2007/2008 Alfa Romeo 149 Artist Impression

149_artist_impression.jpg

Alfa Romeo is preparing it’s new 149 hatchback to be launched by the year 2007 or 2008. Above is an artist impression by Italian magazine Quattroruote, apparently based on spy photos leaked from Alfa. The car’s design cues are said to be based on the Alfa Romeo Kamal concept which made it’s debut at the 2003 Geneva Motor Show, and the Alfa Romeo 8C Competizione.

It’s platform will be shared with it’s parent company Fiat’s upcoming Fiat Stilo/Bravo. The platform will likely be a shortened wheelbase version of the company’s Premium platform which was used in the Alfa 159. Shown here is a 5-door hatch, but 3-door versions will also be offered.

Hopefully the new 149’s GTA model will have a better way to deliver it’s massive power to the wheels, as the previous 147 GTA’s 250 horsepower was a bit too much to be driven to the front wheels only. Perhaps it will be offered with Alfa Romeo’s Q4 all wheel drive system.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Luke Ashwin (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:29 pm

The tail lights seem so retro… Well, i dont mind having the gta with 250 bhp..

-cheers-

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 9:47 pm

yeah, retro.. but if u c more & more concept cars getting more classic touch.. classic is sporty… classic + hi tech = cool…

ps: Really like Ford Mustang looks.. too bad never land on Bolehland.. saw in the movie only….

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 10:17 pm

The exhaust pipe sits in the center. Hmm, lets see how many people complain about as they do with the Savvy and Neo. Personally, the rear looks kinda boring. It's not ugly but doesn't really stand out either. Any front end pictures of the car Paul.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 10:48 pm

Seems like Euro cars now come with centre exhaust pipe… how bout the front view? how's it look like?

• KY (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 11:52 pm

hate to wash that kinda rims.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 11:59 pm

KY, i get what u mean… haha… remember how Volvo rims used to be XD wish alfa wud stay with their traditional telephone dials… they're so original…

anyways… cool looking alfa, hope the final product will be a looker like all the other alfas :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 12:04 am

hhmm…beauty but is not anough…the rear lamp is base on the 8c competizione according to them earlier….

if u wanna know…for the gta version…they will not using the 250bhp version anymore…they will increase the bhp to 300 to 400…something like that…and they will offer FWD and AWD system…u can choose which u want…they hv done it to their 159,brera and spider…for me…i will choose the AWD system…

variety of engine for this car…:

1.4 Turbo 8V (120 bhp)

1.4 Turbo 16V (160 bhp)

2.2 JTS (185 bhp)

3.2 V6 JTS Q4 (260 bhp)

1.9 JTD 8V (120 bhp)

1.9 JTDm 16V (165 bhp)

2.4 JTDm 20V Q4 (210 bhp)

all offer with FWD & AWD system

btw…for gta version…wut i knoe for the 159 they will use a 3.2 L v6 twin turbo…i think this car too will be fitted with that type of engine…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 12:38 am

'ps: Really like Ford Mustang looks.. too bad never land on Bolehland.. saw in the movie only…. '

saw one in area ampang hilir…u-thant area…red in color…mat saleh bawak…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 12:50 am

my opinion la.. neo rear looks is much better than this 149.. neo's rim oso best…

Whoa.. u saw arr mustang??.. i never see one live in msia yet.. used to go around kl, but never ve a glance oso.. but can dream la of it.. dream in wondertaxland…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 1:08 am

yup..i cant remember but 2 years back…really bigla that car…muscular…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 1:11 am

hhmmm…dun want to compare it with neo…but the rear look of 147 is better than this for me…but the side profile…luv it…btw…jz an artist impression…hopefully final product will b better than this one…

• szw (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 1:52 am

da rear lights is ugly

yucks !

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 10:40 am

juz an artist impression… u got ur saliva dropping when it really come later… u'll see that…Alfa's design is he benchmark of how beautiful a car is…rite paul?

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 11:19 am

hey u want a car that comes close to mustang get the mazda6..its da closest and does not dissapoint….as for alfa…welll…256 to front wheels?…onli italians and nuts to pull off somethin like that

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 7:03 pm

ure rite celicazz…alfa is the benchmark…hhmm…btw…i think most of u will shocked of the front of this car when its introduce later…kinda weird but pretty like wut theyve done to 147…weird but pretty…

• silverfish (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Umm…those rear lights are not doing it for me. Looks out of place. The Brera and 159 are stunners. Hopefully, this will be another masterpiece from Alfa.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2006 at 11:16 pm

hhmmm..dun worry…maybe dis one will be a masterpiece…actually alfa not choosen the final dsg yet…several styling still drawn up by some designer like bertone,centro stile alfa romeo,giugiaro,fioravanti and pininfarina…frm this…3 finalist will be chosen….ok…this some info for developement of this car…which called as a progretto 940…cheers…

http://www.italiaspeed.com/

• drM (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:58 am

a girl is always associated with beauty. but then there are girls that are not pretty enough to some people. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, I must say. But, this ALFA is stunningly beautiful. my next poll dancing gurl, perhaps?!!??