2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2

civic_front2.jpg

I had the opportunity to test drive the 2006 Honda Civic 1.8S and the 2006 Honda Civic 2.0S on a nice Saturday morning thanks to Jeremy and Shannon from the New Straits Times lifestyle section. This is part two of a three part series. Click here to read part 1.

civic_tailinglorries.jpg
Lorries are mighty irritating on test runs

How’s the drive then? The 1.8S is supposed to tuned for comfort while the 2.0S is supposed to have a sportier suspension tuning, but I did not notice much difference with both cars. Both handle well with slight understeer. Most of the driving was done with 3 people in the car. I did not do anything crazy enough for the VSC to kick in. I preferred the 1.8S hydraulic steering rack rather than the 2.0S electronic power steering. But then again, I am someone who is used to heavy steerings. It might just be psychological, but the 2.0S has slightly less feel to it than the hydraulic one. This is comparing the two Civics of course. If compared to other Japanese makes, both the steering feel of both the 1.8S and 2.0S is so much better. It gives me the impression of a very well put together car, almost continental in character. Heavier than the usual Japanese sedan, but it gives the car an agile feel, pointing the nose wherever you’re steering it.

I took some semi spirited drives through some narrow bendy roads, tailing trailers and waiting for the best opportunity to overtake them, and discovered the Honda Civic handled pretty well. This was in the Civic 2.0S. Let’s put things into perspective. I can drive more “insane” than how I did on the test drive day without much fuss in an old 1984 Nissan Sunny 130Y 1.5, and this Civic handled a lot better than the Sunny. So imagine once I was used to the Civic’s characteristics, what it could do. We also had a go on some slightly bumpy roads and damping was sufficient for a comfortable ride.

civic_driveee.jpg

There are reports of some strange noises with the Honda Civic’s front right suspension, but I did not detect any. Maybe Honda fixed it with these two cars, with them being test drive cars and all. However, this appears to be a very common problem with the 2006 Honda Civics, so be sure to check if your car has the problem.

The Honda Civic is very very quiet. Which makes it excellent for sneaking up on road runners. In fact, if you turn off the air conditioner, you might think the engine is off from the inside of the car. It did not rain, and we didn’t have time to find a water hose to spray water on the roof of the car, so we could not check how quiet the cabin would be during rain. The boys from NST said they would check this out later. There was some slight noise from the tyre roll though, but this can be solved by using quiet touring tyres like Bridgetone’s Turanza.

Torque was ample in the 1.8 model. I had a spot of town driving in that car. Very nice, very comfortable. Thanks to our beloved Works Minister Samy Vellu, I also had a go at a traffic jam near the Middle Ring Road. Car did fine there. Big wing mirrors made it easy to switch lanes. There is also a triangular gap near the A pillar which extended the driver’s field of view. This is important for the forward sloping A-pillar design, otherwise turning the car would be a mess. What makes this car so nice to drive in stop and go situations is the excellent feel that the accelerator pedal provides. The pedal is hinged at the bottom instead of the top. Somehow that design makes it much easier for me to control how much pressure is put on the accelerator pedal. I kind of like it, and understand how luxury cars like Mercedes Benz have been using this type of pedal for quite some time.

civic_k20a.jpg
Honda’s K20A, one of the better 2.0 litre inline-4 engines I’ve driven

Have you ever driven a manual car where the clutch slips on hard acceleration? You feel the engine revving higher and higher but the car doesn’t really go anywhere. This was how I felt driving the Civic 1.8S with the R18A1 SOHC i-VTEC engine in a spot of spirited driving. The engine is useless through curves. The engine has good low to mid torque, but practically nothing on the top end.

It is supposed to have only 14Nm of torque less than the K20A in the Civic 2.0S, as well as only 15 horsepower less. But it feels like the world of a difference. Good for town driving, good for highway cruising, but anything else and it’s hopeless. Many times the gearbox had to drop gears twice to get enough power to go forward. My face showed obvious frustration with the engine that it merited a few chuckles from the passengers. But the engine is supposed to be as frugal as a 1.5 litre, so you can’t really complain much. It’s serving it’s purpose. It’s not a performance engine.

The 2.0 litre K20A on the other hand, just kept screaming until the 6800rpm redline. It actually inspires you to push it to the max. The 1.8S has nothing above 4500rpm. Go past that mark and you start to feel there is no point, and you ease on the gas pedal to allow the gearbox to change to the next gear.

civic_gear.jpg
Shift to S fo the paddle shift feature. The 1.8S has the normal D, D3, 2, L.

Naturally once I got into the Civic 2.0S’s driver seat I was eager to try the paddle shift feature. So I shifted to S. I could hear the engine drop a gear. But where was the gear indicator? Then someone told me I had to shift a gear once first before it would enter paddle shift mode. I had totally forgot the gearbox had a sporty automatic mode which was the S mode. I did not test that out in the anticipation of testing out the paddle shift mode. Silly me. Paddle shifting was very responsive, better than what I expected from an automatic transmission. But I had a few gripes.

First of all, I understand Honda designed the Multiplex two-tiered meter to help the driver focus on the road. And if I am in the paddle shift tiptronic mode, I’d most likely going to engage in a spot of very spirited driving. And this requires me to keep my eyes on the road even more. Even the paddle shifters exist to help me keep focus, with hands on the steering wheel shifting the gears instead of operating a plus and minus lever on the gear lever. If so, I cannot understand why Honda put the gear indicator at the bottom tier next to the RPM meter. Why not the top tier? I couldn’t even see the gear indicator in some cases where the steering wheel spokes were blocking it.

Honda, if you ever facelift the car, please relocate the paddle shift gear indicator to the top tier of the Multiplex dashboard. There’s plenty of space. If you want to do something, (help the driver focus in this case) do it right, don’t do it half way and make the whole thing a pointless gimmick. I’m not saying it’s a gimmick, the Multiplex meter is very functional, but it could be improved. I had great fun playing with the paddle shifter. There were a few times where I accidentally hit the wiper controls though.

civic_paddle.jpg

Highway driving is very relaxed on both cars thanks to the 5-speed gearbox where 2 of the gears are overdrive gears. But I would have preferred 4 gears with 1 overdrive for more acceleration power. The Civic is beautiful on highway cruising. So stable. I was flooring the Civic 1.8S on the highway to see how it could go and before I knew it, I was touching almost 160km/h. To be honest it didn’t feel like anything above 120km/h, and I am not exaggerating here. You tend to speed in this car without even realising it because normal highway cruising speeds feel slow in it. A solid chassis perfect for a DC5 engine transplant. It’s almost a crime putting something weak like the R18A1 1.8 engine in it.

Brakes were good, but somehow the ABS did not activate. I’m not sure if I was doing it wrong. I was going 70km/h on a straight road and jammed the brakes. I did not warn Jeremy and Dr. Long first, sorry guys. The rear tailed abit, and the front tyres skidded abit. No ABS. No pulsing feel in the brake pedal. Do I have to be going 170km/h? Sorry, an ABS newbie here. I do not have a car with ABS.

Next up – conclusion and what I think of the car’s build quality as well as which I would pick – the 1.8S or the 2.0S? Click here to read part 1.

2006 Honda Civic In-depth Technical Specifications
2006 Honda Civic 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC engine – R18A1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Dear Paul, there no mention on how the most important brake pedal feels when it is operated.

• Paul Tan on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:39 pm

The brakes felt okay… nothing special. But I've just added something to the end of the article regarding ABS.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 11:52 pm

i agree with the multiplex thingy,PAUL i had a hard time reading both and focusing on the road.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:07 am

Driving the Accord 2.0, I think you can feel the ABS if you try to slowly bring it to a stop near a traffic light. I surely can feel it in the Accord. Or maybe they made it too subtle for drivers to notice the pulsating feeling. I don't like the pulsating feeling at all, though if I brake hard, I do not feel anything, but when i brake slowly, like I said, you can clearly feel it.

Honda was trying to save budget when they design the meter cluster? Or the two tiered meters. Since most high end cars have some display directly on the window, and not two tiered. I think they really did forget to place the gear indicator on top, and stick with the old design of gear indicators at the bottom. Either that or they really don't want you to focus on the gears and focus more on the feeling when driving the car? Either way, in the long run, you can actually guess what gear you are, so there is really no need of gears at top tier, depending on the speed of the car

• kuntakinte (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:08 am

hi paul

i am an owner of the 2.0. While it is a heaven to drive, i cant agree much with u on the Noise department cos the outside noise from bikes, buses and cars are clearly audible. The tyre noise makes it presence felt too.

Yes, there is a "dup" sound from the driver front side, when going over potholes or thick yellow lines. We were told that it is the huge hydraulic mounting that is the culprit. Drain it a out a little, u will lose the "dup-dup" sound but at the expense of greater engine vibration at idle. Still waiting for an ultimate solution from HM.

Other than this minor 'defect' (which was also apparent in my previous 2005 Sentra), I have never had such satisfaction with a car until now.

It will feel out of place in normal stop-go traffic as u will xp slight minor jerks when the gears hunt lower in those conditions. Other than that, this beast is made to run. The free revving nature of the engine just screams for more. Overtaking is fun again.

The is also very little lag in between paddle shifting. In fact, the shifting is more responsive than the automatic itself.

On FC, it is amazing. For an engine yet to run-in, I did consistently between 11 to12km/liter, on 60% hi-way, >105km/h and >3000 rpm.

To top it up, it's futuristic and radical looks simply makes the competition look old and boring. I have also added in a Mugen bodykit (with modulo spoilers to be installed later) and it looks simply divine.

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:08 am

THE NEW HONDA LOOKS NEW BUT NOT SO GREAT, I mean the only reason one would buy it is its floppy paddle gear box, which is quite new in malaysia, anyway you could only get that should you buy the 2.0 litre engine i think. (Me and my gang called it THE MUTILATED HONDA CIVIC)Anyway out of topic, here's what the swedes have done , i totally cant beliEve it .

CLICK LINK TO SEE WHAT I MEAN

http://stephenstreets.blogspot.com/

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:09 am

mystvearn: the point was not the pulsing of the brake pedals, but the fact that the tyres skidded. abs is supposed to prevent tyre skidding no?

kuntakinte: i'm sorry, i think i didn't make myself entirely clear. when i say the car is quiet, i'm talking about noise originating from the car itself, not the overall sound damping. which is why i mentioned the noisy tyres, and suggested changing them to something quieter.

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:16 am

Anyway I hope you guys will keep the discussion clean. I hope I don't see any strange unrelated mentions to Proton here.

• kuntakinte (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:25 am

oooh paul, mis-read ur post. sowee.

correction on my previous post

"On FC, it is amazing. For an engine yet to run-in, I did consistently between 11 to12km/liter, on 60% hi-way, >105km/h and >3000 rpm".

What i meant was on "less than (

• KY (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:16 am

I suggest more paragraphings, abit teh pain in the eyes. =/

• lance (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:19 am

Hi Paul,

Thanx for the write-up – good read!

:D

In regards to…

"Even the paddle shifters exist to help me keep focus, with hands on the steering wheel shifting the gears instead of operating a plus and minus lever on the gear lever. If so, I cannot understand why Honda put the gear indicator at the bottom tier next to the RPM meter."

Er… if you are driving "spiritedly" – why would you need to know what gear you're in? I don't think you'd be monitoring your speed for that matter as well.

That aside, I'd think that the designers wanted to keep the top tier clean (read as spacious – why? No idea … perhaps… for the look)

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:23 am

If you don't want to know what gear you are in, good for you. But I'd want to know what gear I am in.

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:25 am

great car. i even love the type r version of this

(not sure that prototype for this version or next one la)

few question

what's your top speed on 1.8 / 2.0

have you try spirited drive w/o aircond?

what's the different

just curious, any manual box for this,

havent really have time to go for test drive , busy la

((honda is great car, love them, just that i m abit dissappointed

that every new model is bigger+heavier than previous))

• lance (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:50 am

Hi Paul,

Fair enough.

: )

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:02 am

lance: auto gear ratios are different from manual gear ratios. sometimes it's hard to estimate what gear you're in you know, having driven manuals all your life. have you tried driving the civic 2.0 paddle shift?

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 3:34 am

well aboo fr alladin.mov, I agree that every Honda is bigger than previous, but every car manufaturer is doing the same. BMWs, Mercedes, Toyota, etc. I think is the trend right?

The paddle shift seems fun to me… Thanks Paul for letting us know about it.

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:30 am

yea… i know that's the trend…

just a bit dissappointed about that trend,

that's all, feel the same about

that gov should impose roadtax

rate base on how big+heavy+engine capacity

one car is

anyway… just an idea, and just a little disappointed

only… dont really matter

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:33 am

Expensive cars have much complicated high-tech features…..

i don't really understand what they are because i only drive my father's Kancil…sigh

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:36 am

You skidded? I have skidded, but the ABS was on cue. It corrected lots of the errors I made. Not sure why its not available in the civic

• WIRA (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:45 am

unfortunately we are in Malaysia…. car price is more expensive by 200% … love your comment on the car Paul but why must you praise SV on the road condition????

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:50 am

Wira: I was being sarcastic lah.

mystvearn: yup, and the back felt like it was going to "buang" abit.

• ckcheong (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:18 am

Hi Paul, when you brake hard, can you still steer or the steering lock up? The ABS is suppose to prevent wheel lock up when braking hard so that the driver can steer around any obstacles.

• jackychua (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:33 am

i wonder why all the test drive cars are free from the problem. i think honda malaysia dry out the hydraulic fluid at the particular mounting point that cause the "strange" noise. Anyway, i did feel that the test drive car engine vibration is more in the cabin… i think paultan got some access to Honda Malaysia staff and hope that you can help to update us on the status, i was trying so hard to get the "information" that i described above.. finding hard to be updated about the defact.

for the ABS, yes, it is quite hard to kick in for Civic 8th Gen. I think it is due to the parallel VSA system. I did suspect that it is another defact until i went through a slippery hump, the ABS is very powerful and scared me at that time. (other vehicle like City, Cefiro with ABS are more sensitive to kick in during hard breaking.) Maybe you should try to turn off the VSA to let the ABS kick in more easily.. (nv tried)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:18 am

Its an FF car, so if tail 'buang' abit, then the only way to correct is by braking, sterring; accelaration makes it worse. This is quite a problem if I do try to drive this car since I drive by throwing the car into the corners.

When you say nothing after 4500rpm, meaning it can go higher with same results as 4500 rpm, or you actually get less torque after that?

The 2.0 version, shares the same engine with the accord, which I have managed to get 7000rpm-east west highway, climbing a hill, it can go higher…I was just afraid engine will blow up :P, so 6800rpm should be nothing for the civic. Maybe can try the Gua Musang-Cameron Highland road, ultra steep hill, and long straits.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:39 am

nice comment frm u paul…i jz cant comment much coz not test drive it yet…jz read all u guyz comment bout this car….mbe can help me for the info…

• Imation (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:44 pm

Me considering of buying new civic (not sure either 1.8 or 2.0) but will make my decision soon. Paul, I'm waiting for your comment in part 3.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:13 pm

i tried 1.8 on the roads of batu caves to ulu yam… going up hill wasn't enough power or smooth enough. Going downhill was ok but its better than the P1 Gen.2.

I just want to ask, why Gen.2 has this feature of kickin in a lower gear when u are not pressing the acceleration? Maybe its me, I cant really get used to it.

Oh, I am not a tester but my line of work requires me to drive customer's car around.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:45 pm

The ABS is normally executed under heavy braking conditions when turning sideways. It rarely works on straights because your brakes are applied with balance on all tyres. ABS works when your turning to avoid skidding in any way which could cause your car to swerve on the back or something which could cause very major accidents when you lose control. Normally ABS is followed by Jerking sounds…JEK JEK JEK or something like DG DG DG sounds as I experienced while driving an E-Class having to stop abruptly at a turn. It came to me as a surprise as I could easily steer it to my preferred position after 2 seconds of braking…slowly turning….that was my first experience of ABS.

PS. Saw the SRM on the lorry in Subang yesterday. BLERGH, hate the taillights. It's pretty much a blown up version of the savvy. Just wider, longer and maybe more shapely. Got a glimpse of orange red and yellow. All the info i could tell…and they have a small rear spoiler on the top..just a small one like those u see on satrias…

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:24 pm

I am not familiar with the current generation of ABS system. But previously I tried out the ABS in a 1996 Perdana. It activates during hard braking while you are going straight or turning. I was able to brake hard straight before doing a sharp turn. At that time I was driving too fast and it was raining.

It amazing how the ABS work and I think everyone should at have ago with their ABS equipped car to have atleast a feel on how it works and not wait until there is a real emergency as it may come as a shock to certain people.

• lance (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:33 pm

Paul: Yupe, same here – love my manual shifts! :D

I've not tried the 2.0's paddle shift – but has enough opportunity with an iDSI CVT City that has 7-speed mode. The gear indicator is beside the speed/rpm meter.

During "spirited" drive with the 7-speed manual shifting mode, I drive with full attention on the road – rarely do I look at anything else. (rare like: like when you first enter this mode by pressing 7-speed mode and shifting once, just to confirm the green color "M")

I can "feel" the ratios and shift up/down as necessary to keep the "feeling of control" all the time (for example, going into a high-speed corner, when I shift down once, its normally not enough, I'd shift down once more and everything feels "good" – and take the corner)

In summary – I use my senses to gauge the best ratios required.

At least in the City, its feels "right" (pretty comparable with M/T vehicles that I've driven)

Video from recent GRA drive clinic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjiLFzZSiBo

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:53 pm

got to try my friend's 1.8 feel almost european…

fabric a bit off, overall… a nice car to own

maybe better with 2.0, dont really do the

"spirited-drive", just cruising around my

housing area, max 40KMH, abit heavy tho'

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:56 pm

had tried the paddle shift on beemer and alfa…and the citroen too…the beemer is quite smooth..the alfa still got jerking but the worst is citroen…dun like it much…btw…how abt honda??smooth??

• creative (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 1:01 am

http://tinyurl.com/r45q3

Honda Civic Hatchback advertisement in UK with making of clips. Use Quicktime to view. Enjoy!

• szw (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 6:44 pm

no comment , lolz !

• drthein71 (Member) on Jun 18, 2006 at 4:55 am

The paddle shift is damn smooth !!

• superman (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 1:07 am

Paul,

I too have driven Both 1.8 & 20 over subsequent days for several hours through a mixture of roads and conditions. I have to disagree with you about the steering feel. bear in mind I too like heavy steering (my daily drive is a waja n a rwd car without PAS)

The 1.8 has a lighter and more disconected steering feel in comparison to the 2.0. In the 1.8 Initial feel through the steering is lite and it gets lighter and more vague as lock is added.

In the 2.0 the weight is more consistent and less vaugue. Giving more confidence to " attack the corners ".

But in terms of steering feed back and steering weight my 2005 Waja has better steering feel. Also on Goodyear NCT5

The noise in the cabin are mostly from the tyres. Those NCT5 are not rated as quite tyres

Also the brakes are over servoed or over assistated. This may be because your average drivers is not expected to press the pedal hard enough to slow down .

On the engine side, Honda makes AWESOME engines. Nuff said

Overall I'd take the 2.0 over the 1.8.

And yeah the towel cloth is horrible.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 9:54 am

i think the average person in an abs equipped car who does not know about ABS will react the same in a non abs equipped car. abs also activates in straight line braking. when it activates depends on individual manufacturer settings.

• pam313 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 12:41 am

hey guys..

im contemplating between a honda city v-tec and a civic 1.8..would love to get the civic 2.0 but my finances do not allow me too..:) I am very very settled on a civic 1.8 but my main concern now is the interior..- beige towel cloth interior and that sucks badly !!..was just wondering if any of the existing 1.8 civic owners changed the interior to black leather seats? and how does it look like im worried that it might come out funny…thnx guys !.

• suresh (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 7:22 am

hi Paul

good review… but you didnot comment on f e.. how much they scrored?

• wheng (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:16 pm

some strange noises come from the right side(in front of driver sit) dash board. my 2.0 civic have send for service due to this noise issue. first time service the guy said fix it and i drive back didn't hear the noise again, but after about 1hr driving time on terrible JB Skudai road, the strange noise from the dash board come out again.

any one face this problem?

did you fix it?

does the Honda service guy tell you the root cause of the noise?

• shianghorng (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:39 pm

I have tested the 1.8 and it sucks man!
    Lacking of power, the interior stinks & it sounds like someone playing drums when the car is only 80km/h!

Soon, I’ll be testing the 2.0S & Type-R. Hopefully, they will do better…

• Thomas on Mar 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm

Great car and has the concept feel