MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

This is the MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 Rally Car by Mellors Elliot Motorsport. The Super 2000 Rally was proposed by the FIA because of the rising costs of running World Rally Cars and competing in the World Rally Championship.

The following are the specs for a Super 2000 Rally Car:

• 3, 4 or 5-door models with length over 3900mm
  • Generic 4X4 transmission without active differential from Sadev or Xtrac
  • 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine from either a base engine used in any model from the manufacturer, or a engine licensed from another manufacturer with 2,500 units minimum production per year
  • Engine must comply to BTCC/ETC specs with 8,500rpm rev limit
  • Minimum weight – 1100kg tarmac, 1150kg gravel
  • Maximum bodywork and wheel arch extension width 1800mm

The MEM Satria Neo S2000 complies to these specifications, measuring 3905mm long, 1800mm wide with a 2440mm wheelbase and a weight of 1150kg. Its chassis is based on the road-going Neo and has been strengthened to comply with FIA regulations and the components of a S2000 rally car. It is fitted with a rollcage built from 35 meters of Chrome-Moly Steel Tubing.

Its 4-cylinder 1998cc DOHC normally aspirated engine is based on the 1.8 litre Renault engine in the Waja. It produces 280hp at 7,800rpm and a massive 271Nm of torque at 7,000rpm, and is installed transversely at the front of the car. This engine is mated to an Xtrac 6-speed sequential transmission with Alcon clutch and 3 player LSD.

Brakes are also from Alcon, with 300mm discs with 4 piston calipers at the front and 300mm discs at the rear on gravel. For asphalt, the front brake discs are uprated to 350mm. Wheels are 18 inch alloys for tarmac and 15 inch alloys for gravel. The car’s electronics system runs on the GEMS Multiplex System with Power Management, Data Logging and a Glass Dash Display

Look after the jump for more hi-res photos.

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000

Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

Satria Neo S2000
Click for hi-res photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afroiq (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:33 am

walauehh..gila hot..the normal hp for 1.8l waja engine is what ehh..??

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:46 am

Very very nice indeed. The workmanship from UK mechanics is very good and meticulous. The tires look a bit too skinny though for rallying.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:03 am

Nice. So, will Karamjit come back to the international scene with this Neo? Someone told me last time he participated in a local rally with a rental Satria! Hope he’s not too old for WRC. Or perhaps Saladin? Where is that guy anyway? Paul, is it really Mellors Elliot Motorsport that build this car? How much does it cost?

afroiq, I did a quick search on the net. It is said that the power output for Waja 1.8 is about 116bhp (which I doubt). Heck, my 140bhp (+/-) C5 was once ‘tapau’ed by this Waja. I guess it is because Waja got higher torque than the C5 (and the C5 is heavier).

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:21 am

well, if theres the neo gti based on this, im sure it would be a winner for all malaysians, 280bhp n/a. could be as good as the evo, minus the torque

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:57 am

this car is probably running in “tarmac” spec. hence the low profile skinny tyres. in gravel spec, they will of course have the high profile gravel tyres, and higher ride height. There was a story on this car as well in yesterdays cars bikes and trucks.

it would be interesting to see how the car performs against its rivals from fiat, peuqeot, ford etc. But I do remember a proton satria super1600 winning the british championship many years ago..

• cecibo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:18 am

nice…

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:35 am

will karamjit singh drive this car?

• armandd (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:38 am

left-hand drive?

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:43 am

Oh dang! Love the wide bodykit on this car. Wow! A n/a 2 liter engine based on Renault engine from Waja can produce 280bhp?! Fuuuh! Proton…please come out with whatever limited edition version of this and I bet it’ll sell like hot cakes. Just like what Subaru did with it’s S204 and S203 series…and shut the mouth of the people who just keep thinking Proton are just suitable to produce general car only! Go Proton and keep it up!

• tango5 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:50 am

I think our flying sikh should fly this car!

• I my (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:10 am

Most of the WTCC’s cars can also go that power output. Now we will see how it perform in the race… good luck.

• szw (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:13 am

that car in m’sia ?

• adil2008 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:44 am

Proton, to produce this car to Rally Sport limited edition (RSEL), sure will sell well, like Mitsubishi “Lancer” ralliart.
    Well done, proton.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:21 am

That is seriously awesome… I hope they produce a roadgoing version. It’s too cool to just stay off road lol…

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:32 am

* 2.0 liter normally aspirated engine from either a base engine used in any model from the manufacturer, or a engine licensed from another manufacturer with 2,500 units minimum production per year

> As far as i know lar… unless im in a twilight zone or something… that waja wit renault engine is not in production anymore since ages ago. And afaik renault laguna the old model used this. And i doubt they still produce this model anymore. Correct me if i’m wrong.

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:43 am

Probably the race driver for this car is a german or other left-hand driven countymen, which explains why its left hand drive.

I wonder is it practical to have this body version of Neo on the streets? Merc managed to produce the road-going version of the CLK-DTM and CLK-GTR race cars with all those huge wheel arches and low slung profile. Very very cool indeed. A definite head turner on the road.

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:56 am

New face in the WRC, that’s good.
    A road-going version , that’s good too, as long as it isn’t overpriced.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:31 pm

I My,

WTCC cars are also super 2000 cars, running the same regulations.
    The only difference is, for rally, they are allowed 4wd, whereas cars in wtcc must be 2wd.

more info here…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_2000

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Kevin Lee said,

August 4, 2008 @ 7:21 am

well, if theres the neo gti based on this, im sure it would be a winner for all malaysians, 280bhp n/a. could be as good as the evo, minus the torque

Er, this a race engine in works form… any mass-production version would be lucky to have half the power.

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:26 pm

Is there any local workshop which can convert the body of the Neo to make it look like the Super 2000 (wide body & wheel arch, ultra-low suspension)?

Paul, any picture from the rear angle?

• armandd (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:43 pm

widebody, drool…. heheh. this thing is good enough to fight VW Scirocco.

• TheTaj (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:46 pm

How come dun use CAMPRO? Renault engine better meh?

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:30 pm

TheTaj.

Because it’s about 2.0 cc lah!.. haiyaaa….

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:46 pm

holy sh…
    thats some fcukin great looking arches.
    It damn wide. :o

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:04 pm

yeah.. but i wonder, if we put satria neo R3, satria neo AXLE and this ONE which one are better in terms of exterior, balance, and speed? why dont organize a RACE for These cars…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:46 pm

when would this The Super 2000 Rally? cant wait to see this neo making headlines

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:50 pm

Karamjit is fast but don’t think he is fast enough to be competitive in the Satria S2000 rallycar. If the car competes in IRC it will have stiff competition from Abarth and Peugeot, teams that has massive experience in IRC.

The IRC drivers are also very very good and Italian (which means they are mad behind the wheel.)

Having said that, it lovely to see our own car being prepared for a serious rallying challenge. Thank you Paul for posting the pics and story and Mellors for showing us Malaysians the right way to prepare a competition car.

Left-hand drive Neo? Hmm.. the engine is also a 2.0-litre. Nevermine whether the engine’s ours or not, what matters is that it can be competitive against the clock.

I am already thinking of ways on how to make my Neo’s wheelarches bigger…hmm

• bolo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:24 pm

I think reason why it is left hand drive is because the running gear ( engine + transmission ) is of some european origin stuff. Like most rally car, there is not much of the original car left there, except for the shell.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:30 pm

The car is produced in the UK. See the scenary and clouds… hehe..

Btw if not wrong there has to be a homologation production of this car correct? And if yes, will there be right-handers? that would be yummy indeed.

Remember the Wira 1.8 DOHC anyone? Something like only 2500units produced. Collector’s item, if you can call a Proton one :-P

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:08 pm

i’m rooting for the body kit… fabulous.. but i think the wider version of front bumper of proton axle is nicer

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:15 pm

wonder that they did to that engine, damn over 100hp per litre! thats awesome! hmm thinking of getting tat 1.8 Renault engine :P n bore it till around 2L muahahahahhaha guess they use high cam also, since the peak power come so late

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:31 pm

the best looking proton but the worst selling

• abtm (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:37 pm

competing in world rallying should so wonders to proton’s world reputation but please if the do, don’t like Citroen and Ford forget to make a 4×4 turbo road going version for everyone to enjoy

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:48 pm

i want that side mirror on my neo!

• mohdazizee (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:58 pm

for more information, watch this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHSKUzyyC2s

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:47 pm

nice looking, but not my type of car

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:34 pm

whenever there is a Proton post… the comments count is amazing. I wonder why?

Some commentators should agree to disagree… thats the point of having an argument in the first place… but name calling and calling people stupid is childish and irresponsible.

Lay your fact and argue the merit. and PLEASE.. stick to the thread… :D

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:37 pm

oops… my bad… wrong post… :(

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:18 pm

What a nice car! Good job proton, able to use it’s car for this purpose. I would be happy to see our own flying singh drive this car. it’s been a while haven’t listen to him already. Still looking for sponsorship else where…?

• johnson wong (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:20 pm

CUNNN like fuck

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:26 am

i believe the reason for left-hand drive could be that the 1st batch of customers are based in the european continent.. if they can build a LHD version, its only a simple matter to build a RHD version.

and the reason for the waja 1.8L, is probably because its already a production based engine for proton and easier to get it up to 2.0L. you cant just take a prototype engine from somewhere and use it for s2000. the engine must have been in mass production currently or before. also, although a renault engine, its still homologated as a production proton engine and part of the proton family of engines.

btw satria guy.. dont forget that karamjit was the production car world champion, and the championship ran alongside the world rally championship. he was up against the best drivers in the world in that class at the time and he won, I believe also, the first asian to win an automobile FIA world championship. Interestingly enough, his car then was also built by mellors elliot, the same guys who built this satria. the only problem is, he is definitely getting older by the day. there are so many young drivers in europe today, and we hardly have any in malaysia now.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:57 am

It’s proton big sticker there.. so i assume proton really involved in. Either proton hq… or proton uk.. i dont care. Posible or not at least with this setting of car to be a GTI?

Btw… Just print the photos, bring to Ah Beng custom bodykit shop to make.. sure they can make neo wide bodykit one for you.. Just make sure you have enough money. :D

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Quite a nice car….but with our Mr. Karamjit driving it….will be perfect..

• joe1209p (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:29 pm

anybody know when will Proton fits in IAFM or CPS on Neo?

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 9:31 am

Very2 soon, i heard from a reliable source that Neo CPS is in initial stage.

joe1209p said,

August 5, 2008 @ 8:29 pm

anybody know when will Proton fits in IAFM or CPS on Neo?

• Jaybond (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 3:10 pm

280bhp out of 2L N.A engine, should be a normal figure for race engine these days.

Wonder if this car will be dicing around with the factory Peugeots & Fiats anytime soon..

• Chris from Sydney on Apr 05, 2009 at 3:09 am

I race a Satria GTI in the Australian Production cars. How do I buy one of these and what is the cost in Aus or US $$$ ?

• satria neo is about RM 57764 OTR. i dunno the exchange rate chris.

• hi. i think satria GTI is no longer in produce.

• sonnyred on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:01 am

i read that this satria neo s2000 cost about 1.3 million . no kiddin