Peugeot plants trees in Brazil

logo_peugeot.gifHow nice. Peugeot has been planting trees since 1999 in Brazil, as part of it’s contribution to the environment to compensate for the pollution that Peugoet cars produce. It’s not that Peugeot cars are less environment-friendly than other marques, but I suppose they just feel it’s part of social responsibility, and it’s very good PR as well.

Over 6 years two million trees have been planted, and Peugeot says it helps offset 55,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide. The project will last another 34 years, as it is a 40-year project.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 11:08 am

Wah, very nice of them.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 1:17 pm

One word "Wow".

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:03 pm

dat's a good thing to do… maybe other manufacturers should do the same, make our planet a greener place :)

• rexis (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:37 pm

This is a very nice thing to do! Good job PEUGEOT!

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 4:59 pm

aiyo, really salute them………..but no one plant trees here…..n experts alrdy saud tat ASEAN countries will get hotter as the years go on…..sigh………

• go_go (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 5:21 pm

thanks peugeot for your concern about the environment…. proton, bila lagi mau tanam pokok?!!!! hahaha

• Mutant Tomato (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 5:31 pm

A very good effort on the part of Peugeot. Thumbs up :D

While we are on the subject of planting trees, let me say that the so called "re-greening" effort put uip by some of our own companies is a bloody hoax and not at all of any benefit!

What I mean is the companies that deal with palm oil and rubber. What they do is to clear a couple of hundred hectares of land and then plant their cash crops. They then conveniently put up a sign saying "We are helping to re-green the Earth." This is utter and absolute bullshit….

A jungle ecosystem is a complex and well balanced system. A palm oil estate is not! They have done nothing by planting the cash crops!

However, if the trees are planted in areas that have been barren for a long time, or in areas where there were no trees to begin with, or at sites that previously had construction, then that is a brilliant and environmentally conserative effort! Kudos to Peugeot and whoever else who does so!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 6:19 pm

go_go said,

April 7, 2006 @ 9:21 am

thanks peugeot for your concern about the environment…. proton, bila lagi mau tanam pokok?!!!! hahaha

haiya boss….never mention the SICK CAR MANUFACUTURER WANNABE le…PROTON is not really ib car business they are just BIG and STUPID BULLY.

just boycott them DONT BUY PROTON 21 years is more then enough of suffercation.

if we want to make this Paul Tan page a good discussion no more time wasting chatting on BIG and STUPID BULLY PROTON.tke it out from your dictionary, they are so many other car in market that you can buy why still want BIG and STUPID BULLY PROTON.

if some of you want to have the feeling of buying new yes it is normal BUT NOT TO BUY NEW PROTON.new PROTON you still experience second hand car situation.

COME ON MALAYSIA WAKE UP YOUR ARE WORKING LIKE CRAZY DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON PROTON.

p/s I really hate this POLITICAL ENTITY DUGUISE AS BUSINESS ENTITY that I'm offering my help for you people on how to get rid of BIG BULLY PROTON.they are thousands of ways.

• foreverunited (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 7:21 pm

man, the posting is about Peugeot planting trees in Brazil, then suddenly Proton got bash…u proton bashers never know when tu quit dont u? give them a chance as right now they're trying to buckled themselves up again…

• go_go (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 7:36 pm

My point is proton should take peugeot strategy, for example in this context is 'greening' strategy. People definately praise the proton effort, like we praise peogeot here.

BUT,……. if proton do this now, many people, 'proton-bashers' (no offence :) ) would definately said 'ape la proton ni… quality kerete teruk… mau tanam pokok pulak…so hai!'

am i right? So, no matter what proton do after this, all will get blamed and bashed. Ok, everyone knows that Proton were big-time-sucks. but let them fix the problem first… let them with time… we'll see…

If you still dont satisfied with proton, dont buy proton… i know, other car is pricey… but be smart…

Back to the topic, i think not only proton should follow peugeot steps, but all companies should at least do something for the sake of the environment. Not only benefit to us all but also improve their corporate identity…

Sorry if my word hurt anybody.. it is just my opinion… cheers!

• catborg (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 10:20 pm

ye lah tuh malaysian.. if proton planting pokok..

"BODO PROTON! APA HAL BUANG DUIT TANAM POKOK!.. U BIKIN KERETA MAA.."

malaysian absolutely!..

macam la tak tau..

hell now.. mass quick flood..

banjir kilat, bla bla.. let see..

WHO WILL BE FIRED NEXT WEEK!..

scape goat in searching for the KL Banjir Kilat.. ;)

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 10:30 pm

the thread title is NOTHING to do with proton , so wats this cat fight is all about la?? its Peugeot plants trees in Brazil , NOT PROTON plants trees in Brazil…

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Big manufacturers should follow this step for the future's sake. See whats happening to Lembah Klang lately, nature fights back when u dont care. We as motorists, should play our part olso la, next time when we tapau a drink in plastic, dont throw it out of the window n expect the bangla to sweep it away for us. Lets plant trees, i have a rambutan tree, a mango tree, a nangka tree at my garden, 10 years from now i can relax2 n enjoy the fruits. My car olso can park there..

• zerocool (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:15 pm

Global warming, guys………global warming……

If other manufacturers don't follow peugeot's suit……soon they have to start manufacturing motorboats and sampan also……forget bout car business….

• nissan130Y (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 8:46 pm

i think if proton's staff join the apperentice show… 1st round already GET FIRED!!!. but anyway we have to learn to live with this company. we got no choice. cause we are Malaysian. Malysia boleh!!! "kadang -kadang saje"

i think…. when can we ever stay humble and work hard??

• chris (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 5:04 am

Proton tanam ubi kayu hahaha!!!Go check out their tg.malim's plan for more details LoL~!

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:37 pm

they tanam pokok to show that they "care" about the environment.. where is the sink, i need to puke