Terengganu state government takes delivery of new Mazda SUVs, says purchase was normal routine

The Terengganu state government has taken delivery of several new Mazda SUVs which will be used for the menteri besar and executive councillors, with photos of the vehicles being posted on social media recently.

Following the posting of these photos that has since gone viral, netizens questioned the necessity of the SUVs and the state government was told to come clean on the procurement. As reported by Bernama, Terengganu state secretary Datuk Seri Tengku Farok Hussin Tengku Abdul Jalil said the purchase of the new SUVs was a normal routine and did not violate any laws or regulations.

He added that the vehicle acquisition was planned earlier this year and approved by the state budget last year, and the matter should not be an issue because it followed proper procedure. However, he said some have deliberately politicised the issue, as it involved menteri besar Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar and the state leadership.

“It is normal practice. When there is a change in government, the vehicles will be replaced. When the four-wheel drive vehicles were purchased for the forestry department last year, no one raised the issue. Why raise the matter now?” he asked when met by reporters yesterday.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• JJTan on Dec 28, 2023 at 9:54 am

But the problem is that they didn’t purchase national car like Proton X90, instead they purchased Mazda CX-8 SUVs. Aren’t they suppose to beli kereta nasional instead of kereta luar negara? So that means they never trust or sokong to beli kereta nasional?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
    • Pulis pun pakai civic ketam on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:32 pm

Can’t risk our radio cars catching fire while chasing after thieves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • MB Sanusi on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Depan mslayu.. kite melalak kempen BMF.
        Belakang sapu kete jepun takpon Raptor weyhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • Lilith ‘n Adam on Dec 29, 2023 at 3:58 pm

Rescues BMF owns masada car dealerships to clear aging stocks of CX-8

• haiya on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:38 pm

bro you never see meh photos of the big bosses of respective entities on the yacht together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • walabot on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:38 pm

anwar also say he prefer camry, is he a pengkhianat negara also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
      • Kea Was on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Not really because now Toyota Malaysia is owned by Sime Darby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
        • Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Dec 29, 2023 at 11:51 am

Camry is CBU Thailand. He is true pengkhianat negara.

• No. Because camry don’t have esim. No sending conversation to Beijing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Vote out extravagant law makers on Dec 28, 2023 at 7:59 pm

Rakyat battling gargartuan floods..these dudes bypass national suvs n go for imported Jepun keta.
      Whether approved last state budget or now..is not the point.
      The point is..why proton SUVs not good enough?
      U can have a certain budget approved last year,but cant u give the Roslan dude a purchase order this year ?
      JUst a shame to vote for these shambolic dudes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Dec 29, 2023 at 11:50 am

At least they bought Mazda which are locally assembled in Gurun Kedah. Yang PH gomen beli mentris semua pakai CBU Alfat & Velfire apa lagi?

• Peppa on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:00 am

What a clown!!! Your people are literally struggling and dying in flood yet you have the audacity to change your fleet?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 13
    • sigaraga on Dec 28, 2023 at 2:57 pm

oh peppa pig.. non is dying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Dr. Sam TaliPAS on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:48 pm

I was vacationing in NZ when ganu was inundated by flood last year. Were my beloved subjects angry with me? No, instead I won the kemaman parliamentary seat with a larger majority. Why? Because I have a rockstar status

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Squid on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:03 am

The right question to ask is how old were the cars they were replacing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Must be comfortable only can service the people ma… #bersangkabaik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • https://paultan.org/2023/10/13/budget-2024-malaysian-govt-to-use-evs-as-official-cars/

Budget 2024: Malaysian gov to use EVs as official cars

these are cheaper than Budget 2024 vehicles already

• ThePolygon on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:03 pm

These are for 2023.

• Normal Routine on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:17 pm

That’s why these clowns buying Mazda SUVs now.
      Next year budget get funds can buy new EV cars cause gov support, so no law violation juga.
      Waste tax payer money is normal routine je.

• MarkX on Dec 30, 2023 at 2:19 pm

Will you use EV at Terengganu? Good luck wasting your time charging.

• I LOVE PAS on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:32 am

This is why I love PAS, vote PAS!!!!!!! Only buy new car and never fix flood issue!!!!! Only talk about religion and race!!!!! Hidup PAS HIDUP MALAYSIA!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Peppa on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:34 pm

As if DAP is not indirectly doing the same thing LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • Nobita Lim on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Yup I bought a new S class when I was CM in a particular island state. Nonid mention which state

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:34 am

““It is normal practice. When there is a change in government, the vehicles will be replaced….”

No wonder they cant wait for the full term for next GE. Syoknya. lompat2 tukar kereta, lompat2 tukar kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Azman on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:37 am

Negeri lobai tknak amik kete tempatan Proton x70 ke. Perangai mcm org israil ckp lain buat lain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Saiful on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:45 am

Kenapa tak jimat dan sokong brgan tempatan? Proton X90 lebih sesuai utk tujuan kerajaan . Ini gomen semaking buat keputusan yg msk Akal, kempen sokong brg tempatan maka naik brg sst atau ambil 10% import tax.

• Bigboytoy on Dec 29, 2023 at 9:56 am

Cost Maintenance mahal, sparepart tak ada, minyak kuat, not realibility, rebadge kereta National

• motif politik. simple. tak payah acah-acah pejuang rakyat sangat. yang cuit tu pun 2×5

• Sparcov on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:32 pm

Well, Mazda replace 14nos. Mercedes E200K since 2008 (RM 3.4mil), after 15 years. Presumably is a direct replacement. Taking Cx5 RM 150,000 X 14 = RM 2.1mil. Wow. 15 years ago RM 3.4mil is a very big money….

From Perdana to Mercedes to save cost to Mazda to save cost again. For sure Mercedes higher maintenance compare to Mazda whereby Mercedes is lower maintenance compare to a Perdana :)

• Squid on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Makes sense to replace if the cars are that old. Also, if the CX5 are CKD units, theres further savings in tax exemptions for gomen.

However, this does not explain why they’re not supporting Proton by purchasing X90 instead.

• Bigboytoy on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:48 pm

Tender with zero tax for government purchase, Melaka use a Honda CRV and Accord, and Perak, Selangor uses a Camry. BERJAYA sure give the best offer.

• Spankov on Dec 28, 2023 at 2:06 pm

bro how you know the mazda cx8 local content is not higher than proton x90 china car, hahaha

• Imam mesjid el-chapo on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:52 pm

X90? Ganu state excos will be prematurely cremated and Muslims can’t cremate their dead

• john is otak batu on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:44 pm

PN & PAS supporters where r u now???!!! Pls say something!!!

• Fap fap fap on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:54 pm

We’ll be right back to our keyboards. Tengah menoceng ni

• ThePolygon on Dec 28, 2023 at 1:02 pm

Amphibious vehicle would have been a better choice.

• ThePentagon on Dec 28, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Amphibious haram sebab dua alam

• Good suggestion on Dec 29, 2023 at 9:41 am

I can see what you’re suggesting here. Amphibious vehicles for reptilian TaliPAS politicians. They’re the perfect epitome of biawak hidup

• pengayuhbasikal on Dec 28, 2023 at 2:32 pm

Mazda is not a premium brand … their car look premium against premium brand… but just wonder…if CX8 is true..why the need for 7 seaters instead of 5 seaters…should get subaru instead…light off road no problem…

• paanjang16 on Dec 28, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Why buy Mazda CX-8, why not terus buy the Merc EQS which is CKD in Pekan?

Maybe coz CX-8 is from Kulim, Kedah which is another green state so must sapport.

As for replacing the SUVs for the foresty department, if the SUVs are falling apart and the officers cannot do their work I am all for it. Same for police if they need a new police car to catch the bad guys. But for Exco I would prefer they use their own cars as a means for transport.

• Congratulations Trengganu.. move away from luxury car like Alphard, Merc, BMW and Jaguar. All state and federal should follow… anyway proton is own by Geely… it is China.

• sigaraga on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:01 pm

Pautan should cover all state if they change vehicle @ fleet. so be fair la.. not so professional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • ROTI CANAI on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:17 pm

HIDUP PAS, PAS ROX

• BlindDeaf on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Misplaced priorities. Ignore the people’s welfare, ignore the hardcore poor, spend more on mazdas when they could have spent less on near equivalent X90 and saved some money. Oh but wait, “savings” is not in their vocabulary. When has “savings” ever been in the national vocabulary? It’s mostly been spend, spend, spend, waste, waste, waste. And we are usually used to hearing “oh, gomen no money lar”. Good case study in hypocrisy, wouldn’t you agree?

• Sohai on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:36 pm

Is a normal practice to buy car when there is change in government?
    Where he get this dumb idea?
    Can’t even bother to come out with a better excuse… it was stupidity, and now adds laziness to the mix

• Logical Deduction on Dec 29, 2023 at 11:56 am

When DAP tookover Penang, new CM change to S Class
      When PKR tookover Selangor, new MPs change to Camry
      When PH tookover Msia, new mentris bought Alfat & Velfire.
      PAS states is just following precedent. What’s good for PH is also good for PAS wat.

• pengayuhbasikal on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Paultan also interested in local politics….ekekekekkekekeke

• Logical Deduction on Dec 29, 2023 at 11:57 am

Madanon is under fire from all sides for their incompetent rule, PT needs to support them with some ammo to shoot others.

• There is one memory photo of Terengganu MB with Vincent Tan on a yatch. Since BERMAZ is own by VT, so no wonder meh. You scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours. Let’s go to New Zealang.

• Karma4u on Dec 28, 2023 at 11:14 pm

This is what u prioritize when the people and country in trouble. Even u ride in the best car, u contribute nothing. Just news and news. Muka puki.

• vexed on Dec 29, 2023 at 10:57 am

Q – why arent they buy our own national car x-90 ? this perhaps shows the small mindedness of the terengganu govt that it cant tell the difference between politics and national interest. buying proton x-90s will surely help to promote made-in-malaysia, cheaper to buy and maintain and create jobs.

• Sinovex on Dec 29, 2023 at 5:39 pm

A – Coz they can’t cremate their dead. X90 is a potential crematorium for the passengers

• Boy Racer on Dec 29, 2023 at 12:00 pm

“It is normal practice for us to prioritise ourselves such as buying premium foreign cars over local cars rather than allocating more budget for our rakyat.”

There, I fixed it to what Datuk Samseng actually meant.