Mazda 2 Sedan unveiled for the Chinese market

Mazda 2 Sedan

The new Mazda 2, or the Mazda Demio as it is called in the JDM market, is now available in a sedan body form. The sexy coupe-like 4-door sedan was unveiled at the 2007 Guangzhou Motor Show, and will be built and sold in China by Changan Ford Mazda Automobile Co Ltd.

At the moment it’s not clear whether the Mazda 2 Sedan will be produced or sold anywhere outside the Chinese market, but I don’t see why not as B-segment sedans can be very very popular – like the Toyota Vios and the Honda City, especially in a South East Asian market like ours.

Mazda 2 Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:03 am

looks good in a way, the rear looks like renault laguna, steering looks a bit like gen 2 though, but im sure this would be as good as a suzuki sx4 , vios, latio and any cars within the same range. too bad the mazda brand name isnt strong here

• redwings (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 5:01 am

Wow..! this is the 1 for Malaysia market, a sedan instead of the hatchback, just like the Vios and City B-segment… Come on C&C or Mazda, any chance to bring this to Malaysia,

I am bored with those Latio, Vios and City….

Great job by mazda,

• azrai (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 6:42 am

It can be the leader in B-segment market if properly marketed and priced in our shore. Hopefully we will have the choice. Zoom zoom. Nice look.

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:15 am

Wow!!! From hatchback to sedan, the sedan design look great!!!
    the front and rear lamp like a leaf just match the mazda logo..

• kington (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:49 am

Wow.. i like this one definitely.

The Mk1 Vios looked great, but the Mk2 now seems a bit too elegantly bubbly for a Camry-inspired lil baby, but still resembles the Yaris which it’s based on.

The Jazz looked great and it still does even till now, but the City, i find it too contraversial.

This Mazda 2, i’m speechless… i really want one.

• joel_west (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:51 am

Mazda keep on improving..this car surely a hit…well done Mazda!!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:08 am

zoom zoom, bring it in, it’s gonna be huge success

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:11 am

Woo..what a nice design model.Perhaps our local Mazda player may get this model to M’sia. This B segment class only Vios, City and Latio…

• Charger (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:38 am

I’d like to have 1 please!

Thank you!

• szw (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:26 am

when izit coming in ?
    it has a great market over here .

• joeysis (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:52 am

look much more better than the hatchback version, just the dashboard abit too simple…

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:33 pm

nowadays makers are going for alfa romeo rear trend ya… lancer oso like tat, mazda2 oso like tat…

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:46 pm

the rear look very strange to me…

• ezralimm (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:47 pm

oH MY gOd.

It looks good.

Hatchback to mini-sedan transformations often come out looking awkward (eg the dugong vios)

But the mazda2 conjures the image of a mantis.

cool.

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:09 pm

i like it, from picture it looks nice :)
    bring it here please..

• n0oB (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:35 pm

The sedan looks awkward from the side angle..somewhat a bit out of proportion..I still prefer the hatchback design..nevertheless it’s much better-looking than the current crop of B-segments

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:42 pm

i challenge C&C to bring in this car… i definitely will place my order immediately… :p

• ctawyong (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:54 pm

make it fullforce here!! :P let toyota sales worrying about it!! base on the look can kill off the new vios!! bring it here!! sure a lot of potential buyer!!

• williaml (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 2:15 pm

It is for China market, something like Peugeot developed 206 Sedan for China market.

Zoom Zoom…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:15 pm

it will be a nightmare for toyota if mazda bring that car here…hehe

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:22 pm

a peugeot’s front end with a lancer’r rear.
    i loike!
    i’m totally in love with the exterior.

the interior looks a little bit funny, i think.
    find the hidden mickey on the center console… haha.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Good car, if bring in it will selling like hot cake if the price is reasonable.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:07 pm

I like the front light design!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Interior look comfy and the dashboard look “clean”!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Why we are so “unlucky” have to live with NAP and Proton!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:10 pm

When I can buy imported car at afforable price?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:44 pm

styling is girly

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Bigfish, who knows you might be a multi million richman one day,..hey this car is soooo nice…

• aj3377 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 5:04 pm

if i can get
    this car… it’s like having sex….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:58 pm

wow…i like dis car…better than vios and city…mazda…bring it…bet u…ppl will luv it..

• nmh (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:49 pm

Proton shud learn from mazda to convert savvy to be a good lookin sedan

• nmh (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:50 pm

….honda (city), nissan(latio sedan) and toyota(vios) too

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 2:00 am

nice front, and rear like laguna. I was hoping RX8 cues

• transformer (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:43 pm

the original hatch 2 are nice!

but this elongated butt sedan aren’t!
    from 45degree rear view similar to Honda City silhoutte which are really FUGLY! Yuks!

I believe Mazda can do much better than this as their 3, 5 and 6 are absolutely ravishing!

• syanas (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:03 pm

mazda’s design always nice

• arcana (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:20 pm

the sedan looks alright….the hatch looks better.
    bring it here with the right price….i wanna buy 1…..i’ve sat on my fren’s mazda3….its absolutely amazing…..i’m impressed with it and i believe the younger 2 can deliver the same experience.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 10:02 am

Mazda in Malaysia are represented by a company who is not interested in exploring new models. What a shame for Malaysia. We should be the first country for all new models launched in South East Asia. Becoz we are the biggest market so called. But everytime travelling down Singapore, I envy them coz they would always get the new , models launched eventho their market is smaller than us. Take Vios for example….Singaporeans have been lambasting the PLUS highway long time before we get our model launched…..Go to hell with NAP la !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:51 pm

yup…ure rite xsaraloeb…

many new cars we can see with singapore plate…pity us…like mazda cx-7…i saw many but with singapore plate…when mazda wants to bring dat beauty???our distributor here is too slow la…except to beemer and merc….actually they are quite fast but the other…really slow…

• familyman (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 11:02 am

the gear lever is on da dash ehhh… hehe mpv feel already

• KelvC (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Nice, nope, sweet! What more need to be said?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:52 am

i want hatchback not this

• mazda 2 is gud choice… i like it