Rawang Bypass 12h closure for half marathon this Sun

Rawang/Serendah residents or those who use the Federal Route 1 to head north, take note. The Rawang Bypass will be closed for 12 hours this Sunday to make way for the Selangor Bypass Half Marathon 2022 event.

As the run happens on Sunday morning (July 31), the Rawang Bypass will be closed to all traffic from Saturday midnight till noon on Sunday. That’s 12am till 12pm, half a day. Alternative routes will be the PLUS North South Highway or the traditional way of going into Rawang town and passing the many traffic lights before you’re finally “free” at Serendah.

Who’s a runner here? Have you ran the Rawang Bypass before? I feel pain just by thinking of the route. The start and finish point is Tesco Rawang (now Lotus’s) and much of the first half of the HM (there’s also a 12 km run with a U-turn midway) is uphill all the way. Conversely, the final section is downhill all the way, so here’s hoping that you don’t have knee pain to deal with. Drivers, just imagine being on foot the next time you’re climbing this scenic road.

The flag-off time for the HM is 4.30 am and it’s 5am for the 12 km run. Good luck!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Fahmy on Jul 27, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Yup, ran the 12km before, torture going up, frantic coming down. Haha.

• intermilan206 on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:55 pm

Waiting for NS to organise marathon at Temiang – Pantai Highway pulak. Mesti mantap lah.