Malaysia facing serious subsidised diesel leakages, gov’t aims to stop mismanagement – Amir Hamzah

Malaysia is facing a serious problem with subsidised diesel leakages, with a possibility of ineligible parties still enjoying the subsidy, according to finance minister II Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan.

Citing the example of subsidised diesel usage, he said that before the Covid-19 pandemic, it was around 6.1 billion litres, but it had now reached 10.8 billion litres. “That is a 70% increase. So where did the subsidy go? For now, we feel that there is a high possibility that the subsidy has shifted to sectors that are not eligible for it,” he said.

“When you buy diesel from a petrol station, you pay RM2.15 per litre, but if you’re in a company and not eligible for a diesel subsidy, you have to pay around RM3.48 per litre at the commercial rate, so the difference is significant,” he said.

He said that this leakage puts a greater financial burden on the country’s management, Bernama reports. “We need to stop this mismanagement. We need to deal with the loopholes in terms of this leakage, of money being paid for companies that should not receive subsidies. It should go to the people, to build better schools, clinics and other essential infrastructure,” he explained.

Amir Hamzah added that given the amount of diesel subsidies given last year, which was about RM20 billion, the government was hoping to reduce that by half. The subsidised diesel control system (SKDS) 2.0 for land transport is part of the effort to reduce the spend.

The SKDS involves the participation of five oil and gas firms (Petronas. Shell, Petron, Caltex and BHPetrol). Under the programme, land transport companies that operate nine types of vehicles can apply to participate in the MySubsidi diesel system, which will utilise a fleet card system. Applications are now open, with fleet card use set to begin on April 1.

The nine vehicle types eligible for the programme are general cargo lorries, lorries transporting bottled drinks, refrigerated and luton lorries as well as prime movers, flour tankers, water tankers and panelled/window vans.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dong gor on Mar 08, 2024 at 3:39 pm

oh well, how do you think malaysia got here? it’s always mismanagement! the most obvious way to judge is when you fly overseas and u can start to compare how customs oversea work compared to malaysia’s!. boleh je…

• Aliff on Mar 09, 2024 at 9:59 pm

Nelayan tempatan dh jadi penyeludup haramjadah. Cilok diesel bersubsidi…

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Mar 11, 2024 at 1:57 pm

As above.
      PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Mar 08, 2024 at 3:49 pm

Sembang

• Kea Was on Mar 08, 2024 at 3:50 pm

Malaysia boleh corruption at its best want to take a good guess who’s doing all these approval and if one threatened to sack these individual they will gang up saying you mess with 1 guy you mess with the whole public sector (well I just follow orders only ma and its tax payers money:)

• seitha on Mar 08, 2024 at 4:56 pm

The rakyat know this since they were babies. Do we need a WEF puppet to remind us again.
    What are the authorities doing?
    Makan gaji buta kah?

• This is a old story but maybe politicians are making Huge money from this so it continues no matter which gomen is in charge.
    Just get rid of subsidies and our RM will start to strengthen.

• bobby on Mar 08, 2024 at 6:32 pm

stop subsidy. reimburse to those registered company.

• Thomas on Mar 11, 2024 at 10:10 am

Everytime i pump petrol, there will be one old pick up truck, suv or van with black-out windows parked there with non-stop diesel flowing into it. Wondering how big the tank to able to fill 20-30 minutes of diesel

• statement poyo :( on Mar 11, 2024 at 10:19 am

“It should go to the people, to build better schools, clinics and other essential infrastructure,” he explained…..Ini semua statement standard POYO……:(