Lotus Integrated Exhaust Manifold

small_lotus_logo.jpgLotus Engineering displayed their Integrated Exhaust Manifold technology at the 2007 Geneva International Motor Show. Basically, it is an exhaust manifold integrated into the cylinder head. A demonstration of this was shown as a cylinder head design for a small 3-cylinder engine, which I would say would benefit much from this technology. Integrating the exhaust manifold into the cylinder head brings numerous benefits which I will outline below.

An integrated exhaust manifold reduces parts count, which reduces costs throughout the development cycle. Other areas where this will reduce costs include the inventory, assembly and aftermarket parts supply areas. Less parts, less to stock.

Through the use of a cooling jacket design, heat is retained in the engine (which is cooled via the radiator system) rather than letting it radiate into the engine bay. This improves the performance of the air conditioning system, thus reducing it’s power consumption. A cooler engine bay also means cooler air into the air intake, which boosts performance. The engine also warms up more quickly. Coolant can also cool the engine more evenly, reducing engine block stress.

Engine durability improves, as thermal stresses usually occur at points where different materials meet. In an engine with a conventional exhaust system design, an aluminium cylinder head meeting a cast iron exhaust causes thermal stress.

The integrated exhaust manifold also allows the catalytic converter to be positioned very near the exhaust output, thus reducing the amount of exhaust heat lost in travelling from the cylinder to the catalyst. This improves catalyst performance, thus reducing emissions to an ultra-low level without incurring higher costs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• analyzer (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 11:21 am

impressive idea, but has this been done practically in terms of perdormance? from an economic standpoint, its good for the manufacturer, but does that mean that performance oritented users are in the losing side?

• Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2007 at 11:39 am

some of the benefits apply to the performance oriented user. aircond that uses less power as well as cooler air in engine bay for intake increases performance.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 3:22 pm

Pau, Thanks for your update information.

BTW, do you have any Photos to show the new Technology from LOTUS?

Share with us if you do.

Cheers~

• nikanasz (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 6:17 pm

interesting…i don't think exhaust shops would be too happy if all car manufacturers adopt this technology…no more custom made exhaust manifolds.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Good luck with porting the exhaust ports in the near future. The system is mainly used to lower cost and improve emmisions. I think others proposed the concept before Lotus. Why these Lotus fellas want to make so much noise. They might as well make an announcement, "we just made your engines cheaper, but you can forget about us lowering the prices!" Emmisions? Not a big deal lah. They just want to pass so that can sell more cars to Europe and US.

I have more faith in Lotus Curry House. Paul, can you interview one of these Mat Salleh Lotus Engineering Malaysia fellas and post it here. Should be interesting to see what goes on in their head. Whether they are really earning their British Pounds.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 6:54 pm

Somehow its kindda sad if any manufacturer implement this system coz the seems to make performance oriented users will soon be unable to mod the extractor anymore… which is pretty much the first things they normally do.

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 7:58 pm

Same like current civic 1.8 r18a engine, no exhaust header just one hole in the cyclinder head and then catalyser

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 9:28 pm

longdongsilver said,

Good luck with porting the exhaust ports in the near future. The system is mainly used to lower cost and improve emmisions. I think others proposed the concept before Lotus. Why these Lotus fellas want to make so much noise. They might as well make an announcement, “we just made your engines cheaper, but you can forget about us lowering the prices!” Emmisions? Not a big deal lah. They just want to pass so that can sell more cars to Europe and US.

———————————————————–

Mmm…those are some good insights from you Mr. Longdongsilver. However, a bit innaccurate and pretty childish I have to say. Lotus Engineering is an engineering consultant firm. It provides engineering design solutions to other OEMs. What does other OEMs want?

Reduce cost to increase their profitability (heard of platform sharring, buddy?)

Reduce emissions as required by law (and to help the environment)

Reduce fuel consumption due to soaring oil prices

So why does Lotus make such a big deal out of this you ask? Well, as a consultant company, they have this proven IEM technology that they can offer to OEMs. Ofcourse they want to advertise it and show everyone their capabilities so that more OEMs will seek their services. Yes, this concept has been proposed by others, so what? You don't cry foul when every other OEM introduces their version of variable valve train system do you? Honda has their VTEC, Toyota with VVT, BMW with double VANOS, etc. Again, so what?

And why is lowering emissions not a big deal? You say that they just want to sell more cars to US and Europe, but who doesn't? It is two of the biggest markets in the world, if you have a competitive edge among your competitors, than definitely use it. Everyone is in this industry for one thing only, to make money. If you can be appealing in two of the biggest market in the world, than why is it not a big deal?

And to those who think performance oriented users will be sad, since when reducing the weight of the car not good for performance? If you are truely performance oriented, you will know that every GRAM of weight reduced is good. And if you really want to customise your manifold for whatever reason, you can just customize the whole engine head. Keep the cylinder head part standard, and just modify the manifold part. Then i'll hear someone say, " yes, you can do that but it might cost more!" Since when is cost an issue for true performance oriented users? Is it?

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 12:18 am

economical compact design is good, just that engine cooling system need to be at a higher standard, pehaps larger or wider radiator, apart from that, engine oil cooling radiator might contribute solving part of the heat problem, (for bigger engine)

oooops turbo ,can i fit in,

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 12:51 am

Hasn't this already been done with the new Civic 1.8 Cylinder head???

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 1:31 am

well i think the design a bit bias for a cold climate,

• longdongsilver (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 2:34 am

Mr Zongtwi aka Speed Junkie aka Numbskull,

You said,

" Mmm…those are some good insights from you Mr. Longdongsilver. However, a bit innaccurate and pretty childish I have to say. Lotus Engineering is an engineering consultant firm. It provides engineering design solutions to other OEMs. What does other OEMs want?"

Let me correct your Engerlund first. Its "what DO other OEMs want?". It is also spelt as "platform SHARING". and yes, I have heard of it. Please tell me how Lotus Engineering Malaysia have contributed to that? Can I dump my Campro into my Savvi? Don't even mention the Waja or or Wira. They are instant Silver age classics, while the Saga is golden age. Do YOU know what platform sharing is?

Emmisions? Please tell me what they have done for the Campro emmisions? Step 4? They can barely pass Step 2 emmisions with it. i would like to tell you more about it but that would probably blow up your already smart brain.

Performance? Every gram? Nigga, this is a production car la. You wanna save grams, you take a shit in the morning before driving. Maybe pump up your fuel tank to quarter full.

Other than that, you just repeated what I said and added a few lines to make yourself look smart. YOU are a MORON and a TURD (ever heard of that, buddy?). Your website also sucks ass. Do not talk about what you do not know. Even if you have to, do not insult people you do not know.

• nikanasz (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:31 pm

i agree with zongtwi, since when cost is an issue to performance orienter users? i mod my car (performance extractor + piping, port and polish, etc) to squeeze extra horses, and cost is not an issue, because i know performance is not cheap. anyways, even if this integrated manifold becomes a standard practice, i'm sure modders/tuners will find ways to get around it, especially in boleh land.

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 6:41 pm

Eh..so emotional and sensitive? Chill out man…I guess my initial thought of your insights as childish was quite justified.

the article is not for Lotus Malaysia right? it's for Lotus Engineering in UK. Does it have anything to do with your Savvy or anything Proton related? No, I don't think so. Lotus Engineering is an engineering consultant firm that provides services to any OEM, not just Proton. They want to advertise their expertise to other OEMs and using the Geneva motorshow as a platform. Excus my very ppor Englsih speling my frend, but yuo should'nt get to pissed of from just being comented on in here…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 8:05 pm

Proton owns Lotus what

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 11:06 pm

Lotus is in Hethel, England. No such thing as Lotus Malaysia. Its a bloody product. You don't want it, don't buy it. You have the right. The one thing I don't understand is; which car manufacturer stock up on exhaust manifolds? Its just one part for production (+ 10 studs, nuts). Stock ones are heavy cost most of them are cast iron. But not much difference in weight to a tuned length manifold made of carbon steel. Peeps in Production might see the relevance.

The 350Z had an integrated intake plenum. When the produced the Nismo version, HP went up at a uselessly high RPM range but torque dipped. 3rd party came out with original plenum and a heat sink gasket and made more HP and Torque than Nismo.

So why nobody is pissed with Nissan? Or the bashers are just taking any chance to do their thang.

• mmc (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 12:00 pm

It seems that the Dutch car builder Spyker Cars wants to buy Lotus. They have already made a offer. After taken over the Midland Formula One team they know want to take over Lotus. Lotus has got the knowledge to let the new Spyker D12 be a succes. This is what the dutch newspapers and car mags are writting today.

More info at: www.autoweek.nl and www.mixedminiclub.nl