Peugeot 4007 announced by Peugeot

4007front.jpg

Spyshots of Peugeot’s new SUV developed together with Mitsubishi with the Mitsubishi Outlander platform have been floating around since early this year, and today PSA Peugeot Citroen has announced the new Peugeot 4007 SUV together with its Citroen C-Crosser twin brother.

Though it is on Mitsubishi Outlander underpinings, the new SUV looks nothing like it’s roots – it was styled at Peugeot’s design center in France, and keeps the same feline design language as the other cars in it’s family. While the flagship Outlander is powered by a 2.4 litre Mitsubishi MIVEC engine, Peugeot’s offering is spearheaded by a 2.2 litre turbodiesel with a Diesel Particulate Filter System.

The common rail direct injection turbodiesel makes 156 bhp and 380Nm of torque, and is biodiesel ready. Biodiesel fuel up to a 30% mixture can be used without any modification to the engine. Standard transmission is a 6-speed stick shift. One additional photo after the jump. The new 2007 Peugeot 4007 will go on sale in the second half of 2007.

Citroën C-Crosser SUV announced

4007back.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 4:57 am

gosh… looks terrible… since when peugeot started to have the gene of china car maker in this terrible SUV… still a collaboration with Mit? the Evo company? wholly shit, tats disappointing!

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:03 am

if look at pug 207 , i would say WOWW !

, but pug so carried away with its fish mouth grille, can continue with fish mouth ,perhaps a bit restyle on the bumper for a 4×4 character will improve i guess,

its not an instant wowww like the Q7 ,

NOT BAD at least its a PEUGEOT WAY, thanks to outlander lending its already a nice shape, . for anti-japs this might be ok. takes time to like (FISH MOUTH).hope it doest have bad breath.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:31 am

4007??? Dedicated to James Bond? haha~

Ok lah, still very nice, comparable to Rexton, Fortuner, X5 etc.

At least the exterior is better than Sportage and Scorpio, and the rear is 1000 times better than Kyron. (Kyron owners, please don't angry, peace…)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:33 am

Don't mock Mitsubishi or their flagship Evo, ok?

Please……

"DIEHARD LANCER EVO FAN"

• BobMarley (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:07 am

I agree with albagmane. Looks terrible. Especialy the front end ("fish mouth"…maybe im just not used to it protonGL).

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:29 am

zorite bob marley,

the idea is that the pug is so stuck up its concept,

but when i saw the mit OUTLANDER, remind me of TEETHLESS PIRANHA

(mitlan sori aaa, justa tought)

wadda a FISHY idea they have…….

vege people wont buy it.

• u5 (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:46 am

wtf is this horrendous big mouthed monster – ???

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:47 am

that would eat some rocks all right.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:53 am

No wonder the french are going backwards……Economy and football wise

The designer of this car….got a loose nut.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 8:35 am

Moral of the story is, if you going to use/copy someone else design, please do some homeworks to iron out the cosmetic similarities.

• DtG (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 9:24 am

before i read anything, the first impression the picture of this car gave me was "Oh, here comes another stupid-looking China car" .. kinda shocked that peugeot and mitsu managed to come up with something so ugly….

• chun (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 9:43 am

The Citroën C-Crosser looks much nicer than the 4007. In fact Citroen has been coming out with a lot of sharp looking cards recently.

http://www.autoblog.com/2006/10/26/citro-n-c-cros…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 10:10 am

looking from from the back 3/4 view ,people might not expect the front look like that. simply shocking IMBALANCED

if it choose to be UGLY, well why not be ugly on its side and rear as well.

so that its BALANCELY UGLY with COMPLETE UGLINESS.

who knows , might be OK just like math (-x-=+)

maybe theyre so poor in math,french design school accept student with F grade math.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 10:29 am

well since this are just the spyshots..i hope they do about the bottom front grill of the suv.its spoilin the whole design!…probably less lines would be good..this shows tat one design flaw can spoil the whole look of the car….plz change it b4 goin into production!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 2:47 pm

Never really did like the Outlander but this is far worse than the original Outlander platform. Looks like a teenager with braces and a retainer.

In the words of Jezza. "Take it away, I never want to see it ever again"

• rexis (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 4:33 pm

Anyway the turbodiesel is indeed a woow…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 5:05 pm

Overall, it looks OK… except for that ugly grill. A peugeot tuner should be able to come up with a replacement to make it look better. There should be one right??? :-)

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 5:49 pm

yuks! too ugly la… the black bar at the front bumper reminds me of Renault Kangoo Sportif

• DG (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:05 pm

hey all….don't talk bad about peugeot they are pug family right….lolz….aniway this car is really nice in front……did u see any 4 wheel drive design like this? at least it gives the driver a 407 feeling while driving. The weakest design is it takes over other cars design on the side, looks like the body of a fortuner and face of a pug. I hope they can come out with their own body design…..overall I will say better than than most entry level 4 wheel drive in malaysia…..the looks!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:20 pm

ouch….thats an ugly one. The front is overly done.

However Peugeots have a nack for looking completely different in person.

When I was in France this year, the ugly 407 Coupe looked damn gorgeous in person , especially at the rear.

However its tough to make an SUV look "feline"….. it just looks like a fat cat.

• DG (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 6:30 pm

yes its terrible as it looks like other 4 wheel drive on the side look. It should have its own taste……but the front is fairly legal for them as it looks puggy enough to stay legal……otherwise i just hope they can come out with a better body design not a fortuner design….keke….. :)

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:42 pm

CLICK that 'Spyshots of Peugeot’s new SUV' on the top there, you may found.

whats on thet spy shot is far more REASONABLE face.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 7:51 pm

the mitsu outlander looks a lot better..

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 8:13 pm

It looks like the Audi Q7 6.0 V12 TDI mah

• suanie (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 8:29 pm

HAPPY

BIRTHDAY

PAUL

TAN

:D

• layman (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 8:52 pm

Ugly is better than boring, at least it excites you.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 10:33 pm

It's an ugly Peugeot! Now that's rare. Oh? It's your birthday? Happy Birthday Paul!

• ian (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 11:28 pm

one or two numbers on a car model name is acceptable (i.e. Audi A4)… but start going into four digits it gets annoying and harder to remember which model is which.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 11:51 pm

i wondder what be the name if NAZA were to CKDized this one…and the pricing too…hopefully starting at RM70-85K…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 11:59 pm

yeah some say ugly,

not bad, at least not boring,

when people look at something, it different inteprations.

look at CLAUDIA SCHIFFER, some say eyes are not right, mouth like that, n so on, …….know what, shes a SUPER MODEL,

( imperfection is somewhat 'walllah')- thats french.

• albert_gwm (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 1:25 am

Why belakang tiru Harrier???

Tak ada design lain ke???

• szw (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 2:07 am

da front looks too complicated d

• kenfresh (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 4:39 am

FUGLY.

So many beautiful SUV concepts to be used as reference, but now it looks more like the King-of-Fugly-SUV Ssyangyong Rexton.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 7:19 am

The front looks like the 'Garfield' cat is smilling…the rear is ok.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 9:33 am

I've just seen pics of Citroen's C-Crosser, it's way nicer!

• DG (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 6:06 pm

Looks more like a toyota fortuner side and rear end to me! -_-

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 29, 2006 at 6:44 pm

I think there must be a Photoshop contest to see how many dumb variants of this Mitsubishi can be dreamed up.

Phooey!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 6:16 am

eeeeeeeuuuuuuuuwwwwwwwww….jijiknye…