BRABUS S V12 S Biturbo

brabussv121.jpg

A souped up S-class. Sometimes you wonder why such monsters are even made, as the typical owner of a Mercedes Benz S-class would be chauferred around in the back seat instead of driving the car. There’s just not much point to it. But that’s not stopping it to be done. Yup, they do it just because they can, and because people will pay for it. This is the Brabus S V12 S Biturbo, derived from the new 2006 Mercedes Benz S600.

brabussv122.jpg

From the side profile, you can immediately notice the huge 21 inch Brabus Monoblock light weight wheels. These are not just for aesthetics, but are necessary to install the improved braking system. The car stops with the help of 12-piston calipers on 380 x 36mm discs at the front wheels, and 6-piston calipers on 355x28mm discs at the rear wheels.

As for the bodykit, they do not just enhance the aesthetics of the car but they improve aerodynamics as well. The front apron and the side skirts have been developed in a wind tunnel. They help reduce lift on the front axle at high speeds. The bumper design’s gaping central air inlet also allows better cooling for the engine.

brabussv123.jpg

As for the engine, both forced induction and no replacement for displacement concepts were incorporated into getting more power out of it. Better pistons, longer stroke and increased bore increases displacement from 5.5 litres up to 6.3 litres. The engine also receives bigger turbochargers, a more efficient intercooling system and the usual intake and exhaust upgrades.

A huge displacement engine, turbocharged, results in peak torque of 1320Nm from as low as 2100rpm. That’s crazy. However somehow Brabus has decided to limit the torque output electronically to 1100Nm. Maximum horsepower is 730hp at 5100rpm.

The car is pushed by the back wheels, through a 5-speed automatic transmission, also tweaked by Brabus. There is an optional Brabus LSD kit for the car too. The car goes from 0-100km/h in 4 seconds, and 0-200km/h in 11.9 seconds. Top speed is electronically limited to 340km/h.

brabussv124.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jay (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 12:32 am

Awesome car. Mercedes is just "the CAR". But hey drivers are gifted nowdays man. They get to drive so many other models to date.

We can only watch them drive…….

Good work by Brabus !….Keep it up

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 12:48 am

Paul, you are killing me! But this is what you do. Doing something that you like and at the same time keeping the auto-enthusiast like me updated.

Those giant carmakers keep coming with new monster on the road. What can I say? Should I say no? I can't. I just love those cars. It shows the excellence of engineering.

Whoever drives this car, people will never think you are just the driver. Even at just a glance, they will say, he's a speed junkie and he got bloody tonnes of money at his disposal to drive a car like this. Is that a Fast and Furious thing under the skirting panel? Sure looks nice at night.

Now, where did I put my lottery ticket?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:08 am

Awsome and beautiful beast! I only can dream and look at the picture. You see how world class player come out with new models with innovative products that captivate either those who are capable to own it or those who can't afford (like me) yet admire it very much. This is wonderful and fantastic!

Can Proton do it! Ahem, …….. where is Chancellor, can't see it at road as well as show room! This Chancellor is "Frankenstein Car" – a cross breeding between extended Waja body and Perdana V6 engine!

• Joseph Choo (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:10 am

I noticed around the cars, there is some lightings.

nice touch to the aesthetics look. not pimp at all. absoblutely charming :D

infact i like the way brabus touching up the car look. sporty yet dont look bulky in the sense of S-class being mostly chauferred

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:23 am

there are many young millionaires in new york, london, paris, and even singapore. i think a more "garang" s class like this will appeal to that niche

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:26 am

I've seen the Chancellor once on the road, near Damansara Heights.

• DAN (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:07 am

is a give to our self if affordable.

nice car , nice technology.

• auyongtc (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:14 am

Ahhh the BRABUS S V12 S Biturbo…. a chaufer's dream…

ROTFLMAO!

• Isamu (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:54 am

I saw the Brabus S V12 S Biturbo in Pusat Bandar Puchong a couple of months ago.. Damn, it a real looker..!!

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 3:09 am

the people who own cars like these are the very people who will look at the rest of us and laugh as we struggle to keep up with rising petrol and other energy costs. haha. but who ever said life is fair?

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 3:47 am

Imagine the road tax 4 this baby.. My god.. this car can burn rubber.. Picture this.. u stop at the traffic lights and some guy in his souped up kancil stops beside u.. intimidates you. You floor it and see the little kancil transform into a little speck in ur rear view mirror.. ahhhh.. thats magic.. oh ya.. dont 4get 2 imagine the frustration that bloke goes through when he notices his puny kancil aint no match for a brabus..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:02 am

How much would this cost OTR w/insurance?

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:28 am

Gallardo1988 wrote,

"….in his souped up kancil stops beside u.. intimidates you. You floor it and see…"

_____________________________________________________________________________

Don't be a stupid ass to be intimidated by the puny Kancil if you drives this kinda car. Aiyyoh!! Bikin malu kompeni saje. Unless you said, "…intimidated by an M3 or an R34…". That's a different story. Btw, no offense to all Kancil owner out there. It just that, when making a comparison, man man la. Be fair, right?

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:57 am

ya….why reduce yourself to racing with kancils?

haizz…thats like asking manchester united to play against your local kampung team

• eric (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 9:03 am

hey, can they actually limit the torque.. i know they can limit the hp and the speed but the torque too?

because i heard only recently during the F1 commentry on the telly, i remember them saying that the poorer teams are still using the V10 engines instead of the newly regulated V8..

the only thing is that the V10s are rev limited so that their full potential cannot be used unjustfully.. and i particularly remember them saying that these V10s have an advantage of higher torque resulting from the extra 2 cylinders.. and that they (the FIA) cannot reuglate the torque amount because they can't limit the torque..

hmmmm.. just asking.. don't bombard me. hehe

• eric (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 9:07 am

btw, to design a driveshaft that can accomodate that much torque and power is just mindblowing..

with 730hp, power to weight ratios should still be respectable.. but that torque is just amazing.. i never knew merc engines to be so torquey..

with the petrol price hike, expect some seriously low fuel economy.. but it's not like the people who buy this can't afford to spend 500 bucks a week on petrol.. hehe

• xefron (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 9:30 am

" peak torque of 1320Nm from as low as 2100rpm. " Demm…..X_X

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 11:12 am

A bit off topic. Someone once told me some times ago that CAMPRO actually came from Mercedes design library. He claimed to know that fact from someone involve in the birth of this CAMPRO engine by Lotus and Proton. He also claimed the 1.6 litre initial design could squeeze 180Nm easily as oppose to the current 148Nm of torque. That's even more torque than the new 1.8 Civic! If that so, why waste the power? Anyone can verify this? I wonder if this is true or he's just talking bulls to me.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 6:59 pm

aksMs,

haha, dude, i was saying the kancil driver tries 2 intimidate you.. ofcoz u wont feel intimidated.. maybe a typo there.. dun la call ppl assss…sobs*

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:03 pm

Oh ya.. and im nt saying u shud only race with kancil.. im just making an instance.. coz those fellers are bloody annoying at times.. generally.. the fellers who hv souped up cars.. revving beside u.. hope u get the picture.. =p.. but hey.. im nt saying every1 with souped up cars are like tat.. pinpointing those who do.. =p..

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 11:11 pm

Like i said b4 Paul, this is the fastest 4 dour coupe in the world. Can you beat this machine?

• Deodorant (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 1:14 am

If I was rich enough to own this car, there's no way in hell a 30k kancil could possibly intimidate me … I mean … I'd probably like spend that much in petrol in one day alone :D

(yes, super exaggeration, but still).

• neurra (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 1:34 am

O.O'

12 piston calipers.. ^_^">