Chevrolet Cruze to get 5-door hatch variant

Holden Cruze

GM’s Australian car company Holden will take charge of the development of a 5-door hatchback version of the Chevrolet Cruze, which would be the replacement for the Chevrolet Optra5 which was sold here in Malaysia. The project will cost AU$600 million and Holden will build it alongside the Cruze sedan at its Elizabeth plant in South Australia from Q3 2010 onwards, and the company also intends to export it.

Holden says it needs a hatchback car as they claim Australia’s largest passenger car segment in terms of volume consists roughly half of hatchbacks. It used to bring the Astra in as an offering but decided to stop because of currency fluctuations.

Holden will use the Cruze platform (of which global platform also underpins the new Astra) and build a hatchback version positioned in a more upmarket position compared to the Cruze sedan. It will have an “European” feel that will lean more towards how the Astra feels rather than the Cruze, thanks to steering and suspension input from Holden.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• siogan on Jun 06, 2009 at 9:04 am

just another car xp

• wakakakaka

• Nutty on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:30 pm

Oh My God, the front looks like a Honda Accord with bigger 'nose'.

• tasha on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:31 pm

Holden cars are famous for their radial tuned suspension to withstand toughness and durabilty .

The Australian outback road conditions are mostly tough and with this suspension design input , this car will have much better road holding than ever in Malaysia simply because our roads here aren't as tough as Australia .

Not even the Japanese can mastered this sort of suspension tuning .

Salute but sad as this sort of tuning should have been done in the sedan version instead for Malaysian market .

• hidz7 on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:14 pm

looks like honda accord to me…running out of idea to design a car?

• afkar on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:29 pm

the design is ok..

hey, com'on!

this is the world's current design language..

• normal_user on Jun 06, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Those who comment blindly on the Cruze's design here are just 'lalat'. Come one, pics of Chevy Cruze have long been posted on Paul's site. Go and check the previous posts.

Its a world design, and i can't see at all how it closely resembles the Accord. The headlight itself is very distinct from the Accord. The design is even better than the Civic/Altis/Lancer.

• Srotong on Jun 06, 2009 at 9:40 pm

"Its a world design, and i can’t see at all how it closely resembles the Accord. The headlight itself is very distinct from the Accord. The design is even better than the Civic/Altis/Lancer." normal_user.

Yep. And it doesn't have those two front forks/teeth like the new kia thingy. Only problem i see is that Chevys aren't as reliable and sorted out as the Japs. Depends on pricing though, as their Optras are loafers.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 06, 2009 at 10:22 pm

With GM going bankrupt the future of this model or even Holden is going on rough roads, even if the car is selling well. Looks like a nice car… too bad.

• Jimbo on Jun 06, 2009 at 10:51 pm

The funny thing is Holden is still turning a profit whereas Malaysia's Proton is continuously declaring losses every financial year. Without the Malaysian govt. Proton would have been bankrupt years ago. Proton makes cars that are at least a decade behind every other manufacturer they are only competitive in their home market due to tariffs. Whereas, as crap as GM products may be, they are still competitive and sell reasonably.

• HONDA ACCORD? BUT I STILL PREFER HONDA ENGINE THAN THIS AMERICAN BRAND

• mystvearn on Jun 07, 2009 at 1:58 am

Holden is under Ford right? They can use Chevy car for their car?

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2009 at 8:05 am

Holden is under GM.

• EricG on Jun 07, 2009 at 8:46 am

hey paul, i tot naza or sumthing2 is bringing the cruze here in msia on july. read it sumwhere in the newspaper. fyi, wentworth miller is the ambassador for this car model *blush

• reminds me of nissan

• lambolover on Jun 07, 2009 at 9:29 am

reminds me of nissan

• alan6113 on Jun 07, 2009 at 8:45 pm

look like honda accord hahahahahhahaha

• afkar on Jun 07, 2009 at 9:15 pm

lets stop comparing it to accord..

i cant see much of its resemblance to the honda's pride..(agree to normal_user)

it's the world design..

u cannot condemn the kia borrego 4 havin the headlamps similar to the harrier's..

or to the merc to put the japanese lexus face on their new e-class..

hahah..

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:39 pm

I can see the apeal of a hatch version. Once you owned a hatch, its difficult to let go of its flexibility. Better still, why not a wagon version? the Optra had one, why not this?

I don't really see any resemblence to the Accord either, except maybe the 4 round tyres.

• lazyf on Jun 08, 2009 at 4:46 pm

the LOGO is different now…

• slum in bolehland on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:37 pm

aiyo all condemn look like accord but do u all watch WTCC.

cruze car can tapau bmw3 and seat car with tdi engine…

just think back la….

when accord look like merc how u denied it…

• alansmithz (Member) on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:59 am

The more u all mentioned Honda Accord, the more I remember how unrefined & unfinished the current Accord is, as compared to the current Toyota Camry. After awhile, I get bored with the Accord look. The Camry look has aged better:)

I won't mistaken this Cruze with the current Accord bcos as a car lover, this will be an insult.

I can see some of the commentator here can't even tell a chicken from a duck.

What ashame!!!

• SellRonaldoLaFergie on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:14 am

One Stupid question…

Rear headroom ok ka??? hopefully not like Gen.2…

another one laaa… if headroom ok… how a bout seating position??? too low like a gokart no good also…

anyway go and have a look at show room is better laa…

• Lakers 09 Champion on Jun 18, 2009 at 10:12 pm

put this next to Gen2… and waaalaaah…. =p