Honda Accord CrossTour aimed at the Venza

Honda Accord CrossTour

Honda will not leave BMW and Toyota to play alone in the new segment that they seem to have carved out for themselves with the Toyota Venza and the BMW 5-Series Gran Turismo. VWVortex forum member GoVdubSPEEDGo/M. Balisky spotted two of these lightly taped up Accord CrossTour crossovers up in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in southeastern US.

The side profile can be quite positively identified as similiar to the US/Asian market Honda Accord, with a sloping hatchback rear end and previous gen Accord Coupe-like rear lights. Acura will have its own similiar segment vehicle called the Acura ZDX.

Look after the jump for more photos.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=309]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aliBaPa on Jun 01, 2009 at 10:45 am

toyota venza

what a weird name

sounds like toyota avanza

• kinda ugly and bulky

looks very unbalance

• peYno on Jun 01, 2009 at 1:42 pm

malaysian like japanese design

but now all japanese car maker move to european design..

pity malaysian ah beng

• mystvearn on Jun 01, 2009 at 2:32 pm

Why is everyone going into this kind of market at the moment… You don't get that much space with that new roof design. No extra seats. The only thing I can see is that the rear roof is now streamlined with the front part. But I thought mazda had this area covered for quite some time now.

• not really..if u check out Toyota Venza in youtube..u'll be amazed by its spacious interior n nicely done interior..it wil sure b a big heat if it enters de mallaysian market…it's so so beautiful…n it's nt a weird name overall…there's stil so many weird name out there..Nissan Qashqai?..

• Toyota is to blame, all looks like prius. Big or small.

• Toyota Venza is definitely the most beautiful crossover ever built!!!…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 01, 2009 at 8:43 pm

i dont think we will ever see this car in malaysia.. definitely targetted to the european market.

• BMW new GT 5 series lookalike..

• [quote comment="242558"]i dont think we will ever see this car in malaysia.. definitely targetted to the european market.[/quote]

It's only made for de american market…great specs inside..3.5L V6 engine,6 speed gearbox,dual zone air cond,6 airbags etc. though we wont c it here..but really like tat car very much..really hope tat UMW can bring it in..haha

• Gajen on Jun 02, 2009 at 12:08 am

erm…this looks very very weird…i find the toyota venza way nicer..looks sleeker and sportier…

• mystvearn on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:15 am

[quote comment="242505"]not really..if u check out Toyota Venza in youtube..u'll be amazed by its spacious interior n nicely done interior..it wil sure b a big heat if it enters de mallaysian market…it's so so beautiful…n it's nt a weird name overall…there's stil so many weird name out there..Nissan Qashqai?..[/quote]

Nissan qashqai is a high vehicle, smaller version of murano. But 2 wheel drive if I'm not mistaken. Its meter cluster is in the middle. Other than that, it looks descent, and can be plain boring.

• bmpower on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:20 pm

fugly!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:57 pm

I don't get this. If they can come up with this, why not bring back the Accord wagon? Its even more odd these are tested in US. Last time I checked, the Americans really didn't have an afinity to hatchbacks…..much like our local market.