Alfa Romeo back in the US

alfa8c.jpg

Italian marque Alfa Romeo is making a comeback to the US, starting with the limited edition Alfa Romeo 8c Competizione, a carbon fibre-built sports car based on a shortened version of the Maserati Coupe platform. Alfa Romeo has been missing from the USDM market since 1995, more than 10 years ago.

The Alfa Romeo 8c Competizione will be powered by a Maserati 4.2-litre V-8 engine producing over 400 horses. Joining the 8c Competizione coupe in 2009 will be a soft top version known as the 8C Spider. 250 of the cars will make their way to the US market, which is about half of the total limited edition production planned worldwide.

These cars will carry price tags of around US$200,000, and it is hoped that the cars will create a halo effect to reintroduce Alfa Romeo as a sporty marque in the US market, paving way for more volume production models in 2010. The volume production models are expected to be the Spider, Brera coupe and a lengthened 159 sedan to suit US market conditions. Alfa Romeo will leverage on the Maserati dealership network already established in the US – about 47 of them.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tifosi (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 10:02 am

Firrrst !!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 5:36 pm

I'm second!!! Haha…well…it's the unmistakable Italian design flair. You can't drive this car while wearing T-shirt and jeans…Alfa Romeo simply won't let you…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 5:52 pm

Alfa Romeo designs are absolutely out of this world! BEAUTIFUL!

Their designers are so talented!

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Everyone can own an Alfa in M'sia now wat…

RM788 per month (as advertised by Auto Italia)

*be prepared to be totally phucked by this step-up financing scheme tho

• KY (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:03 pm

maserati you say? yummmm

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Alfa Romeo….REALLY SUPERB LA..no need to introduce see car only already know Romeo type hahaha.(hopefully not Romeo Pokai).

The designer…Giurgaro(pls correct spelling)ka? but now the price higher la for Alfa are they getting new agency/dealer things?like Audi also getting more expensive…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:55 pm

I suppose the current pricing reflects the actual value of the car (inclusive of tax and what-nots). Just see what happened to the previous dealer…close shop liao.

• drM (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 9:56 pm

the Romeo is back with vegence..the Americans are very hard to please. only Ferrari has a solid stronghold there. Can another Italian stallion to the same? I guess this Romeo is to compete against the likes of Ford GT, Corvette, and the Lexus series. cheeerrss!

• szw (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:02 am

use more v8 !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:00 am

as i said b4…on d other post…this car at the begining jz a concept…they worried this car will affecting the sale of ferrari and maserati..but then…still gt a feedback frm ppl who really want this car…so…goes for limited only…if here…this car will cost as same as the maserati and ferrari…for us market…confirm they jz bring the 159 and brera/spider for the begining…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:14 am

Have you seen the front part of the car? Does not match the nice side profile, quite a let down to me.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:38 am

yup…actually this concept has released last year i think…quite nice for me…dsg by guigiaro…

• drifting4eva (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 11:26 am

This car will just sit in the showroom. Why buy the 8c when you can get a Lamborghini Gallardo for $175 or a Ferrari F430 for $185. The people who run Alfa's pricing department must be from Proton :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 3:16 pm

haha…drifting…maybe a typical person like u will think like dat…if u want to noe…every carmaker had their fan…like alfa…gt a lot of ppl involve and invest for this car…for the begining..alfa cancel their plan to produce it coz of the maserati and ferrari which is also their family…btw…this car gt demanding frm a ppl who like to own this car and invest their money for this car…dats y it goes to limited of 250 cars only to b built…

" The people who run Alfa’s pricing department must be from Proton "

how come u to b so sure abt wut are u talking abt???can u elaborate abt it??

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 7:32 pm

The 8c Competizione will be a limited production run and will be built with carbon fibre. The Gallardo and F430 are not. That is why it is more expensive.

The engine from Maserati is also a throughbred sports cars engine. The design is absolutely gorgeous. If I had the money I'd get one in a heartbeat.

Just for you brand snobs, Alfa Romeo was the "Ferrari" before Ferrari came along, with the racing heritage and eveything.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:48 am

the current maserati models just don't do it for me. design not outstanding but some people like italian names so ok lah. if i want performance, i'll get a skyline r34 and tune the engine. but thats becos i want to drift.

i'm making fun of alfa pricing dept becos competition will be stiff for cars above $100k. even maseratis are priced around 100k

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 3:30 pm

okla…as silverfish saying…this is limited production…so…not to be worried of ferraris and lambos…

okla…mabe dat is ur opinion which u prefer to get the skyline…but…normally those who are rich eager to get a car like this bcoz…it is a supercar…u cant compare it with skyline coz skyline is not a supercar…

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 6:07 pm

Heh!

drifting4eva; sure mate…whatever floats your boat.

I happen to totally dig the current Maseratis and its not because I like Italian names as you say. You couldn't appreciate it but I love the design. I think the Quattroporte looks brilliant and if I was buying a luxury performance saloon, that would be it. It sounds brilliant, it drives brilliant. Its like a Ferrari saloon.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:15 pm

no accounting for personal taste lah. also depends on your age and outlook in life. i think maseratis look like something rich people with mid-life crisis would buy. but you wouldn't see an old guy in a skyline :P

• lucaz88 (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 12:36 pm

The price for 8c is 120000€ not 200000€

• nicstone (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Hi drifting4eva

Well, I bought my Maserati Spyder when I was 26, is that old? Do you think I should have bought a chavved up Skyline with a big spoiler and 25" alloys?

I'm afraid the only reason you don't see older people in Skylines is because they've got better things to do than bolt wings and fins on to their motors every weekend!

Sorry old boy, Maser all the way for me….