The gifts keep coming for Harimau Malaya superfan Derrick Gan – free Hankook tyres for his Toyota Vios

Football fans, who was your Harimau Malaya player of the tournament at the AFC Asian Cup? Faisal Halim for his goal that bamboozled the South Korean defence? Or the Dominic Tan/Daniel Ting/Danny Tan defensive unit (if you spotted the fake player, you’re fully awake!) that had Son & Co in their pockets? And what about Arif Aiman’s runs? A, B, C or D?

D for Derrick Gan. If you don’t know the name, you’ll know the face. And his now famous gold mohawk. The Harimau Malaya fan was caught by camera in a highly emotional state when Malaysia scored against South Korea in our final Group E match at Stadium Al Janoub.

It was later revealed that the Derrick sold his Yamaha LC kapcai to fund his trip to Qatar. That story and those tears propelled him to fame, and the gifts are now pouring in for the Melaka native. He parted with one bike, and he now has a few new ones, including a new LC from Faisal Halim himself, a Modenas upon touching down in KL and a Honda RS150.

Derrick has received new bikes from Modenas and Faisal Halim, among others

Those tears of joy and the good fortune from the cameras have now netted him some new tyres too. Hankook Tire Malaysia recently presented Derrick with a set of Kinergy Eco tyres for his Toyota Vios. He drives? The HM fan previously told Bernama that the Yamaha he sold was his only bike, and his car was being used by his wife in KL.

“I felt like I don’t deserve all this,” Gan told Hankook during the tyre fitting session in Desa Sri Hartamas, KL, adding that he never imagined that his screen appearance would become a hot topic of discussion. This is proof that fortune can sometimes come from the most unexpected of places, and when you’re not looking for it.

By the way, Derrick has now come out to say that he’s no longer accepting personal gifts, but is open to collaborations that are giving it back to the public, in his own words. “We can definitely help out others that needed it more than me,” he said. This comes after some dengki netizens questioned his deservingness. His full statement below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• fudgemesideways on Jan 31, 2024 at 12:17 pm

Shameless corporations. Tunggang, jgn tak ditunggang hypenye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Kanasai on Jan 31, 2024 at 5:47 pm

Has to be a non isnt it. The many other M who spent their haj savings to do the same gets no recognition and no publicity free gifts. No wonder the M hate this G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Hazri on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:28 pm

Masa tengah viral semua nak menumpang juga.

• MB Sanusi on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:39 pm

Entah laa.. bila ada je berita baik. Pnyokong2 belah PAS sya hati masam rasa paling tersakiti ..kikihki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Anthony on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:51 pm

“I am currently using Hankook tires and would like to recommend them.”

• Just like how certain political party like to tunggang agama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • pomen on Jan 31, 2024 at 2:19 pm

lol…so what’s next, rumah? tanah?
    penunggang isu semasa is everywhere hahaha

• Ben Yap on Jan 31, 2024 at 3:04 pm

next match, i will also sell my civic 1.5 turbo and Cervelo S5. hopefully i can get a Maserati and Pinarello.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Shambolic TikTok adventurism on Jan 31, 2024 at 8:52 pm

If the dude truly is a hardcore,diehard fan..he should say”F..off,I walk tall..no need all these pembodek ‘marketing gimmick hadiah”.
      So next Harimau match..plenty of such “fans”gonna sell bike,cars,rumah,furniture…macam macam to score sympathy points.
      This is the danger of the TIKTOK culture.Just shambolic and disgusting.People are not real anymore.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 01, 2024 at 8:07 am

People can share all they want but it is shameless for corporations to pick only one as example to reward.

• Datukship soon?

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 31, 2024 at 4:31 pm

kerja tak buat baik baik

• ROTI TELUR on Jan 31, 2024 at 5:14 pm

Wau Hankook laju buat kerja. Mantap lah sponsor tayar!

• I`m using Kinergy eco for my toyota it`s really good tyre.. Balanced,serene and reasonably priced

• Cikgu Aminuddin on Jan 31, 2024 at 7:00 pm

Ini rezeki Mr Derrick Gan. Tahniah dan simpan kenangan manis ini sampai hari tua. A beautiful and happy story.

• David on Jan 31, 2024 at 7:54 pm

I wanna sell my bike and go to Anfield UK to watch Liverpool game. Hoping some one can sponsor a new bike upon my return

• Ben Yap on Feb 01, 2024 at 8:26 am

maybe you can even get British citizenship and also knighthood!

• merzwan on Feb 01, 2024 at 11:13 am

Ah Beng following a team in a predominantly Rempit followed sport recommending Wumao tyres. Looks like things have come full circle.

• Salute to D on Feb 01, 2024 at 6:55 pm

Hold and behold, he is more loyal and patriotic than the ex-leader who questioned his race loyalty. I am a Malay and I have big salute to D Gan. You are an amazing son of Malaysia.

• Lamce on Feb 01, 2024 at 11:17 pm

I’m using Linlong tyres for my byd. Any sponsors?

• he deserve this
    who can make like his purely face
    like terberak dalam seluar ?
    it is not acting …it is real

• abcdefg on Feb 05, 2024 at 12:06 pm

keep that rubbish tyres to yourself hankook.