V177 Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic Sedan launched in Malaysia – 306 hp/400 Nm; 0-100 km/h in 4.8s; RM349k

Seven months after Mercedes-Benz Malaysia launched the A-Class Sedan, the company has brought in the go-faster version to our shores – the V177 Mercedes-AMG A 35 4Matic Sedan. While it doesn’t quite possess the bonkers numbers of the full-fat A 45 and A 45 S, this mid-range performance model from Affalterbach should still get hearts racing, with some seriously potent hardware under the skin.

But first, we’ll get to the most important bit, the price. The fully-imported A 35 retails at RM348,888 on-the-road without insurance – some RM81,000 more than the most expensive variant of the standard A-Class Sedan, the A 250. Included in the price is a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

That might seem like a steep premium, but there’s been a lot of fettling here. Yes, the M260 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine remains, but it’s been lightly breathed on to produce an impressive 306 hp at 5,800 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 3,000 to 4,000 rpm. It’s paired to a seven-speed AMG Speedshift 7G dual clutch transmission with gear ratios tuned to improve acceleration at all speeds.

All that power and torque gets sent through the variable AMG Performance 4Matic all-wheel drive system, which can send up to 50% of torque to the rear wheels through an electro-mechanical multi-plate clutch. With the Race-Start launch control system, the A 35 sedan will sprint from zero to 100 km/h in just 4.8 seconds.

To handle the extra power, the body-in-white has been strengthened with a new shearing plate at the front of the car. This aluminium panel underneath the engine, together with additional diagonal bracing, increases torsional rigidity for more precise turn-in and greater toe and camber stability even at speed.

Suspension continues to be provided by MacPherson struts at the front – with unique axle geometry and lightweight aluminium control arms – and a four-link setup at the rear that uses components from the outgoing A 45. Local models also get adaptive dampers as part of the AMG Ride Control suspension, along with speed-sensitive electro-mechanical sports steering and AMG Dynamics torque vectoring by braking.

To go with the increased performance, the A 35 gets the full AMG Line styling package, complete with the aggressive front air intakes and deeper side skirts. The twin-louvre grille and gloss black shrouds on the corners of the bumper set the A 35 apart from lesser models, while the rear gets a bootlid lip spoiler and an entirely different diffuser insert with twin circular exhaust pipes.

As standard, we get 19-inch five-twin-spoke alloy wheels, hiding larger cross-drilled brake discs that measure 350 mm at the front and 330 mm at the rear. They are clamped by four-piston monoblock callipers at the front, radially bolted onto the AMG-specific steering knuckles, as well as single-piston rear callipers. No AMG Aerodynamics Package offered over here, however.

The interior retains the A-Class’ party tricks, including the giant flatscreen display panel with twin 10.25-inch screens, Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) infotainment system and the “Hey Mercedes” Linguatronic voice control. And of course, the sedan gets a separate boot that measures 420 litres.

Features specific to the A 35 include unique displays for the instrument cluster as well as an AMG Performance steering wheel upholstered in Nappa leather and Dinamica microfibre, although we don’t get the optional AMG Performance seats – those appears to be reserved for the A 45.

Otherwise, standard equipment is vast and includes Multibeam LED headlights with Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone automatic climate control, cruise control, power-adjustable front sports seats with memory, Artico faux leather and Dinamica upholstery, designo red seat belts, black-striped aluminium trim, 64-colour ambient lighting and a tyre repair kit.

You also get extended MBUX functionality, wireless charging, a head-up display and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. Safety-wise, the A 35 gets Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking), Active Lane Keeping Assist, Blind Spot Assist, Pre-Safe, a tyre pressure monitoring system and Active Park Assist with front and rear sensors and a reverse camera.

The A 35 is also the first model in Malaysia to receive Mercedes me connect services, a series of internet-enabled features that will be rolled out to other future models. Find full specifications of the A 35 4Matic Sedan on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bieight on Sep 24, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Buy golf r better rm70k cheaper plus faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Rajah Crook My Mood Type on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:53 pm

No faux carbon fibre and decals stickers makes the merc looks dull and unattractive.

• Less fun than lejen Satria Gti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • It’s not faster

• Azman Malek on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:42 am

I hope no Proton fanboy will come here and say this engine will be put in the X70 soon. Already they are saying the Proton X70 uses AMG technology just because Geely owns 10% of Daimler Mercedes AG Germany.

Such fantasy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Celup King on Sep 25, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Nobody is saying that except you. Please stop shiok sendiri yourself here. Grow up.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 25, 2019 at 3:17 pm

The same joker that told us buying a Perodua is like buying a Lexus.

• Junsan on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:02 pm

330i(328k) vs A35 (349K) both CBU
    Nope vs Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking) Nope vs Active Lane Keeping Assist
    Nope vs Blind Spot Assist

This is getting hard to choose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • worth every penny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:28 pm

Sooo….where is the A35 hatchback? I’m looking forward to that instead of the sedan.

• Just as predicted, luckily i just got the better looking A5 Sportback at 30k lesser ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Nicholas Lee on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:42 pm

Other markets get the beautiful new CLA and we’re stuck with this ugly A class sedan? Tsk tsk… what a shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Veyron Owner on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:48 pm

RM349k. I’d better get dua bijik CX5 2.5Turbo, satu kaler Soul merah. lagi satu Biru gelap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • Very cheap price against the Toyota supra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Bobogui on Sep 24, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Type R game over. 30k extra get AMG with 4 matic and Mercedes Logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Better than overpriced stinger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • that rear end is nice, they finally got it proportionately rite

• kenneth Fook on Sep 24, 2019 at 9:07 pm

Crazy price for such a car. The previous gen A45 one man one engine is just about the same price but this uptuned a250 now wants to command this price?! But oh well, i figure this will be a car for the rich. If you want one, any price you will pay for one. If you cant afford one, even a drop of 50k you you wont pick up one. My hopes of the a45s being priced at less than 400k is gone now. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • I just bought the earliest cla45 for 100k+ less

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2019 at 9:38 pm

chevrolet cruze with bodykit….

buy this car…live with the fact that you couldnt quite afford the a45 for the rest of your life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Buy toyota better 1.8 NA engine…. with 140k price tag outdated engine

• Transform on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Like a machine

• James on Sep 25, 2019 at 12:38 am

This or the C300? Really tough choice.

• kenneth Fook on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:54 pm

c300 for me. this feels like a 316/318 kinda feel. you want an amg but you still cant afford one. but the c300, you are ahead of the crowd. dont know if you get where i am coming from or not.

• zoom zoom on Sep 28, 2019 at 11:03 am

yes. have the same feel. Just like Honda come out with Honda City Type R with 1.5 turbo producing 200hp. 0-100 under 6 seconds for RM200k. Somehow is still an entry car H.City. Dont have the same feel vs the Civic Type R.

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:51 am

now, old business man unker can burn tyres…..everytime, everywhere

• omegle on Sep 25, 2019 at 11:34 am

the a45 amg launched 3 years ago was 349k as well, with almost 80hp more and is 0.6 seconds quicker than this in a 0-100 sprint.

• kenneth Fook on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:56 pm

My thoughts exactly. Hence why i feel the pricing is steep. from an actual amg engine to this uptuned a250 engine.

• Ben Yap on Sep 25, 2019 at 1:30 pm

The rear looks like hyundai elantra.

• study on Oct 08, 2019 at 11:14 am

hello world