will abide the rules not direct from driving school

• Robert on Jun 19, 2019 at 2:34 pm

The problem still exists…infact the driving centers are asking extra RM600 for a guranteed pass…what kind of incompetent dishonest driver learning centres we have here in Malaysia..shame

• When in driving school, i was told to pay bribe even when im a good driver. Or else most likely i will fail.