New E93 BMW M3 Convertible unveiled!

BMW M3 Convertible

BMW has unveiled the third BMW M3 bodytype this week, the E93-based BMW M3 Convertible. It might or might not be the last BMW M3 body type of this generation, since there is an M5 Touring, could we possibly see an M3 Touring? No sighting of such a thing in spyshots so far, so maybe not.

Like its sedan and coupe siblings, the BMW M3 has the new 4.0 litre normally aspirated V8 under its hood, putting out 420 horsepower and 400Nm of torque at 3,900rpm, revving all the way up to 8,400rpm. 0 to 100kmh with the 6 speed manual takes 5.3 seconds, compared to he M3 Coupe’s 4.9 seconds.

This is the first BMW M3 Convertible with a hard top retractable roof, as the E46 M3 Convertible had a soft top. The less rigid convertible body has also been enforced to take the extra power. For one, the anti-roll bar has a larger diameter but is hollow.

More photos after the jump.

BMW M3 Convertible

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:10 am

absolute beauty…

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:35 am

yeaa… finally goes origami hardtop, this is what i’m waited for, but to many lines on it (picture with the roof on) reminds me on one of my transformers toys.

• BMW fan (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:47 am

This is what a convertible should look like!
    Soothing on the eye, just absolutely magnificent!
    I’m not saying this because I like BMW…I adore them!
    I’ll actually buy this car if I can afford…
    but driving this in Malaysia…I guess the top will always be on or else i’ll sweat too much or even get robbed :p

• nikolo98 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:42 am

Hi Paul, any info on how much better the sound-proofing is on this beemer as opposed to the soft-top ones?

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:26 am

aiyoh….malaysia tak bleh pakai ini kereta lembu lah dey !

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:46 am

those lines spoil the overall look, may be.
    if i want to have this car, i rather choose black color,
    so that those lines are imaginably covered ;)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:18 am

M3 convertibles never made quite much sence to me.

M3 Stationwagon, yes, M3 Sedan, Yes, M3 Coupe, Yes, M3 Convertible, no.

Whats wrong with the Z4M (if they do update it) if one wants a BMW convertible/roadster? And on the top end GT/Cruiser you got the 645i /M6 convertible.

The M3 convertible makes it neigher here nor there. Not the sporting M3 it should be and not the cruiser it wants to be.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

In a conformist world of local auto aficionados comes a welcoming voice of dissent. I would disagree that the roof has too many lines, as it complements the Gugenheimesque of the design. I would disagree to its role as a cabrio that seats 4 and the audacity to put the tricolor M on it. I guess its for the alternative lifestyle peeps in the US.

Why don’t they stop doing this on the 3? Discerning sports car lovers would now have to turn their attention to the very much ado about the 1. Sad state of the nation.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

Cant deny that this is an art of beauty but I would darely say that the M3 convertible wont stand a chance if there was a Lexus IS-F convertible.

Everything’s better in the Lexus…except the badge.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:27 pm

they wont stop doing this on the 3, because history has shown that this car sells extremely well for bmw in the US. which also happens to be the largest market for the M3 in all its guises and forms.

if your customer want this, why not build it?

• WreaKing (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Nice! Lines are to obvious. Maybe those in BMW wants to put a new meaning to the phrase “Read Between The Lines” kua……

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:05 pm

I can’t afford this “BMW M3 starbuck coffee”. I can afford the “Kopi-O Waja only”.

• BW (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

My favourite coupe.. But i have no $$ to buy :(

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Coupe is not my choice, even if I got money, I will buy sedan.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:22 pm

lexus is just too soulless to be better than this car in anyway. its neither here nor there. make a 1S-F convertible n put in a 7 litre engine still it is a souless car which can only please the americans.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

BigFish said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

I can’t afford this “BMW M3 starbuck coffee”. I can afford the “Kopi-O Waja only”.

_____

waja is not convertible lar…unless u add a sunroof and consider that as open top.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:29 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 9:18 am

M3 convertibles never made quite much sence to me.

M3 Stationwagon, yes, M3 Sedan, Yes, M3 Coupe, Yes, M3 Convertible, no.

Whats wrong with the Z4M (if they do update it) if one wants a BMW convertible/roadster? And on the top end GT/Cruiser you got the 645i /M6 convertible.

______

the 645Ci cab n M6 Cab are delicious cars but both come with ragtop only.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:37 pm

Just for king’s info, IS-F is a 5.0 liter V8 with 420 hp & 500Nm.Thats 100 Nm short of the M3’s.

& the IS-F has beaten the M3 on the track.

Obviouly, the Lexus brand cant be compared with the BMW’s heritage but the Lexus will just blow the M3 away in tech-wise.

The real M3 is actually really the upcoming M3 CS.

• JiN (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Such an absolute beauty but put it into Malaysian roads would be a waste.
    With the weather conditions here, it wont be sensible to drive one around.
    And in bad traffic conditions you have people in bikes squeezing left and right
    and suddenly one hand into your car to balance themselves…. -.-”
    not to insult bikers but thats how the culture here is.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:42 pm

lamcy88 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 1:37 pm

Just for king’s info, IS-F is a 5.0 liter V8 with 420 hp & 500Nm.Thats 100 Nm short of the M3’s.

_______

of course i know that….the is no lexus IS-F convertible n no 7 litre engine…just making an example….geddit?

• szw (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:11 pm

M3 lives…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:30 pm

hardtop? nice!!!

but me prefer M6……

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:43 am

beautiful, but why have the back seats in the first place. Not like you can fit anyone in it….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 11:57 am

Rear seats on convertibles have always been hit and miss. At least this one looks usable…maybe if the front passenger is not over 6 ft and the rears are kids.

In comparison to the 206CC and Lexus SC430…this is SPACIOUS. I drove a friend’s SC430 once, with me in the driver seat (i’m only 5’6, the rear has 6″ of room. My buddy is 6″2, so there you go = 0 rear legroom literally)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Reply to JiN:

That’s the point of a convertible, more so a retractable hard top. If the weather sucks, just don’t open it. When you had the need (pulling away from Zouk’s entrance at midnight) then open it. These are rich man’s car, which the extra dough is for the tweeny couple of seconds when you have the need. It’s the same as buying a Swiss knife – Does it help you to spread your bread or pick your nose? But when you do have special needs, your ability to earn extra money and buy extra stuffs enables you to do so with a more specific tool.

So please throw away that everything’s got to be practical mindset in a car forum / blog.

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 9:57 am

cost a bomb here.