More Porsche Panamera Spyshots

carscoop_panamera_0.jpg

Porsche’s 4-door luxury coupe, the Porsche Panamera, has been continuously going around test rounds on roads around Europe, while we patiently wait for some form of concept or pre-production preview at any upcoming motor show. The front-engined, rear wheel drive Porsche Panamera is set to go up against other luxury 4-door coupe-styled sedans like the Mercedes Benz CLS and the Aston Martin Rapide.

Engine options will most likely be the range in Porsche’s SUV, the Cayenne. We’ll see a base model 3.6 litre V6 making 290hp, as well as a Panamera S model carrying a 4.8 litre V8 making 385hp. Top of the line will be the Porsche Panamera Turbo, featuring a twin turbocharged version of the 4.8 litre V8 good for 500 horsepower.

Two more photos after the jump.

carscoop_panamera_1.jpg

carscoop_panamera_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• avanza (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 2:35 am

Not a very pretty car. Looks like a stretched 911 with additional doors! No imagination.

• ben1113 (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 2:36 am

yup.. not creative enough.. should come out with something like the RX-8… smaller back door.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:00 am

lolz… and since when is Porsche good at designing stuff?? Hahaha…

Most if not all of their car looks more or less the same…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:11 am

actually rather like to see the a normal straight-foward 4dr sedan by porsche,

just remember the Lancia Thema 8.32, engined by ferrari, almost accepted like a 4dr ferrari.

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:20 am

hurm, wait till the car got out with it's own skin…

then we'll know whether to sigh or to drop our jaw…

porsche does not really know how to vary their designs… agree with that…

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:22 am

is that a hatch at the back? its look like it..

i tot it is a rear engined for a while…

typical porsche perception…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:15 am

izzit the first sedan with rear engine…where is the engine actually?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:17 am

why body proportions look more like a submarine than a car?So ugly

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:37 am

Nice front, ugly rear……

Beat CLS with this Panamera? Porsche must be joking!!!!

Paul, where can I get more info about Aston Martin Rapide?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:56 am

UGLY! definately born as a looser!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 6:44 am

Can anyone say fugly? Looks like some Monster Garage project, but then again, you really can't expect Porche to come up with something nice; Porches has been made in the same old shape as long as I can remember. The designers will do well to take a page or two out from Mazda's RX-8, now that's beautiful.

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 6:50 am

The design is not at all bad. If you guys look back into car design history, they used to make those kind of rear bonnet in the 20'es and 30'es. Kinda retro.

• toxicboy (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 7:44 am

4 doors coupe style?.. more like a huge hatchback. not nice.

• armandd (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 8:35 am

what an ugly behind!! even myvi's & savvy's r better.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 8:51 am

A 4 door 911…..

COOL!!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:33 pm

This Sedan looks more like a LIMO.

Some kind of KEDAI POTONG made feel, Cut the front and end and extended in the middle. I like the concept but not the looks, its weird at Side view. Too much weight put at the back side. BIG A** sedan. :P

Maybe the NEXT step is make the Fastest LIMO on earth from Porsche. YA….HOO…..maybe using new V12 engine with 1000HP.

Paul, do you know the Weight of this Sedan?

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 3:34 pm

LoL. The front and the rear of this car reminds me of a FROG. Somemore the canvass which hides the car's body is green.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 4:14 pm

im not liking the back of the porsche!im not sure but the backlight looks tiny.far cry from other porshe.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 4:34 pm

"and since when is Porsche good at designing stuff??"

yah.. porsche doesn't know how to design stuff.. they only like designed one of the most iconic shapes in sports car history ever in the shape of the 911. Still one of the most successful sports cars ever built.

They are also the only sports car maker with more money than traditional mass manufacturers thanks to sales of the 911 family of cars.

anyone who looks at a 911, regardless of the year it was built in can recognise it immediately.

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 5:25 pm

it will be an interesting comparison for the 3 cars.

• drM (Member) on Mar 15, 2007 at 6:20 pm

front end, looks just good. but backside? its awful.

maybe porsche got to re-think a bit. I second any call for making the back a bit longer.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 12:06 am

"Welcome to Porsche, the laziest design studio in the world!!!" –Jeremy Clarkson–

No need to cover those eyes oso can noe edi what it looks like, no need to make it look ala C-class W203….those round LED brake lights is something different……reminds me of Altis n Camry.

I'd still take the CLS for looks alone, I dun care if this boring-looking car is sharper, sportier, cheaper, etc, if it's my money, I'll put it into the Merc CLS.

Bt since I dun hv THAT much, can oni say "I dream of a CLS…" T.T

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 1:01 am

this is somewhat like a molested stretched of the 911,

originally 911 was design to look like 911, drove like 911, importantly have a beautifully propotioned the 2 dr 911,

if a porsche gonna have 4 door , porsche batter come about with a fresh design of practicle 4 dr, ………with some essence of porsche-ness, people wouldnt be mistaken its a porsche, its a true 4 dr porsche, …gonna be exciting

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 16, 2007 at 6:40 pm

It'll definitely be a very good seller when it's launch, coupled with Porsche's strong brand etho, strategic marketing and seemingly unlimited fundings. Porsche will carve a huge piece out of top end Mercedes and BMWs.

Merc and BMW had been rather un-obedient recently, stepping into almost every segment, killing their way into Ferrari's door step, Pajero's front door, even a small suzuki had a BMW rival.

With Panamera, I'm pretty sure these German luxury marques will have a good shake themselves. :)

Good luck Ferdinand Piech.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 12:01 am

“Welcome to Porsche, the laziest design studio in the world!!!” –Jeremy Clarkson–

even more amazing to me, is that there are actually people who take him and his comments as fact in the automotive industry.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 8:58 am

proton GL said,

March 15, 2007 @ 5:01 pm

this is somewhat like a molested stretched of the 911,

originally 911 was design to look like 911, drove like 911, importantly have a beautifully propotioned the 2 dr 911,

if a porsche gonna have 4 door , porsche batter come about with a fresh design of practicle 4 dr, ………with some essence of porsche-ness, people wouldnt be mistaken its a porsche, its a true 4 dr porsche, …gonna be exciting

Are you in a hurry? Please make a return to read on whatever you've written, this is a public