Mitsubishi Lancer now comes in 2 variants?

Lancer GLS

There is a second variant of the Mitsubishi Lancer on Malaysian roads now – this particular unit snapped while parked in the Gardens parking lot seems to be a lower spec version called the Lancer GLS.

While the car still has a front lip and side skirts, it lacks the Lancer GT’s rear wing and the wheels are smaller 16 inch ones and of a thick 5-spoke design. The interior is also of a different colour with a two tone design – darker top and a light cream bottom with wood trim. Seats are also light cream. The car is definitely a 2.0 litre with the paddle shift CVT as you can see a 2.0 badge on the rear and paddle shifts in the interior.

Check out more photos after the jump, or head on to the Lancer GT club forums where they have more details on this new GLS.

Lancer GLS

Lancer GLS

Lancer GLS

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:19 pm

wow.. kudos mitsu…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Wow! Car Of The Year!

• twom (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Salesman of mitsubishi in penang which I booked my mitsubishi car told me yesterday that for mitsubishi lancer 2.0GLS , retail price on the road will be RM114,500 and the 2.0GT now will be retail at RM121,XXX on the road with immediate effect.

• twom (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Salesman from mitsubishi penang told me yesterday that mitsubishi 2.0GLS on the road (OTR) will be retail at RM114,500 and 2.0GT, OTR will be RM121,XXX, a RM6K increased.

• ndmervin (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:53 pm

This version would sell even better i guess. Msians are famous in getting the most basic car and then over time, will spruce it up to look like the real GT.

At least better than letting the buyers wait for the long queue for the GT.

• hazrinmd (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:13 pm

my newest wishlist…

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:34 pm

wow… still 2.0 engine

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:39 pm

This GLS is not officially available for sale. RM114 if you want one. Powerful car !

• ashccx (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:50 pm

i think mitsubishi received a chunk of GLS.. my friend’s brother booked a lancer gt on october i think… they told him that he’ll get the car on January.. then recently they informed him that he will only will be getting it august next year and asked him to resort to the GLS spec to get the car a.s.a.p. he got it within a week..

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:16 pm

one for the uncles….

• shamel (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:20 pm

degrade from GT to GLS deserved no RM114k BUT below RM106k especially when you look at no rear spoiler, smaller tire, bright “uncle-ish’ beige interior. BTW Mitsu can’t command strong unlike other Japanese duo, Toyota and Honda or even Nissan and Mazda.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:24 pm

dis one will b cheaper than the gt…sure will b hot cake…

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 9:57 pm

waa…so many trash in the car,whose car is it?

Clean ur car,coz u dunno when it will take photo by others.

2.0 Lancer base line,NICE both engine & Price.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 10:00 pm

uiks i thought the basic one should be 1.5 like in singapore

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 11:49 pm

More choices, in future lower cc engine shall be available.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 11:50 pm

GT 120k? Civic for me then.

• paxter (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:28 am

i find the lancer fugly but then again thats my pov. I just think they are overdoing the shark look… some one should put a fin on the top…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 1:21 am

I thought its just red and black colour? Or is that the high end version?

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 5:55 am

It is still a good news, more choices for people, I think the spec is still good, 2.0 Mivec engine but not sure about the CVT transmission, I think most people can live with 16 inch wheel, beige color interior, no spoiler, it is still one good car…

• blazerSST (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 6:09 am

Manual transmission and a Rockford Fosgate ICE please.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 6:25 am

Wish the Lancer has 6-speed Manual. That’s what the Lancer is about… sport machine (no auto pls)

• azrai (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 6:46 am

I can’t sleep after my 1st encounter a.k.a test drive with Lancer GT last 3 months. it’s like playing a Grand Tourismo with those magnesium pedal shifter (contrary to plastic one in Honda). It is really a fantastic sports machine. The long queue and bargain price tells it all. Suddenly they came out with GLS and offer it to those who waiting for their GT just RM1.5k less? Nonsense. If we browse Singapore’s Lancer brochure it come in 5 variants including a 1.5l Mivec engine use in the Colt. Please bring this variant also. Direct competition with Vios right.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 7:46 am

good news to those who already owned GT…..so now, where did the 6k increase come from?…..tax or mitsu wanna pocket more.
    GT for da youngsta GLS for da uncle.
    just when i thought mitsu is serious on competition…..now naik harga……thumbs down!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 8:49 am

Don’t know why the price increase.

When I test drove the GT earlier this year, the salesperson told me that the GLS will come in under 110k, a few K under the GT.

The GLS for 114k doen’t make sense at all. Mitsu running a bait and switch? Get orders fro a GT then tell bookers to expect an extended delay when push the price up for the GS to make a quick buck?

Only in Malaysia….

• e-by (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:23 am

You also can view the car at EON Glenmarie. Not in the showroom but they parked it outside the building. I’m not sure if the car is still there or not.

From what I can see, the car looks nice and sweet. The paddle shifter is there. 16″ rims with yokohama tyres. I’m not sure abt the price but if it is true RM114k for GLS and RM121k for GT I think a lot of the waiting customers will be pissed off. MMM should honour the original price when customers booked their car.

Perhaps they become greedy after the huge response from customers. However, RM121k for GT not that bad especially if this price was implemented since day 1.

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:49 am

knwing malaysians, we’ll opt for this lower version of lancer then ah beng it to evoX hehehe

• xetronic (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:53 am

the GLS model lacks of the followings compare to the GT:
    – interior (replaced with ugly faked wood 2-tone dash)
    – leather seat (replaced with yucked baige)
    – 6-disc cd changer (replaced with single cd)
    – sport-tuned suspension (replaced with normal suspension)
    – 18″ rims and tyres (16″ on GLS)
    – rear spoiler
    – GLS uses smaller disc brakes

get the GLS if you can’t wait for GT. else go for the GT at extra 7k from GLS.

i booked a GT and my expected delivery date was dec 2007/jan 2008 but the agent called me 2 weeks ago and told me i won’t be seeing my GT till at least June 2008.

• abtm (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:06 am

angry face car gets smaller boots

• anand79 (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:12 pm

whatever it is… MMM really spoilt their reputation with this type of controversial havoc with pricing and delivery , when they screwed up with their earlier generation lancer , this was their saviour unfortunately as the car was good the handling of delivery and pricing is worst then before . good job MMM keep it up and loose much ground to great honda .

• avanza (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 2:05 pm

In S’pore, there is a 1.5 liter version with 16-inch wheels. Could this be the one?

• terion (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 3:33 pm

No!

Other than the difference mentioned by xetronic, everything else is the same, even the 2.0 liter engine with the paddle shift CVT gearbox

• Paul Tan on Dec 06, 2007 at 4:07 pm

come on guys, if you look at the back of the car it says 2.0, plus the interior shows there are the paddle shifters. this is not a 1.5 liter.

• shamel (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Pricing again will make their dig their grave. Rm116k then is wrong they should sell it at least Rm119 if they know they’ll bring uncle-ish GLS at RM114.5k.

Buyers will shy away from MMC.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 7:27 am

upcoming GT owners will be very pissed with mitsu coz they gonna pay more for their rides for almost no reason (no spec upgrade in this case) and also not to mention the long queue list……
    and probably buying the GLS now will be quite a not-value-buy coz 2-3 months earlier, the price can buy u a GT spec instead……

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 10:35 am

the wheels are ugly…..

better get the GT…….

• gtmaniac (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Suddenly, a 16 inch-wheels is small for this class car. Last decades the same class rodes mostly on 14 inch, and some even 13 inch (sentra B13 pre-FL)!

But that’s not a big problem. Even if i buy the GT version, I’ll change the wheels & remove the rear spoiler anyway. Might as well get the GLS version, and put that extra rm7k elsewhere – add as downpayment for less monthly installment, or get 17 inch wheels with good michelins..etc.

For me, GLS is the correct spec lancer for direct comparison with Civic 2.0, not the GT, except – may be – in term of price.

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:54 pm

MY CIVIC still looks and feels better. Anyway, are future owners going to be comfortable with DRB HICOM?

• AmSouth (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 8:00 pm

i have been reading about over-demand of Lancer in and out of Malaysia

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/news-blog/mitsubishi-lancer-gts-sold-out/

http://www.egmcartech.com/2007/09/05/dealers-cant-get-enough-mitsubishi-lancer-gts-models-to-meet-demand/

It seems like it is a worldwide supply issue, not just Malaysia.

• firefox (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 8:25 pm

yesterday the dealer call up and informed me that my GT where by booked at Oct 2007 will be delaying and actual month NOT STATUS, actually my car should be deliver on Feb, and the reason she gave me is “too many on booking, japan unable to deliver on time” and said currently all the booking on dec need to be wait for a year to get the car.
    Paul IT IS TRUE? the story i hear from friend that the AP for this car got problem? any friend know about this, or any suggestion what should i do?

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 2:37 pm

I don’t think it is about the AP issue. It is a worldwide over-demand of Lancer. Just like what amsouth said.

Personally I booked a GT back in October and got to know the GLS thingy that MMM is offering. At first, I was kinda pissed. But after much thinking, what the heck man! I will rather take GLS than nothing. Anyway, I am planning to do some cosmetic work on the car.

• chris on May 05, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Nice..

• Omar Aldhaheri on Aug 28, 2009 at 8:52 am

Ladies and respected agents Mitsubishi

Ask about the Mitsubishi Lancer GLS 2 liters of the carrier how many speed for automatic transmission km parts and I hope your response as soon as