FIRST LOOK: 2019 Mazda 3 in Malaysia – from RM140k

We’re still a few days away from the launch of the 2019 Mazda 3, but with the C-segment model already on display, let us take you on a tour of the first entry in the Japanese carmaker’s next-generation product line-up.

Just like the previous third-generation model, the fourth one will continue to be offered as a sedan and hatchback. Both follow Mazda’s latest Kodo design philosophy, which was previewed by the Vision Coupe and Kai Concept, although they are each distinctively styled.

For our market, we get three variants and depending on which you go for, you get one of two engines from the SkyActiv-G petrol range. Updates to the mills include new intake ports and piston shape, split fuel injection, and a coolant control valve for better performance and fuel economy.

The base variant – available in sedan and hatchback body styles – is a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder unit that makes 118 hp and 153 Nm of torque. Meanwhile, the remaining two variants, 2.0 High (sedan only) and 2.0 High Plus (sedan and hatchback), get a 2.0 litre powerplant with 162 hp and 213 Nm. All engines send drive to the front wheels via a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission.

On the range-topping High Plus, you get 18-inch wheels, full-LED headlamps and taillights, a seven-inch display in the instrument cluster, windscreen-projected head-up display, leather upholstery, 8.8-inch central display linked to a Mazda Connect infotainment system, eight speakers and a comprehensive suite of Mazda i-Activsense safety and driver assistance systems.

In terms of pricing, the base variant goes for RM139,770 on-the-road without insurance, and stepping up to the 2.0 High will set you back RM150,059. As for the High Plus, which gets all the goodies, the variant retails at RM160,059.

We’ve already had a chance to sample the new Mazda 3 in Japan not too long ago, and you can read our first impressions of the model here. There’s also a separate post that details many of the technological highlights of the car for further reading. Don’t forget to share your thoughts on the model in the comments section below.

2019 Mazda 3 Hatchback 2.0L High Plus

2019 Mazda 3 Sedan 1.5L

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Philips on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:18 am

Better buy Mazda CX-5. CX-5 price range is the same as 2019 Mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • JustOpinion on Jul 12, 2019 at 12:33 pm

With tat base price better get civic turbo or altis, both have better RV than this junk mazda 3. And with rm150k we have so much option for other model to choose. This junk is price wrongly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • X70kaki on Jul 13, 2019 at 6:13 pm

Many geely sales man will say x70 is better than mazda and rest of Japanese brand. X70 is at least 10 years behind the look and japanese technology.

• Danny Tay on Jul 14, 2019 at 12:26 am

the problem with owning a mazda is that once you drive them you may not want to change to other brands. the only way is to go upclass, ie BMW as the car is also driver oriented.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 12, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Better buy Proton X70. Better than Mazda CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • Carfan on Jul 12, 2019 at 6:38 pm

X70 is a bargain compared to cx5, but if you think it’s better than cx5 i recommend you to test drive it before spreading bullcrap here

• Nothing special with cx5, even exora more roomier and spacious, so shame

• skodamalaysia on Jul 12, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Better wait for the new 2020 Toyota Corolla Altis that is coming to Malaysia by UMW (CBU- from Thailand)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • John Chen on Jul 12, 2019 at 9:12 pm

Better buy this, better buy that. Better wait for this, better wait for that. You guys are a snooze fest, worst than broken records and are forever trolling anything Mazda.

• pilliows on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:21 am

(Like) Proton Binrui (Geely Binrui)
    (Dislike) Mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
  • Real World on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:26 am

Expected launching new CKD Mazda CX-8. This will stole sales from Hyundai Santa Fe

(Like) Mazda CX-8 (excellent specs and equipment and safety)
    (Dislike) Hyundai Santa Fe (kosong specs, lousy safety and poor equipments)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 18
  • Rocket Man on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:32 am

Mazda Quality is better than Hyundai Quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 14
  • car lover on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:42 am

form rm140k, out there got other many selection whereby tech/power/design are more advance than this car.

good luck mazda, or maybe they just want to focus on CX5 rather than other model since out Malaysia’s market is too small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on Jul 12, 2019 at 10:42 am

140K Mazda3 Japan is 2nd cheapest CBU here, just behind Proton X70 (China CBU) 99k. And 3rd cheapest Thai CBU, the Toyota Camry 2.5V

• Osaka boy on Jul 12, 2019 at 11:25 am

Current Geely buyer shall aim for this sleek car as their next upgrade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • Nah, this too small for a SUV owner. Not to mention downgrading from 1.8 turbo to 1.5 NA? You gotta be joking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • lithium on Jul 12, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Huh? That will be a downgrade…

• mazdafan on Jul 12, 2019 at 11:37 am

Latest rumour….CX-5 TURUN HARGA RM5K-7K this year end to compete with X70 and clear overhang old stocks. X70 started to slowly kill off many SUV brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Price hike due to Apple Carplay , memory seats N GVC+. Unworthy stuffs for such hike. If CBU.. nothing to complain. Since it’s CKD, why prices are soaring to Mars! The skytint surcharge on options is another scam. As a Mazda fan n owner, it’s bullshite

• Dong gor on Jul 12, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Any plan for Ckd? If not slowly wait for sales.. It’s as good as no launch.

• Anonymous on Jul 13, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Mazda3 is now a premium variant. A smaller Mazda6 if you will. CKD would require them to setup an assembly line. With its pricing surely higher than previous CKD Mazda3 which was a slow seller, I’m sure they won’t spend the millions to set up an assembly line for a car that will hardly sell. Their CKD plant is currently focusing on SUVs which sells much better than any of their hatches and sedans.

• toyota on Jul 12, 2019 at 1:51 pm

When you look at the interiors of the Mazda 3 and take into account the Geely/Proton interiors, that is how the industry is moving forward.

Competitors like toyota, honda, mitsubishi have to keep up with this trend.

• usohai on Jul 12, 2019 at 2:53 pm

mazda living in their own world, hoping every customer would appreciate their unnecessarily over-engineered car. and by increasing the price, good luck then..hope ur already niche market become niche(r)

• Saw it in glenmarie…..

test drove the cx-5 2.0 gls, now comes with powerboot it seems, soon…. apple carplay , maybe even android auto….
    good value for the missus

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jul 12, 2019 at 3:35 pm

1.5 NA with small boot space? Better get a Honda City & save a lot. Or if you want to spend RM140k, you can even get a 2.0 7-seater SUV with 4WD capability, oh…it’s even RM10k cheaper after discount!

• The price level. Internal size
    Rear suspension “upgraded” to torsion beam
    etc….

• Tan Say How on Jul 13, 2019 at 5:59 am

RM140K???!!! Crazy price!

• Robinhood on Jul 13, 2019 at 10:34 am

Looks like Bermaz is too confident with themselves. Should wake up and face the reality that the car market is flooded with choices. Mazda is not a luxury brand although they try hard to position themselves as one.

• Danny Tay on Jul 14, 2019 at 12:32 am

its overpriced everywhere around thr world. in Japan, Australia and even US their price is already a hike compared to previous gen. its just how Mazda want to position themselves, similar to Volvo and VW. Volvo and VW is a step below German luxury brands, but they are still popular and have their own market size.

• Grease monkey on Jul 14, 2019 at 1:41 pm

Like mitsubishi, sleeping…

• john doe on Jul 13, 2019 at 11:23 am

Seldom got a car looks good in real than in photo/video, check it out.
    The quality kick other Japanese cars out totally..you can get whatever spec, but those appreciate quality wont pick Honda/Toyota over Mazda.
    Hafiz is rolling in smooth oil gear now. Time to add more persona to own style and make it more lively. Go bro!

• MazdaisgoodbutPriceisnotgood on Jul 13, 2019 at 12:10 pm

As a Mazda owner, i feel this is unfair. Overpriced for a c-segment car. Base starting model, 1.5 small engine and that too NA engine with the price of 140k? Ridiculous by Mazda..Mazda is a good car. Delivering quality in recent years and people have started to love Mazda. But this kind of pricing by Mazda is not fair where c-segment giant Civic is reasonably priced. I feel Mazda is being overconfident but this will kill Mazda. I thought of getting this for my mum but seeing this illogical price is making me to choose Civic or Corolla instead. Civic is a good car as well and much more spacious while offering good specs with powerful engine. Corolla on the other hand is a very reliable car from Toyota. So much bigger and spacious cabin and boot compared to Mazda 3. I am having confusion but if Mazda insists to continue this price, sorry Mazda

• Danny Tay on Jul 14, 2019 at 12:59 am

you obviously didnt watch the video. the commentator mentioned the car is already ahead in terms of fit and finish, better than Civic and Merc A-Class, and on the same level as Audi. If you plan to buy a car to go to pasar and running errands, well go ahead get a Civic or Altis. Mazda 2019 is the competitor to VW and Volvo.

• bus driver on Jul 14, 2019 at 1:16 am

If you want space you go and buy lorry and bus, guarantee you satisfied

• Pensel on Jul 14, 2019 at 8:34 am

Setuju….u have a point bro

• Han cy on Jul 13, 2019 at 5:29 pm

Looking a CX5 2.5cc to go up genting

• tinmilojaps on Jul 14, 2019 at 1:13 am

Even p1 owner dun aim jepunis car for their next upgrade

• No name on Jul 14, 2019 at 9:24 am

Don’t complain so much, when you can own a bmw feel car fully import from Japan at RM 140k!

• Michael on Jul 16, 2019 at 8:31 am

RM160k is too much. This new Mazda 3 will surely be in the niche market.

People who have the money especially uncles in their mid-40s to 50s will think twice because you can get a larger D segment which has better value for money and more comfortable being a larger car.

Rich youngsters in their twenties and thirties who want to have style will also think twice because you can get a more premium continental car by adding RM20k to 30k which will give you more prestige and style.

College kids with rich parents may pester their old man(or woman) to buy this but how many rich parents will spend this kind of money.

In summary, I don’t see this car selling like hot cakes but rather warm cakes. At RM160k for the Mazda 3 the market will be considerably smaller. If I’m not mistaken the previous CKD Mazda 3 high spec only costs RM125k, after discount maybe RM110k? Money does not drop from heaven man.

Mazda will surely lose a lot of sales for this new Mazda 3 with this kind of pricing. They can still sell the Mazda 2 but they won’t be a able to sell the Mazda 3 in buckets like before. With the previous model, say if they sell 500 units in 1 month, with this new model they will likely be able to sell 200 units in 1 month, or less.

• Ray Farraie on Aug 05, 2019 at 7:21 pm

hey mazda3 hatch back untuk malaysia manual teransmition ada jugak ke