3rd Generation Toyota Prius with Hybrid Synergy Drive: Official Details and Photos

2010 Toyota Prius

The new third generation Toyota Prius is rated at 50mpg, but its sales may not be exceedingly spectacular during these (temporary) times of low oil prices. Prius sales dropped 45% in the end of 2008, and things are so bad across the product range that they’ve announced that they’re suspending all vehicle production in all 12 Japanese plants for 11 days over February and March.

Even if oil prices don’t rise in the near future, Toyota is hoping for the whole “greening” of America to boost Prius sales, fueled by demand from environmentally-conscious buyers, as long as they don’t find out how damaging to the environment the production of a Prius is, despite the Prius itself being a greener car than a regular sedan or hatchback.

2010 Toyota Prius

Toyota says the new Prius is roomier, quieter, more advanced and has more equipment. It even has a moonroof equipped with a solar panel located over the rear seating area. As previously speculated, the solar panels only powers the air circulation fan for the air conditioning system, not even the whole air conditioning system! This fan can function while the car is unoccupied, which means it can keep the car’s interior cool while it is parked under the hot sun.

2010 Toyota Prius

As for styling, the original shape has been retained since it has become iconic, defining what a hybrid should look like so much that even Honda was “inspired” by it for the new second generation Honda Insight. But it is larger, with the original shape stretched and moulded to its new proportions. The front headlamps have a unique shape to them, okay maybe not exactly unique, we recently saw the exact same thing on the new Nissan 370Z!

2010 Toyota Prius

The Atkinson cycle engine under the hood is now larger and more powerful, clocking in at 1.8 litres on the displacement scale and putting out 98 horsepower at 5,200rpm and 142Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The electric motor puts out 80hp and 208Nm of torque, but combined output of the two systems are 134 horsepower. Power from the two “engines” go through an electronically controlled CVT transmission. The hybrid battery pack is still a NiMH (no move to lithium ion yet). The Prius can run in 3 modes – EV, Eco and Power. EV is an electric-only mode (which can run for about 1.6km, good for short trips to the shop or mamak), while Eco and Power should be self explanatory.

2010 Toyota Prius

There are a few engineering improvements in the new Prius over the old one, especially in teh area of the Hybrid Synergy Drive system. The transaxle is now lighter and reduces torque losses by as much as 20%. The inverter has a new direct cooling system which results in a smaller size and lighter weight. A new brake energy regeneration system has also been fitted. The system also uses exhaust gas heat to help warm up the engine during startup for improved emissions and performance. This exhaust gas heat is also used to heat up the passenger cabin more efficiently. The body uses aluminium in the hood, rear hatch, front suspension axle and brake caliper to reduce weight.

Look after the jump for a high-res gallery of the new 2010 Prius.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=72]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• konoha (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 1:56 pm

1st!!!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:00 pm

“The Prius can run in 3 modes – EV, Eco and Power. EV is an electric-only mode (which can run for about 1.6km, good for short trips to the shop or mamak)”

More like a short trip…like 1 way. LOL.

As good as the technology behind them, I still think a hybrid is still a lame excuse of going “green”. You could do so much better with a Full electric running proper LiON batteries.

I would probably never pump any petrol if I had a full electric car going an unasstounding 100kms or more per charge. (My daily commute is only 20kms per day)

Given our 240v supply we would charge our them 2x faster than the americans could.

• crasher7 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:11 pm

I saw this on Autocar, is it true that Prius is coming to Malaysia soon?

• domo8 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:33 pm

My 1992 VW Jetta TDI used to get me 40 MPG! You mean to tell me that I should be excited about a car that gets similar fuel economy. I am dissapointed VW hasn’t jumped on the bandwagon and launched a deisel hybrid. Anyway, the 2009 VW Jetta should beat 50 MPG. I’ll take that over a hybrid anyday.

• ragnahse (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:37 pm

4G63T DSM said,

Given our 240v supply we would charge our them 2x faster than the americans could.

__________________________________________________________________________-

that’s not how it works mate…

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Enough hybrids…..only saves a lil bit of fuel and still emits smokes..
    Its time for full electric cars now….looks like only honda so far producing electric cars that emitted drinkable H20…but only limited production & not for sale. May be my children would be driving one…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Hybrids, full electrics n what have you……….never liked the idea.

They can’t go as far n as fast as what we have today. You ‘greenies’ out there might say that I’m not environment-friendly, but hey man, the environment is going to GO anyway. Too late saving it now! Better enjoy what we have now before we GO too! Ha!Ha!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:12 pm

King Samurai said,
    January 13, 2009 @ 3:59 pm

—————————————–

one problem with electric cars right now is, the smoke is released elsewhere when you charge your car. in malaysia’s case, the power station will be emitting your share of emissions.

there is also the future to think about.. as we dont really know whats the infrastructure for recycling of spent batteries right now if these cars start to sell in the millions. that could potentially be an environmental hazard.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:15 pm

err..the exterior look is more or less like the old one?

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Malaysian can only see and saliva their face…srupt~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:40 pm

eew….prius

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Why not go Honda FCX clarity. It is a better car, faster, drives normally. Runs on hydrogen, not some batteries like toyota

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Is it really that green ??

I mean all those medias are saying that hybrid car are saving the planet ..

Hang on a minute,

FYI, to manufacture the battery they have to mine the nickel, which in the process of making it pollutes the environment. And that stuff doesnt appears in anywhere on the ground ..

then they have to ship it to China or Japan to make it into battery.
    Then they have to ship the car to all over the world ..

So, overall, it doesnt really save the planet ..

I think the way to consume less fuel is change your driving style.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 9:07 pm

this year Q3 2009 ,malaysia will coming the second generation toyota prius. i guess…

• csv (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:21 pm

more or less looks the same.

thought the headlamps are pretty similar to 370z, not a surprise given that most motor companies are copying each other right now.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:32 am

lambov12,

lol, that statement from 1st ep in Top Gear S11. The exact reason why environmentalists are hypocrites.

• David9988 (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:22 am

mystvearn said,

January 13, 2009 @ 7:56 pm

Why not go Honda FCX clarity. It is a better car, faster, drives normally. Runs on hydrogen, not some batteries like toyota

Well if ur willing to pay 1 million usd (before tax), and install a hydrogen gas station in ur garage..be my guest.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:08 am

to get the electricity u have to build dams.
    here in swak, we r planning to build more dams.

bakun pun blom siap lagi..
    even if the dams r in operation, no guarantee that we swkian will njoy lower tariff..

prius suffered from massive recall..
    i dun remember for which defects….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:37 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 14, 2009 @ 1:23 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    January 13, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

King Samurai said,

—————————————————————-
    at least it’s better than the stupid p1.
    ———————————-

i also think its better, better than your totally pointless comment.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:22 am

BykMskWokshp,

Korek Korek Korek :P
    (correct correct correct)

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:49 am

Nice! a quiet hybrid is really friendly to the passengers. This will spoil Honda’s attempt to capture the hybrid market, hehe…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:09 pm

January 14, 2009 @ 8:37 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 14, 2009 @ 1:23 am

January 13, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

King Samurai said,

—————————————————————-
    at least it’s better than the stupid p1.
    ———————————-

i also think its better, better than your totally pointless comment.

—————————-
    and theyre both better than you

• shamel (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I’m Honda fan BUT when it come to hybrid, SUV l think Toyota has upper hand than Honda. Toyota follow Corolla Altis, Alphard, Crown, Majesta trend, all share common underpinning with somewhat fresh exterior styling (even Odyssey Mk 4follow same step taken by Toyota).

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:50 pm

I know beauty is subjective but those headlamps are just obscene!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Save our planet! Drive a turbodiesel! =D

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Akazamabamaboo said,

January 14, 2009 @ 8:56 pm

Save our planet! Drive a turbodiesel! =D
    —————————
    exactly, diesels rules

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 4:09 pm

Our family has a Prius (2006 model) and we are moving back to Malaysia soon, but if this comes out soon, will this Prius be available in Malaysia? We have doubts about our Prius being in KL coz of lack in service+products for Hybrid vehicles. If there will be this 2009 prius on Malaysian shores soon, i guess we have to sell our current for the much better (i think) HyPri.

• Drinkwrong on Apr 21, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Paul, i read somewhere that UMW will be bringing in Prius 2nd half 09, is it true? Cause i did call toyota earlier and they said that they have no plan bringing those.

• cliff on May 03, 2009 at 9:22 am

I saw this latest Prius at Federal Highway just now without a number plate, is it true that it'll come to M'sia soon?

• Zo Xin on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:14 pm

How much in RM?????????? Wondering…… I love Prius 2010.

• Victor on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:35 pm

Stupid government and UMW Toyota! If can afford RM178k sure no need worry pay fuel morelor…better not build any environment freindly car!!!! Crazy car world!!! Think logically do practically!!!!

• kuriang on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:53 pm

u all can see a lot of prius at toyota Shah alam..

• Buggatti on Aug 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm

I beleive by 2020 Proton electric cars will do better than Toyota Prius!

• Buggatti on Aug 15, 2009 at 12:07 am

I believe that Proton Satria and Exora are the best new cars in the world! go 1MALAYSIA!!

• Bullshit on Aug 15, 2009 at 12:38 am

Bullshit… go for green is just a slogan to increase selling price from 120k to 150k… pay 30k to save the green…. I better buy 120k car and plant a tree everyday… I believe with 30k, I can plant a lot of tree…. Bullshit.

• sumith soysa on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:53 pm

dear sir
    i am insrilanka.at the movement i am using 3rd genaretion prius high brid toyota 2009 with sunroof. iwont change to your language for english wesion to my redio.pls advice me how to change this tks your faith fully sumith

• sumith soysa on Mar 08, 2013 at 7:38 pm

dear sir i wont to know what is ev mode power mode and eco mode mining. iam using now toyota synergy sunroof model