Proton courts Hindustan Motors for India market

Proton had attempted to enter the India market with talks with Hindustan Motors in 2003 but talks didn’t really amount to much. Now Proton has started talks again with Mahindra and Hindustan Motors for a retry at the market.

Proton MD Syed Zainal Abidin was reported to issue a statement to international media that Proton would re-look at China and India as the market in those two countries were too huge to ignore. Proton and Hindustan Motors has something in common – Mitsubishi as a technical partner.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 6:06 pm

But Hindustan Motors only sells reengineered Morris Minors… no? :P

Well, who knows something good might turn out :D

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Morris Minors Special Edition! if u see the type of cars sold in india,i tink proton will do very wel their!

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 6:24 pm

India road condition very sucked… Even in the big town like Bombay, main road have pot holes all around, especially during raining season. Wondering P1 car can withstand 1mth but without strange sound there…

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 7:10 pm

pycazu, nvm, proton will build a flying machine and sell it there.

• biggie (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 7:54 pm

from my yrs in M'sia… we need someoe call Panjag to pathc up the hole on the road.

• kody (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 9:43 pm

Wahlaueh,

core market also cannot gain confident… then P1 still want to look for oversea markets… WTF… No any tremendeous improvement notice by customers… at least me…

• mrromeo (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 12:46 am

Well, p1 has planned to fall back to old technologies kot…. Even in their ambassadors are more reliable than protong. www.hindmotor.com. Their famous receipe is their trekker diesel engine…maybe masuk their engine in PROTONG body… Boleh tahanker?

• zerocool (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 3:24 am

Well……there's couple of stuffs that's common between Proton and Hindustan Motors (HM) :-

a) Both have Mitsubishi as technical partner

b) Both are covered by goverment protectionism [HM's flagship model, the Ambassador , based on 1950's Morris Oxford (kereta penyu), had dominated the streets for over 40 years, till the Indian goverment opened up the Indian auto market in the 1990's, exposing HM out of protectionism]

c) Boths' flagship models (Proton – Proton Saga, HM – Ambassador) are still being sold, despite in production > 20 years

d) Boths' flagship models still suffers from quality problem (even despite HM's latest attempt to revitalize Ambassador's sales recently by introducing facelifted Ambassador Avigo, minor changes had been made to the model – kereta still nampak macam penyu!). It was a common joke among indians that " everything in the Ambassador makes a sound except the horn". It's normal to see rainwater leaking thru the doors of a Ambassador fresh from the factory. About Proton……i think you and me also know lar (power window)

I think Proton and Mitsubishi are a very matching couple ;)

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 4:19 am

zerocool said

” everything in the Ambassador makes a sound except the horn”.

——————————————————–

This is a damn funny joke lah man. Good stuff !

Just hope it doesn't become Protom motto. ha ha….

• mrromeo (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 1:45 am

That is a good joke… In early 1995s the body of ambassador does not comes with anti rust.. you can see rusted spots on the doors, running board etc in few years time. I remember when I was studying in India, I have to strip off and re-welding the whole new car to tahan the vibration of the engine… But that time I spent around RM 350 to do that. But I beleive proton is not that bad…