Volvo recalls 219,000 units for fuel leak issue – report

Swedish automaker Volvo is recalling approximately 219,000 vehicles following a discovery of an issue that could lead to a fuel leak in the engine compartment of the affected units, according to Reuters. A probe has found that the affected vehicles may have small cracks along their fuel lines, which may lead to leakage as the lines are pressurised.

The vehicles affected span 11 different models produced in 2015 and 2016, with the greatest number of affected vehicles in Sweden, the United Kingdom and Germany. “There are no reports alleging injuries or damages relating to this issue. Volvo preventatively recalls the cars to avert any possible future problems,” the company said in a statement. Volvo sold 503,127 cars in 2015 and 534,332 cars in 2016.

Prior to this, Volvo’s largest recall was made in 2004 when 460,000 vehicles required a fix to wiring in an electronic control module for the main cooling fan. The Swedish automaker set a sales record for 2018 with 642,253 units sold last year, up from 571,577 cars sold in 2017. Sales volume was led by the XC60 with 189,459 units sold in 2018, followed by the XC90 with 94,182 units sold that year.

The achievement is tempered by a slowdown in Chinese demand for cars as a result of the ongoing US-China trade dispute, and has forced Volvo to spend on retooling factories in order to limit the impact of tariffs, and also led to the indefinite postponement of plans for going public, Reuters noted.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 24, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Habislah Volvo Quality…..Volvo, Geely, P1, Volvo Trucks etc.

All no quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
    • Like this? https://paultan.org/2019/01/24/subaru-stops-production-at-its-gunma-plant-due-to-defective-component-malaysian-vehicles-not-affected/

• Digidigi on Jan 24, 2019 at 2:19 pm

If u want good pricing and spec, go for Volvo, but if u want reliability, sorry it defitenaly worse than merc and bmw locally in malaysia, especially the after sales service

• John BODO Haha! on Jan 24, 2019 at 5:10 pm

habisla! john today very malu already. hiding away in a cave

• Konte kote on Jan 24, 2019 at 5:33 pm

How many times had Toyota and Honda issued recall? Both are famous for killer brake and airbag~~~

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 25, 2019 at 7:53 am

nevertheless Toyota still making money and never lose RM4 mil per day and beg RM20 bil bailout money

• redpilled on Jan 25, 2019 at 6:22 pm

What does have to do with Volvo? Still connecting imaginary dots is it?

• At least Volvo didn’t for deaths to happen before making the recall.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 25, 2019 at 7:47 am

I hope this does not affect Proton’s already very bad sales.

Proton was always harping on Volvo’s technology in their Proton cars just to impress people.

• John crying reading this on Jan 24, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Habisla john!

• Muhammad Tahir on Jan 24, 2019 at 12:57 pm

This is very normal because parent company Geely make low quality China cars.

• MY Volvo not affected. so no problem

• azrai on Jan 24, 2019 at 2:32 pm

Yes..for sure assurance given Malaysian Volvo not affected.

• All those countries affected r Euro6 engined so likely MY and regional volvos not affected except for SG

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 25, 2019 at 7:50 am

Malaysians already crying because since Volvo was bought by Geely, parts prices have gone up 3X.

• newme on Jan 24, 2019 at 1:25 pm

Wah … lucky I booked the other car.

• Yeah, you booked Subaru with steering that can lose power during driving, right?

• GeelyCrap on Jan 24, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Volvo numba 1 LMAO

• Volvo, like P1, takes care of customers even those long past warranty period. They will do recall no matter how old the car as long its safety related. This unlike some Jepunis lords that wait for someone to die b4 even thinking to do recall.

• Lol sikit sikit then scared. Don’t go out of the house la these comments.

• andrew on Jan 24, 2019 at 3:01 pm

I like how Malaysians are like
    Omg volvo recall
    lucky i did not buy so much problem not worth it!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 25, 2019 at 12:35 pm

But buy Honla/Toyolta with Takata recalled airbag, syukur Honla/Toyolta ada recall. Jipunis very responsible. Bloody hypocrites fanbois.

• Volvo Mahai on Jan 24, 2019 at 3:46 pm

Recently in all Volvo related posts we can see lots of so called Volvo fanboys talking cock here, will definitely buy a Volvo over other XXX brands etc. etc. In the end sales number tells everything and you don’t get to see that many Volvo on the road VS other BMW and Mercedes. Volvo is not cheap and car of the year doesn’t mean shit in reality. If Volvo wants to catch up in Malaysia market they should price accordingly, going head to head with the other German marques at the same pricing (in fact certain Volvo models are more expensive) is just plain suicidal.

• benzs on Jan 24, 2019 at 8:20 pm

That’s truly very harmful for those who drive effected Volvo. No car manufacturers is perfect. But pity us as buyer due to harm towards us. Next time pls exchange 1 o 1 warranty for us as buyer. Just like HP.

• Kudos to Volvo doing recalls b4 any deaths. P1 oso the same. This unlike some brands.
    VolvoCar, P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoTruck, Lotus > all

• The only thing I learnt here is that if anyone who wants to buy a car, do not read the comments here. Most of them here are keyboard warriors whom I guess know nothing much about cars. Most common comments are ” just too up a bit can buy…”
    Word of advice for potential car buyers, just buy whatever car that you can afford and like and just read all the comments here with pinch of salt.

That’s my opinion.

• St Salah! on Jan 25, 2019 at 1:12 pm

The only thing I learnt here is that if anyone who wants to buy a car, read the comments here. Most of them here are experts whom I guess know much about cars. Most common comments are ” just too up a bit can buy…”
      Word of advice for potential car buyers, just buy whatever car that you can afford and like and read all the comments here seriously.

That’s my opinion.

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 25, 2019 at 11:48 am

Recall = Responsible Manufacturer = People get scared and takut to buy

Diam2 no recall until somebody dies = Irresponsible Manufacturer = Many in waiting list to buy

Isn’t it ironic?….