Satria Replacement Model and Proton Savvy left hand drive

white_savvy_srm.jpg

Reader Mun Wai sent in these spyshots of a convoy of Proton vehicles. There were a few Proton Savvys escorting a Proton Satria Replacement Model. From this photo, you can have a look at the size comparison between a Proton Savvy and a Satria Replacement Model. You’ll also notice a very nice white Proton Savvy. I wonder if Proton will be offering this new colour soon?

savvy_lhd.jpg

This is a left-hand drive Proton Savvy being tested on the same roads. Could Proton be testing for the left-hand drive China market? Or perhaps the US market. I think the previous is more likely.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jay (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 9:09 pm

Come on Proton. Put a stop to the Hype. Lets see what you've got. After all this workers attitude problems……the people want to see something new & reliable fast !

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Aiya yang in acah-acah saja tu, diapa Proton tu boleh buat pa, dok tunjuk buapa lama dah tak keluak lagi. Main-main aje, macam budak kecik main main dan tunjuk kote lah – tapi tak boleh kong kek! Pi mai pi mai tang tu jugak.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:01 pm

Hahaha.. Joe i like your northen dialect…

ATTN: MD SYED ZAINAL

White savvy??… ok what….. suit the font lamps.. but pls change the rear spiderman lamps..

ps: savvy's solid body earn my respect.. saw one turn turtle in the star.. but look intact & turn-turtle solid…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:09 pm

why they still testing the SRM???? i guess proton still not very confident in introducing the SRM to the public. i've heard the rumours saying that it will be launched last year but until now it's still in the testing phase. perhaps proton still need more time to fine tune it…? the longer they delay the launching of SRM, the more potential buyers will lose.. hurry up proton… we all are bored with the existing models..

• flizzardo (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:27 pm

bah i though it suppose to come out this month>?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:30 pm

reddevil.. i think this time they learned their lesson.. next time dont just produce junks.. for me, better slow a bit, but make more quality cars.. dont cheat the people and use them as TEST SUBJECTS…. anyone want to be test subjects??.. can buy SRM… hehehe..

ps: i met some waja & gen2 test subjects…

• rosdi (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:51 pm

white savvy?? I want one!

will wait for srm first though to see what they've got.. i think it is worth the wait.

• go_go (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:58 pm

lets see what you got..proton…

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 1:16 am

wahlaueh…

May be P1 encounter too much 'chit chit' sound from all area & that's why need more time to troubleshoot & modify…. haha…

• zerocool (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 2:51 am

i've seen this white savvy – the left hand drive before, about 2 months ago, on test drive near my place at USJ 20. Sure looks nice this car, if complemented with white rims, even beats my white gen-2 1.3A.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 3:14 am

zerocool… ermm.. want some info of yr gen2 1.3 la.. can u share a bit… describe from 2 perspektif.. try to be honest..

1. Pros

2. Cons

tq…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 3:43 am

proton is killing herself by

picthing savvy, satrai, gen2 market

in same price range of 40-50K,

p1 should come up with 24-35k car, knacil league.

• PGlang (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 5:23 am

Proton has no marketing mind….They launch the same price range cars in its league.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 8:23 am

Knowing them… I guess the next model release date will be on National Day… I bet my paycheck on it…

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:21 pm

not interested at all. dun care whatever shit they're testing or launching, its just another rubbish coming out..

PROOF ME WRONG, PROTON!

• hypermount (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:35 pm

acbc, sure or not? wanna be? really good deal hehe.

ToiletBowl, then why you did u post here in the first place… sigh people nowdays..cakap talak serupa bikin.

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 5:05 pm

wahlaeh…

All readers, if u r unsatisfied with P1, pls feedback/email ur problems to P1 n let's see what can they improve.

e-mail: [email protected]

i had complaints about my car, & they feedback to me to check at their SC.

Just read my comment & their feedback. read from bottom 1st.

Dear Sir,

First of all, we apologize for any inconvinience that you are facing with your vehicle. We would advice you to get your vehicle inspected at any of our Proton Edar Service Centre. Hopefully our technician could identify the concerns that you highlighted.

We also would like to thank you for your valued feedbacks and comments on Proton models. Your ideas are certainly appreciated and we would forward it to relevant parties for their referance. Thank you again.

Should you have further enquiries, feel free to contact our Customer Service at 1-300-880-888.

Best Regards,

i.care Centre

Proton Edar

1-300-880-888( General Enquiry )

1-800-888-398(24Hour Assistance)

Subject: pls fix WIRA aeroback 'chit chit sound at back'!! & feedbacks

i had observed, many…no, almost all aeroback wira suffer back boot area 'chit chit' sound. old model until the special edition also have this problem. My end December 2003, Wira Aeroback special edition is always killing my mood with the 'chit chit sound from back on the rocky & un-flat road condition.

Areas contribute to sound

– wiper motor at back boot.

– side covers, metal clips.

Anyway to improve sound prove for WIRA, it is a really overall bad sound proof in the car.

Please improve the sound proof & 'sound quality' when close the door, it really help to make the car more class/standard.

What i compare MYVi & Savvy, when i close Savvy's door, it is a hard slamming to close the doors & feel no class & ordinary door seal which show no quality. Many of us do not like Savvy back look, it just look like similar to front of the car.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 6:11 pm

thx kody… thats is a good info… instead of bash poton here, we can make complains.. i want to complain too… i oso dont like savvy rear look.. but like savvy solidness.. hard like turtle shells.. look like super turtle… especially the green one…

ATTN: MR. SYED ZAINAL..

PLS MAKE MORE SOLID CARS LIKE SAVVY…

• biggie (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 7:24 pm

i like the savvy backside… it look smart as oppose to saggy as the other makes. anyway thats just a personal opinion.

but i do want proton to stop producing wira/iswara and satria.

btw this report is what you get by having auto industries here. we see car got tested etc..etc.. for motor enthusiast this is something special. Something that one can only see in magazines like our Sg friend

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 8:30 pm

its ok biggie… like is so subjective.. but u r the 1st one i know like the rear look… sometimes its ok to hear from diiffent views… my be i will try to like it oso… but if they can make rear lamps like new perdana's or new saga, better la.. look more macho, so can suit the macho front look… nowdays more cars have round lamps inside & diamond lamps…

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:25 pm

commenting on the beauty of something is rather "unfair" as everybody has their own interpretation of "beauty". i agree that proton quality is questionable to say the least, but their design, in my interpretation of beauty, has improved significantly. as an engineer myself, we tend to observe on things that can be quantify rather than abstract. I let the stylist to take care of that!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:24 pm

Biggie – if you talk about backside – I still remembered my comment of 1st batch Proton Saga backside is like "fire ants backside", he, he, ……..

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:36 pm

wahlaueh…

Aren't you all feel that Savvy's rear look is similar to WAJA front look. (Savvy)The P1 logo & the triangle curve at middle make it really look like front of the car.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:43 pm

No lah Kody, like "Alfa Romeo" style lah. At most on the logo section only.

• koboi (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:14 am

Getting tired laaa of this SRM hype……The xcitement sudah hilang maaa…too many spyshots already…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:44 am

Left hadn drive Proton cars usually mean East Asia market. US? They do not have any strong partners yet. US is too big, you need a strong netwrok of dealers. And Malaysia is a muslim country, hence the brand might not do well there.

Lets sit down and wait for the SRM. JPJ has given the greenlight to launch the car (it has passed the Type Approval test). It will be Syed Zainal's first car…though of course he came in too late to do any drastic change to the SRM.

• waja2000 (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:09 am

Left hand drive is for Taiwan market (first LHD country Savvy try to sell) , which schedule lunch at Taiwan in Jun, due to quite well sell GEN2 in Taiwan, Proton confident Savvy will hava big market in taiwan.

• waja2000 (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 6:29 am

Left hand drive Savvy is for Taiwan market, which schedule lunch at Taiwan around Jun, Taiwan will be first LHD country for Savvy. Proton have confident Savvy in Taiwan market due to quite well selling Gen2 in taiwan, over 1000 Unit Gen2 already sell in Taiwan. estimated Savvy selling Price will be NT 420K~450K.

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:06 pm

chrisbangle, SRM is not Syed Zainal's first car. This car is from TM era….. even if proton come out with a mpv, that idea also came from TM era. This MD i dunno wat he contribute yet aside from the quality campaign.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:40 pm

like i said, he came in too late to do any drastic changes, but he still can stop the launch if he doesnt like it.

i think the new MD is better than the old one. Of course TM is a car nut, but he builds what he wants, and NOT what the rakyat wants.

Syed Zainal is more keen to save the company for going further down into the slump.

Taiwan market ke? ooh..that's good news. Lets see how the fellow Chinese there accept the car. Their "brothers" here hate it so much.

• zerocool (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:55 pm

motorhead,

if u need some comments on gen2 1.3A, y don u check out the "gen2 1.3A" post in this blog…..there's many comments (including myself) from current gen2 1.3A users…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 9:05 pm

chrisbangle said,

April 14, 2006 @ 12:40 pm

"like i said, he came in too late to do any drastic changes, but he still can stop the launch if he doesnt like it.

i think the new MD is better than the old one. Of course TM is a car nut, but he builds what he wants, and NOT what the rakyat wants.

Syed Zainal is more keen to save the company for going further down into the slump."

Joe Ooi – Definitely MD SZ is better and capable of leading P1, unfortunately "P1 failed to follow MD"! You put Carlos Ghosh or any CEO from Merc, Honda, Toyota, etc in P1, "P1 will still fail all these top gun misery"! The problems lies on P1 & NAP, not MD SZ. Time will prove it!………… In fact P1 fail everyone, the G, NAP, Consumers, Tax payers, rakyat, etc……….

• biggie (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 9:11 pm

i dunno about the taiwanese. There is an article by Taiwanese reviewer telling that Gen2 is better then Mazda 323

http://www.auto-online.com.tw/news.php?CMD=open&a…

So they like Gen2, so may be like South Africa, Taiwan is another country that proton find success with its newer model.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 10:31 pm

biggie – if Gen2 is better than Mazda 323, why the sales figure for Gen-2 is 20,066 units (2004) and 29,739 units (2005) resepctively only. The sales even less than other models like Waja (35,954 units, Y2005), Wira (43,124 units, Y2005) or Iswara (33,094 units, Y2005). I don't think and doubt that it will be any better than Mazda 323 sales figure?

Do Proton really find success with its newer model in countries like South Africa or Taiwan, considering that its sales figure even can't beat older models like Waja, Wira and Iswara? You ask yourself, the magazine might have certain criteria in their assessment, but look at commercial success in term of sales, it is a "failure", even compare with its "older brothers".

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 10:33 pm

zerocool.. ok.. check oredi.. thx…

• razib (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 10:39 pm

APA SUDAH JADI PADA ITU SYED MD? BARU NI DIA PERGI ASSEMBLY LINE KONON NAK TENGOK KUALITI PRODUK YANG DIHASILKAN OLEH PROTON. NAK PERGI KILANG SENDIRI PUN NAK PUBLISITI KE..KALAU NAK JADI QC BAIK TAK PAYAH..MEMBAZIR DUIT PROTON AJE… DULU KAT PERODUA..NAIB PRESIDEN QC KE…

• catborg (Member) on Apr 15, 2006 at 3:11 am

SEBAB NANTITI ORANG CAKAP DIA TAK BUAT KERJA PULAK LA RAZIB..

SENDIRI FAHAM LA MULUT MALAYSIAN.. SO BIAR LA DIA TUNJUK!..

KALAU SENYAP TAKDE BERITA, ORANG CAKAP DIA DUDUK KERUSI SAJA!!!.. SIMPLE MIND MALAYSIAN LAAA..

*aiya.. sori.. lupe capital lock :D *

Ok what.. better than none.. at least we try! TRY to enter the LHD market..

Inside of bashing like most of here!..

The philosophy said :

GAGAL SELEPAS MENCUBA ADALAH LEBIH BAIK DARI GAGAL MENCUBA!

not all thing is bad. apa yang buat proton tuh BURUK pada mata orang luar ada KAMU SEMUA YANG KATA IA BURUK..

kalau iswara, wira etc BURUK saya pun setuju!..

Tapi savvy, tidak, ia adalah kereta yang BAIK!..

• biggie (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:12 pm

joe

its a review by a Taiwanese magazine…. obviously do not relate to actual sales. On Taiwanese perspective, how would I know, I don't live in Taiwan. Even I go there most of the ppl I see just say what I want to hear (i = tourist/boss).

I do think the newer countries never see or experience Waja/Wira/Iswara (undle and mak cik car) they will look at Gen2/Savvy (young&sporty) from different perspective.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:36 pm

biggie – that why we (as consumer) should have do more groundwork by log in relevant websites to see more. I extremely dislike Proton way of doing thing domestically and when in oversea market, on many occassion they are self-contradictory.

But for UK market, they experience Saga, Pesona (Wira), Impian (Waja), Gen-2 and recently Savvy. Until today, Proton still expected Malaysian to be patriotic by supporting their product but Proton "never" patriotic in term of protecting consumer rights. In 1990s, they sold cars (Saga, Pesona) in UK from GBP 8K to 9K (exchange rate b4 1997 financial crisis is around 3.9 to 4.0) well below RM 40K but in Malaysian market more than RM 40K. Until today Savvy in UK market is lower than our market, where is fair considering other factors like UK specs and logistic cost?

• biggie (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:50 pm

joe

the tax structure is very-very different. do a google for UK or Aus tax and make the calc yourself. Its very simple. Proton pay (at 50% discount pre NAP) 7K tax for every Savvy and in UK (at 100%) only 2K.

Saga is different case and Proton has admitted to subsidizing the price to create market presence. But from Waja onwards its profit for Proton. In fact Proton make about 30% more profit per car for export version (complete with ABS/Airbags/EBD + transportation etc..) then local version. Source Proton P&L statement, available to the public as Proton is public listed company.

Thats the reason for the push into export market.

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:58 pm

to me,

P1nowadays should see the market..the new models from other manufacturers. Should come out with cars like the new Civic etc. then P1 can be a competitor. Put aside old design and come out with a new one. P1 must always look forward. Improve every aspect before entering US market. US expectation is different. P1 card must have good look and equipped technology like GPS system etc.Honda also have to change the models a bit just to fit their cars in US.

Look at the market now. Watch how hyundai grows. 20 years in this industry like P1 but has improved a lot.

P1, please open ur eyes and learn….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:07 am

biggie – so NAP is really suck, this prove NAP do not benefit all! Suck, has to dismantle!

P1 Push for export market? Waja almost same price with Corolla Altis at UK, also Ford Mondeo, what to fight?

• proton12vauto (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 12:35 am

go proton go..whatever it is…I love my proton…

• biggie (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 10:36 pm

joe

export market is where the profit are… P1 do not have much option other then to push for export market to improve their bottomline under NAP.

old tax structure : M'sian G benefit by securing jobs for auto sector

NAP tax structure : Asean G benefit by securing jobs for auto sector

UK : No need protective measure as there are no auto sector

Aus : Economy big enough to provide subsidy to own auto sector

Japan/US : Mfrer is big enough no need for protective tariff

Korea : Mfrer own by global corporation ne need protective tariff.

understand?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 12:46 am

biggie – old tax structure : M’sian G benefit by securing jobs for auto sector

Joe Ooi – consumers suffer a lot.

NAP tax structure : Asean G benefit by securing jobs for auto sector

Joe Ooi – consumers still suffer a lot.

UK : No need protective measure as there are no auto sector

Joe Ooi – G and consumers benefits a lot.

Aus : Economy big enough to provide subsidy to own auto sector

Japan/US : Mfrer is big enough no need for protective tariff

Korea : Mfrer own by global corporation ne need protective tariff.

Hope you understand NAP need to be abolished and closed P1 which is economically not viable! lol, …….. and embrace open market like UK, Aus, Japan, US and Korea.

• biggie (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 5:34 pm

joe

greedy consumers is not a priority for any G which you can conclude from history. Jobs = votes, as no jobs = no paying customers, no votes. Any G in the capitalistic world prefer to be seen as business friendly.

UK : no paying customer who work in auto industry

US/Japan : imported car is made by same tax paying corporation

Korea : no tax else the corporation shift production to other countres.

I never study political science but I the relation between tax and jobs is included a macro economy textbook.

NAP is viable for auto mfr as it caters ASEAN market but the old structure is not viable as M'sian market is too small. Growth can be seen from less developed countris as their infra improve more car can be sold.

You need to closed down P1, P2 and NAZA – the economic impact is really big. Let say Rawang (for P2), 65% of the lisenced factories and shops are linked to Perodua taking about 75% of working population. For Shah Alam 60% of lisenced factories and shops are linked to Proton taking about 62% of the working pop. P1 , P2 and vendors are still low skill labour intensive thus 40% don't know anything else apart from working in auto sector. How do u cater for that? Rover is okay as UK is a welfare state as also detroit. Data from jabatan perangkaan malaysia.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 6:17 pm

biggie – Employment opprotunity are directly depend on conventional government fiscal and monetary policies. And most recently, to a certain extent, consumerism – consumer spending. In any free market economy like us, G always adopt this fiscal and monetary policies in yearly budget to generate economic activities – thus directly create employment opportunity.

This 2 policy also design to stimulate the Consumers spending so htat the economy growth at healthy rate.

Yes, Proton is part of G 1970s and 80s objective to achieve industrialisation.Yes Proton create jobs, but for G to create employment not necessary have to maintain P1 which suppose to create wealth to nation. But current P1 conditions indeed is a liability to nation and consumer have to suffer in the form of excessive tax to sustain its existence. In other word, P1 economic output is less than the cost need to maintain it, therefore it is economically not viable! This can be reflected in draconian NAP tax structure. There is no balance of benefits but unequal suffering by consumers, Consumers normally not greedy but businessman always,…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 6:19 pm

biggie – We are not welfare state, but abandoning NAP and embrace open market will attract FDI which create more jobs opportunity. Somemore, NAP look like "welfare policy" to P1.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:18 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• pinoyrocks (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 3:10 am

more and more junks! proton should focus on developing new technologies for their cars, not on producing cars that are outdated technologicaly..just think of the money that were spent in producing these cars..its the tax payers money dude!!

• ATOMECHTRONICZ (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:52 am

ai..jangan complain proton lagi la ! proton, bijak sikit la, kereta tiga pintu jarang orang beli buat apa buang duit dalam sungai! Keluar kereta yang popular la…jangan bikin benda tak guna la.kereta guna sekejap aja tapi masalah banyak…can u improve ur quality ? Kereta mahal tapi macam tahi…how to use?

saya cinta malaysia. saya bukan mau cakap proton apa, saya cuma harap proton boleh ubah dan menjadi kereta jenama di dunia. ini bukan mimpi jika proton fikir dengan bijak. Wish u all the best proton ! gambateh^^ !!