2009 Hyundai Sonata Transform facelift

Hyundai_Sonata_Transform

Here are more official details on the car Hyundai has decided to call the Hyundai Sonata Transform, basically the mid-life facelift of the latest fourth generation Hyundai Sonata. The new Sonata facelift will be launched first in the Korean market for the 2008 model year, and the rest of the world will get it soonest for the 2009 model year, this probably includes Malaysia as well, pending our local distributor’s plans of course.

I like the current Sonata’s design and I say Hyundai has taken the new Sonata facelift backward in terms of exterior design – for example, the headlamps are now bigger so they look less sleek. But the new interior is a total redesign and looks much more upmarket than the current interior – a huge improvement to me, but very obviously “inspired” by the second generation Lexus RX/Toyota Harrier interior.

In Korea, the 2.0 litre Sonata gets its power boosted up to 163 PS but internationally the new engine specs is announced as having 158 PS. This probably has to do with different tune-ups for different countries having different emissions laws. The new 2.4 litre puts out 171 PS (179 PS in Korea), up from 161 PS. This power gain is achieved through the addition of a new variable intake system to the Theta engine family, and variable valve timing is now on both intake and exhaust ports.

More images and videos of the facelifted Sonata Transform after the jump.

Video: 2009 Hyundai Sonata Transform facelift

Video: The Making Of Hyundai Sonata Transform Ad

Video: 2009 Hyundai Sonata Facelift

Hyundai_Sonata_Transform

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kazai (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:49 am

wow…very nice interior.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 9:06 am

The front grill and lamp is a little bit too big for my liking. It adds on the Uncle-ish look now. They should just maintain it, why mess with something that is already good? The interior and the engine upgrade is really impressive. I wonder how soon can we get this on our roads. And not forgetting the less spec features plus “added” ah beng accessories all over the car.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

The headlamps suddenly look like EVO 7… dont u felt like it? LOL~! But is ok to me, at least they done more better job then our local automobile manufacturer…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

Good job Hyundai!

• jasonlow (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 10:19 am

Paul…great to hear tat they improve the already improved sonata… btw, do u have any info about the newly launchded accent?? looks kinda promissing… hope u will post one soon..

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 11:21 am

Nice transformation video, asian transformer?? WEE!!

• ariff (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 11:57 am

hahah..nice one hyundai..

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:07 pm

my brother and i always like to think the sonata as a brainstorm of both the new camry and accord. we call it “camcord” (copyright reserved! lol)

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:48 pm

The gear knob suck!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Paul, how about FC?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 1:08 pm

@jasonlow

We already have the “new accent”. Its called the Kia Rio. Both run the same platform. Same interior, just different exterior panels.

• DrA (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 1:26 pm

Thirsty. Expensive to service. Poor residuals. Hate Hyundai. Plus where did they re-launch this car? Cloud? a big freezer? or is it on fire?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 1:46 pm

Let me rebuttal all of your claims.
    I’m driving a Sonata NF 2.4L.

DrA said,

November 18, 2007 @ 1:26 pm
    Thirsty. ( I’m getting 6.8L/100KM on highway. 10L~10.7L/100KM city drive MRR2, KL town, Subang USJ. )

Expensive to service. ( RM112.80 Semi-Synthetic Engine Oil Package @ Glenmarie Hyundai Hyumal SC.)

Poor residuals. ( You don’t make money from car. )

Hate Hyundai. ( Do try to update yourself. Don’t trap inside the old Hyundai.)

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Now that Paul’s mentioned it, the headlights does look bigger.
    And somehow I’m reminded of a VW Passat when I view the front.
    Luckily there were no drastic cosmetic changes, so the exterior still looks elegant (despite being less sleek).

The interior definitely looks the part.
    Very nice.

• szw (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 4:47 pm

lame

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 5:00 pm

blackberrybloke, this NF Sonata came out before the new Camry. It is our local suppliers take nearly 2 years after launch to bring it in, so you can’t say they copied the front of the new camry.

I believe Hyundai is now getting better with their engines. Previously their engines have gotten some help from Mitsubishi. Now their very own new CVVT engines are proven to be more fuel efficient.

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 6:07 pm

Love the interior, with that engine, it’s still a family car…not for race…just some number gimmick to attract digit centric buyers ;) i dnt mind own 1 of them since they r cheap also

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Hmm this interior remind me of kia’s new optima, not bad either

• DtG (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:19 pm

hahahahhaa.. hyundai used a mercedes to shoot the ad… hahahahhahaa

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:31 pm

sorry BrakeFader. no offence. that is what i heard from the toyota assembly line rep (my mother supplies some of materials needed for the locally assembled units in their shah alam factory). apparently the blue prints for camry was out for quite some time even before sonata’s. i might be wrong

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 10:08 pm

nicely done, much improved on the interior and the fact that they actually tried to improve their engines on a “facelift” is a good positive too.
    it’s rare to see carmakers care about anything apart from the exterior in a facelift, so thumbs up for hyundai on that.

paul u gonna do a story on the new accent soon? they’ve just launched it and the 1.6 version with CVVT costing 73k looks interestingly good value, kinda curious about it…

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 10:11 pm

love this ad… seen it from an american blog recently… the koreans have certainly upped their game :)

btw, sweetsorrow.mp3? hahahaha

ps: d gurl is cute~

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:00 am

Same old price?

• king (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:05 am

DrA said,
    November 18, 2007 @ 1:26 pm

Thirsty. Expensive to service. Poor residuals. Hate Hyundai

you must be still living in the 90s. My hyundai getz 1.4 can travel much further than my brother’s lighter vios in a single tank of petrol averaging about 500km on mix 50-50 city/highway driving.

most new hyundais are equipped with FC meter to show you if it really is thirsty or not.

• king (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:09 am

the meter display looks like from odyssey though

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:14 am

The new exterior has the older look than the current one, but interior is so nice and the new improved engine has good output, I still hope they will maintain the younger exterior look…

• nmh (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:36 am

this is the best interior makeover…other manufacturer shud follow. And as usual korean love to ruin the already good lookin exterior

• Charger (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 11:54 am

nmh, that’s very stereotypical of you.

Have you seen the Kyron’s facelift? Did they ruin it? Nope, I don’t think so.

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 12:58 pm

Charger said,
    November 19, 2007 @ 11:54 am

nmh, that’s very stereotypical of you.

Have you seen the Kyron’s facelift? Did they ruin it? Nope, I don’t think so.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 9:20 pm

not bad…hyundai cars starting to impress me…starting with the new accent and then now the sonata…
    :)

• leongylun (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:38 pm

the headlamp looks like nissan cefiro. i prefer the prior facelifted one..hehe!!!
    interior is very nice..almost copy all good things from harrier.

• DrA (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:44 pm

King,
    Not a good comparison. Getz 1.4 – small car, VIOS 1.5 – saloon.
    Getz fuel tank 45L, VIOS 40L.

• king (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 12:47 am

sorry OT but DrA,

vios tank is 42L but the old model weights about 100kg less than the getz. car category has got nearly nothing to do with FC ( unless you are referring to Cd….but the effect is almost negligible since both cars Cd not much of difference ). FC more related to weight though.

anyway, back to topic. they “transformed” and improved the interior and engine so much but the exterior design does indeed seem a step backward……looks like the current facelifted elantra (front view). If only they left the front design untouched or do only minor changes then it would have been a perfect job.

• DrA (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 2:25 am

But Getz engine is 1.4 and vios is 1.5 i.e bigger engine.
    Anyway.

IsaacVky,
    RM112 for service? Even proton costs more than that to service. Is it a DIY or is it a promotional thing. What happen after that? Unless you are super rich, I’m sure you bought yours on hire purchase, minimum 4 yrs payment. Is the plan going to cover all these yrs for servicing. I know we don’t make money from cars, but we would prefer a car with strong residuals don’t we? Say, at 3 yrs the servicing plan ran out and you want to change your car. You would be thinking about residuals won’t you?

• little_momo (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 2:28 am

Wahh !! nice new interior

Wahh!! 11.5km/L . 2000cc…fuel saving huh!!

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:19 am

huh???

its look like em…..

no one the same…..

more ‘orang tua’ looking la……..

bulky front grille…………..

previous one is better……….

wood grain garnish on steering and dashboard?????

and gear stick???………..look dull dude…..

BETTER PUT THE SILVER THAN ODD LOOKING FAKE WOOD

• king (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:35 am

DrA said,
    November 20, 2007 @ 2:25 am

But Getz engine is 1.4 and vios is 1.5 i.e bigger engine
    ___

C’mon la, the vios is slightly bigger engine pulling a lighter body. you are trying to say the vios is good in FC ? At this weight and engine size the power to weight ratio is just borderline( more advantage to vios), therefore a slightly bigger/more poerful engine will improve FC. eg: gen2 1.6 is more fuel efficient than 1.3 and myvi 1.3 better FC than 1.0.
    I doubt that u r a doctor at all…ppl like you just like to listen to wat the toyota salesman say without checking out facts 1st.

talking bout residuals…..go get a house then. prefer a car with strong residuals? go get a kancil. or a second hand kancil. no car above 2.0 liter class has strong residuals.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 1:50 pm

King got it right.

With the 2nd hard car market so bad, nothign with a big engine gets good residuals.

Even the 2.0 Accord looses nearly 10k per year. Or why not the perenial favourite, the Alfa and Volvo, both looses about 20-30k per year (and that is average, dep for first 3 years is even higher). Even BMWs are getting hit.

Hyundai’s depreciation is high for the first 3 years (due to close pricing with proton), after of which it flattens out.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 4:06 pm

DrA said,

November 20, 2007 @ 2:25 am
    http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m232/IsaacVky/Image027-2.jpg
    http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m232/IsaacVky/Image021-7.jpg
    RM112.80

Honda Civic 8th 2.0 depreciate 20k for the 1st year.
    My family’s Accord 2.4 04 only worth RM100k after these years.
    Don’t buy any car if you’re so scared to loss money.
    Proton Tiara might suit you because 2nd hand value is only a few thousand ringgit and let’s say you get rid of it after a few months, it still worth few thousand :p

I don’t get any servicing plan like the Honda’s when I purchased the Sonata NF. And I don’t get it why must I sell the car after the servicing plan. I can afford the service. It’s cheap also. I have experiences with UMW Toyota SC, Hyumal Hyundai SC & EON Mitsubishi SC and I found that Hyundai is one of the fastest and cheapest to service. Jalan 217 Toyota SC made me waited 5 bloody hours for the car to be ready with appointment made few days before I went. Bloody UMW.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 4:33 pm

GOOD from FAR but FAR from GOOD!

• arcana (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 4:54 pm

if u want to count depreciation, do it in percentage terms….its weird to see that ppl are comparing ringgit wise….its obvious that bigger cars will suffer more in that sense. average for depreciation is around 10% of its market value…so its no surprise to see accord losing 10k a year and volvos 20k or more….
    referring to the model year of 2009….means when will be launched? 2008?
    its confusing when they state that its 2009 and it appears the year before.

• king (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:48 pm

agreed with IsaacVky,
    Don’t buy any car if you’re so scared to loss money ( KIASU )

• king (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:48 pm

oops…lose money

• nuajon (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:06 am

frontal view like waja…so oldies.

• darthkir on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:55 am

is this version being sold now here?