Toyota Avanza 1.5 announced

indonesia_new_avanza.jpgToyota has announced the new facelifted Toyota Avanza which was already available in Indonesia since July, and with the new look comes a new engine option in the Toyota Avanza 1.5G.

The new engine is not to be confused with the 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE found in the Toyota Vios and the Toyota Yaris, but instead it is one from the Daihatsu stable, the newly developed 3SZ-VE “Topaz” engine, which makes 107hp at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

The new Toyota Avanza 1.5G will be available in 4-speed automatic transmission only. Prices and more details will be available when the Toyota Avanza is launched officially by UMW Toyota on Friday. The Toyota Avanza currently makes up 40% of Toyota sales here in Malaysia, which translates to about 16,800 units for the first six months this year. Thats 2,800 Toyota Avanza 7-seater MPVs a month, which is amazing for a Japanese make considering last I heard, the Waja sells between 2,500-3,000 a month.

UPDATE – New Toyota Avanza Prices: The Toyota Avanza 1.3E will sell for RM62,309 and RM57,813 for the automatic and manual transmission versions respectively, while the new Toyota Avanza 1.5G with automatic transmission’s price is set at RM74,600. All prices are for Individual Private registrations in Peninsular Malaysia.

Toyota Avanza facelift launched in Indonesia – click for changes

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:07 pm

Ohh.. engine x sama vioslah… thx god… ( I have waited for this car, but bought vios instead)… lets wait & c the price…..

• purity (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:24 pm

hmm.. what would the price range be like? specs shd be more or less the same… current 1.3 is what? 60k odd…?!? can consider can consider…

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:35 pm

this car looks ugly from every angle…..should consider Vios if you want to go for Toyota car…..

• ponsunder on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:55 pm

the basic model comes with rs.7,56,000 and top model comes with 11,56,000…acordin to indian money…it’s better to go for innova its far better then this and its all over its same price range…

• calvin5189 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:53 pm

not too bad car if the price is reasonable.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:57 pm

budget car for those people love toyota dearly..

• silverwave (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:01 pm

innova and avanza share the same retarded-ness design. from every angle. LOL.. but it's a good buy for big average earning families.

• pirate (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:13 pm

Anything more than RM70k…it's a bloody rip-off!

Where are the rear discs brake?

Used to own an Innova G Auto (with rear drums too), a load-carrying MPV needs strong brakes!!!

Are you listening UMWT?

Probably not…

What a bummer!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:18 pm

But I wonder, why the newly developed engine got lesser power?? apa ni? goin backward ka? or newly developed for less cost??.. Vios engine memang bagus.. roaming at 80kmp+.. rpm 2000 only… looking forward this Topaz advantages.. but it seems power makin kurang…

• KY (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:19 pm

pirate,

rear disc brakes aren't good for drifting. :P

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:28 pm

If more than RM70k.. don't blame UMWT la… but if plus 75% ED tax.. sure more than than RM70k punya..,if not UMWT nak makan apa?…

If u keep asking for rear disc brake la, ABS la, airbags la etc.. suma mau.. but then the price wud be 80k-100k… u can buy meh??… UMWT sure must do some cost reduction to make sure ppl can afford to buy it here (TaxBolehland).. but again, don't blame them la… blame the silly NAP.. u still don't know meh??.. just go and check the price tag before the stupid taxes.. u will amaze how cheap they are… I guess it much cheaper than waja.. but remember its a MPV!! 7 seaters!!! much bigger than waja!!!

• pirate (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:44 pm

UMWT bottom lines (margins) are best contributed by their Innovas and Avanzas sales…

please don't make UMWT sound like a saint!

It's not a matter of can buy this Avanza 1.5 or not, I actually drove an Innova 2.0G for six months.

I sold that MPV because I didn't fancy the ladder-frame chassis' dynamics.

A pair of rear disc brakes wouldn't bump up the price to 80k-100k la…please use your logic even tho this a blog.

So while it's a no-brainer that our G's – punitive and protective – auto taxes are unfairly high, do not forget these are ASEAN designed-n-made Toyotas based on very basic tech.

It's currently rumoured to be around RM72k, and I feel that it's still a tad high, notwithstanding Bolehland's excise tariffs on non-nationals.

Period.

• pirate (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:50 pm

KY,

:-)

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:14 pm

hey pirate, what is wrong with u, I didn't said "A pair of rear disc brakes wouldn’t bump up the price to 80k-100k".. did u see I use the word "etc.." & my point is simple.. mau tip top, full spec, lagi mau murah2? boleh dapat ka?.. logic ka?.. use ur brain also la…. or better make ur own car…

• mechtech (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:16 pm

Wow, It is what I am looking for, nice look, perfect engine power, well balance vehicle. It’s really great.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:18 pm

Fuel economy values based on 10-15 mode travel for 1NZ-FE & 3SZ-VE are almost the same at around 14-16km/l range . If in Malaysia expect around 11-13km/l. Power and torque are virtually the same.

With rear wheel drive, tall profile and 4AT anticipate bad FC. 109 ponnies will definitely pull better, but FC should be similar to K3-VE.

http://catalogue.carview.co.jp/TOYOTA/IST/latest/… http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2006/06011701/

Seems like both engines from paper looks identical. Maybe the Avanza engine will have a different torque profile meaning may pull away better than the Vios engine.

• pirate (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:35 pm

UMWT Avanza 1.5G already has twin airbags and ABS…

I rest my case.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:42 pm

I am sick with this kind of so-called NEW model is actually modified from Old platform by these OEM. This is Very similar to our ISWARA, New car but old design.

Ulgy looking (Exterior and Interior)

Bad handling,

Low performance (Under power),

No safety (What is the crash test results? How many STARS?)

No CVT, ABS,…….

Expensive,

This kind of product was made specially for us Thanks to our AP and F***king high Import taxes. Ppl bought it either they got No Options (One of the Cheapest MPV) nor the brand (toyota)…..I don't believed it's because of the Design…….

Once again -> Manyak Manyak Terima Kasih kepada Kerajaan and Miti. :(

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:45 pm

thx Driven2020, for da info… after the launch may be we can get more info from this blog.. i test drive avanza b4.. I was amazed with the pickup.. but rpm quite high,1.3L is not enuf for avanza…i know 1.5 wud be out soon…

• acbc (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:49 pm

Actually, drums are perfect (since it has stronger braking force than discs) for load-carrying vehicles. Example would be the trucks and buses on our streets.

Discs are merely eye-candy unless you are talking about those 4, 6 or 8 pot variants.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:56 pm

I predict.. Avanza 1.5E wud cost RM70k++, 1.5G RM80k++.. (no rear disc brakes both models)

I rest my case also….

• citroenhan (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:58 pm

Not bad if they unveil the 1.5 variant. At least it is more powerful than the older version. But outlook still looks odd.

If the price around 70k, it can be consider a good buy for those who need more space. :)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:01 pm

motorhead: There is NO 1.5E, only 1.3E and 1.5G.

Avanza SUCKS big time!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Ai….. another sad story for malaysia auto industry.. we will never get the car we deserve if the current G rules.. another overpriced car.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:19 pm

Oo.. like that ka.?? then sure RM80k la.. I doubt can sell less than that.. estimation.. at least RM46k + 75% sudah RM80k.. belum kira sales tax & etc…. UMWT kena tolak utg lagi to get less than 80k…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 12:12 am

Drum brakes are a love and hate situation. Cheaper than disks, but during down pour drum brakes will perform better.

I've seen the car already even way before launch. The facelift is definitely improvement over the first batch. New front & rear lights, revised bumpers, front & rear bumper spoilers and side skirts. The car actually exudes and lower & sleeker look.

Rumour will be around RM72K-RM74K.

• whodz (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 12:34 am

when will myvi 1.5?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 12:57 am

easy go get the engine from vios lol. that will be damn chiong haha.

also in Thailand there is the turbo version of vios at 150ps. that will be really something

• blunt (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 1:01 am

dont undrstand..some of you praise toyota very much..if us still remember, during the introduction of VIOS, the price is abt 80 ++ k..tup tup, when Honda come with CITY and price below 80 K, u know what happened..the vios lowered it initial price..u see, Expensive price due to NAP is one issue but another misfortune is, the take advantage attitude of UMW themselve.

do u think the NAP solely responsible for the expensive car in Malaysia..it is not, esp for UMW..

and why suzuki apv, with better spec overall compare to avanza still can be sold below 70 K..

Toyota supporter wake up lah…

cheers…selamat berbuka puasa 4 all the muslim

• jzkzlz (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:33 am

Confirm for 1.5 version only hav the ABS & air bag. Already saw their brochure.

The price would be not more than RM70K, according to UMW Salesman.

Anyway, lets wait their launching soon….

• J (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:49 am

After your comment (Blunt)… I am wondering is Toyota really better than Honda ?

Anyone else can provide some comments or sharing your own experience with ownership of Toyota or Honda ? Problems or joy !

• transformer (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:53 am

Avanza is a good city car… For Aunties/Daddy to ferry kids!

So Drum brakes is enough! ENOUGH!

For those who need speed(Disc its a MUST), go somewhere else!

You cant have the best of both world in Bolehland! MANA DAPAT!

Drum are easily filled with brakeshoe's(Brakepad) dust, this will deteriorate its performance! Just image in between the Brakeshoe and the BrakeCover, there is dust… Brake mana boleh makan! Makan DUST lah!

Owner frequently had to service(open the cover and blow off the dust).

I'm a user of this old tech(drum) for years, i'm suffered, until today whenever i go into car showroom, one of the most important part is to checkt the Rear Axle must c/w Disc. ABS tak apa! If ada ABS, then MUST c/w EBD!

Until today, most 100k below new car in Bolehland still c/w Drum…

What a sad things…

Though many manufacturer offers "Auto Adjusting/Leveling Drum Brake", still the are dust come between the Brakeshoe and Brakecover. Just wish someone will comeout with something that will automatically drain the dust away out of the drum or just drill few holes on the cover….

Paul, have any pointers on Drum Brake ?

• jzkzlz (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:11 am

ai ya…. y talking about drumbrake already….

if really really want disc brake, go chop shop there & get the discbrake (Made In Japan one) there with xxxxtra large disc rotor then get the xxxxperience mechanic to fit in your car loh……

easy & cheap….sure ur car stop straight away by just touching ur brake pedal using ur single toe….

• szw (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:59 am

dis car shud be a good offer 4 those who wanted more performance in a "small" mpv wif a small engine.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 6:14 am

Whatever, it is still slighly better looking and offer better performance than it older version. Still the G is the main guy who control the price, by taking out the tax, the car will be cheap not cost less.

• acbc (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 6:18 am

Off topic… u can mount disc brakes off a Toyota Harrier onto the Innova. Lugs are the same and offset also same. Perhaps someone can custom fit them on the Avanza?

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:09 am

ya..make sure u got Brembo as the caliper.. :D

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:54 am

another overpriced piece of shit from toyota.

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:58 am

toyota will succed coz they know einstein's teory : In this world, the foolish outnumber the wise, somewhere in the ratio of 10 : 1

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:25 am

correction mr. blunt,

during vios pre-launch, it was targetted to be priced at 90k ++ !!!!!!!!!!. all mags and articles confirm this …..until honda made their announcement on the city at RM 78,888…..then UMW responded faster than the speed of light to quickly hide their greed.

• blunt (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:49 pm

thanks king..

moral of the event, if Honda City was not priced at 78,888.00 at that time, the price of vios now sure 100k ++. So, vios owner u should thank Kah Motor..

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:43 pm

There should always be competition among all manufacturers irrespective of the industry. Competition among themselves yields better products and control the prices. Proton and perodua was protected for too long and therefore the rubbish that they are giving us. Intel was cocky until threathen by AMD. Toyota wants to be world no. 1 in automotive sales and therefore certain sacrifices or compromise had to be made. This is the fact of life and sadly most of in the low to middle income category don't have many choices.

• darkbrother (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:50 pm

why they bother lowering the price?

msian ppl still buy it. look at how many toyos on the road. umwww making tons of money by selling overpriced car which sells like hot cake. remember, msia has one of the biggest passanger car market and all car company want a share of this.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:12 pm

They sure will look after the price one. if too expensive might as well get Innova. But then again you guys are right about drum brakes. Drum brakes are for low cost vehicles. This one ain't cheap at all at 70K plus.

Plus it's always a trend. Why they never give more options for end users like us? instead of 1.5 auto only why not manual option like the 1.3 manual? why not barebone version like the perodua basic specs on some of their models?

Like honda in Thailand Civics are available in manual. Some Honda's here are Thailand assembled too why can't we have manual ones?

• acbc (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:12 pm

Not to mention the benefits UMW staff getting… I heard a couple of months of bonus due next year. Wow!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Blunt,

What is wrong with toyota compete price with honda??.. let themlah.. whats ur problem?? Then better abolish NAP & let all play fair… 1st p1 sure mampus dulu!!

"do u think the NAP solely responsible for the expensive car in Malaysia..it is not, esp for UMW..".. what kind of stupid statement is this??.. go la to toyota or honda, meet the sales person & ask them what is the price of their cars before ED tax!!!

if u marah price manipulation, them u should marah protonlah then produa…

bcoz with just around RM40k (minus ED tax).. my Vios is feature packed!!.. Adjustable seat belt, adjustable power steering, airbag, nice interior, integrated security lock system, good sound system, all power window, fog lamps.. plus I got RM3400 cash discount some more… with RM40k, what u can get from proton or p2??.. u tell me now pls!!!

"Toyota supporter wake up lah…"

ps: U r the one who should wake up!!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:50 pm

To the majority of Malaysians who bought 37,000+ units of Avanza in 2005 purely because of the Toyota badge (in comparison to Thai people don't like it at all!), disc or drum brakes don't matter.

If the Avanza had an Inokom or Perodua badge, I bet my shorts it wouldn't have sold as well. A friend bought one without even test driving it, then kept complaining about lack of power! Go check it out without brand bias and form your own opinions.

• najibest (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:53 pm

i don't see the point blaming umw on the high price of toyota cars here…but then again do remember that they're a business… just like any other companies of course they would want to make a profit and not a loss.. i mean if i'm to run a company i would definitely want to make a profit…i'm pretty sure it's the same for you guys…i mean if should demand a car company to lower the car price it should be proton.. i mean proton is our "national car" company so i guess they should be the one to lower their car prices to make sure that cars are affordable for malaysians…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:07 pm

Fact since 2005; Toyota is the most Profitable Auto Company in the whole world. How you make profit? For selling as high as possible relative to the cost. Also, Toyota does not make the most numbers of cars. So you pay more for so less.

Toyota sells the way Americans like it. Value selling. They know most malaysians love them and love to own them. They know Malaysians are brand concious and loyal. They know we will pay for them. We got suckered dude.

• AMG (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Huh…. They actually should make this car earlier….

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:09 pm

Oh and ever seen a Swift up close. I mean the new one lah not the classic 'battle tuned' rally one. It has rear drum brakes. How much do they go for?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:12 pm

DUDE!!! They did make it earlier. We just didn't get it here. Same like Yaris, MyVi. That means all those tools and dies which have given back the ROI, are still being used to the max to make cars for us. Look at it as buying an Iswara.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:25 pm

Why making so much fuss with drum brakes??.. they r still relevan.. easy to maintain & can last so many years oso..

"Huh…. They actually should make this car earlier…."

Yeah, they did… but its not easy for us to see so many other new models same category with p1 or p2.. ask MITI!!.. even sugar oso control by few ppl!!.. this is APland.. remember??

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:36 pm

Hey the French or Germans sell current cars (SMART is a one off case-but it has a Jap engine…hehe). Even when they try selling the 206 it wasn't in their holy name. It was NAZA. Why can't the Japs or half Japs like P2? Ever think of that kiddo?

• pirate (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Lemme guess…

some Toyota diehard here is driving around in a Vios 1.5E…

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Yess Sir… I am Vios 1.5E owner… not a toyota diehard, but a satisfied toyota's customer… I oso amaze to learn some parts even cheaper than p2.. vios oil gasket only RM2.. p2 kancil's RM4.50…. save fuel, did 500km 1 tank in urban drive…

ps:Actually I prefer honda city.. but RM x cukup…. like the new civic so much, but over RM100k.. cannot oso.. no budget… my house RM90k only…

• pirate (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Happy motoring dude!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:27 pm

Yeah, u2… how about u? (after sold ur innova)

• pirate (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:39 pm

Thinking of the Avanza 1.5G as a third 'utility' car…

Since I found the rear drum brakes a tad disappointing the last time – esp on full load and downhill – I think I would likely to cross this one out…

esp if it is > RM70k.

Serious…no jibes here!

• pirate (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:43 pm

But I m curious about Avanza's monocoque vs Innova's ladder-frame chassis dynamics…

Lol

• blunt (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:44 pm

motorhead..

what i'm try to say is the high car price do not only contribute by high taxes but also due to greedy distributor.

tax factor is one issue but the greedy distributor kind of put salt on the wound…

cheers..

• najibest (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:48 pm

toyota is in fact now the 2nd largest car maker in the world and they're giving GM (the largest car maker in the world, which is currently losing billions of dollars) a run for their money. so i would say yeah, they are actually selling lots and lots of cars compared to the other car makers (even more than ford that's also losing money)…and people here are bashing toyota for making crappy cars and giving them a high price… for me if they're selling the new avanza for about rm70++ it's actually reasonable.. i mean we all know that here in Malaysia we have all those ED and Tax crap that can easily double a car price

i was in the states a few years back and a Hyundai Accent, (not the 1 sold in Malaysia, it's a 3 door version that's very crappy, even crappier than malaysian accent, which makes it a good comparison to the new avanza) sold for usd 8500.. times that with 3.70 and the price in rm is about rm31.5k… try doubling that and you can easily get about rm63k with all the ED and Tax in effect… so you see…it's not the car maker that's selling a crappy car as expensive as possible.. you know where the REAL problem for high car price in malaysia lies..

• domoteka (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:04 pm

Dear Blunt,

Thank you for being blunt and direct…..yes Toyota supporters wake up and smell the scam by UMW…….

Toyota is a good car if it indeed is a Toyota-no doubt about that. In this I mean as designed,developed and researched by Toyota. Unlike UMW giving malaysian Toyota supporters rebadged Perodua Kembara Long Wheel Base and Kijang lorry as a Toyota. Cheap lousy nasty wolf in Expensive Sheep's clothing.

Najibest,

you seem like a really confused person, dont blame just the greedy government for the expensive cars in malaysia but also the greedy vampire blood sucking faceless corporations like UMW Toyota who cheat fleece and rob compliant bolehlah people like you.

In Thailand Toyota Fortuner 3.0L is only 1,100,000 Baht which is around RM100K+ but here smaller c.c. poorer interior 2.5L and 2.7L is RM170+++

So? buka hati,buka mata, tepuk dada tanya selera.

• abe (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:36 pm

i hate UMW since they sell UNSER aka ANGSA with "VERY OLD" engine tech. they give us KE tech

• najibest (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:46 pm

Dear Domoteka

1st of all I don't even drive a Toyota…I'm actually driving a Proton (because I can't afford any other car with my salary and yes not even the old Avanza, should i be working in the states like some of my friends i can already buy a nissan 350Z)

I'm just stating out some example here for people like you who're bashing UMW for charging too much for a car.. all I was saying is that the price that UMW put up is just about right..not too high or anything but the price went up due to the ED and tax and stuff… i mean you yourself quoted that in Thailand the Fortuner is about Rm 100K+.. with a slightly better engine and better interior… if you care to check the price for a Fortuner in Langkawi/Labuan (which is tax free and all) is a little less than RM100k… of course that's still a bit expensive since Malaysia Fortuner has inferior engine and interior..but considering that the Fortuner is made in Thailand, I can understand the price in Thailand should be a little bit less than here in Malaysia.. so i don't see the point you're making much fuss about the Fortuner being expensive because UMW is sucking our money

And the fact is that…we're one of the country where even our national car here actually cost more locally (and has lower quality and specs) compared to the one marketed in the international market…

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 10:32 pm

Blunt,

If u r saying UMW is greedy.. then what with proton?? I ask u many times oredi, what u can get from p1 or p2 with RM40k??.. So the problem is, orang lain greedy sikit u nampak.. tapi orang greedy banyak depan mata u, tak nampakkah?.. so who is the real manipulators here?

domoteka,

Can't u see why fortuner is RM170k here??.. how old r u?? I tired oredi talk about NAP… if i am not mistaken fortuner is a CKD here.. so add 75%.. if CBU like yaris add 125%…

Anyway, it just business.. semua orang mau untung punya, siapa mau rugi.. unfortunately NAP is not side with UMWT or Honda, their cars r overpriced, u should see how hard they try to make sales in Bolehland, so kalau boleh untung, why not?? U must know that in the tax chunk, they don’t make any money from it.. suma bagi government, lain la kalu tipu tax, under declare like WALD story, declare RM10k, lepas tu jual 150k, itu baru a real manipulator!!!, kena tarik AP!!..

as consumer, we go la for best offer.. like me, I like honda.. but vios is a bit cheaper and got cash discount (that time la), & i think it is more spacious than city… so I bought vios…

pirate,

If u oredi buy avanza 1.5G, pls inform us here…ok?

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 11:56 pm

End of the day….we consumer are not getting the best out there due to PROTON.

The company is protected and the end product is much worse than other manufacturers. Korean cars are such also. Korean cars also don't sell well overseas and heavily relies on it's domestic market. But car prices is cheap there compare to ours. Our car prices is the highest in the world.

We should be getting better cars and car prices.

Heard from a fren in the auto industry, next year we are going to get cheaper cars than now. Let's wait and see how it goes !

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 12:22 am

offroader manix said,

Heard from a fren in the auto industry, next year we are going to get cheaper cars than now. Let’s wait and see how it goes !

—————–

Hoho, really…?? With Proton around? I will keep my fingers crossed.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 12:25 am

Funny

P1's creation was for to drive the nation forward. As the hills of time gets steeper and the air getting thinner, we are either going slowly, stop or going backwards.

Should have slapt in a TD05. Sweet.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 1:52 am

Hoho, really…?? With Proton around? I will keep my fingers crossed.

UMW Toyota not confident of 100,000 car target,

Noh…….see the impact with the protective market thing, now it backs fire. And you know Japanese loh. With their investment in our region, they already piss with the situation.

Whether next year price going down or not ? Well who knows….it might and it might not.

Anyone game for online predictions ?

• transformer (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 3:43 am

whether is NAP or ED, still its a demand and supply scenario!

what would it be if there is no demand ?

price drop! SURE DROP!

So hold on to your current car… and wait! 1year, 2years or maybe 3years!

One day Innova price shall drop to Avanza 1.3E level!

See how this year automotive industry ?

From new to 2nd hand dealers…. All goyang kaki except few hot models… Avanza, Innova, Vios, Myvi, Civic maybe…

Can you imagine Millions of Ricebowl in bolehland comes from automotive industry ?????????????

If everyone hold on, this Economic will shake our G. !

Rmber what that Aishah(Head of MAA) told us when NAP was announced in the first place… She said : "There would be no more price reduction!"

But… there is…. Almost everybody drop for the 2nd time!

• mantoyo (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:16 am

with new avanza 1.5G, how to sell my 3 years old vios E n 6 months innova E (A) ? with enough power ? n economy ? n space, the avanza should be enough already

• king (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 8:57 am

Dear blunt, darkbrother, domoteka, abe,

congratulations on waking up and realising the scam of UMW toyota aka the wolf in sheep's / P2's clothing!!

motorhead,

could you tell me which part of vios is more spacious than city? pls get your facts right. only city's fuel tank is smaller than vios. 42L vs 45L

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:45 am

ya true…vios interior is cramped compared with city…cars like avanza wil neva make sence to me..thy look too ugly ..n ultimatly boring to drive…n if ppl buy it bcos it seats 7 ppl..how on earth a detuned 1.5cc engine will cary all that weight?? ppl buy for the badge…alot of times i see single gals drivng thm..y on earth wd thy need a 7seater van…this is noting to do wheather umw or proton or whoeva u guys are accusing cheating this or taking advantage of that…thy offer a product..if u like u buy if not thn go buy sting else..thy didnt put a gun on ur head threatening u to either buy or be killed…some of the coments above is rediculous…nobody forcing u to buy anyting..u buy according to ur budget…if u can afford it thn good luck..if not thn thr r othr althernatives…i dont see the big fuss…and seriously..for this avanza…and what u get for the money u pay..its way too overpriced…hard to make sence of it…

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:21 pm

King,

ermm.. the back seat & bonet (the new vios E interior's).. I feel the car quite broad oso.. maybe bcoz of the design,but if u feel the otherway, suit urself..If u don't like it oso, not my problem…

• calvin5189 (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:23 pm

For me, I think most of the ppl who condemn abt this car are the youngters or shld be still single. If u r a married guy with 3kids then ur thinking would be totally diff. UNLESS you dont want your parents.

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:38 pm

e-nabilll, vehicle like the avanza does not appeal to you for one simple reason that is you are not the targeted customer. You highlighted its poor handling which I agree with you that it's one of Avanza weaknesses. However, you failed to see it strength. Lady drivers and mens too appreciate its high seating position as its offer better view of the traffic ahead. Although its handling sucks, 90% of the owner would not drive it like a car enthusiast like us. As for its looks, well beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

For your comment that the 1500cc or 1.5L engine is underpower, I suggest that you test drive it before making a comment that its grossly underpowered. My family owns a Toyota Avanza 1.3(A) and a Suzuki ERV 1.3(A). Therefore, I am very well aware of the strength and weakness of these vehicles.

• domoteka (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:56 pm

Mr Motorhead, if you must turn your frustrations towards me, asking my age etc, how i cant see the NAP, AP, ED, ST and all that, you must be a very very old and grumpy geezer who had to endure all the crap for a long long time……or on the other hand you could be one of those compliant bolehlah people…….so instead of bashing me, divert your energy towards those (P1, P2, UMW and most importantly the G) who cheat fleece and rob bolehland people everyday for their own benefits……. for your info i have been around with cars before the advent of our stupid P1, and I was a driving a Nissan Sunny before the Proton Sakua arrived……

Mr Najibest, thank you for your comment, you have the privilege of seeing what most compliant bolehlah people cant see…..as i am fortunate myself to know of prices of vehicles in our neighbouring country……most people have to buy and use proton because we are forced to that way….unless we can see the light the way motorhead sees it……in a hue of blurry blue and white…..

so long we have to face the whims and fancies of P1,P2,UMW, Mrs 30% with her Close One Eye ministers and the G as a whole, we will have to pay crap prices for our basic means of transport.

Ditto congratulations to MITI for successfully blocking Geely from coming into malaysia with 100Million of FDI just to protect P1,P2,UMW and the G people.

Forget about the welfare and the economy of Malaysia, most important the welfare and ever growing economy of the select few parties whose interests outweigh all others.

cheers! Miti!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:18 pm

Yeah track, i too amazed with the pick up of avanza.. even brand new avanza don't feel heavy, eventhough its a quite big…

domoteka,

yeah, if u can see my comments mmg consistant bash p1 & gov.. but i don't understand why u include UMWT??.. they r not the protected ones, they just make a mare business, & never force anyone to buy toyota, do they?.. we should take advantage of the competition, instead of accusing one of them geedy la & etc… don't u think its childish?.. none of them toyota or honda force to buy their cars, but it is gov who force us to buy p1 with NAP.. yeah true, toyota 1st announce vios r expensive, but now they r cheap, so what is the problem??.. kalau nak beli, belilah, why waste ur energy by saying they r greedy la & etc.. and if soon honda lawan balik, they r cheaper than vios, we buy la honda, whats the problem???

If u r old enuf, good la.. i just suprised to see u questioned fortuner price in thai's and msia, eventhough u r well informed about NAP… but one thing i know, UMWT or honda or ford or others, they r sad as much as we are to see their cars r overprice, like toyota, they make promotion almost every month, ford offer 0% interest.. & all this promotions cost them money, but they have to do it to keep pushing the sales of their overprice cars…

cheers to u 2…

• calvin5189 (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:28 pm

Tracks, you are right.

• dertew (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Heard that the price for 1.5G is 76K.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:47 am

1.5G is 75k and 1.3 auto is 65k, but 1.5 has better power, abs, ebd, and 2 front airbag. Toyota has improved the 1.3 engine too, 4 more hp than the old one from 86hp to 90hp. For me, I will prefer the 1.5G, which I think better deal.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:43 am

Toyota Motor Corporation is Japanese most respected world-class automobile manufacturer, second place only after General Motor in term of sales volume. Toyota offers full range of models from small car to large heavy vehicles. At global level, its vehicles are market in 140 countries under Toyota, Lexus, Daihatsu and Hino.

It’s extensive research lead to numerous innovation inclusive IMV platforms. IMV is abbreviation for Innovative Multipurpose Vehicle. IMV system enables Toyota to produce 3 models with one platform, e.g. Innova, Fortuner and Hilux. Toyota created this platform in order to come out with safer, cost competitive products to compete with especially low cost Korean carmakers and in response to produce people mover vehicles to replace dated models.

Look at Toyota, this world-class cars manufacturer are the trendsetter, innovative and continuous improvement in their products, which fascinated and become an iconic in their respective class, e.g. Lexus luxury cars. These entire endeavors achieved through their technological innovation by ultra modern advance Research and Development (R & D) facilities.

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) is the world 2nd largest automaker and expected to be no. 1 in the foreseeable future. Its products are well known for reliability and quality. It’s Chairman, Hiroshi Okuda’s message is “Toyota will realize sustainable growth while contributing to the development of the automobile industry worldwide guided by an overriding belief in the value of competition and cooperation”, whilst its President counterpart, Katsuaki Watanabe’s message is “We will step up growth through further innovation inspired by the Toyota Way tradition”. Both top management messages are very clear and laud, Toyota future survival is by sustainable growth on global scale is base on competition, cooperation and continuous innovation. This is so call a truly world class companies built up it business from strong footing, that is sustainable development of society and the environment.

They do not depend on Japanese government policy for growth, but rather base on competition, cooperation and innovation of products by response swiftly to market-driven forces, and of course built up customer loyalty. Toyota philosophy toward this market-driven industry is “Customer First” and tradition of forefront R & D culture creates innovative, safe and excellent products and services that enhance the quality of life around the world. Toyota continuously pursuing the “GLOBGAL BEST and LOCAL BEST” including won many quality awards on its wide range of products. Toyota is relentlessly in pursuit of technological innovations, which encompass aspects such as environmental friendly vehicles (hybrid Prius), reliable safety technologies and adoption of Integrated Transport System (ITS) technology to “increasing vehicle functionality” and “enhancing transport systems”.

In its Special Reports, Toyota IMV project is a new approach for production of vehicles at global scale in response to 21st century customer needs. It is to optimize manufacturing facilities and supply chain outside Japan but scatter around the world. The aim is to develop one chassis for few models to enable it to offer more attractive and affordable vehicles simultaneously to satisfy market demand worldwide. Other endeavor carry out by Toyota is training facility known as Global Production Center (GPC) by conducting benchmarking exercise to train mid-level plant managers in best practices.

Overall, Toyota is the envy of the automotive world. Their future mighty strategic growth is by utilizing every fiber of their ability to meet the customer needs at global scale through avant-garde innovation and best products! More information:
    http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/index_company.html

Toyota perspective on “global best” and “local best” are best described as producing cars for “world market” and “regional market” taken into consideration that may included but not necessary limited to specific geographical location, social-economic background of consumers, Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) and customer’s expectation in relation to price and quality.

“Global best” generally have best quality and safety features in it class and available in any part of the world where the Toyota vehicles are being sold. On the other hand, “local best” are certain products design for specific market, depend on the auto sector of that particular regions. If ASEAN and other developing regions, Toyota normally will come out with basic entry yet economical vehicles whilst developed market like USA, Toyota will market high end or luxury cars. This is to capture the market not covered by “global best” products.

Example of Toyotas’ “global best” products for world market are: –

– Aygo, Yaris, Corolla, Camry, Celica, Estima, MR2, Prius, RAV4, Land Cruiser/Prado, Hiace, Hilux, Wish, Ventury, Crown, etc.

Example of Toyotas’ “local best” products for specific market are: –

a) “Basic entry and economic vehicles – ASEAN regions: Vios, Avanza, Innova, Fortuner, etc.

b) “Luxury or high end vehicles – USA: Camry Solara, Avalon, FJ Cruiser, Highlander, 4Runner, Sequoia, Sienna, Tacoma, Tundra, etc. EU: Previa, Avensis, Verso, Amazon, Dyna, etc.

So, FAQs in this and previous posting are (below is just constitutes my “consumer’s” opinion on Toyota): –

Q1. Does Toyota/UMW take advantage of making huge profits in its initial launched of Vios or any other model(s)?

A1. The answer is solidly NO. There was “uncertainty” as to what final price to be approved by crappy NAP prior to launch a new model. Toyota/UMW in no way intended to sell at price higher than NAP allowed as the price approved by G is already “skyrocket”!

Q2. Does Toyota try “cut corner”, “strip down” versions, manipulate and/or force customers to buy their products to maximize profits when they start selling cars like Avanza or Vios that are categorized under “Local Best” in Malaysian market?

A2. The answer is still solidly NO NO. This is because “Toyota philosophy toward this protective market as well as other market-driven industry is “Customer First” and tradition of forefront R & D culture creates innovative, safe and excellent products and services that enhance the quality of life around the world”. So they are not provides minimum, but “more than adequate” if not the best quality in its class!

Q3. Why they sell “low end” Avanza or Vios in our market?

A3. This is “local best” products cater to our ASEAN region for low end market. This is basically to cater to “poor and ugly” group “created” by NAP that make them can’t afford Corolla, Camry or other models that price above RM 90K. In USA, their “local best” is Avalon which is better built quality specs than Camry to cater to “Mr. Average” in American open market!

Q4. Does Toyota make high end or luxury cars and sell it in Malaysia?

A4. Yes – car like Alphard or under Lexus brand are consider as high end cars. For Camry, basically it is mid sedan car design to capture “middle income group”. In Malaysia, it shall cater to RM 70 to RM 100K. But crappy NAP make it prices become “super luxury car” to middle income group in Malaysia! Really NAP make more than 90% of buyers become damn “poor soul” car consumers.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Huyoo… thx for the toyota composition of yours… i think that is more than enuf to answer some ppl here.. but i like this one "They do not depend on Japanese government policy for growth, but rather base on competition, cooperation and innovation of products by response swiftly to market-driven forces, and of course built up customer loyalty.."… to make it simple, they just have to perform, or die!!…

I just made my 1st service for my vios, & guess what??.. they wash my car free of charge!!.. i was so happy.. but err UMWT.. we need more service centrelah… pls notice, there r a lot of toyotas on the road now!!!

• purity (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:54 pm

1.5G @ MYR74,600.00, i think it's a bit too expensive. Was hoping that it'll be the region of MYR70,00.00 (+/-) but hmm…

• u5 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:10 am

facelift? wat facelift? i think u can fix the "facelifted" bumper at any accesory shops? is that even considered a facelift?

• u5 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:56 am

i thought only proton cars are running on the facelift fever..(.like creating a thermometer looking rear lights for waja ) i dint know even other brands are riding on it .. facelift is suposed to be a major overhaul or revamp on the looks, not just fixing a lame bumper in an attempt to glorify it … i think a visit to any accesory shops would better enhance the looks of the car than this actual dumb "facelift" .. looks terribly cheap.. probly this avanza just came from an ahbeng workshop

• king (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 9:06 am

ahahah….Abengza, i like that word!

• ChipS (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Hi u5, I went for a spin on the 1.5G (A) on the weekend and was both surprise and a bit dissapointed. On the first look, I find the this facelifted car rather good-looking. The add-ons certainly gave the car a good make-up. Now it looks more sporty and from an angle, you'll see a RAV4's front. As I sat on the driver's seat, I was really impressed that Toyota really did put some effort in making this car look good inside and out.

The biege colored interior made the car look and feels more luxurious. That's probably more than a AhBeng's interior. Now feels like a tauke's car. The soft material for the seats feels nice but wonder how long it can retain it's color. As for the console, it looks more high-tech now…maybe it's the color scheme.

I was really impressed by the interior noise after starting the engine. For a 1.5 auto the engine sounds smooth. However, for that smooth feeling…the drive itself was rather 'soft' ! I was a bit dissapointed by the engine's response. At the time the SA who weighs probably about 95kg (big guy), my wife, my 3yr old kid and myself I think not more than a mere 230kg was sitting comfortably in the car and I put the pedal to the floor… the car just 'glides' along. The pickup was just 'soft', no sudden 'jerk' when you normally floor the pedal. Well, it's only a 1.5…..but with the this new engine, it's better than the 1.3 for sure.

Overall, I think the 1.5G(a) is just a nice car for a small family. Price over here is about 78K (estimated) for the 1.5G(A) with full accessories, that's the skirtings, center console box and the muffler cutter which cost about $900. Funny, they still have not fix the price….still 'estimated'. For 78K, I think it's a Toyota price la…. Just remember someone's comments, some years back, owning a toyota wasn't really far-fetch but now… geez…

According to the branch manager, delievery time abt a month if the orders are reasonable. Wonder what that means…..maybe the new 2007 Camry launch this week will impress more buyers.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 10:43 pm

Now avanza manyak murah.. bole beli 1 atau 2 (1.3E RM57k only!!).. i think much better than buy wajas or gen2 (habislah p1)… avanza 1.5 even much cheaper then vios, lagi byk seats.. but I bought vios oredi.. sigh..

• pablopabla (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 6:44 pm

I own a 1.3(A) Avanza since Dec 2005. No complains about it, actually. It serves my purpose as I have 2 kids below 4 years old. Occasionally, it is used for car-pool up to 6 adults plus 2 kids which is really handy (I don't think it would have been suitable with any saloon car).

If you are thinking of buying one and have slightly more money to spend, I would recommend the 1.5 for more power (why not?) and additional safety features in the form of ABS, EBD and dual airbags. Though I like the new colour scheme for the seats in the 1.5, I think it may be easily dirtied especially if you have kids as passengers.

• king (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 1:41 pm

sorry…i would rather go for naza citra 2.0L with interior that is twice the quality of this cheapo avanza. more powerful, more comfortable and at the same price.

• secret on May 23, 2010 at 1:45 pm

i think it same as honda freed….

• Udochukwu Kalu on Sep 17, 2023 at 7:21 pm

I need injector mouth for Avanza 2008. 3SZ engine