Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!

Proton MPV

I have some preliminary details on the Proton MPV due to be launched in the first half of 2009. According to a source in Proton, the Proton MPV is on schedule and one of the first chassis prototypes was shown at the Proton Technology Week.

The chassis reveals quite a bit about the car. There is also a model of the interior hidden in a box with holes cut into it, much like the peekaboo promo that Proton did for its previous two models. The following are what I gathered on the MPV:

Exterior

• Overall shape is like the Toyota Wish but the rear section of the roof does not slope down slightly like the Wish to improve headroom for the third row.
  • Tail lamps use LEDs and have a vertical design extending from the top to down, unlike the Wish’s which do not extend into the D pillar. The tail lamps are slimmer at the top but curve out a little at the bottom, similiar to the Volvo XC90’s design. The signal lamps in the light cluster are positioned towards the top for better visibility. You can actually see this in the previously revealed sketch and the teaser video above.
  • There is a swage line on the side profile of the MPV.
  • Regular swing doors instead of sliding doors.
  • The spare tyre is installed outside under the chassis instead of kept in the car so that you can get access to it easily when the luggage space is occupied.

Interior

• The peekaboo box revealed a two-tone beige interior, but sources in Proton say the colour of the interior has not been finalised. It may be either beige or grey.
  • Luggage space is not that great with the third row of seats in place, but can fit one large golf bag. This means balik kampung with 7 people loaded and luggage for 7 will be a challenge.
  • Second row splits 60:40 while the third row is a 50:50 split. The seats fold flat.
  • Interior roof height is designed to be quite decent to accomodate people who want to ride with songkoks and turbans.
  • The shifter uses a gated shift and is dashboard-mounted rather than mounted between the front two seats, a common modern trend with MPV-like vehicles.
  • The in-car entertainment is a 2-DIN unit. There are options for a DVD player with an LCD display for the movie mounted at the second row roof area. There is also an option in the future for GPS navigation.
  • The 2-DIN head unit is at the top of the center dash area below the aircond vents, and below it comes the air conditioning controls which are three knobs arranged in a triangle shape. Below that is the shifter.
  • There are aircond blowers for the second and third row situation at the top left and right of the cabin roof (near the grip handles). Proton source says after testing this produced the best airflow.
  • There is no armrest between the front two seats but the armrest is instead a fold-down type integrated into the seat itself.

Chassis

• The wheelbase of the chassis is estimated to be more than 2,700mm but less than 2,800mm. In comparison, the Honda Stream has a wheelbase of 2740mm, the Wish is 2,750mm, the Innova 2,750mm, the Livina 2600mm, and the Mazda5 2750mm.
  • The front suspension design uses MacPherson struts and the rear design uses a torsion beam to minimize suspension system intrusion into cabin.
  • The front end is designed, supplied and assembled as a single module for weight reduction and ease of installation to minimize QC problems.
  • The MPV is said to have very good crash safety design from Proton internal crash tests. A few MPVs will be sent for official crash testing and rating soon.

So there you have it. If you want to look at the interior and chassis for yourself you can head to the Proton Technology Week event tomorrow. The event is happening at the Proton plant in Shah Alam. On the KESAS highway heading towards Klang, turn left after the Center of Excellence and then turn left into the Proton plant.

Proton MPV
An initial concept sketch of the Proton MPV interior, but the production version will be tamed down.

Proton MPV
Proton MPV teaser video gets attention…

Proton MPV
Day 1 visitors having a peek at the new MPV’s interior.

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

Proton MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:11 pm

TaDa !!!!

introducing the all NeW proton Kangkung…..

comes with a wonderful package,
    – higher maintenance cost…
    – lower second hand price,coz nobody wants it….
    – more cheap quality things used….

sigh,i dont want to continue…to all those proton fans out there,sorry guys,but i had a nightmare owning a waja few years back..

Malaysia Boleh !!

• nonadoes (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:12 pm

hmmm…based on the intro it does sound nice..
    No picture available yet?
    By the way, what engine is used to power this mpv?

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:16 pm

Picture Paul? I’m sure there were no cameras allowed but it’s a good thing they let you in there to bring us the first report on how Proton’s MPV might be like.

I remember the last time when they had an open day and I went in there and saw the full-size clay model of the (then secret) Proton Savvy. I asked the guys whether it was indeed the Savvy but they denied it at the time. So, you can be sure that whatever that you saw is indeed Proton’s MPV.

Whether or not it will look good or Most Importantly, Priced well, remains to be seen. But I’m sure Proton is smart enough to understand market sensitivity to pricing, particularly towards a Proton.

Look at the silly pricing play of the Toyota Rush/Perodua Nautica, it is all baloney only serving Toyota’s interest and playing the market for a fool.

Equipment-wise, the Proton MPV you saw is promising. It should have all that is needed for a typical Malaysian family who can afford such a compact MPV.

We will wait for the real thing in anticipation…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Dear Paul, no snap of photos kah? Especially of the MPV.
    I can’t make myself to the event. I’m not even in Malaysia.
    Thanks..

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Thank you for the photos. Now at least we know it looks exactly like the Toyota Wish!!!

• @ntiperOdua (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:40 pm

zerachiel1986 said,

August 2, 2008 @ 5:11 pm

TaDa !!!!

sigh,i dont want to continue…to all those proton fans out there,sorry guys,but i had a nightmare owning a waja few years back..

Malaysia Boleh !!

——————————————————

Please STOP your STUPID COMMENT on THIS PAGE !!!!

• chee89 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:49 pm

sounds good.
    go proton! hopefully u are going the right way. the consumer’s way.

• V8 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:50 pm

“Interior roof height is designed to be quite decent to accomodate people who want to ride with songkoks and turbans.”

Haha…izzit proton particularly target kampung folks with big family? yeah, being datuk n tuk wan driving the car and all his cucu-cicit sitting at the back~ well well, will that be the advertisement campaign for the this mpv next year?

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:33 pm

I’ll be guessing this is where most of the govt funding went to.
    With proton’s lousy balance sheet no way they could have funded the development of this mpv themselves.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:35 pm

I hope this is going to be good. supporting our national car maker from afar.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:44 pm

That is a very detailed info you got there. Looks like the dash came from the Gen-2, maybe slightly modified to accommodate MPV. So the MPV will not look like Mazda CX-7 then. I was hoping it was. Proton has no room for a 5-seater MPV with that looks?

• MicroKiller (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:48 pm

well.. some good sketches of the interior.. although i dont really know how far it would be from the actual interior. anyhow a good step forward for proton. I just hope this time they can really deliver with better quality to win back the confidence of the public. the marketing strategy this time seems to be better with the sneak peeks and constant teasing of the market to see the response to such a car. It does look like it would be much better than the previous proton so called mpv (juara was it called???).. anyhow proton has managed to make me wait with anticipation.. hehehehe..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Good job LG CNS!

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:56 pm

i WISH to own one..come on Proton, just do the best you can, don’t care bout those basher, it’s natural for people like them(negative all the time)

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:23 pm

I don’t blame ppl to be negative abt proton. Perhaps they had experience a lot of problems and heartache during ownership of a proton.

I would feel pretty shitty if my new brand car doesn’t perform as a new car -problem free. I mean, the sole reason I would buy a brand new car is I expect it to be problem free for the first couple of years. Yes?

What if during the ownership (even during waranty period) door handles, button falls off? how would I feel? I pay instalment thru my nose everyday without fail, working my ass off to pay for a decent car – and simple things like buttons, holders, meters, stereos, windows failing? Then noise, rattling etc start creeping up in my brand new car? Something is wrong right? I would feel shitty buying stuff like that. No doubt..

So, some proton bashers are purely bashing for no reason, but there are some ppl who are really frustrated with proton as they personally experience such problem. My uncle had such nightmarish encounter with proton. When he hear about proton, he gets really upset and angry. I’m not blaming him though.

• faqe (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:30 pm

i just came back from proton open day…

first, i saw the proton mpx ,same like lotus apx…no comment

then i saw the the gen2 diesel turbo 1.6 HDI the proton guy beside the car said it will be on the market on 2010, the engine is from wolksvagen kinda good…

then beside it is the neo jumbuck or in malaysia arena neo 1.6..will also be lunch in 2010..looks nice,it’s like neo satria with a pessenger seat and trunk like old arena..i really like it..the proto guy said it will be lunch in malaysia 1st then exported to australia.

beside the neo jumbuck is the impian 3.2 V6. using the 1st V6 engine build by proton. its kinda cool that impian(waja) can fit a big engine without to have the battery put in the trunk.

beside the impian is the impian with campro 1.6 turbo prototype by proton.. also looks good

And at the prototype area is saga ngv, Proton waja with direct cng,5 built in tanks for ngv under the car.really cool because the trunk is not use to put the ngv.all ngv tanks is under the car..

I save THE BEST FOR THE LAST…….

PROTON FORGOT TO HIDE ITS MPV CAR THAT THEY PARK IN ALOT BESIDE THE TEST TRACK!!!! IF U GO TO THE TEST TRACK, BESIDE THE TRACK THERE IS A CAR LOT WHERE THE PARK PROTON CARS AND NEAR THE GATE THERE IS A SILVER MPV THAT IS THE SAME WITH THE PROTON MPV DRAWING ABOVE!!!!!!
    AND ALL THE DETAILS IS THE SAME IF YOU GUYS SEE THE PICK-A-BOO BOX….
    UNLUCKILY MY CAMERA RAN OUT OF BATERY SO I DIDN”T TAKE THE MPV PICTURE…ALL I CAN SAY IS IT DOES LOOK KINDA SAME LIKE THE CHERRY MPV BUT WITH ALL PROTON BADGES..Haha.

PROTON GUYS, HIDE THAT CAR TOMROW OK?? BCOS TOMORROW I’LL COME AGAIN JUST TO SNAP THE MPV PICS..

• Auto_crat (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:31 pm

Zerachiel1986, I’ve read your comment before. I also own 02 waja but you must be one unlucky lad. My Waja doesn’t cause me any major problem. Well apart from the common door handle and power window problem (1 that need minor repair) the rest is still good. Still use it for 90kms daily commute to my work place (clocked more than 150k). In a few months I’m done with the installment. I’m waiting for this hopefully the price will be right.

• haroldz (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:41 pm

wot about the engine information?
    mayb will come wot NGV kit oso?

• kahing (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:44 pm

Let’s just hope this time, Proton will consider using back Japanese engines rather than some French shit. I’m actually excited to see this MPV. If the price is right, expect to see me at the dealer with a booking already. Yaye !

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 8:12 pm

kahing,no need to hope, they are not gonna use japanese engine, they have their own engine already, Campro CPS..its more than enough..

• faqe (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 8:31 pm

imo…..no…campro cps is not enough…and japanesse engines now is not the best option. i’m more keen on wolkswagen and bmw engines. dats y the gen2 diesel 1.6HDI use wolkswagen engine. btw,many car manufacturers share the same engine so i don’t see any reason for proton not doing the same..can save alot of money on developing new engine,or just make a partnership on developing a new engine.

plus, i never blame proton, the people at proton have done a good job but their parts vendor is all shitty..the main problem for proton is their parts that is made by some bad vendors.so thats why there are problems with power windows,headlamp and tail light that is flooded by water when its rain. proton should fine their vendors that supply faulty parts cause the faulty parts has effected proton credibility.so, for those that have some problems with their car before or now,i’m sorry for you guys..haha

• nmh (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 8:43 pm

torsion beam rear…im not sure whether i like that or not

• DRC (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 9:06 pm

@ntiperOdua said,

August 2, 2008 @ 5:40 pm

zerachiel1986 said,

TaDa !!!!

Malaysia Boleh !!

——————————————————

————————————

Sorry, just to share experience. My NEW Proton Waja got problems after just TWO WEEKS! Unbelievable?
    Yeah I am STUPID, and now I give stupid comment.

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 9:24 pm

go and complain at service centre, claim your warrnty, not here..we want to discuss about the next MPV

• dgsport89 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:00 pm

gud job proton…..hope the mpv will b a mpv….i mean not so called mpv like the juara…hehehe..

• afroiq (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:14 pm

hmm interesting..heehe i’ll go tomorow..paul are the camera is allowed in that area??

• shamel (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Kudos Proton even though l already had a Nissan GL BUT l really proud when my friends and fellow Malaysians bought Proton. I really need a MPV since last year and Proton too late to offer their version.

Now not only Proton made a substandard car, even my friend Livina after a week already had problems. Normal to have a defect here and there as we’re human.

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:39 pm

I cannot believe it.
    Proton got bashed on the first comment….

To your beloved zerachiel1986.
    Sorry for your problem..

Probably you live in Terengganu
    Did you sent your Waja at proton’s authorized service center?.
    Did you made any claim within the warranty period?

I hope you were not conned by your favorite service center.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:40 pm

haiyoo still complaining about the past arr…people make mistake ma…waja is the first car that p1 make it from scratch…i agree the quality is not good…but its was their first try…should be error here n there…thomas edison invent a light bulb after 2000 time trying…he not consider it a failure…he consider 1999 time he try as another way to make the light bulb…my point is the improvement…mayb p1 fail on their first try…but now they r improving…for example waja cps owner is very happy owning the car…yes with some quality issue here n there but negligible for them….ok back to the topic….for me this minor exposure of the mpv is very good marketing hype so the people targeting to buy mpv will hold their decision until its launch…the design is very cool and trendy…hopefully it will come with ngv kit…my lec is a ex p1 engineer..he shown us a scrapped mpv design project dated 3-4 years ago…wut interesting on several pic he showed is one of them showed the mpv is equip with 2 tank of NGV below the chassis platform…mayb p1 will take out this project back as a reference for this mpv project just for the NGV kit…bcoz wut i have seen is nothin close to this mpv design…. p1…gud luck

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Dear DRC,

What is the problem?.
    Could you share with me?.
    Did you made a warranty claim?

I also want to share my experience with my Kancil when I bought it.
    Its left turn light and hazard light did not blink.
    BTW, that was in 2001. And that was on DAY ONE. not even after two weeks.
    Reported the problem on my first service. The repair center (in Temerloh) did not have the parts. So only got it repaired by the second service.
    That was three months later!..

I also worked for Honda Malaysia for few years. there are numerous reports on problems with their cars. There were also instances that a buyer parked a Civic at Honda Office in PJ and put a big sign inside the car: “For sale at RM 1 to Honda CEO.”

So what was the big deal about your Waja?

Again I want ask you guys. Is there any complaints on Proton vehicle produced in 2007 onwards?

rt

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:59 pm

BTW, DRC,

I am relieved that you realize that you are stupid.
    Hope that JulianLee feel the same.

But I want to tell you that you are ignorant too..
    You are ignorant that other manufacturers do have the same problem.

BTW, to defend Honda (and Proton as well), they has improved a lot compared to then the Pegoh plant was just opened.

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:00 pm

hahaha..so kesian to zerachiel1986…
    moral of the story..think before u comment..
    hahaha..

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:01 pm

got 3.2L V6 o
    how was the output?

• waja2000 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:56 pm

torsion beam rear ???100% dispointed ???at least should be Multilink for this kind of standard of car..

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Huh?? !st Malaysian MPV? Are they hoping that Malaysians will forget the infamous Juara? It was marketed as a MPV back then…

The Rusa was marketed as a van…

Wonder what the model’s codename is. We had the WRM, TRM and SRM. So, is this the JRM?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:12 am

The truth is, ppl will always batch mark their experience and their P1 car’s condition. Some are so pissed off when they proton got into trouble. This is not about the servicing or warranty claim issue.
    This is the issue which they paid the car from their own hard earn money only to learn that “shit! i buy new car and yet the door cannot open, windows jammed…” They become sakit hati. So their bashings on P1 is sometimes unavoidable.
    So on this new MPV, let’s hope P1 really get it right this time. I would really want to see it’s design!

• badboys (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:19 am

did you guy saw any hybrid proton car around? just now I watch TV news saying that our PM want proton to come out hybrid car in year 2009.

for me proton should come out hybrid car as soon as posible…
    I need one…. :p

• aki_zz (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:54 am

the v6 power is 200bhp. i’m not sure if its 2.2 or 3.2v6 but it fits like a glove in the engine compartment

• fliedlice (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 1:36 am

DRC said,
    August 2, 2008 @ 9:06 pm

@ntiperOdua said,

August 2, 2008 @ 5:40 pm

zerachiel1986 said,

TaDa !!!!

Malaysia Boleh !!

——————————————————

————————————

Sorry, just to share experience. My NEW Proton Waja got problems after just TWO WEEKS! Unbelievable?
    Yeah I am STUPID, and now I give stupid comment.

—————————————————————-
    chill guys, nobody is saying you are stupid.

just that if you think that proton’s are the only cars in the world with problems, then you must know very very little about cars. so don’t go around talking like you are an expert.

I had a honda city (2003 production) which had 1) power window failure, 2) wiper failure, 3) water leaking into the boot (boot got flooded badly). and this car only did something like 5000km a year. no doubt, protons have had their problems in the past, but as they are trying to improve, I think the least we can do is wait and see. not just bash and write them off. if you apply the same logic, maybe I should write off and bash honda as well. and mercedes too (but that’s another story). I guess getting a problematic car is bad luck as well sometimes….

• tolan (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 2:28 am

any clue on the engine for this mpv?

• Jie (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 3:56 am

Abt proton bashing – just here to relate my experience:

Owned a Satria from 99 until 03:
    – Simple car, satisfied my needs, cheap maintenance except for my insistence on semi synthetic oil, and the belt change every 60k if i am not mistaken. At end of 03, it clocked in 100,000 km.
    – one major grouse was chicken-like noise from i dont know where. the service centre people didnt know where it came from either. I applied oil on most of the joints underneath the car but didnt work. Had to endure this for most of 02-03.
    – Sold satria, for some 23k, which was quite good since purchase price was 39k.

Bought Vios in 04, sold it in 07:
    -thought japanese car would be good for a change, and would not have funny noises.
    -not long after, realised that the boot would not shut firmly enough, unless i give it a lot of force. service centre could not do anything abt it.
    – then air cond water leaked into passenger side leg area. the service centre corrected this.
    -had one warranty incident – a change of the whole steering mechanism, dont really know what it is called, it was making noise when I turn it right.
    – no problem ever since until i sold it recently for around 55k. Felt pretty bad cos since I bought it at 83k, i lost around 28k after only 3 years of use, so I felt like I lost more than my satria sale, which i lost around 17k only, after 5 yrs of use.

So there you have it. I have experience with both local car and foreign-made. I dont think any carmaker can claim zero defect.

Feel like buying a national car again, and the MPV appeals to me now that I am older and more family-oriented person.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:13 am

Hmmm…it seems everybody have said what I feel like saying. Hey Paul, that lady in white pants, her butts are nice eh? Hahaha!

OK. Much for the huha on this upcoming MPV. All seems good so far. Hope this will translate to a good sales and most importantly the QUALITY. As this is the major concern of the public.

But faqe’s comment caught my attention. Turbo diesel engine? Is it TDi or HDi? Which one? And Proton built their own V6 engine? “You sure ah?”. No, I’m not skeptical. In fact, if they are showing all that, they have been busy behind the curtain. That could explain the quiteness from Proton these past few years. Perhaps there are more things happening inside that we don’t know of.

Give them a break guys. No automaker can escape quality issues. Even Mercedes and Honda (I agree with fliedlice) had problem with their own models. If they did it bad, CRITICIZE them by all means. Not bash blindly. But if you really so ‘sakit hati’ and need to blame someone, blame their vendors. Most of the parts that gave most of us heartache and headache are from them.

Cheers!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:11 am

David9988,

people like you frustrate all malaysians i think.. because you post stuff up without using your brains.

proton spent 300 million on R&D only over the last year, thats what produced the saga, and also the current ongoing work on the mpv. the govt gave them a grant of about 120 million because of that R&D spending. This r&d grant is available to all car companies in malaysia willing to spend that amount of money in the first place and is normal for all industries. in case you didnt realise also, protons sales are now at an all time high and thats money in the bank, why are people suddenly buying again when they didnt 2 years ago?

you think a measly 120 million is enough for proton to pay 11,000 workers in malaysia, and run 2 factories and keep their export business to 25 over countries running? i seriously challenge all those people who say proton runs solely on tax payers money to do the math and show us. because I cannot imagine how thats done.

• prangin (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:34 am

as always, a simple and informative post on proton gets hijacked by small minded dimwits. hope too see spy pics soon of the test mule on the highway. Cheers paul, good report.

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:10 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said:
    “proton spent 300 million on R&D only over the last year, thats what produced the saga, and also the current ongoing work on the mpv.”
    > And remember, Proton must recoup the cost of developing Gen2 and Savvy, which actually a failure. Let say RM2-3Billion, to be modest. Now Proton got China market, hopefully can fool some ignorant Chinese car buyers there to at least sell 100K-200K units of Gen2 and Savvy.
    Remember: To sell a bad product, sell it to stupid ignorant people.

“in case you didnt realise also, protons sales are now at an all time high and thats money in the bank, why are people suddenly buying again when they didnt 2 years ago?”
    Hold your horses!
    Saga owners now beware. Check for yourself the rusting part of Saga drive shaft. Even Stevie Wonder can SEE that clearly.

“you think a measly 120 million is enough for proton to pay 11,000 workers in malaysia, and run 2 factories and keep their export business to 25 over countries running?”
    You forgot to include those crooks and cronies supplying the faulty Proton parts. Glad if you can proudly add that.

“i seriously challenge all those people who say proton runs solely on tax payers money to do the math and show us. because I cannot imagine how thats done.”
    Not only taxpayers money but also EPF contributors money. These two sources always been used by govt using the term ‘investment’ but actually just another form of money laundering.
    How about Proton giving 10-years warranty (repeat: TEN YEARS) on all parts, free maintenance an labour charge, let Proton bear all the cost.
    Common on, just to balance things up. Wang rakyat for the rakyat back as well, corrrect?

With new Proton MPV looming soon, how much units sales needed to break-even cost? 200-300K units? If current Campro CPS now not much better in FC, how worst it can be in more heavier MPV? Expect new Proton MPV owners not feeling cheated and just keep quiet, again?? So bring a new diesel engine? Is it minimum Euro-4 compliant with our dirtier diesel in the market now? You see, even Campro a kaput, then just forget about selling hybrid or some sh!t like that. Talk about Hydrofuel, yeah right suckers.

So, 3million cars in like 300-years equivalent of mediocrity-embedded progress level, eh? Hyundai would call it a breakfast sales.

When one day (God willing) Proton close shop and die, that day must be declared a national holiday.
    Happiest day for all of us, you and me, when national scam & mediocrity halted to an end.

(p/s. Seriously, Proton must give 10-years warranty. If sales still the same, then give 20-years warranty.)

• kahing (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:28 am

hazremi, the problem with proton using the campro engine, I quite doubt it (still) that it’s their best so far. It’s loud, like the Gen2 and Waja Campro. Sounds powerful but when going on a full throttle, my Myvi could beat the crap out of it. Tested and proven. LoL

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:43 am

hey guys, calm down please…. for those who hate Proton, just go ahead and continue hating, its alright, we know your grandpa has a BIG factory which produce PERFECT cars that u don’t condemn….

anyway, its nice to see the short teaser of the upcoming MPV, and I believe it will be another great success for Proton if the pricing is at the optimum level…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Chill out guys, this is one of the previous post from Paul Tan:

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/03/24/av-ventures-supplier-for-new-proton-mpv/

So if the new MPV power windows fail, blame this instead.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:43 pm

since when did proton have any form of success? quite apart from when the government jacked up prices of ALL competing vehicles which was say 20 years or more ago?

circumstances more or less the same as 20 years ago. just that in that time just about every other car company ‘has had’ a good product that i’m willing to buy. (‘has had’ as in there are even better products coming out soon)

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:54 pm

kahing said,

August 3, 2008 @ 11:28 am

hazremi, the problem with proton using the campro engine, I quite doubt it (still) that it’s their best so far. It’s loud, like the Gen2 and Waja Campro. Sounds powerful but when going on a full throttle, my Myvi could beat the crap out of it. Tested and proven. LoL
    ——————————————————-
    Are you sure? Coz I easily surpassed a so called dvvt car.Then let’s race with my new CPS, i’ve tested it against myvi, and i left it far behind..very smooth and powerful

• sukeketer (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 1:19 pm

wats wrong wit p1..why dun they show the whole car instead…

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Paul, is this model share the platform from the Chery model?

The rear of this model looks similar to that Chery model…

Paul Tan says: Proton says no. It’s another co-development between Proton and LG CNS. But Proton claims less input from LG CNS as compared to the new Proton Saga.

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 1:47 pm

long time no see Maxx88..good to see you bashing like no tomorrow again..well, all i can say is that your facts are lame and out of date man..yawn!!cmon, you can come out with a more intelligent and fresh facts than that same old wang rakyat this..wang rakyat that..

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 2:30 pm

wow. Max88.
    where can I get a car with 10 years warranty?
    As far I know, IKEA gives 10 years warranty. But IKEA did not produce cars.

The fact is, if Proton closes down. it would be the happiest day for you but at least will not be my happy day. Count me out of your party list.

Have you driven a Proton lately?

rt.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 2:31 pm

proton bashing…sigh,you people are so ignorant…we,the open minded people call it consumer rights….i dont think people will pay hell of a price for some stupid crap….and to all those who replied to my posts,bravo,your idiocracy smells in the air….why comparing CKD units of honda and toyota with proton shits…dont u people have the brains,they are assembled locally….

IF you really want to compare,well,ask the govt to scrap off the tax…and see which car will be sold more…of course,the proton junk is still surviving due to the tax imposed on the imported vehicles…..

So,get some life…just accept the fact that proton is a total FAILURE….

and for heaven sake,some idiots love to bash perodua,but they dont have the brains to see that many malaysians prefer to buy perodua….why ? simple,better quality than the junk perotong…plotong…or whatever that crap is….

so conclusion….What we see on the road…a.k.a more perodua’s = perodua better than plotong…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 2:56 pm

kahing

really arr your myvi can beat cps in no time…mayb the cps you beat never meant to race with you bcoz not worthit coz already know the result hahahah…myvi can’t even beat standard savvy…how can you beat cps…be real man..

zerachiel1986 said,

why not comparing it to other manufacturer.. ckd or cbu its not created by god…if not comparing to another make then want to compare with wut…nasi lemak and roti canai ke… …you did the same baseless comparison…it was very clear this paul post about proton mpv….and not waja at all…r u a god that know everthing…how do u know that people will not buying proton if its was an open market…and lastly do you count all perodua on road…how do you know there is more p2 then p1 on the street bcoz wut i seen i can see more new saga then viva…anywhere i go i can saw easily a savvy and lots of persona, waja, gen2 and old p1 model everywhere…more then myvi+viva+rusa+notikar+kembara or else…so on wut base u said more perodua’s = perodua better than plotong…its either u r so narrow minded or u r just plain stupid

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 3:13 pm

dear chap de x….what an odd name,you call me stupid ? i call you plain dumb…..

why dont you read today’s nst CBT and see the latest Customer Satisfaction Survey done….see where your faviorate proton junk is placed…sigh,no point in talking with plain dummies like you…

p/s if i am stupid,i would have bought a plotong…too bad i didnt…

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 3:17 pm

The beige-colored dashboard of the MPV from the peek-a-boo box looks ok, nothing special. The 4 front vents are squarish, and the middle console is neat but too simple & boring. Its just a 1st impression since the lighting is not so good inside the box, and probably it will look different from the actual final design.

For those who love to bash proton as a total failure, please come to the Minggu Teknologi Proton, and see for yourself how much effort that they have put in to make a car from scratch. From the Saga production line, to the R&D center, you’ll not regret it.

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:00 pm

normaluser,
    I agree 200% with you..

Let say if Perodua held Perodua Technology Week also, wonder what they will show to us? Some pimped Viva, Myvi? Supercharged dvvt? They have no R&D product to show us except some ahbeng style and tweak engine..that’s all..

• ignas (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Ok, so lots of efforts have been putted into saga as claimed, but, it is still not good enough for the actual ‘production’ model. based on the fact that the amount of the new saga seen on the road today.

other than its common ‘you-know-what’ quality, its still doesn’t has anything fancy enough to convince us. other than its cheaper compared to other competitors in its class, and we know why. oh i cant wait for the new honda jazz 1.3 to beat this pride of saga, rm150 million R&D, what a waste of G funding. in the end, its just a crappy car we have no choice but to buy.

for those who support proton, if only you have tasted their after sales service.

lol peek-a-boo again, hell ya im going to put my face on that wall with full of sweats and makeups of the others. cant they come out with something different? its getting lame and bored btw.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Bashing?
    Oh my eyes are focused on great comments. SO who cares :D

Well… all we can do is to get our cameras ready to if we have any luck to hit the shutter when err you know the target (mpv) comes in our sights. :)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:52 pm

another crap car from proton

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Looks real good… as a Juara owner, I’m upset about Proton calling this their “first” mpv when clearly they said the same bout the Juara back then. Anyways, as this is technically the Juara Replacement Model, hope everything goes well. As we saw their partnership with LG produced nice cars like the Savvy and Saga, this should be good as well…

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:47 pm

raptorclans, i think they call tis mpv their 1st cz juara was imported from jap straight from mitsu initially…later they manufacture here…ppl bash juara but they dnt know its actually imported straight from jap mitsu…when juara hv issue malaysian blame proton but in fact its like i said so many times, IMPORTED FROM JAP MITSU!…sigh malaysian…praise jap like God…they r good, but not minus 1 o…

• ncm6151 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:05 pm

I think the suitable name for this mpv is Proton Wish. like Inokom Getz which is local assembly of hyundai Getz.This is the local made of Toyota wish. Fuel consumption will be an interesting topic for this Proton Wish cause Proton tend to produce high fuel consumption vehicle.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:12 pm

it is confirmed campro cps 1.6 pulling 1450 kerb weight.

• hvannees (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:36 pm

althuogh i love japanese car, but i wish goodluck proton!! btw please reduce japanese car price,,,,,

• mct (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:53 pm

1.6 pulling 1450 kerb weight car ??
    even though the cps got 125hp
    but mpv need torque rather than horse power
    so 150nm pulling an 1450kg with no one on it
    if 7 people sat on it , 60 kg per person ,that mean the engine have to pull 1930kg
    wow , 150nm pulling an almost 2k kg car
    it would be interesting when it go up genting highland
    the fc must be a very nice figure .

proton ,come on lah ,put something more powerful , and 1.8 or 2.0 can be satisfied or maybe a turbo/supercharge 1.6 cps ,but please do not enter the plain 1.6 cps inside the mpv ,it not enough power to run the car

• tolan (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:37 pm

the max torque n power are fine enough. How they address the gear ratios n torque curve are what matters. Avanza is about 1700kg n the torque is just 141Nm. Still genting wouldnt be a problem thou.

• ys (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:18 am

i wish proton will carefully choose the right engine for this first MPV.
    min 2000cc engine la..
    or else no hope to hv good fuel economy and power..
    go go Proton
    all the best

• mct (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:20 am

avanza kerb weight is under 1100kg leh
    is 3xxkg less then proton mpv
    gear ratio does change the effect of torque
    but , proton only got 4 speed auto ,not much they can do with gear ratio if they wanted the fc on highway is low .
    or they want to learn wish , wish fourth gear is using ratio bigger than 1.000 but remember then, wish is using a engine produce 190nm of torque
    even that much of torque still need a gear ratio more then 1.000 at the highest gear , i dun think the 1.6cps could excel the jod

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:59 am

Zerachiel1986,

Some people here called you a “basher” while they know NOTHING about your frustration! Believe me, I had been through your same nightmare. The feeling like we had been betray by the faith we’ve given to them. The people who NEVER understand what you’re going through simply need to experience it…then they’ll know what hit them to their FACE! They think we pay our car installment with “taik hidung” ke?! Read RotiNaan and Mokkf82 comments. Even them have the decency to understand your comments and not simply jugde you as a “basher”. The both of them doesn’t have to agreed with you but at least they understand your frustration and you can count me in too…

p/s: I wish one day you can find a car that you proud of (Free of trouble of coz)…I do!

• azrai (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:35 am

At last our own Proton Harap/Impian. (The Impian sound familiar isn’t it.) It should be price wise. Our excise on MPV is higher than normal sedan. this will really where proton can take advantage of; its price. I salute the new CEO for hearing what the people want and need first before venturing into designing a new cars. kudos.

• king (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:07 am

hazremi said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 12:54 pm

kahing said,

——————————————————-
    Are you sure? Coz I easily surpassed a so called dvvt car.Then let’s race with my new CPS, i’ve tested it against myvi, and i left it far behind..very smooth and powerful

___

hazremi…maybe he was racing a gen2 auto with 6 ppl inside while his is a manual 1.3 with only driver inside.

• king (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:12 am

at least proton got put in effort to design their own cars…what the hell can P2 do in R&D? make another new fat ass myvi assey (SE) ? or viva sissy ? and sell for 5k premium?

stupid fools bashing somebody that is working hard while praising a lazy ass company and worship the company like a god just bcos its linked to toyota.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:27 am

torque.. whats wrong with you?? what nightmare has zerachiel gone true??

“p/s if i am stupid,i would have bought a plotong…too bad i didnt…”

he just said himself that he didnt buy a proton. so unless he is lying, why is he having nightmares about proton? he claims he owned a waja a few years back..

Torque, the fact is, its true, many people have been burned by poor quality protons in the past. and i’m pretty sure the frustration is real with many people who post in this forum.

But the facts also state that proton seems to have turned around somewhat since syed zainal took over. they’re not losing money like last time anymore. under his leadership, they came out with 2 models in quick succession with an mpv next year. so far, these 2 models are selling very well and more importantly, their warranty claims have hit a new low, including customer complaints.

So yes, old customers feel like they’ve been shortchanged, but also yes, new customers are seeing and feeling a new proton that has certainly improved from before.

all zerachiel is doing is condemning a product thats hasnt even been launched, and no one has any hard facts on.. plus this model will be launched on the back of 2 currently successful proton models..
    is that mere frustration, or just blindly bashing?

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:40 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Do you actually read his earlier post? It was you I should ask “What the heck is wrong with you?”. Don’t become like somebody here, call people basher just b’coz they had a bad experience with Proton. PLEASE…understand their situation first, why they end up like that…don’t simply pass jugdement on them! If he is lying, let God judge him la…but what if he’s not?! And YES he shouldn’t condemning any product that hasn’t been lauched yet, it’s quite unfair but then again…..AGAIN…understand his frustration first la! Even RotiNaan and Moffk82 have the decency to understand his situation, FAHAM? Baca SEMUA post dulu, jangan baca kat bawah saja!!

• astarjumbo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:15 am

torque,
    this thread is not a place to put your frustration and we all are no physiatrist that could help to ease their pain. for god sake, this is new proton MPV thread and the sad oll story about any misfortune with any car is not related. Maybe paul could create new thread for all those people who like to seek advice and comfort and share their sadness and their sad story about power window perhaps.
    Talk about proton MPV la bro. If you want to put emotion and frustration into your word, please go on. (i do feeling you are too emotional and sensitive, just like a women). Sorry bro.
    anyway..i had been there and talked to the engineers. they will start with 1.6 campro CPS ..(maybe include the turbo+ vvt). The turbo version of campro cps was shown there. the engineer said the HP are restricted to 225hp only. (well, 225hp for 1.6 turbo could ne consider generous already. and the V6 2.0 are definately not from Mitsubishi. I asked the engineer about it and whether that engine is from NEV project. His answer was, maybe yes..maybe not but definately not mitsubishi. the Hp for proton V6 rated at 200hp. (much more powerful than mitsu v6 2.0 at 150hp).

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:22 pm

Astarjumbo,

Hello bro, if you feel that I’m too emotional and sensitive…that’s your problem la dude! God have gave me a heart and feeling that is fill with emotion. If you blame me then blame God as well la. My FRUSTRATION lies on the matter that people bashing Proton without any hard fact or experience. Just simply post comment from stories that they heard but not experience it! If you want to be like “others” to pass jugdement…sorry bro, your brain needs to be tweak! To be fair…if I’m too emotional and sensitive…then you too are simply dumb! I guess you know all the answer in the world, don’t cha?

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:30 pm

One more thing, I DO OWN A PROTON BUT NEVER HAD ANY BAD EXPERIENCE WITH MY OLD SATRIA! Just b’coz the rest of you all and me never get to experience what people went through, that doesn’t gave you rights to call people BASHER if they actually post their frustration. Who’s the dumb now?

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:17 pm

The MPV powertrain remains a mystery.

The sources that I have:
    1) Proton MPV supplier in May – “Confirm its a 1.6L campro”
    2) Proton engineer 2 days ago- “After testing, 1.6L is not fit enough to carry the load, so Proton may use 1.8 or 2.0 instead

Does anyone remember the EO1 Petronas 2.0L 4-cyl 200hp engine planted on a Waja prototype not too long ago? The prototype has so many potential to commercialize, too bad the development just ended abruptly.

———
    “astarjumbo says
    anyway..i had been there and talked to the engineers. they will start with 1.6 campro CPS ..(maybe include the turbo+ vvt). The turbo version of campro cps was shown there. the engineer said the HP are restricted to 225hp only. (well, 225hp for 1.6 turbo could ne consider generous already. and the V6 2.0 are definately not from Mitsubishi. I asked the engineer about it and whether that engine is from NEV project. His answer was, maybe yes..maybe not but definately not mitsubishi. the Hp for proton V6 rated at 200hp. (much more powerful than mitsu v6 2.0 at 150hp).”

• chery (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:18 pm

I saw a Chery B240 in their car storage near the flyover to the test track! the badge on the rim was tapped off. I ask the person on the MPV chassis about the Chery and he denied any connection to it. But he told me that they use the Chery B240 as their benchmark.

• desmodeci (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:27 pm

alo kawan2,
    any personal argument go somewhere else pls…u give him your email/contact and he give u his…then u can argue whose dumb or dumber 24 hours non stop there….here we only interested to read about the MPV..peace

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:32 pm

I saw the MPV too in silver color with white rear lights. I thought it was a Mazda5 from the rear view. I can only see the but.

You sure they use the Chery as the benchmark? I thought it is the Wish, which Proton bought and did massive surgery & reverse engineering on it before coming out with the MPV.

—————
    chery said,
    August 4, 2008 @ 1:18 pm

I saw a Chery B240 in their car storage near the flyover to the test track! the badge on the rim was tapped off. I ask the person on the MPV chassis about the Chery and he denied any connection to it. But he told me that they use the Chery B240 as their benchmark.

• hypermount (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:33 pm

bangang tahap gaban punye bashers..

dun pollute this blog!!

• chery (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:00 pm

it is the Chery because i saw the front when the bus took me to the test track
    http://www.thetycho.com/art/suv/cheryv5_3.jpg

thats what the people told me on the MPV chassis booth there…..

• astarjumbo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:06 pm

proton new mpv with campro 1.6 cps turbo…good enough for a start.
    rolled out that 1.8 cps and 2.0 v6 out proton. revived back the 2.0, 2.2 V6 vvt engine project and bring me the perdana replacement. 1.8 cps turbo could always be used for Putra, Satria Neo and as well as proton MPV.

• waimak (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:41 pm

i just hope Proton knows the problems with their models by now. Not that Proton products are inferior but they need refinement. They are there already. A little bit on the engine, a bit on the comfort and practicality, a lot on durability of the parts (very common issue) and a bit on the image.

Good luck.

• scottloeb (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Paul,
    I seriously think that you should moderate some of the comments. We do respect freedom of expression, however please respect others who love the car, in the car industry and enthusiast alike and peace loving. To go for personal rants and attacks, please do it elsewhere.

Are you guys sure Proton is going with new engine again for the MPV? aiyyah, projected volume what, 300K annually? 1 block, 3 different engine, so aiyyoh, who is going to buy the rest of the engines? over how many years is the ROI? adoh.. that is very unlikely.. I believe its the other engine they’ll be using la.. cannot be.. doesn’t make sense (economically).. but 1 things for sure that car is the future of Proton, and who is partnering proton (and at what price) will be based on the success of the MPV..

• ROTIPISANG (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:15 pm

We can drive this MPV on March 2009.. hopefully the “zero defect campaign” by proton will not only just campaign.. we will see the result.. anyway good job proton!

• ardley (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Just got info from my fren at proton, he said this MPV will use campro 1.6… not sure what kind of booster they add to power this big body.. may be tongkat ali..

• faqe (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:03 pm

chery, i agree with you.

yup…this is the mpv that i mention ealier on saturday that i saw beside the proton test track,beside the small flyover.

exactly look alike with just different rims….from the body shell that proton display at the open day u guys can see clearly that the proton mpv and cherry mpv share the same platform and just differ just a little bit in cosmetic. btw, the cherry mpv if i’m not mistaken uses ford 1.8 and 2.0 engine

btw, i’m kinda lucky to sneek silently in and out into a room inside the proton r&d area that is prohibited to civilians and i saw a sedan prototype, maybe it’s the waja or perdana replacement.looks kinda good.. :) sorry i didn’t take some pics bcos afraid of gettin caught…

all the best proton!
    cheers!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:14 pm

look like lgrand livina on the front, or is it just me??

• astarjumbo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:54 pm

hmm…where is sifu..
    long time never seen him commenting in paul tan. He might have the answer for what type of engine to be used.
    One thing for sure the V6 engine (2.0, 2.2 and 3.0) are completed and ready for production (according to the engineer). The problem is the fund allocation. They are channelling most of their fund for MPV project and this engine might have to wait. The blueprint of the engine and the testing had been done. Now it the matter when to produce.
    Which engine to use in MPV..that is one big question mark.
    a) Campro CPS 1.6 plain vanilla (for sure exist)
    b) Campro 1.6 Turbo Charged (existed, ready to roll)
    c) Campro 1.8 CPS (Not sure whether this exist or not, some say it exist..but no indication at that technology day)
    d) V6 2.0,2.2 7 3.0 (exist, ready to roll)
    f) Campro EVE hybrid. (maybe another 3 years to go before they perfected it)

the most economical and logical candidated should be (b) campro turbo charge 1.6. Ordinary campro 1.6 CPS might not be able to sufficiently be efficient enough for the large chasis.(Although GL had done it, 1.6 liter MPV). It have enough HP and torque for the purpose and it doesn’t involved any investment on production of new engine.
    Don’t worry about the engine, Young man and the Iranian will buy it from proton if they produce it.

• s60t (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:06 pm

as an owner of a toyota wish 2.0 I can tell you that a 1.6L engine will not perform adequately.The wish is not a light car(1450kg empty).consumption,acceleration will suffer if they choose the wrong engine and the whole concept of a midi 7 seater which drives almost as well as sedan will be lost.The beauty of the wish is that you have the extra 2 seats for kids at the back when you need it,easy to store flat seats(unlike innova) ad yet remains agile enough to drive moderately fast and doesn’t take up too much parking space.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Engine should be 1.8 for MPV.

Any idea when perdana replacement is coming out Paul? Perrdana very old already la, need to be replaced.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:23 pm

After this they should make perdana replacement (and go all out). then they should make SUV, then maybe new putra (make it really powerful 1.8 turbo charged or supercharged, 2.0 V6 or something).

Proton should make their engine more fuel efficient (then can compete with Japanese), they should also make the interior better (less plastics), they should also make their cars more crash worthy and safe (better body structure and more airbags and maybe traction control and more electronics). Then they can compete with the Europeans and Japanese.

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:29 pm

who ever designed the new proton MPV should be ashamed of himself.Basically at one look it does not look anything like TOYOTA WISH.I bet my last dollars the new proton MPV would turn out to be like another shit car produced by the great PROTON.But as usual MALAYSIAN as stupid as they are would rush and book and buy and drive then say its a damm ass car.

• toritori (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Can’t really imagine how the final design looks like but it is a good move to come out with a MPV to capture market share. On the down side lately too many MPVs and giant 4WDs on the road which I personally feel that it will cause more accidents than years before due to its height that block other motorist view.

—————————————————–
    hypermount said,
    August 4, 2008 @ 1:33 pm

bangang tahap gaban punye bashers..
    dun pollute this blog!!
    —————————————————–
    p/s Off Topic – Sorry Paul

Hahaha, hi Hyper, get used to it la. Believe me if one day the national brand being replaced with jap*n genre brand even the whole car is made in malaysia no one will complaint

How about Toyoton :)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:42 pm

another bloody unser

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:16 pm

hey Paul… where is the close-up pictures of the chasis/partial MPV? did you forgot or they didn’t allowed you to take a closer look? :D

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:25 pm

If we look closely the chery mpv and the proton mpv teaser video,its design look exactly the same. I believe there will be some cosmetic changes to the interior & exterior of the car. Using engine1.8cc and above will be more suitable for this mpv for better torque and power as well consumption.

• libralcl (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:58 pm

Any news regarding new transmission being develop or adopt? Expecially automatic transmission with paddle shifter, AMT, dual clutch etc.

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:20 am

Starting persona, proton do not have much problem with it, except BLM. I ask a few frens who bought Persona. Seems ok. NO PROBLEM AT ALL they said. So pls la guys, don bash proton all the time.

I heard 1 time that Toyota Avanza got problem and Toyota cant repair it after more than 1 year. And still the car like that until now.

While Honda, im not sure. but the maintenance thing after few years, gonna be way damn high.

U thk proton car sux? make ur own car la… or use trolley for maintenance free !

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:00 am

1 more thing, how u all know the 1.6 or 1.8 or 2.0 engine is not suitable for this or that car? U all engineers ar? Teach me lor !

• darkwizard (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:31 am

Anyone manage to snap the photo of the very dark Peek A Boo box interior? Please shre it here. (There must be someone manage to snap some photos out of it)

• kahing (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 7:20 am

hazremi said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 12:54 pm

kahing said,

——————————————————-

___

hazremi…maybe he was racing a gen2 auto with 6 ppl inside while his is a manual 1.3 with only driver inside.

King, I was driving 4 passengers inside my Myvi and the Gen2 had only the driver, but its my fault that my car is turbo-ed. Haha. Anyway, don’t have to get all aggressive on me for voicing out my opinion and I wasn’t even bashing. Still having some doubts, know the difference between bashing and doubting ?. Try not to be too childish ya ?

• chery (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:12 am

faqe said,

August 4, 2008 @ 4:03 pm

chery, i agree with you.

yup…this is the mpv that i mention ealier on saturday that i saw beside the proton test track,beside the small flyover.

exactly look alike with just different rims….from the body shell that proton display at the open day u guys can see clearly that the proton mpv and cherry mpv share the same platform and just differ just a little bit in cosmetic. btw, the cherry mpv if i’m not mistaken uses ford 1.8 and 2.0 engine
    The engine used by the Chery MPV is the ACTECO engine produced by Chery themselves. And i think Proton only copy the exterior styling. The Chery got a sophisticated multi-link rear suspension while Proton only use a simple beam-axle

• faqe (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:24 pm

yup,i agree with you chery

proton mpv just probably share the same platform with the chery mpv but different interior syling(dashboard,instruments,gauges) and minor changes on the body styling(just diffrent bumpers and different headlamp and tail light). maybe after this malaysian can convert their proton mpv MDM to CDM(china domestic market) styling and not JDM …hehehe

yup…i forgot, the rear suspension of proton n chery mpv is different. proton goes for cheaper and easy solution by using beam-axle

btw, chery only PRODUCE not DEVELOP engine their self but the engine is based on ford engine(if i’m not mistaken)
    (make deal with other car manufacturer to produce their engine and pay royalty )

just like proton campro engine , certain aspects smells like mitsubishi to me…sorry guys..

all the best proton!

• mct (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:07 am

chery b14(v5)
    got several version
    got one of it is using torsion beam
    another is used multilink

• armandd (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:50 pm

ayoyoyo MPV is coming

• kedaikopi (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 6:15 pm

salam muhibbah buat pelayar ruangan paulan.org

maaf saya hanya mampu berbahasa melayu..baru-baru ini saya ada melayari satu blog..dan ada petikan luahan rasa engineer dari proton..saya ni hanya seorang pelajar..saya tak faham kenapa orang kita suka mengutuk usaha2 yang dijalankan oleh proton..adakah mereka pernah bekerja di ruangan R&D proton?begitu mudah anda melemparkan kata2 begitu..baiklah..di sini saya ingin forward-kan petikan luahan seorang engineer proton..yang saya ambil dari laman blog..

Assalamualaikum,

Yang ni saya kena jawab la sebab banyak sangat misinformation. Biasanya information yang berpindah dari satu mulut ke satu mulut yang lain akan berubah menjadi sensasi. Itu lah masyarakat kita. Kita bukan mendapat firsthand info tapi berdasarkan cerita yang telah ditokok tambah. Ini dia cerita dari orang dalam yang duduk ditengah-tengah R&D PROTON.

Saya ada kenalan dari kastam boleh confirmkan perkara ni.. member saya kerja kastam kat kelang dan beliau sendiri yang maklumkan yg salah satu tugas dia adalah buat checking penerimaan barangan proton untuk di pasangkan di negara ni. Satu kontena enjin je.. manakala kontena lain adalah pintu, body dan sebagainya. sama lah dengan kereta lain juga.

Kalau kita lalu kat kawasan glenmarie tu, akan ternampak lah satu tanda Kilang Enjin Proton. Tanda tu tak duduk kat situ untuk suka suka je. Kalau kita jengok kat dalam. Boleh nampak besi cair yang dituang kedalam acuan untuk membuat enjin block. Memang proton ada mengimpot enjin tapi dari kelas 1.2 dan 2 liter. 1.2liter untuk Savvy (enjin Renault) dan 2.0liter untuk Perdana. Tapi untuk enjin 1.3, 1.5, 1.6 proton buat sendiri. Untuk pintu pulak hanya kereta-kereta Perdana sahaja yang proton beli pintu dari Mitsubishi. For your information, Untuk membuat pintu sahaja memerlukan dekat 20 acuan. Bayangkan lah 4 pintu. Modal itu shaja sudah hampir RM50 juta. So untuk kereta yang volume kecil, kita beli dari luar. Untuk kereta Isawara, Wira, Waja, Gen2, Savvy 100% body dibuat di Malaysia .

Bayangkan dah 20 tahun menanti kereta Malaysia yang sebenarnya tak keluar-keluar lagi. Bagi yang berkemampuan sudah tentu tak mahu menggunakan injin kenderaan berteknologi 70an, 80an dan 90an yang diubahsuai. Sudah tentu ramai nak teknologi terkini dan sebenarnya milik kita. Secara umumnya proton masih belum ada enjin sendiri lagi.. jadi adalah sukar hendak dikatakan kalau ianya adalah kereta Malaysia yang sebenarnya. Pengeluaran kenderaan adalah berdasarkan injinnya barulah boleh dikatakan ianya kenderaan negara sebenarnya.

Disini lagi ada misinformation. Memang untuk kereta Perdana kita impot enjin dari Jepun. Untuk Savvy kita gunakan enjin Renault. Untuk Isawara, Wira dan Waja kita buat enjin di Malaysia walaupun design original dia dari Mitsubishi. Tapi enjin Gen-2 adalah enjin terkini yang direka oleh jurutera Proton dan dibina di Malaysia. Enjin tersebut menggunakan teknologi terkini. Jadi kenyataan diatas agak menyesatkan sedikit. Naza, Perodua. Masih lagi membawa enjin dari luar. Modal untuk mereka dan mengeluarkan enjin ni amat besar. Nak dapat return pun bukan nya sekejap. Tapi demi maruah dan kemajuan, kita korbankan keuntungan jangka pendek. Selagi kita tidak mengeluarkan enjin sendiri.. selagi itu kita tidak tahu. Sekarang kita telah pun mengeluarkan enjin sendiri orang masih tidak percaya. Itu lah masalah orang kita memandang rendah kebolehan anak negara sendiri.

Selama ini proton bergantung kepada Mitsubishi sebagai rakan teknikal. Oleh kerana kontrak selama 20 tahun telah tamat. Maka proton terpaksalah mencari rakan teknikal yang baru dan bermulalah masalah melanda proton. Sudah tentu rakan teknikal baru tidak mahu meneruskan rekaan dan teknologi mitshubishi lagi. So apa kan jadi pada kereta proton yang ada sekarang ni untuk masa akan datang.

Tidak wujud kontrak 20 tahun dengan Mitsubishi. Mereka adalah rakan kongsi. Bertahun tahun kita berkerjasama dengan Mitsubishi tetapi teknikal apa yang mereka turunkan. Kalau kita pernah berkerja dengan orang Jepun atau Korea , mereka inilah yang paling kemut ilmu. Tapi bab nak korek ilmu kita, dia orang rajin habis.Korang jangan terkejut bila saya cakap yang idea kita pun banyak yang Jepun curi. So bila kita mula menuntut teknologi baru dari mereka mula lah nak caj dan nak ikat royalti yang tak munasabah. Nak mintak copy teknikal drawing zaman dulu sekeping pun dia orang caj beribu ribu. Mulalah kita pandang teknologi dari barat dan teknologi sendiri. Sebab itu kita beli Lotus.. Kita ignore Jepun. Bila kita design sesuatu yang lebih baik laju je dia orang hantar balik information ke Mitsubishi. Last-last kita pun mula bersikap secrecy dengan dia orang lama lama diaorang fed up dan mintak keluar. Lagi pun dia orang dah nampak afta nanti dia orang akan masuk balik ke Malaysia.

Perodua kenapa daihatsu/toyota memberi enjin latest dia orang. Sebab Perodua tu 100% milik Toyota/Daihatsu. Dah lama UMW menjual saham dia orang kepada Jepun. Proton. Milik Malaysia .

Mungkin ada yang tahu dan ada yang tak tahu yang proton yang digunakan pakai sekarang adalah barangan Mitshubishi. Samalah seperti kereta lain.. tukar lambang je..

Inilah susah orang kita ni. Banyak mendengar cerita sensasi yang banyak ditaruk banyak rempah ratusnya.. Memang pada mulanya kita belajar selepas itu kita buat sendiri.Saya adalah seorang yang terlibat dengan kerja kerja tersebut.

Saga – base dia Lancer lama. Kita Cuma tukar depan dan belakang sikit.

Iswara – base Saga, kita mula belajar untuk design kereta sendiri.

Masa ni Mitsubishi dah tak berapa setuju bila kita menubuhkan R&D. So kita menggunakan khidmat penasihat dari UK .

Wira – Disini berpuluh puluh designer dan engineer Proton dihantar ke Jepun untuk kerjasama design kereta baru. Proton dan Mitsubishi kongsi modal. Hampir 2 tahun kami disana. Bahagian tengah dikongsi bersama. Depan dan Belakang, design asing-asing. Lampu depan dan belakang share sebab nak kurang kan cost. Hasilnya Proton Wira-Mitsubishi Lancer. Orang akan kata hah kongsi je sebab tak tahu buat kerja. Tapi ada orang kata apa apa bila Ford dan Mazda berkongsi bahagian tengah? Ford Laser dan Mazda 323 adalah kereta yang sama. Ada orang komplen? Bila orang Malaysia yang buat begitu orang Malaysia sendiri yang nak mengutuk. Tak ramai yang tahu seksa bekerja kat Jepun sebab dia orang suka curi idea. Bayang kanlah semasa kami design dashboard untuk Wira masa tu Mitsubishi sudah pun siap soft tooling mould untuk dashboard kereta dia. Bila mereka tengok dashboard Proton, Mereka sanggup letak designer dia depan design kita untuk mengubahsuai kembali rupa bentuk dashboard mereka. Kalau kita pernah tengok dashboard mitsubishi lancer hampir samakan. Itu mereka yang meniru bukan kita. Ianya menunjukkan kita bukan tak pandai Cuma masyarakat sendiri berfikiran macam itu.

Perdana – untuk membuat satu satu design bukannya murah. Nak balik modal pun lama. Jumlah kereta yang dijual pun kena banyak. So kalau nak buat Perdana. Sampai habis pun tak balik modal. So yang ni memang kita ambil kereta dari mitsubishi dan pasang di Malaysia. Cuma kita tukar depan dan belakang, dan bahagian dalaman.

Tiara – Tiara adalah bukan product Proton. Ia adalah keluaran DRB. Tapi kita kena tunduk dengan arahan dari atas untuk mereka menggunakan lambang Proton.

Waja – Waja adalah permulaan kita untuk menunjukkan kita mampu melakukan kerja sendiri. 100% didesign orang orang kita. Tapi untuk kejuruteraan kita memerlukan consultant dari luar.. mainly dari Eropah dan Amerika. Bukan sebab tak pandai tapi kita tak cukup kakitangan. Nak design kereta bukan seperti menjahit baju. Kebaikan dari mengambil consultant dari luar memang membuka mata kita kita adalah setaraf dengan kebolehan mereka. Nak design kereta ni memerlukan beratus ratus kakitangan. Bukannya sedikit.

Gen2 – 100% didesign oleh orang kita. Consultant dari luar hanya sedikit sebab kakitangan kita semakin ramai. Kita mula menggunakan enjin yang didesign sendiri.

Savvy – 100% dedesign sendiri. Cuma enjin sahaja kita menggunakan Renault sebab kita tidak ada enjin bersaiz kecil. Well. Kehebatan enjin Renault sudah terbukti bila mereka memenangi F1. Disin banyak berita palsu disebarkan oleh mereka yang tidak bertanggungjawab. Contohnya Savvy adalah Tiara dan menggunakan chasis Tiara lama. Savvy tidak ada kena mengena dengan Tiara. Savvy adalah baru, 100%. Tidak ramai yang tahu bahawa Savvy menggunakan HTHS steel (High Tensile High Strength Steel). Sebab tu body Savvy kuat. Memang ada terpampang kereta Savvy kemek kerana accident. Well kereta mercedes, volvo, BMW pun kemek bila accident. Tapi tak ramai yang tengok keadaan dalaman Savvy yang accident tu In fact. Kukuh. Saudara saudari Bila kita design kereta ni.. yang paling penting adalah keselamatan penumpang. Memang kereta didesign untuk crumple bila ada impact. Itu untuk menyerap daya hentakan supaya bukan manusia yang menerima hentakan kuat. Rating TUV Germany memberikan 3 star untuk Proton. BMW 5 series pun dapat 3 star. Ramai yang kata Savvy ni tak sedap bila memandu. Tapi tanyalah yang bercakap tu adakah mereka pernah memandu Savvy. Kebanyakan nya tidak. Hanya mendengar dari orang lain.

Lain lain – Ada banyak lagi yang saya tak boleh cerita sebab ada secrecy act. Proton pun ada design kereta untuk company lain dan ada membuat part untuk company lain. Proton ada juga buat reverse engineering untuk motosikal lumba (tahun tu dia champion) tapi kita tidak boleh menceritakan sebab dasar secrecy kita. Mungkin sesetengah orang yang memakai certain kereta mewah tidak tahu yang part kereta mereka dibuat di proton. Kalau Proton tak elok masakan mereka mengkontrakkan proton untuk membuat kereta mereka.

Berbalik kepada masalah yang sedang dihadapi oleh proton. Kenapa ianya harus berlaku perkara sebegini. Apakah yang sebenarnya telah berlaku dan dibuat oleh proton dalam masa 20 tahun untuk membina kenderaan nasional sendiri. Memang ada R&D proton cuba mendapatkan struktur dan bahan-bahan untuk membuat injin tapi gagal mendapatkan resepinya.

Proton memang dah ada enjin sendiri. Yang terpasang dekat Gen-2 tu apa dia. Bab-bab bahan untuk membuat enjin tu senang je. Kebanyakan pengeluar kereta menggunakan besi yang sama sebab pengeluar besi dalam dunia ni bukan banyak. Kita Cuma bagi specifikasi je. Nak design enjin tu yang susah. Transmition yang paling susah. Untuk info lah kami masih lagi dalam proses untuk mereka cipta transmition sendiri. Bukan macam nak buat karipap tau.

Penubuhan proton sejak 20 tahun yang lampau tidak mencapai objektif yang sebenarnya. Dimana silapnya? Berapa ramaikah yang tahu bilakah ilham proton ini sebenarnya timbul dan berapa lamakah usaha dilakukan bagi membolehkan impian ini tercapai.

Mungkin ramai yang mengganggap hanya seorang perdana menteri sahaja terlibat. Cuma pada zaman Tun M baru persetujuan dapat dicapai setelah Mitshubishi bersetuju menjadi rakan teknikal dengan bersyarat. (syarat ni tak bolehlah diberi tahu.. sebab ianya adalah OSA) Penubuhan Proton lebih mencapai objectif nya. Pada mulanya Proton hanya di rancang untuk membuat kereta bukan untuk merekacipta kereta. Kita menubuh R&D, Mitsubishi tidak setuju.

Ye la siapa nak bagi kita pandai kan . Cuba check dekat Perodua, berapa ramai jurutera dari Proton bekerja dekat sana, Head of R&D Perodua bekas Proton, Head of Styling bekas Proton, Head of Planning bekas Proton, Head of Production bekas Proton (rasa-rasanya dah kena kebas dekat Naza), Head of Engineering Services bekas Proton. Ratarata mereka yang senior dekat sana dari proton. We trained them orang lain ambil cara senang je. Naza pulak.. Head of R&D .bekas Proton. Head of Production bekas Proton. Honda pun ramai bekas Proton, DRB Pekan Head dia pun bekas proton, Inokom head dia pun bekas proton. Itu kira head je bukan lagi kira engineer dan designer.

So it meets its objective untuk memajukan orang-orang kita. Mainly orang Melayu. Naza sendiri tidak menyangkal kereta Naza mainly didevelop oleh bekas kakitangan Proton. So orang Proton tak bagus? Kita belum lagi kira bekas pekerja proton yang diambil oleh consultant luar negara dari America, Eropah sampai ke Jepun.Tau tak kita kakitangan Proton telah memenangi pertandingan mereka design kereta anjuran Ford. Beliau mendapat tempat pertama. Bukan bertanding diperingkat Malaysia . Tapi di peringkat antarabangsa.

Memang beliau mendapat tawaran kerja dari syarikat kereta gergasi Amerika dan Eropah. Tapi kami tabik bila dia decide nak stay dekat Malaysia sebab taknak anak-anak membesar dinegara lain. Ada orang tau ?

Selama 20 tahun proton pergantung kepada pemerintah yang sepatutnya telah boleh berdiri dengan sendirinya sekarang ini selepas perjanjian tamat. Ibarat kata.. berapa lama perlu bergantung.. tak kan dah 20 tahun nak merangkak lagi.. nak tambah masa untuk merangkak lagi.. so bila lak nak belajar berdiri dan berjalan sendiri tanpa dipimpin lagi..sebab tu exPM kata.. kalau dah tak boleh tutup aja

Proton boleh menjadi lebih baik kalau tidak ada tanggung jawab kepada negara. Senang aja buang sahaja pengeluar-pengeluar yang bermasalah. Tapi apa akan jadi dengan ekonomi. Itu tanggungjawab Proton untuk negara. Bayangkanlah penjanaan ekonomi proton untuk negara berapa banyak kaki tangan Proton 8000.

Berapa banyak kakitangan syarikat yang secara lansung untuk membuat part Proton100,000 orang. Berapa banyak bank dapat untung, berapa banyak syarikat bumiputra yang naik? Bayangkanlah kami boleh membantu sedangkan polisi kerajaan tidak membantu. Cuba ingat sebelum timbulnya proton. Berapa banyak wakil jualan bumiputra untuk kereta toyota , nissan, honda? 0 Kosong.

Mengenai masalah AP pulak perkara tu bukan perkara baru. Mungkin ada yang tak tahu yang proton juga mendapat AP. Kalau tak.. sure harga kereta proton tak serendah sekarang ini. Tak percaya boleh check duti import yang dibayar untuk sebuah kereta proton. Nak check duti import tak susah sgt.. cuma bandingkan harga kereta proton di kawasan bebas cukai. Kita memang tak payah bayar duti impot sebab kita buat kereta kat dalam Malaysia . Tapi tetap kena cukai. Kita tak ada AP. Yang Proton kecewa kenapa terlampau banyak AP dikeluarkan. Lepas tu sebijik-sebijik kerajaan kena tipu.

Bayangkan lah kalau kereta KIA yang dibawa masuk ke Malaysia harga yang di declare adalah RM8000. Tak masuk akalkan bila kastam approve benda ni. Paling murah kereta yang pernah dibuat adalah dalam dunia ni adalah lebih kurang RM18,000. Itu baru bahan bahan dia. Belum lagi kira cost modal acuan, cost tenaga kerja, cost R&D.

Bayangkan lah banyak mana kerjaan rugi pada cukai. Bayangkanlah banyak mana Naza untung. Dasar Automotif Negara di perlukan bagi meneruskan perjuangan yang belum tercapai disamping menjaga serta melindungi pemilik kereta proton sekarang ini. sejauh mana boleh bertahan tak tahula..kalau tidak akan bertimbunlah bakal besi buruk bila tiada lagi sparepart proton (asalnya milik Mitsubishi) dan akan timbulah barangan made in Jinjang atau sewaktu dengannya.
    Saudara

Dalam banyak banyak negara pengeluar kereta, Malaysia lah yang paling kurang memprotect industry automotive mereka. Rakyat Malaysia juga lah yang paling tidak patriotik dalam hal-hal kereta ni. Walaupun kita telah merdeka, minda kita tetap diajar barangan lain lebih elok dan tidak membantu barangan sendiri. Saya ambil contoh

Thailand membuka pintu mereka untuk industri automotif tapi ada syarat. Kereta yang dibina di Thailand harus lah di export keluar lebih dari yang dijual dalam negara nya.

Korea cuba pergi ke Korea dan lihat sendiri disana. Nak cari kereta yang bukan dari Korea susah. Sebabnya

1. memang mereka patriotik.

2. Cuba pakai kereta import Lembaga Cukai mereka akan menyusahkan pembeli kereta tu. Sebab kata mereka tentu banyak duit.

Jepun Semasa mereka belajar membuat kereta hampir 80 tahun dulu nak naik bukit pun boleh undur (baca sejarah toyota ), tapi rakyat mereka tetap bangga dan tetap membeli.

Cuba kat Malaysia . Kutuk lagi ada. Saudara semua kejayaan sesuatu project negara bergantung kepada sokongan dari rakyat sendiri.

The more people buy, the cheaper things can be. Economic of scale lah tu. Lagi banyak dijual, lagi rendah cost pembalikan modal untuk setiap kereta. Nak buat sebijik kereta hampir 1 billion cost dia. Macam mana nak balik modal kalau kita tak ambil untung. Kilang enjin lagi mahal tapi kita korbankan keuntungan kerana kalau kita dok asyik beli enjin dari luar, masa mana kita nak belajar dan maju.

Proton baru 20 tahun.

Korea mengambil masa 40 tahun untuk kereta dia tiba ditahap ini.

Jepun sudah 80 tahun,

Barat sudah 100 tahun. Ini industri kereta.

Kalau orang suruh kita fikir nak buat plastik aiskrim tu pun majority kita tak boleh. Ini kereta. So yang mengutuk tu fikir. Lagi banyak kita jual, lagi murah kita boleh jual lagi banyak duit, lagi baik pembangunan yang kita boleh buat. Setiap test dan setiap bahan baru yang nak direka memerlukan wang yang banyak.

Masalahnya sekarang siapakah yang bakal atau boleh dijadikan rakan teknikal. Walau pun volkswagen nak join ngan proton tapi persoalannya boleh ke..? Kenapa..saya kata macam tu..sebab Volkswagen ni guna euro. Sudah tentu la harga kereta proton pada masa akan datang lebih mahal lagi. (salah satu sebab isu AP keluar) Nak mohon Nissan atau Honda atau Toyata jadi rakan teknikal memang agak sukar.

Errr. Ini kita bagi hint sikit sebab teruk sangat dah ni. Kita tengah develop kereta dengan VW. Sebab tu kita jangan dengar saja orang cakap.

Kalau semua AP ditarik balik lagi banyak masalah akan timbul.. salah satunya adalah AFTA. Mampukah negara kita membayar ganti rugi kepada negara lain yang telah melaksana AFTA. Mungkin ada yang tak sedar yang negara kita telah membayar ganti rugi RM billion sebab menangguh perlaksanaan AFTA sebelum ni kapada negara Asean yg berkaitan. Memang kita akan kena penalti sebab ada perjanjian AFTA. Tapi bukan kita nak tarik AP macam tu aja. Jalan penyelesaian masih ada. Kalau negara lain boleh ada polisi dia orang yang membantu industri kereta mereka kenapa kita tidak boleh.

Kerana AP China boleh mengeksport kereta mereka ke Malaysia (kereta Chery hampis masuk), tapi polisi China masih lagi tidak membenarkan kereta kita masuk kesana.

Memang dia kata boleh masuk tapi dah 5 tahun mencuba pun belum dapat kelulusan lagi. Banyak syarat lagi.

India nak masuk kesana kena letak deposit USD200 Million. Belum lagi nak set up kilang dan infrastruktur jualan.

Cuba masuk kat Korea Kita nak jual kain kita kat sana pun diaorang tak nak beli walau pun kualiti kita bagus. Kuat nya patriotik diaorang.

Kita apa yang nama lain selain dari barang sendiri mesti bagus punya. Bagi yang nak membandingkan kereta kita dengan kereta German. Bukan tak boleh buat. Boleh tapi sanggup ke bayar harga kereta German untuk kereta buatan Malaysia .

Naza yang rata rata import kereta Cuma tukar bumper pun boleh jadi taraf kereta nasional. Perodua yang tak pernah design kereta sendiri (cuma design bumper depan belakang) pun dapat taraf kereta nasional

Proton sekurang-kurangnya telah mendidik ramai anak bangsa dalam kemajuan teknologi. Dah ramai hasil dari pengalamn bekerja dengan proton diambil untuk sektor R&D ditempat lain. Bayangkan lah satu kumpulan Advance Engine Research Proton terus diambil oleh Petronas. Bukan sorang. Kesemuanya. Nak kerja dengan R&D proton.. Paling minimum 2nd class upper. 1st class berlambak. Selepas berpengalaman Perodua, Naza ambil.

Tapi saya tak marah bila orang kata macam-macam pasal proton. Itu hak mereka. Tapi fikirkanlah tenaga yang kami beri untuk memajukan negara dalam bidang teknologi. Boleh sebut tak company mana lagi dalam bidang industri yang betul-betul menggunakan kepakaran anak Malaysia dalam bidang R&D ni. Kalau kita tidak belajar sampai bila kita tidak akan tahu. Dan sampai bila kita akan bergantung dengan orang luar.

Tapi bab support selepas jualan. saya sendiri pun tak puas hati. Sabotaj pun Proton dah biasa kena. Orang curi part semasa delivery kerata tukar dengan part tiruan atau lama. Yang kena komplen proton.

Tapi yang hairannya semasa Perodua recall balik 4000 unit Myvi. Tak ada pulak yang kutuk. Letak sebelah sebelah Myvi dan Savvy check performance dia. Then baru tahu nak kata apa. Jangan dengar orang cakap je test sendiri. Baru tau.

Tak lama lagi akan keluar Savvy Auto-Manual. Maksudnya dua-dua jenis gear ada dalam kereta. Malas nak tukar gear swith to auto. Nak main ciluk-ciluk switch to manual. Errr.. siapa kata kita guna tecnology 70an?

(tu saja yang mampu saya tunjukkan kepada pembaca paultan.org)

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Bagi sahaja 10-tahun waranti untuk semua kereta Proton termasuk servis percuma. Jangan cakap banyak.

Pembeli kereta Proton dan jenama lain sudah muak ditipu. Mansuhkan sistem AP dan turunkan harga kereta untuk semua jenama, jika Proton masih takut oklah kereta bawah 2000cc sahaja tiada ‘protection’. Rakyat semua tak semestinya perlukan kereta mewah. Berdosa besarkah jika rakyat nak beli kereta berkualiti, selamat dengan harga patut?

Bayaran duti, cukai jualan kereta juga harus diturunkan, jadi kurang juga bayaran ansuran kereta yang sudah dimasukkan sebagai interest bulanan. Bukankah rugi itu sebenarnya? Wang itu sebaliknya rakyat pakai untuk tampung kos petrol, servis dan repair kereta. Soal kamu itu patriotik itu tak relevan.

Ingatlah: Menyusahkan rakyat itu sebenarnya MENDERHAKA dan HARAM.

• madimat (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 2:07 pm

MaxLapanLapan,

Kau nak harga kereta murah-murah, servis percuma cukai rendah etcetc tu, lepas tu bila semua orang dah mampu pakai kereta semua pakat masuk KL naik kereta termasuklah bekas Mat Mat Motor besok kamu jugak yang komplen yang kereta banyak sangat kat jalanraya ! Bila ex Mat rempit dah pandai rempit pakai kereta kau jugak yang mencarut-carut. Maklumlah, benda dah murah-murah, barang mampu milik.

Abang2 yang kerja kat proton jangan kisah sangat jenis yang banyak cakap ni. Terus kerja rajin-rajin.

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 3:36 pm

To Kedaikopi,

i have already seen this comment on Paultan Forum, so long and messy, just want to remind u, the main problem with Proton is the quality issue, no need talk much, again and again after promise and all those lies, still make the same problem with quality issue, said BLM will not have issue, but still the same, rusted drive shaft? rattling noise? easy crample car? let me tell u, even Waja can only get 3 star Ncap rate, this one is Proton Impian, not waja actually, EXPORT QUALITY is already like S**T, u expect us to trust u some more? how dumb can we be? i10 can get 4 star u never mention? savvy 3 star Ncap rate u wanna act, f**k off la, really hate u guys !

i have a fren who is an ex worker at Proton, he not mentioned where he work, but when the worker cant get bonus, they damage the car and there will be reject car all long the production line. (this one cant guarantee true or not as i do not have proove)

last time, i have father, he has frens, who bought waja, with no horn mechanism inside the car? i mean, WTH? (this one cant guarantee true or not as i do not have proove)

im sorry for being so rude here, but just cant tahan, u all force us to buy cheap car with cheap quality, make other import car duty free la, well see who can win the people heart ! i dare u !

Ur management there sux, terminate the contract with vendor which have issue problem more than 3 times ! or ur QC dept so blind cant know which one is reject or not? or someone play dirty? im not accusing, but curious !

last but not least, im also using wira, had no choice, coz the economy is sux, sure better for me to buy Korean car, which has more quality and technology, anyway im sorry again to say all this frustrated feelings !

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 3:53 pm

Hi Kedaikopi,

Me again, just wanna say, most of the car from Proton that i am proud, is only Persona, for the time being, coz they do not have any problem !

Congrats !

But do share ur exp about Persona problem !

• faqe (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:15 pm

hi god.of.war..

wow,i see dat u r soo pissed of…i’m not gonna judge u,dats ur opinion..

hi kedaikopi..

i do agree to some of your points..yup..most of the things u said i already noe la..my sibling also work at proton..

btw, this is my point of view,

i already have a perodua kancil,perodua kembara,kia sephia,proton satria gti,proton savvy,honda city and the latest is toyota estima….

from all the cars that i have and used to have, my peordua kancil,kembara n kia sephia were the ones dat coast me alot of money for repair although im just a in city user…my kancil had to change its engine twice at perodua and after broke down asgain i just swap it with everthing in my kancil to L200 turbo and problem solved.. my kembara also is the same,to much problem. and my kia, just nice in d 1st 2 years but then become a disaster…got not much prob with my gti,just the fuel gauge not function sometimes..haha..i’m still glad dat i use p1 car bcos the repair cot is quit cheap than my japanesse and korea car..

got not much prob with my p1 savvy amt until now,still lovin it.,sold my honda city and get a toyota estima..estima is great but once it broke down…i cost me almost rm10k to repair it becos of engine prob and had to order some parts from japan..i went to a toyota service centre.so,other car manufacturers also havin some trouble with their parts vendor but they manged to cover it up.

so i won’ blame anytihing on proton..i just want them to be more strict with their parts vendor dat causes probs..

ok..back to the mpv topic, proton just should apply more safety features in it.
    it would be better..my fren got the proton gen2 cps and it feels better than d old 1s.+ the mpv looks kinda good also.

progress is a slow process but as long we are movin foward it’s ok..

we should learn to be like korean and japanesse,instead of just complianin n whinin,we should give some help.u don’t have to buy d car if u hate it,just give an opinion n ideas to make proton better would be great.

i’m proud to be a malaysian.

all the best proton!!

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 9:53 am

Agree with u, agree with Kedaikopi, not all, in some matters and points only !

• elwwmatrix (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:41 pm

An MPV? Nice try Proton. I back out from buying any new Proton after a bad experience with Waja 3 years ago. I’m sure any Waja owner would agree. Bought a Hyundai Matrix instead. After 3 service years, not a single tiny problem occured.Proton.pls learn something….

• nd (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:14 pm

elwwmatrix said,

August 9, 2008 @ 10:41 pm

An MPV? Nice try Proton. I back out from buying any new Proton after a bad experience with Waja 3 years ago. I’m sure any Waja owner would agree. Bought a Hyundai Matrix instead. After 3 service years, not a single tiny problem occured.Proton.pls learn something….

Same as you, I sold my waja for a matrix. To be fair I did have minor problems with my Matrix. The rusted exhaust muffler and driver seats belt jammed. Repaired once but the problem came back. I was told that the seat belt module cost about RM2000. Thinking of finding a recon one at kedai potong.

What I’m trying to say here is, any makes can have any quality issues, especially for new models. The question is do the maker acknowledge the problem and rectify it ASAP. Proton have been improving since TSZ take over as the CEO. If this new Proton MPV have the looks and quality feels to it, I’m willing to take a chance on it.

;)

• ys (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:51 pm

wah.. looks like kedai kopi really kena fxxx kao kao.
    no doubt there are some good progress from proton. i think everybody has to admit it but the progress is still too slow.

by the way, what time of rubber hose you guys used for waja.. my dad’s waja has change mostly all rubber hose within 5 yrs (leakage and found that the hose already harden) but my poor 11 yrs sentra rubber hose still work perfectly fine (touch wood.. touch wood).

• NeutralMan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:42 am

Hai all,

You know what EVERYBODY? It’s typical for a Malaysian. Although the UK people can ‘slate’ (‘slate’; informal word meaning “mengata/mengutuk”) even worse, but Malaysian can never be better than them.

Now the Proton has a new manager, far better than Mahaleel. Perhaps he is trying to better the Proton cars, which is good. I support Proton for their effort, although they have promised of making their product as zero defect. As a positive person, after many failures from Proton, I still have faith on them. Why? Because they don’t give up and I’m a positive person.

Would love to see the MPV. Heard from a friend, the new Proton Gen.2 will be much better than its predescessor.

Go Proton go. I own a Wira, with a broken power window at the back, problem with the wiper once etc, but I would love to see Proton’s effort with the help from the new boss.

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:02 pm

hope proton can launch this car fast…

• terencelhl (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Hi all,

Some sharing for perusal.

Suggestion to Proton
    =============
    New MPV to have standard size of tire (not too broad) and hence, fuel consumption will be lower.

My Experiences with Proton Product
    =======================
    Before and after purchasing it, many negative comments/bashes from network but true enough, Proton had delivered what they offered. There are improvement, there are difference since Savvy.

Ideas
    ====
    I applied the same idea/concept before I bought it just like when I give computer consultation to my network.

Different price for different usage. Computer gamers would need “high end” computers in order to satisfy their experience.

Since I need a small and performing car, Neo is in my “short list”.

My girl friend and I used to send “fatty boy” (Neo) back to clinic (COE) all way from Wangsa Maju. I believe the equipments are more when compare to authorized service center.

No doubt waiting time is slightly longer (usual servicing period) but I felt the difference after it was done in COE when compare with other.

Moral of my Sharing
    =============
    Choose what best fit for ourselves in terms of usage/application and not by the cover only.

Every product for sure has its pros and cons. Everyone should learn to accept any comment either positive or negative.

Judging on something/someone without human touch will not be as accurate as self experience (Just like below).

Belum cuba, belum tau,
    Sekali cuba, hari-hari mau

Cheers.

• elwwmatrix (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:36 pm

nd said,

August 11, 2008 @ 12:14 pm

elwwmatrix said,

August 9, 2008 @ 10:41 pm

Same as you, I sold my waja for a matrix. To be fair I did have minor problems with my Matrix. The rusted exhaust muffler and driver seats belt jammed. Repaired once but the problem came back. I was told that the seat belt module cost about RM2000. Thinking of finding a recon one at kedai potong.

What I’m trying to say here is, any makes can have any quality issues, especially for new models. The question is do the maker acknowledge the problem and rectify it ASAP. Proton have been improving since TSZ take over as the CEO. If this new Proton MPV have the looks and quality feels to it, I’m willing to take a chance on it.

—————————————————————-

really? it costs that much? i have to jaga2 my seat belt la after this.True,even mercedes got Quality problem.

• motorman (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 7:01 am

i heard its gonna be priced at RM 75k. would u love to have one?

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:24 am

nope.

• elwwmatrix (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 12:48 pm

Me too.

• aYuMiBoA (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 8:15 am

OH MY GOD…What happen to Proton? SAME OLD PR TACTIC? As a PR student I can say this really suck to da max. Why can’t they be anymore creative to think of some other gimmick to promote their new idea?

Why can’t they just reduce the price of the cars to a cheaper price say around 30k for this MPV? If it is 75k might as well I pay little bit more for a better foreign brand MPV? This is the stupid part of Proton…

• azsh73 (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 11:50 am

i found the pic of the new proton mpv confirm…but how to put inside here any 1help me

• azsh73 (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 12:13 pm

this is the pic of the new proton mpv i just received from friend and i really sure this is the one…..

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m282/azsh73/mpv_rear.jpg
    http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m282/azsh73/ProtonMPV2.jpg
    http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m282/azsh73/indextw7.jpg

• ardley (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:59 pm

that one is clay model.. these pictures already posted in paultan forum… correct me if i’m wrong… tq

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 3:47 pm

weh proton,

boleh taruk signal stick on right side tak? susah aa kalau pakai manual!!!
    apasal kereta eropah taruk belah kiri? sbb kereta diorg left drive aa.

lain pasal kualiti aku tak kisah. thanks

• ZAKI-UUM (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:48 pm

Saya sokong KEDAI KOPI…

Memang nak cakap perlu buat research dulu,…

Sebab tu ada pepatah MELAYU, telajak perahu boleh diundur telajak kata tak dak gear reverse dah…

HA..renung-renungkan , Amal-amalkan.

• name (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 10:02 pm

huhu..
    when i was on the way back from Nilai..
    i saw this MPV beside me…
    yes i was really shock and try to catch them
    ahahahaha silly me..
    in my heart.. i hoped to meet the team (persona is with this MPV)

and GOD granted my wished
    i met with them..
    but silly me again.. i didnt take any pictures… coz all those guy who drove persona and new MPV pi kencing daa!!! T_T

i want to take few short inside…
    but what to do.. it WAS ady..

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:12 pm

If the last 3 picture below was a final design of a new Proton MPV… i would to say.. not bad!!.. i’m impressive!!

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:15 pm

i would like to say.. NOT BAD!!… i’m VERY IMPRESSIVE!! i will sell my 2002 kancil and surely want to buy this MPV… when will we can start booking?? anyone??

• johanzul (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:38 am

First of all, I would like to say “GO FOR IT PROTON, MAKES US, MALAYSIAN PROUD!”, I pray that Proton shareholders, its directors and workers really strive for perfection on this MPV. Please do not bow to the pressure of the parts suppliers driven by greedy politicians which had happened and maybe still happening as we speak. I do understand that Proton solely not to be blame as I have lots of friends in Proton but now it is a new era, Proton need to be bold, brave, understand the needs of local cars consumers and ready for globalisation. I had owned a Proton Wira Aeroback 1.3GL before this and now, a Honda City 1.5 iDSI b’coz of obvious reasons stated by frustrated Proton consumers stated in this blog. Therefore, proof that Proton is the chosen one for local cars consumers by producing value for money cars and I’m sure that ‘Rakyat’ will surely support Proton all over again as I will certainly do it again.

• samsung (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 2:04 am

Is it really not a COPY from CHERRY?..it surely look like it, well maybe not..and i make a mistake..but most of design really look like it, i dun say it bad..its good effort by proton..congratulations..but hmm hope the quality is there..i wouldnt put my money (again) on a car that not reliable enough..and i hope the proton Quality is improved…
    Congratulation proton.

• justice (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:55 pm

its easy for you proton (or national in some cases) car haters to mouth off. its easy for you to think the simplest or smartest strategy you can think of for proton.Proton has been around for how long?Since when?Sure they have been through lots of downs but didn’t they pull through?
    its easy for you haters give comparisons. since everything’s so easy for you guys to think of, go into Proton and ammend their silly mistakes as you might say.Be their team leader and teach those ‘stupids’ some proper lessons in handling their stuff.
    if you have nothing to say or in your mind, proton is no good, then why the heck did you haters come into this article?just close your eyes and let it be.oh ya, i forgot, ONLY YOU can see the light better, right? You’d think Proton’s design team consists of a few members?be realistic la…you think Proton’s like Toyota, Honda or Nissan meh?

I have owned and driven Protons and thats with an “S”. Sure the quality’s not up to the standard yet, but if you’d think further…whose fault? Why not blame it on the outsourced manufacturers or those assembly line workers? Who are these people? Aren’t they Malaysians as well just like you and most of us here? Think about it…don’t go saying,”Now why the heck did this Justice brought up the issue about Malaysian thing?”

By the way, I’m still using my 1995 Wira til today.Its my daily commuter. No rust, still shining (never painted) and still functioning well without creaks or cracks. I TOOK CARE OF MY PROTON CAR, THATS WHY ITS LASTED THAT DAMN LONG!

• Escape (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 1:49 am

easy guys&gals…u want good quality buy expensive/luxury nippon or eu car..my friend jus sold his 4-5yrs old estima 110k he bought 230k..and he said to me “of course estima giving u less problem la a…” i try to understand his brainy brain never say quality grantee 100%.

i agree that chap ask proton to sell mpv at 30k…sure they will hit the malaysian market! important thing produce average engine FC..heavy part last longer/average standard…hos cable ohters smalls part last short with 1yr quality and cheap/easy replace and availble, no need patternTM, encourage oem porduction if possible do like nokia phone and other phone accesorry dump everywhere!!…no need put carpet jus anti rush and user can custoumised tikar getah…safe ma!!…cheap part endorsed no quality life short easy replacement….hope this make nobody bleed when face q issue!!!..and hopefully every 5 or 4 kampung got plotong service centre….i guess in long run “untung sikit bila jual banyak jadi la macam gunung!!!

• awangdewas (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 5:02 pm

My friend who is a Proton dealer told me that he & other dealers have been invited to preview the new MPV. He is satisfied and said the price will be below RM75,000 (with a 1.6 engine). I’m not an auto expert, but if I’m not mistaken, he told me that the MPV has 135 hp(?) (is it reasonable or powerful enough?).

But overall he said that with the overall package, the MPV definitely can sell. No name yet as this will be officially announced together with the winner of MPV naming contest.

• srm964 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:02 pm

My expectation on the Proton MPV

1) Engine will not be as thirsty as the old Naza MPVs – no pissing in the tank
    2) Pricing at sub RM80K for base model – the lower the better
    3) Have more than 6 colours to choose – Saga only 5 choices & all similar hues.

Overall, after owning a Gen2 for 4 years, this new MPV is worth my time to look into.

Finally, to those who have issues & bad experience with Proton cars – Grow Up & Move On…

• kopial (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Hi…I also have a comment…actually all cars are the same, only how we take care of the care will make us see the difference. I mean before these cars can be sold, they sure need to pass a certain International Standard. Perhaps SAE, ISO, BS or TUV standards.

So, it goes down to how maintenance is being carried out. Or course if you buy a RM200k Honda Accord you will want to take care of it very well coz it cost a bomb. Even a nose shit fall on it you will want to wax the whole car. But if RM40k Saga, maybe some ppl just close one eye; elephant shit also still won’t wash for months…sure rust la! Then, simply drive into potholes, speed around corners like orang gila…sure la, not even a Honda Accord is factory built for Rally Racing, after few KM will start to hear sounds from drive shaft & CV joint.

Human behavior is like dat…If we buy an original book, we will read till finish…coz a lot of money what. But if we photocopy a book, after few pages it will sleep on the table…cost it doesn’t cost any pain in owning it. Same goes to car.

• kopial (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Btw, I drive Saga…yes the drive shaft is rusty. Then I went further, I look at Kancil drive shaft also rusty. But why no one complaint ah? Hmmm…maybe coz if a “Japanese” car is rusty, it is designed to rust? Haha…what a joke man, Malaysians are one of the weirdest ppl on earth.

Btw, last time when we sent our athletes to Thomas cup (in 1960s-70s); Malaysian viewers will cheer at Indonesian, Denmark etc, but will boo their Malaysian athletes. Funny right? Only after Foo Kok Kheong & the Sideks prove their prowess & won…suddenly every single Malaysian start to support Malaysian players. Funny right? Maybe when Proton won their first F1 race only then Malaysian will start to be proud of Proton. I guess that’s how Malaysians are…very strange ppl.

• jackytiong (Member) on Jan 03, 2009 at 12:10 am

20 yrs lah proton. how many years lagi?

• AstroCreep (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 5:54 pm

I had Waja manual before, loved the car, no problems except for tak laju.
    For sure like any other cars, you need to maintain it.

For those who said Korean cars are good, please….
    I will not mention the problems here, as not to offend the owners, but Korean car drivers, please be honest! Some of you Korean car owners probably realised that ‘.. eh? how come my brakes like tak makan like that?… ‘… yes, it’s a big problem for some of the Korean cars (which model I will not mention), you know who you are! This kind of problem is a life threatening one, not to mention a lot of RM$$.

And beemer owners? He! He! They too have their own problems… trust me… I know…

At the end of the day, all cars have problems. Kasi maintain la itu kereta. If got problem during warranty go get it fixed la, apa mau kecoh-kecoh… If still cannot stand the car, go get something else la. Strange that millions of other Proton car owners seem ok with their cars, except for few… I bet deep inside they probably still have a soft spot for the car, or even own them still! ;-)

• Knine_teeth (Member) on Jan 07, 2009 at 8:34 pm

As usual, its proton, and its design is always – plain odd and outdated.. the design – is so boring..its savvy + saga + myvi with longer wheelbase.. :-)) why dont they come out with better and creative design? are they ran out of talented designer or something? the should hire natural born creative person to involve in the design job! not graphic student with mountain high cert or degree but lack of creativity..this is why many talented malaysian (designer) refused to returning to their hometown and prefer working overseas, because most malaysian big company prefer paper qualification than talent..Sad! even china car maker can produce good design car nowadays.. btw, i’m not talking about performance yet, coz everybody knowing well budget car engines performance.. its just the design concerning me..

• maramiea (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Erm 8 year using iswara a/b, got no problem at all, even my absorber i’ve to change it after 6 year, engine no problem, color still the same, break ligt until now never change, headlight only once on the left side cause of the small accident erm.. what else huh..

I’m happy with my car.. at all, better than my P2 that after 2 years got to change the drive shaft..

Hu hu any comment.. if you take car of your car i think it should be no problem la… untuil today i still service my iswara at eon service..

• sri28 on Feb 13, 2009 at 5:18 pm

20 yrs lah proton. how many years lagi?

• cheapMPV on Feb 16, 2009 at 10:54 pm

I hope the price should be less that RM70,000 for promotion purpose. And pls applied the international standard.

HOPE THE NEW PROTON MPV WILL HAVE NO BASIC PROBLEM AT LEAST FOR 5 YEARS

• DangProton on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:52 am

Another piece of junk from Proton!

• adriana on Feb 18, 2009 at 11:22 pm

klu kereta malaysia dijual dgn harga tersangat murah cth 40k sebuah utk model proton MPV yang baru nih……

jawabnya lagi cepat lah proton kaya dan lagi banyak la kesesakan di jalan raya dengan wajah2 baru proton MPV….

bank pon tumpang gembira sebab ramai nak buat loan beli kereta baru….

insurans pon bersepah2 nak beri perlindungan…

• magnetone (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:59 pm

I've owned Gen2 IAFM manual..its smooth and stable..Fuel save some more..wahhh, Love it!!

• Saga_ku on Feb 25, 2009 at 10:29 am

Almost 5 years I drove my 1.3 Iswara Aeroback LMST glad to said nothing bad experience..all ppl condemn proton makesure utillised all the benefit during warranty periods..since now i still love driving my proton..

• Rocky on Feb 26, 2009 at 8:39 am

I saw the new proton mpv….. the design is very bad , Proton pls have some good interior and design, Always say Malaysia Boleh. Pls say Proton Boleh , ok . Hopefully thr price is below RM50,000 . If the price is higher, sure nobody will purchases it.

• rubapoison kiss on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:36 pm

i think this car will hit the road. by the way does this cae does before test . i'm sure this car sure done bad . sorry proton fans . keep it on proton .

proton boleh

• these car look very beautiful but one thing i want ask proton company, very cantik>>>>

• Abang Burn on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Disebabkan semangat petriotik, saya pun beli kereta Nasional model Wira Aeroback, tapi kecewa sebab kereta tu asyik buat hal, maintainance pun tinggi, lastly saya let go wira tu dan beli kereta korea…..so far kereta korea tu Alhamdulillah tak der lak problem…..so sendiri kena ingatlah. Saya bukan orang kaya nak tukar-tukar kereta, so pada saya orang kaya sahaja yang sesuai pakai kereta nasional sebab mereka banyak wang, kalau apa-apa hal pun anytime boleh repair atau tukar dengan kereta baru….

• akuAdaWira on Mar 04, 2009 at 2:05 am

every car have its own problem (exclude supercars). difference is how soon the problem gonna showed up. i own a wira year 2002. problem occur after 5 years of usage. i believe that this period may be vary between wira cars.

so, whether you own local or foreign cars, the situation will be the same.

why?? because these cars is mass produce. anything (not just cars) i mean everything that is mass produce, the quality will be compromised. the quality each product will not be the same.

when you buy cheap things or car, expects the quality to be equal to what the price tag shown. when you want a car that will never breaks down or that makes you wanna bash-in, save a lot of money and buy a car that the price is rm200k and above.

if you feel like want to 'tiow' somebody about your car that create 1001 problems, go to a proper channel. i am sure proton, perodua, naza and others have their own hotline for complaining (or whining) owners like you. whats the point of complaining here. non of readers will take your say seriously. in fact, when complains received on their hotlines, it will be recorded and referred for improvements.

then, how are we going to choose a car to buy? pick the one you like and within your budget. because no matter what 'mass-produce' car you bought, problems will occur.

• FaTb0ysLim on Mar 08, 2009 at 8:36 am

i'm gonna ask my dad 2 buy one of those mpv things.. haha.. good job proton..

• budakbaik on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:50 am

Thumbs Up!!!

Good job.. I've booked one… price is RM 76K full spec.. booking is only RM 1K and it is 100 % refund if we not satisfied, when the car received. ..

• orangkita on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:16 am

all car is same…….depend on your user….pakai gasak…service tak ikut jadual..bila losak…ckp lebih…..aku dah pakai honda,peugot,bmw,toyota,merc,volvo,skoda,kia,hyundai,latest is suzuki swift for my gf……….percayalah!!!!!tak nak percaya sudah, coz what!!!! duit masing masing………aku tetap pakai PROTON>>>>nak tau kenapa PROTON ku tak pernah beri masaalah..aku pernah pakai bmw 325i tiga minggu aku pakai lampu semua black out….nah!!!!!!!padan muka aku,,,tiba member tanya aku akan jawap ok….coz what!!!!!becoz bmw………fikir fikirlahhh…lu org fikirlah sendiri….SEBENARNYA KERETA JENAMA LAIN PUN ADA MASAALAH SENDIRI TAPI CERITA MASING MASING TAK D CANANGKAN OLEH MAREKA…NAK TAU KERANA APA!!!!!!!JAWAPANNYA KERANA MERAKA MALU,,,,,,,,,,,,AKU ULANGI…….MMEREKA MALU..MALU..MALU……pembaca kalian…….aku mula tertarik dgn PROTON sejak GEN2 keluar….skrg dah 5 tahun aku pakai…..nak tau apa masalahnya……..TAYAR BOTAK GANTI,CUKUP DUE SERVIS BUAT SERVIS……CAKAP BANYAK TAKDA…. BEZA KITA LAGI……..U ALL AKAN MERASA SANGAT BANGGA KALAU U PAKAI KERETA IMPORT…..TU JER……

• [quote comment="221330"]all car is same…….depend on your user….pakai gasak…service tak ikut jadual..bila losak…ckp lebih…..aku dah pakai honda,peugot,bmw,toyota,merc,volvo,skoda,kia,hyundai,latest is suzuki swift for my gf……….percayalah!!!!!tak nak percaya sudah, coz what!!!! duit masing masing………aku tetap pakai PROTON>>>>nak tau kenapa PROTON ku tak pernah beri masaalah..aku pernah pakai bmw 325i tiga minggu aku pakai lampu semua black out….nah!!!!!!!padan muka aku,,,tiba member tanya aku akan jawap ok….coz what!!!!!becoz bmw………fikir fikirlahhh…lu org fikirlah sendiri….SEBENARNYA KERETA JENAMA LAIN PUN ADA MASAALAH SENDIRI TAPI CERITA MASING MASING TAK D CANANGKAN OLEH MAREKA…NAK TAU KERANA APA!!!!!!!JAWAPANNYA KERANA MERAKA MALU,,,,,,,,,,,,AKU ULANGI…….MMEREKA MALU..MALU..MALU……pembaca kalian…….aku mula tertarik dgn PROTON sejak GEN2 keluar….skrg dah 5 tahun aku pakai…..nak tau apa masalahnya……..TAYAR BOTAK GANTI,CUKUP DUE SERVIS BUAT SERVIS……CAKAP BANYAK TAKDA….

BEZA KITA LAGI……..U ALL AKAN MERASA SANGAT BANGGA KALAU U PAKAI KERETA IMPORT…..TU JER……[/quote]

[quote comment="221330"]all car is same…….depend on your user….pakai gasak…service tak ikut jadual..bila losak…ckp lebih…..aku dah pakai honda,peugot,bmw,toyota,merc,volvo,skoda,kia,hyundai,latest is suzuki swift for my gf……….percayalah!!!!!tak nak percaya sudah, coz what!!!! duit masing masing………aku tetap pakai PROTON>>>>nak tau kenapa PROTON ku tak pernah beri masaalah..aku pernah pakai bmw 325i tiga minggu aku pakai lampu semua black out….nah!!!!!!!padan muka aku,,,tiba member tanya aku akan jawap ok….coz what!!!!!becoz bmw………fikir fikirlahhh…lu org fikirlah sendiri….SEBENARNYA KERETA JENAMA LAIN PUN ADA MASAALAH SENDIRI TAPI CERITA MASING MASING TAK D CANANGKAN OLEH MAREKA…NAK TAU KERANA APA!!!!!!!JAWAPANNYA KERANA MERAKA MALU,,,,,,,,,,,,AKU ULANGI…….MMEREKA MALU..MALU..MALU……pembaca kalian…….aku mula tertarik dgn PROTON sejak GEN2 keluar….skrg dah 5 tahun aku pakai…..nak tau apa masalahnya……..TAYAR BOTAK GANTI,CUKUP DUE SERVIS BUAT SERVIS……CAKAP BANYAK TAKDA….

BEZA KITA LAGI……..U ALL AKAN MERASA SANGAT BANGGA KALAU U PAKAI KERETA IMPORT…..TU JER……[/quote]

Lu pikir la sendiri, wa ingat lu mesti pakai BMW tadi 3rdhand or 4thhand sebab tu lu ade masalah dan yang lain tu(honda,peugot,bmw,toyota,merc,volvo,skoda,kia,hyundai) pun wa ingat sama jugak sebabnye wa tau Gen2 memang bermasaalah tapi mungkin lu bernasib baik……1 dalam 1000.

• Lu pikir la sendiri, wa ingat lu mesti pakai BMW tadi 3rdhand or 4thhand sebab tu lu ade masalah dan yang lain tu(honda,peugot,bmw,toyota,merc,volvo,skoda,kia,hyundai) pun wa ingat sama jugak sebabnye wa tau Gen2 memang bermasaalah tapi mungkin lu bernasib baik……1 dalam 1000.

• Felix Yoon on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:24 am

My family own a total of 5 Proton cars from the time Proton starts making cars. I personally owns 2 wajas. Sold the first ones after 6 years and buy another Waja CPS. I am satisfied with the cars and I feel that Proton cars are good value for money base on the conditions set in this country. You can wish these conditions will change, but until that time……

Yes, the first generation proton cars gives some problems but what car do not give problems? If you honestly think that other cars manufactures are so good, then why do car manufactures set up service center? If you have a bad experience, take it up with the manufacturer. Washing dirty linen in public….

BTW, before Proton makes car, I own other makes. Mini 850 1 year Fiat 600D 2 years, Ford Escort 1.3 GT 2 years Mazda 626 1.8L 10 years Mazda 626 1.6 6 months Volvo 244 6 months , after the last Volvo, all Protons from then on…. I do have some experiences with other make.

• QQ WONG on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:53 am

No matter how, I won't buy Proton cars after so many bad experiences on their quality especially the Waja. The assembly quality is real bad. My Waja bought in 2005 has the following problems: Gear knob spring off, fuel pump problem and need replacement & lately the nuts on one of the door lock latch keeps on loosening even after tightening after sometime triggering alarm. The paint on both the side mirrors peeled off !!. Its frustrating with these minor irritating problems.The nuts in one of the side mirror loosened over time, one even drop off!!/ Luckily I discovered the problem. Cheap but need to bear the inconveniences.

• Ok congrats to proton for intro new and 1st mpv of malaysia. Anyway this mpv have quite good looking but not aggresive r attractable. This is what always happened to our malaysian cars. Look at the other cars which can comparing with our cars like kia n hyundai. Their cars are more heavy than malaysian cars, you just look at the designation external and internal its just nice! Proton still maintain their 'rojak' business here. Engines…we still import, we must build our own engine then only this proton will gets it own image. I'm comparing with this cars la and i know it can't! but you see this cars like Honda,Toyota,Nissan and so on…..they got their own image cause of the engine technology and they start to comparing with like this giants BMW.MERCEDEZ,VOLVO. So wake up la proton ask government spend more money on engine technology don't just masuk duit dalam poket!

• Come on guys! The car is so ugly; that's why they can only show part of in their advertising gimmick! Which other car company does this?!!

Never buy a proton. There is no quality and no passion in their design. Owning a proton will cost you lots in the long run, financially and EMOTIONALLY. Trust me….

• ada duit semua bole beli la bro!!!!!!tak payah nak kondem sapa2..sapa yang ada duit lebih leh la beli keta yg beratus ribu..tanya poket sendiri la bro..tak payah nak kutuk2 tak baik bro..apa pun pakai je keta yg mampu dibeli..

• To the Proton and Malaysia Bashing lot,

I bought 2 units of the new Saga last year! For the money I paid, I was laughing to the bank. Any complains? Definitely!!! I hope I got them for free and someone will pay for the patrol bill and strike TOTO Jackpot tomorrow LOL!!!

I can't affort imported car. I am working on 4 solutions to this problem,

1) buy cars that I can effort, and stop paying attention to BMWs Mercedes, Honda… etc etc in car shows.

2) Make more money and stop dreaming of price of goods is going to come down anytime in the future,

3) I'll do my part to protest the present government in the election (which I did in the last election).

4) Wait till the AFTA act come in full force,

Its a free market, if you don't want to buy a proton then don't!

Practice your right of speech responsibly, don't waste other's time and bandwidth as they also have their own freedom of speech as well… AND NO, your right is not bigger or more important then mine.

Its a free country, If you wish to start a ANTI P1 campaign then go find/create a appropriate forum, don't hijack this tread… Go start a help group of your own kind and ownself comfort your kind with plenty of group hugs.

Cheers

Ken Frust

• DINESH on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:22 am

helo..tiz time proton proving to u al by outing the new MPV…well done proton..well done..m sure tiz car wil have x comments

• alternator ada problem x? kang bateri keta aku tukar tiap2 bulan…kalau ada waranty xpe…1.6 boleh bwk ke ?aku blk kg naik bukit 7 bleh lepas ke?

• I can't afford toyota wish so this one might do the trick…kira oklah

• np wt 1.6 je.kn bagus klau wt 1.8

• np wt mpv br nie tak wt cc besar.klau naik genting dgn kapasiti yg ramai bleh ke naik bkt genting

• Escape on Apr 19, 2009 at 2:51 am

i wonder wather this 1.6 mpv will under power..they test by normal rim..sale with sport rim..some may change to 16 / 17" rim…body size look bigger than others…i guess FC will aboved average ..look at bhp/rpm ..body wg ratio …suspicious!!!…

• [quote comment="231494"]i wonder wather this 1.6 mpv will under power..they test by normal rim..sale with sport rim..some may change to 16 / 17" rim…body size look bigger than others…i guess FC will aboved average ..look at bhp/rpm ..body wg ratio …suspicious!!!…[/quote]

aku pun duk pikir jugak nie, 1.6 cps ni ok ke.. kalau untuk waja dan gen2 mungkin ok tapi exora nie besar body dia, tujuh org lg tu….

tunggu dulu lahhh….. nanti test drive

• Lenz_Wysufx on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:19 am

it ok with me.. luv it.. wlpun nampak simple je.. janji ade design bru.. nnt2 ok la 2. compared ngn p2.. model kecik2 je.

• srwkfren on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:20 am

haiz….

design a bit niccer ma!!!!!

• mansain on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:40 am

hello. aku order mpv exora… manual.. harap oklah. cuma harga tu tinggi sikit. buatlah kosong bagi hg rendah lagi. contoh takda tayar, takda kusyen kan best tu. heee…..