Honda Japan CEO to be conferred Datukship

Takeo FukuiIt’s Datuk Takeo Fukui from today onwards, as the CEO of Honda Motor Co Ltd Japan will receive the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) which carries the title Datuk today at the 70th birthday of Malacca’s Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob.

He joined Honda in 1969 and has been working his way up the ladder ever since, up to the CEO position he is currently holding since 2003. He started off as an engineer and worked on the CVCC project, and later became chief engineer of the Honda R&D Company and later president.

The Datukship is probably because of Honda’s contribution to the economy of Malacca via it’s assembly plant in Pegoh Alor Gajah, which also exports parts such as CV joints and bumpers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:00 am

Good men don’t need datukship to get job done.

Congrats to Datuk Takeo Fukui.

• torque (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:08 am

Okay…I get it why Datuk Takeo Fukui earn the title with his contribution towards Melaka and it’s community but why the heck is Shah Rukh Khan getting it?! :-p

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:29 am

Same question, will u ask to Michelle Yeoh?

• V8 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:43 am

Michelle Yeoh got it because she is Malaysian. simple.

• torque (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:05 pm

Ya la n8cky, Datuk Michelle Yeoh is from Ipoh. She’s a Malaysian. Ipoh mali talak sombong punye. I mean even her boyfriend, Jean Todt (Executive Director of Ferrari) is a Datuk also.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Datukship was a VERY CHEAP title nowadays..
    it’s USEless . No one gonna respect a person those had datukship now.

It;s common for politician.. and it’s also common for celebrity.

What YDP N9 did was really CHEAP and make datukship more CHEAPEST.

i won’t respect the datukship title now.

• arch747 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

yeah, y shah rukh khan? the floodgate has been opened, after this they will be conferring Datukships, Tan Sri-ships, or maybe Tun-ships to perhaps Spielberg? Harrision Ford? Desperate Housewives casts?

What a pile of rubbish.
    Stick to the original intention of the award confernment, which is to award those who have contributed to the communities well-being. Or maybe I was wrong, Shah did contribute to the communities, by belly-dancing all the way to his banks…!

• torque (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:22 pm

bmpower,

You’re right! If you check carefully, Melaka is the one state in Malaysia that has and still been the most GENEROUS when giving the Datuk titleship. Give like nobody bisnes la they all…hahaha….yup! Datuk titles are cheap nowadays and “Datuk” with grandchildrens is more expensive and have more HONOUR! :-)

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Datuk or Dato nowadays so many la! Everyone can get it, man that sux !
    I suggest give it to Malaysian only la, y must foreigner can get it also, yucks !

Correction, its Sultan Melaka that give dato to shah rukh khan not negeri sembilan la… Zzzz !

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 3:01 pm

brush up your history..melaka dun have sultan liao – broken lineage..

only governor / YDPN – hint: held by one UMNO veteran leader – go figure.

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 3:30 pm

really pisses me off when our ‘angkasawan’ got datukship as well as this filthy rich bollywood actor who endorses force india f1… the datukship title now is getting less prestige and quality to it, kesian those who really worked hard for it and now being classified in the same group as those cartoons….

• crasher7 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 6:09 pm

too much datuk here datuk there

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 8:18 pm

this becoming like giving free car stickers…its loosing its value very fast…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 8:21 pm

btw , i oso got so curious on why on earth wd that bollywood guy gets datukship??? i mean WHY ON EARTH///wat the hell did he do for msia?????

wat next…datukship for sarah palin?or osama bin ladin??

• tango5 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:02 pm

there’s this joke I heard yesterday..
    if you throw a stone at a crowd of people in Malacca today, there are high probability that you’ll hit a Datuk head..

hehehe

• tango5 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:02 pm

there’s this joke I heard yesterday..
    if you throw a stone at a crowd of people in Malacca today, there are high probability that you’ll hit a Datuk’s head..

hehehe

• Mr.me (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:20 pm

After this, Amitabh Bachchan will get Tan Sri title….WTF

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 12:33 am

Is he the 1st japanese got Datuk title ? anyway he no need datuk as he himself datuk already..how about his datin?

• kongseemik (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 2:11 am

Ha Ha Ha. Good joke, Tango5
    If the stone bounces off the datuk’s head, it will hit another datuk’s head!!!

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

“really pisses me off when our ‘angkasawan’ got datukship as well as this filthy rich bollywood actor who endorses force india f1… the datukship title now is getting less prestige and quality to it, kesian those who really worked hard for it and now being classified in the same group as those cartoons….”

yeap..i agree. even nicol david wait for so long to get datuk..she deserved it long time ago..wait..wait til pr take over penang then she get the title. another case is that guy who swim across the english channel..also got got datuk..few mth after tht a msian chinese student did the same(half the time tht datuk swim)..dont get any title. and how about those two indians who climb the everest? (one already died).

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 11:30 pm

When I have cucu later I oso will become datuk….hehehehehe

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:58 pm

shah rukh khan, this guy, who’s next?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 6:37 am

next guy would be James Bond………
    hahahahahahahahahahahahaha……………………

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:58 pm

datuk daniel craig, in future my children one called datuk , one called tan sri and another called tun

• selrahc yblik on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:51 am

Congratulation to you Takeo Fukui on your Datukship, however I find it disturbing to not be able to offer my hohorable and humble service as an inventor with products that the Honda company does not have yet, You should be learning your lesson at this very moment, and so, it would do you and Honda good to realize that you are not listening to your public which are the ones who keep the Honda company funded, I have what I know the Honda company wants, but there is no ligitamit way to make contact with Honda, these are actions which come from little nobody companys that cant function correctly, is this problem of yours the reason you seem to have disgruntaled people out here writing that Datukship is just as good as wearing garbage on your back and so they say they will not give their respect to the title, its truely a shame to see so many people who hide who they truely are with no Honor for their blood line and family name, but look, they are, you would do good to find out how to contact me befor someone else does and makes me an offer for my product befor you soon find it takeing away a large chunk of several of your product lines and posistion of dominence in innovative world changing designs.