Ex-MD Dato Nadzmi is Proton’s new chairman

Datuk NadzmiDato Nadzmi Mohd Salleh is back in Proton as the group Chairman of the company, effective from the 1st of January 2009. He previously held the managing director position from 1993 to 1996, and was also appointed director and deputy chairman of Proton Edar from September 2005. He will replace Datuk Azlan Hashim, who served as Chairman since end-2004.

The new chairman is also director of several companies such as Ranhill Utilities Bhd, JT International Bhd, VS Industry Bhd, Kumpulan Kenderaan Malaysian Bhd, and Syarikat Kenderaan Melayu Kelantan. He is also the president of the Badminton Association of Malaysia.

54-year old Dato Nadzmi is currently the chairman/managing director of Nadicorp, whose business involvements include Transnasional buses, Cityliner buses, Plusliner buses and the Nice luxury bus.

It could be a coincedence that Proton’s top man during Mitsubishi-rebadging days is making a comeback right after an announcement that Proton will be rebadging a Mitsubishi car for the next generation Proton Waja. Let’s hope that Nadzmi is the right man for the job!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oodane (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:05 am

congrats..

may the force be with you..and support..and luck..

All the best for Proton!

• wacko (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:02 am

Dato Nadzmi definetely the best Malaysian to run on board of Proton. Now the return of MitsuMan!!!

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:11 am

i dont care much about chairman.

as long as Syed Zainal is CEO.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 5:26 am

lol

DSZ is MD lah. :P

Hm… I can't remember much what Proton did back in 93-96… the golden age of wira n satria?

Mitsuman kah…. but he's been a bus man since he left proton lol. Will proton introduce bus next? jkjk :D

I've always wonder…. which is most powerful? CEO or Managing Director or Chairman? I know TM was CEO, DSZ is MD, n now this mitsuman is chairman……

can si-fu highlight me? sorry for posing a non-technical question, well actually, anyone who knows corporate things can help me answer my curiosity hehehe :P

Paul Tan says: I think SZ's title is both MD and CEO.

• gie7 (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:01 am

bos dia dah nak berenti bulan 3 ni..kalau perasan, semua boad director proton smanya d lantik 2003 atau 2004…yang mana2 je…syd zainal dah jadi juara rebadge kereta..tahniah proton…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:20 am

maybe its easier to sponsor malaysia grand prix- badminton since everything now under him…

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:07 am

either way, the public is still screwed.

• onzetool (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 7:39 am

I was hoping that it's not a recycle one!

Anyhow, now my hope is that he will take a serious look at reviving local vendors' fate/direction in all levels.

• prangin (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:03 am

The new Chairman shd remain in non-executive capacity and not interfere in management of the company. Let DSZ runs the show.

• csv (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:34 am

only time will tell.

• the man (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:57 am

This time is different ball game not like previous glory day of mitsuman, now proton just formed strategic alliance which is without equity transfer with mitsu..wonder how much mitsu will support proton and transfer the technology of making new waja….:)..or…Proton will be same like Perodua….rebadge. hehehehe…wait and see lor..

• common-sensor (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:02 am

I was with Proton when he was the CEO/MD. Can’t say much but jest a simple statement from me “DAH TAKDE ORANG LAIN COMPETENT LAGI KAT MALAYSIA NI KE??! .. PI MAI PI MAI TANG TU JE ..”

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 3:41 pm

topgunthang said,

December 30, 2008 @ 11:07 pm

either way, the public is still screwed.

in what way?

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 4:11 pm

tokmoh,

As Paul said, i think CEO and MD is the same thing….just tat P1 change the portfolio name when they became a holdings company….the function is still the same i think…The Chairman usually wont intefere in the management of the company and its subsidaries, but he usually has a say if P1 is dealing outside the company, lets say the recent Mitsu collab dan yg sewaktu dgnnya.

Btw, Merry Christmas to Paul and everyone and Happy New Year in advance to everyone….

Cheers!!! (Dont DRINK too much eh…hehehehehe)

• scottloeb (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:17 pm

conmon-sensor,

change of guards bulan 3.. lupa ke? silap2 TM masuk balik hahaha

masa tuh hang tgk LCM pon revive balik, bukan takat kereta hindustan saja, Proton jadi Ferrari of Asia haha

• pippen (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 6:40 pm

in 1993-1996, the rakyat was buying 2nd hand Potong at a higher price than the new car, and the sickening part, in order to get a new car, need to give the sales-man some under-table $$, and need to wait at least 6 months for a new car. Why people cherish his return? I totally confused. Only open market can encourage competitive and ultimately favour consumers. I would like to see if everyone stop buying cars for a year, and see what happen, and use the market buying power to kill to unfavourite policies, its the consumer who encourage such unfair policies continues.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:45 pm

wenever u resort to someone u had before…means trouble….proton changed alot since that time..but this guys mindset stil the same probably…cant thy find someone else whos beter equiped..?? in business its always a bad ting wen old faces are re-apointed

• common-sensor (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 9:24 pm

scottloeb,

TM mana bole bertembung dengan Nadzmi > lain angin! TM suka show-off and Nadzmi enjoy "re-badge". Antara Dato Wan Nik, Iwabuchi, Hattori, Nadzmi, TM; sorry to say, those are all history dah .. to move forward, cari laa orang baru with fresh ideas.

• scottloeb (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 10:44 pm

common-sensor,

Tuh la kelebihan change of guard.. benda tak boleh diboleh kan hahah Hattori-san, uih, bakatare tuh.. tak boleh..

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 12:12 am

Salamz to my brother-in-arms of the motoring industry, Merry X'Mas to forumers of Christians belief, Happy New Year Awal Muharam (1430) to Muslims and Happy New Year 2008 to the rest of the world!

I'm submitting my resume to Proton for the post; Chairman. I hope JobStreet.com has this job in advertisement. I do hope I will be shortlisted for the job interview (thinking of wearing Malaysia Boleh T-Shirt for the interview).

I'm sure I can be people-oriented-businessman. My first orderly action will be to totally wipe-out Proton Juara (also known as Proton Peti-Ais) from Proton's mindset.

Install that darn CPS in Persona.

Make Proton cheap so "Now Everyone Can Own A Good Decent Quality National Car" (sorry Air Asia, I have to borrow your slogan a bit).

Increase the engine's displacement of the new Proton MPV to minimum 2.0 centimeter.cubic (cc).

Make at least single Air Bags, ABS and EBD as a MUST for all Proton model (including Base Line models).

Wipe out any 3rd party companies (outsourcing) which supplies poor quality spare parts and materials to Proton.

Award BIG bonuses to workers who actually perform.

Kick ass all those overpaid pretty boy-in-tuxedo at the HR and Management departments and award better pay to engineers, technicians, draftsperson whom have work their crap out day and night.

Pay my Zakat and feed the poor (I know I'm exaggerating a little bit).

Happy New Year! Its the last day of year 2008! Buckle up and don't drink and drive!

• common-sensor (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:39 am

SY0H,

Love your ambition and dreams .. Happy New Year. It will be a tough year next year, lets pray for the best for all Malaysian.

• Annihilated on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:40 am

SY0H,

I agree with some if not all of your Chairman resolution. Some of your points are quite obvious and I couldn't understand how smart corporate people fail to understand or even bother about it.

On Nadzmi, I do not know his ability yet as I've never work with him. All I can say those buses on the street under his command / managing hands don't look any better than any other poorly managed buses. But it'll be unfair to judge him base on that. Anyway, he's just a Chairman and hopefully he does no intervene much any positive moves in plan.

Anyway, good luck for Nadzmi and SY0H and others as well. Happy Nu Year.

• Anonymous on Jan 01, 2009 at 7:48 am

Regardless if a person is 'recycled', if he can do a good job, why not? Better than to get a green horn who knows nuts about the car industry! DSZ and DN should get along fine – both were from HICOM at one point of their career before.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Paul, si-fu,

Oic. Then what is a chairman's job, if it's not in the management of the company and its subsidiaries? The kinda stuff I dun get from dictionaries, as they all give same definition for CEO, MD, n Chairman. -_-

Pardon my ignorance, hey, after all, I'm still just a student :P

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 12:58 am

Selamat Menyambut Awal Muharam 1430H & Happy New Year 2009.

Kind da like what SY0H suggest as a CEO in his/her dream. For DN, welcome back. May P1 will be much better and give the best quality in their production line.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 04, 2009 at 7:19 am

great. how many AP's does he get in a year?