Who are these Litespeed guys anyway?

litespeedlogo

I found an interesting Nino Judge interview on racinginside.com last night. You can read the full interview by clicking this link but below are some key relevant interesting points that were revealed. The Lotus F1 Team is backed by Tune, Naza and Litespeed and I know alot of you are wondering who Litespeed are.

• Nino Judge was an R&D engineer at the old Team Lotus which has since quit racing. The new team name is Lotus F1 Team, not Team Lotus.
  • He was the first person to make flow visualisation of sub sonic wings using Shear sensitive liquid crystals work, which is now a standard tool used by all F1 teams.

The Litespeed name first cropped up on this site when it was revealed that they submitted an F1 team entry application under the name Lotus, which sparked some controversy later as Lotus released a statement that they had nothing to do with this “Lotus” team and are not very happy with their name being used like that.

Of course later this has all been “settled” as Proton has agreed to license the Lotus name to the Litespeed F1 team, which is one and the same as Lotus F1 Team and the 1Malaysia F1 Team that keeps getting mentioned in the local media.

In another piece of news, Tune’s Datuk Kamarudin Meranun says the team will be able to make money in the first year! They seem very confident in the so-called Midas touch that the Tune Group has, claiming that this is what they have always done with their other ventures. The proposed stakeholding right now is 55:35:10 between Tune, SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin (in his personal capacity, not Naza’s), and Litespeed. It was originally 60:40 when Litespeed was not in the picture.

Main revenue drivers will be sponsorship, merchandise sales, and Formula One Management profit sharing. Tony Fernandes pointed out that the Lotus brand can be monetised in many ways and shared that there was one F1 brand that raked in £150mil worth of T-shirts sales.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• huiyooooo on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:22 pm

SM Nasarudin personal capacity?? that very rich person to own 35% of shares in a F1 company

• MADBOY on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Last time when Alex Yoong was in Formula 1, alot of malaysian companies want to be the sponsor and get the press ads. Then later we know that a lot of the companies did not actually paid the sponsorship money and the team need to initiate legal action to get the money.

Will this happen to the new Lotus F1 Team?

• chaos on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Nasarudin own money?? he's that rich hah?? how come never heard of him in forbes?? or malaysia's top 40?? this is crazy stuff man!!

• MADBOY on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:57 pm

chaos said,

September 29, 2009 @ 3:42 pm

Nasarudin own money?? he’s that rich hah?? how come never heard of him in forbes?? or malaysia’s top 40?? this is crazy stuff man!!

—————————————————————

Becouse NAZA is not a Public Listed Company. So no need to disclosure anything to the public.

• oricon666 on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:59 pm

@ chaos

Aiyo… Lu tau Gua tau ok lah…. Like chemistry, sometimes some substance is light-sensitive… Once expose to light, it vanished….

• xavier lert on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:06 am

argh!!!! i wish im that rich ….

• An overtly enthusiastic combination IMO.

Let's see some Tune's midas magic.

• Qoute… "there was one F1 brand that raked in £150mil worth of T-shirts sales"

——-

That's not surprising… Real Madrid purchased of David Backham £27mil back then was covered by t-shirt sales in the first 3 months!

I know that not all commented here are business people… but please educate yourself better before easily awestruck with some amount of money. Better still, after posting comment(s) here or anywhere do yourself a favour and do business & get rich.

It's so pathetic seeing majority people here complaining cannot affort this and that but do nothing about it apart from waiting others to spoon feed them.

• laburit on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:32 am

hope can win a race….

• kimi_ on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:36 am

The NAZA chap are so rich because of it is the largest AP holder….

Wonder why RAFIDAH give so many AP to just few people and make them INSTANT BILLONAIRE……

Why not GIVE EQUALLY to others too……

• 1Malaysia on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:36 am

Better you just hope to get some point because 1MF1T not to be 2nd BrawnGP can win the race on 1st year.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:39 am

Nasarudin's money come from those person who buy car from company under Naza Group & also money from AP

• "…Midah touch"

lol. That's brilliant. A Malaysian answer to king Midas.

• Najibest on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:07 am

wow!….making money from the 1st year of operation…i wonder if they term profit in this way:

"profit = sponsor money + merchandise sales + revenue sharing – their money"

they have said earlier on that the budget of the F1 team would be around 40 million pound per year..to make a profit meaning they need to at least make 41 million pound per year….

at least 10 million pound would be spent on the standard engine, transmission and aerodynamics by cosworth, fondtech and xtrac….now we need to build our own chasis, pay bridgestone for the use of their tires and rent the facilities in UK…

now include costs to hire top brains and drivers to do the job (mike gascoyne doesn't come cheap) and travelling cost all over the world.

i doubt a team using 2006 spec engine would get much revenue sharing from f1 for the 1st year, unless the FIA somehow decided that the new teams won't be bound by the current rules, since they would certainly be at the bottom of the standings….

i remember super aguri was a team sponsored by Honda (meaning cheap engine supply) but even they fold due to the extreme cost involved in running an F1 team…

i guess this is more of a corporate people speaking about making profit even before somethings is started…typical way to attract sponsors…

• fredo on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:29 am

ooo. it thought it was a typo for midas..lol.

• ReactiX on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:40 am

Make money the 1st year ke lost all money the 1st year? ceh…

btw, paul, update for P2 MPV
    http://strinx84.multiply.com/photos/album/65/NEW_…

• Why not use Malaysian name, instead of LiteSpeed?

they can try using:-

Sakti Speed

Bakti Speed

Satria Speed

Wira Speed

Waja Speed, etc…

Baru best, right?

• Commenter on Sep 30, 2009 at 2:23 am

Bodoh. they already use LiteSpeed name before this 1Malaysia F1 thing. They use it for so long already, bet they don't know they going to be join venture with Malaysia companies when they name it.

Moral of story, opposition leaders not just creating people with negative mindset but also dumb enough not to think before post.

• ahmad norman on Sep 30, 2009 at 2:40 am

To correct zain in this matter best name for team malaysia F! is NO Speed

• Zain,

I suggest Nurlaju. Or for instant celebrity status we can name it Siti Nurlaju.

• nadzri m yusof on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:30 am

Why make noise naza got ap's, so many ap's and permits issue to others and so called raja gula, somemore not patriotics based in HK. If Pakatan rules also they will continue same policy. Why must use bidding if only one color group only benefits.

Peace…

• from nothing come the failure

from the failure come the experience

from the experience come the success

from the success come the greatness

from the greatness it time to bow down to god

that wat we should strife

sori off topic

• singh on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:55 am

Yes, i agreed that merchandise sales can reach 150M pound per year. I bought many F1 merchandise but only for top team la. I believe Ferrari & Mclaren can achieve it . But lower team like force india or Toro Rosso can sell that much. Its reality. Like exp: A ManU jersey can cost RM250 but Malaysia jersey less than RM80. Both from same sponsor, Nike. Can some1 explain on that? its bout d team. So we must make 1MF1 to the top in F1 before can achieve that much of sales in T-shirt…. :) Go go malaysia. Lets buy 1MF1 shirts when its launch. Be pround of Malaysia.

• bobdbilder on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:16 am

I am not a businesman but I do sell premium German made bit and pieces. So I do know a little bit what it needs to sell stuff to people. And I did previously say that I would understand why Tune Money or AirAsia would get their mileage from this. Its part of their Branding plan much like what Virgin did.

I just cannot stop and feel like this is all beginning to sound like a Ponzi scheme. The one about trying to get sponsorhip… But everyone on F1 does it. Yes, you can make money out of the Lotus badge. Lotus have been doing it all this while. See below.

http://www.lotuscarswebstore.co.uk/index.asp

I do miss the British Racing Green and the John Player Specials. Even the Brabham.

But its not the T shirts that would bring the money, its the licensing and advertisement space. But people would buy it if the team was a winner or perceived to be drafting behind P1 and not just hoping to get a point. Even the Englsih would buy it.

You will end up spending money on at least 3 years of agressive selling before you get in a position where punters really would like one of those shirts or obscure swiss watches. You need a race car on F1, and a production sports car. A finisher in Nurburgring 24H would also help.

Sure, yeah locals would buy overpriced T shirts or cap or car stickers. But it won't be big bucks would they? You need to sell it to the Europeans.

• bobdbilder on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:30 am

If this thing does take off, I'll bet

a) That LCCT at Labu will 'suddenly' get a go ahead or

b) AirAsia moves to Subang

c) Naza gets Proton shares

d) Pug engines for Proton

Irrespective of whether the team loses or not, the people will be appeased by seeing a Lotus at the starting grid.

• henry on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:59 am

If you look at the shareholder propositions, it's clear Team F1 Lotus is just another SBU of that company. He's smart enough to get the whole country+govt into this, bizman maa. But he gotta make it work..I'm neutral in this.

Definitely someone gonna sell the T-shirt n stuffs on air..

• they know their gang will be in petro nas bod, so they need to get the big wallet ready to receive lots of sponsorship money.

• intelligent basher.. on Sep 30, 2009 at 8:44 am

haritu kate membazir duit rakyat,bila nak buat untung kte mcmni plak.haih.rugi pun salah,utg pun salah.

• paxter on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:37 am

What la some ppl shoot with out looking is become the norm for malaysians

btw TTDI (the developer) is part of the naza group that it self is a huge real estate brand. They have tons of other ventures beyond AP franchise, products, realestate, naza the car, investment/financial arm besides even if they have an x amount of ap at least they did something with the money from it rather than the others who are a joke of a business men. Anyway Naza group isnt listed so you never know how much they actually make. they very well be in the top 20 in malaysia for all you know.+ those two are damn bloody young k…

I hope petronas stay out of it. The huha about this whole 1 malaysia f1 being a national G funded team is bad publicity for petronas they might as well wait for what happends with sauber if they do get the 14th team entry

• Hadi1975 on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Salam… Kpd commenter Jgn sesuka hati panggil org bodoh…. Lagi satu bila org post yg tak sealiran dgn ur pov jgn memain tuduh parti politik punya ajaran… Ini blog pasal keta…. So blog la pasal keta jgn nak menyimpang ke lain… Yg post tu dia punya pov so have some respect la bro…. Ciao… :-)

• nighttrain on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:41 pm

So, which part of the car is the best place to tampal Prai Sugar? I suggest at least the top 10 largest conglomerates in Malaysia should step in and sponsor. At least the G should hint them to do so.

Somehow I can't get the 'feel' of an actual Lotus F1 team when knowing that Lotus Motorsports or any part of Lotus company is not involved. It's like watching Usain Bolt running at the Olympics wearing an American uniform. Well, all the best to all new local staff of Lotus F1 Team. Try your best, coz white folks' working and professional ethics especially in F1 is 'no lepak'.

• Diablo on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Ad to the fact that Naza group has created many jobs with the setting up of their assembly factories. The late Tan Sri Nasimuddin did good. He deserves credit for his success. Most shortsighted businessmen would have simply 'ali baba' the AP they got from the govt

• Squawk on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Internally, the Na za way of running business is… messy. If not for the AP revenue, they'll find it hard to survive.

Bubba Gum pis also owned by them but the food is *deleted*

• Gula Perai,

Bernas,

Genting,

Public Bank,

Maybank

?PortKlang&PKFZ?..

• PLUS, MTD, Litrak..

dedicate one day of toll collection for 1Malaysia F1…..

heh… long shot…

• longjaafar on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:57 pm

Honda and the others must be very stupid to pull out when other people can make money even during the first year of operations!

• singh on Oct 01, 2009 at 1:44 am

longjaafar said,

September 30, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

Honda and the others must be very stupid to pull out when other people can make money even during the first year of operations!

U're rite Longjaafar. F1 is the most profitable business in the world now. Wonder why others are pulling out now. Toyota also wana pull out now. malaysia are the smartest, hehe

• ATS, Coloni, Simtek, Life, Pacific, Spirit, Onyx, Fondmetal, Forti. Looks like there will be a new addition to this list soon.

• Why it soooooooo hard for some people in here to understand the pull-out of Honda and maybe followed by Toyota soon… is because these two T & H company are already established companies… not winning races in F1 hurt their corporate image more!

These two conglomerates combined worth 1.7 trillions dollar… THAT'S TRILLION! Do you think they care for yearly budget of 200 millions to participate in F1… but NOT WINNING??

I know not all in here are coming from business background, but please, if you have sooooooo much time to comment here, meaning you're spending time on the internet… why dont along the way you go & learn something over the internet so that your comments don't sound like tin kosong!

/rant over.

• Maamong on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Make money in 1st year?? Wow, why didn’t other companies think of this before, we can have hundreds of cars on the grid and no one will ever quit F1 if it is so easy to make money. Bernie will be so happy, he is counting his millions. Oh, ok, I got it wrong, maybe the owners make the money. After 1 year, sell the team to a GLC who pays an exorbitant sum. After all, we cannot have a Malaysian team fail after only 1 year right, Malaysia Boleh.

I agree with Singh and Bobdbilder on the merchandise, only the top teams (Ferrari & Mclaren) with enough following can make all that money from merchandising. It will be many years before 1MF1 can get to that stage and they need to be at the top in F1 before can achieve that much of sales.

Similarly on Petronas, I agree with Paxter, I hope they STAY OUT OF IT.

The cost far outweighs the benefits.

• shaif on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Thanks kim for some biz education here…I believe the t-shirt alone will be a hit among youngster and perhaps mat rempit wannabe…Even it can flourish our local t-shirt biz, sinve F1 alone generate more interest among student, if compared with other motorsport.

It must create a buzz just like what Shebbie and KJ did last time on MyTeam. Eventhough, the team is not well known right now, but it manage to pull interest among young people on footbal.

No doubt, F1 fever will be a good thing for local biz as well as the international global name. Well biz is all about making money and taking risk. No risk, no gain.

• @ shaif…

kudos to you… im glad young people like you are open minded and open to constructive criticism. All the best in life & after to you my saudara.

• Slayer on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:20 am

And also pirate t-shirt will boom as well

• Elvis on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:24 am

I see a lot of Kim comments suggesting that he or she is very good in business and that Kim understand that this is BUSINESS DECISION and we here are stupid and dont understand business so better shut up….We wait and see if this venture turn out profitable as suggested by Tony and friends. And from the look of it, actually i am very doubtful. Can make 150 millions selling T-shirts? Dont you know about copycats T-shirts? It's easy to make copies of T-Shirts and i think most of us dont care about original T-Shirrts unless you are filthy rich dudes out there. And you are trying to get sponsors for a very new team. But i think PM oledi spoil it for commenting too earlier on this….

• makan makan on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:37 am

Kim, well said..

• singh said,

September 30, 2009 @ 5:44 pm

longjaafar said,

September 30, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

U’re rite Longjaafar. F1 is the most profitable business in the world now. Wonder why others are pulling out now. Toyota also wana pull out now. malaysia are the smartest, hehe

————————————————–

the point that we forget is honda car sales drops in the us and around the world (but not all countries) during the time they out not because F1. they just want to reduce outflow of money.but still losses money.. they made no profit eg like GM..that cost of going big. slump is sales cause the economic of sales will disturb. diff with proton sales mainly locally they even increase sales of car.ask the people who know economic they know better.. im just studies a little bout economic

• @ Elvis…

(if possible) read all my comments again… NEVER ONCE i said those who dont know anything about business to shut up.

Im sure you're a very young, very eager youth who want their opinion to be heard in the inter-web. All i'm asking is, as a fellow countryman, people like you, others and even me myself educate OUR SELF better… so that our opinion is heard to the level of constructive acceptance.

I dont rugi anything if anybody make stupid or tin kosong comments… but those commenters are on the losing end because nobody gonna take the comments seriously. And if nobody going to take that comments seriously, why bother commenting in the 1st place… betul?

Even at my age im still learning a lot from the internet. All i want is my fellow countrymen, regardless or their background to do the same…

/rant over.

• @ makan – makan…

TQvm.

• osh_kosh on Oct 02, 2009 at 8:31 pm

@Kim,

u have my highest respect… :)

• Elvis said,

October 1, 2009 @ 6:24 pm

I see a lot of Kim comments suggesting that he or she is very good in business and that Kim understand that this is BUSINESS DECISION and we here are stupid and dont understand business so better shut up….We wait and see if this venture turn out profitable as suggested by Tony and friends. And from the look of it, actually i am very doubtful. Can make 150 millions selling T-shirts? Dont you know about copycats T-shirts? It’s easy to make copies of T-Shirts and i think most of us dont care about original T-Shirrts unless you are filthy rich dudes out there. And you are trying to get sponsors for a very new team. But i think PM oledi spoil it for commenting too earlier on this….

————————————————————–

only sub-normal person…think like that..no vision at all..think -ve all time.. if u start a business..wat u do..from your perspective i see..sell some ok maa still sell wat…in other hand high vision person i wan to sell as many as i can

1 thing to remember dont exaggerate..if ur business start rm200 don ever thing to profit rm billion.time will tell….but if u involve business million n million xkan nak untung rm200 kot kan

• @ osh_kosh

TQ my friend… that's very generous of u.

• Mohamad Iqbal on Oct 12, 2009 at 1:48 am

There is something nice to be share here..

It's related to our F1 team also..

might be some will come out with +ve -ve response ;)

source: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?saved&&s…

"Iklan di TV dan Media Penyiaran (Siri 11)

“Media baru boleh menjadi pilihan yang lebih baik dari media tradisi untuk mengiklan dan mempromosi perniagaan anda”

Cuba bayangkan anda sedang menonton program kegemaran anda di TV, tiba-tiba program tersebut diberhentikan dan digantikan dengan mesej komersial – iklan. Apakah yang anda rasa ketika itu? Geram, marah, menyampah dan sebagainya. Anda punyai kurang pilihan kerana semua rangkian TV mengamalkan perkara yang sama.

Jika anda faham, perasaan marah ini akan diimbangi oleh rasional mengapa iklan tersebut perlu diselitkan semasa penyiaran. Anda tahu, inilah punca utama pendapatan rangkian TV dan pengiklan melaksanakan keaedah pemasaran menggangu. Biasannya, inilah masanya yang sesuai untuk anda bagun dari tempat duduk untuk melakukan sesuatu termasuk pergi ke bilik air. Dalam erti kata lain, anda tidak memperdulikan iklan tersebut.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, tahu benar mengenai kos tinggi mengiklan di TV dan kesan positif daripada promosi melalui TV. Beliau memberikan justifikasi mengapa Kerajaan Malaysia membuat keputusan tepat untuk melabur lebih dari RM 1 billion setahun untuk melibatkan diri dalam perlumbaan Formula One.

Menurut Dr Mahathir, kita perlu membelanjakan sebanyak US$ 1 juta (lebih kurang RM3.5 juta) untuk mengiklan & mempromosi Malaysia di TV Jepun selama tiga minit.

“ Dengan perlumbaan F1, Malaysia dipamerkan kepada dunia berjam-jam lamanya. Kita tida perlu membayar satu sen pun. Jika kita mengira kos pengiklan di Jepun sahaja, kita mungkin perlu sebanyak RM 100 juta atau RM 200 juta. Jadi bayangkan….lebih dari 300 station TV menyiarkan secara langsung perlumbaan F1 ini. Orang ramai akan mengetahui lebih tentang Malaysia jika kita memiliki team F1 sendiri”

Ramai percaya, iklan penyiaran melalui TV paling berkesan. Saya mengakui kebenarannya. Sehingga hari ini iklan di TV adalah kaedah yang paling berkesan untuk mengiklankan produk atau perkhidmatan perniagaan anda. Saya tidak mahu banyak memperkatakan tentang itu. Tetapi apa yang saya mahu perkatakan ialah tentang kos pengiklanan yang sangat tinggi. Berapa ramai dikalangan usahawan yang mampu mengiklankan produk atau perkhidmatan mereka melalui TV? Jawapannya, sudah tentu hanya segelintir usahawan besar.

Bagi usahawan yang baru memulakan perniagaan atau usahawan kecil & sederhana bagaimana? Marilah saya sampaikan satu berita baik untuk semua. Beberapa kajian di US menunjukan, kini orang ramai lebih banyak menghabiskan masa mereka di hadapan komputer berbanding di TV. Angka ini lebih ketara jika perkiraan menjurus kepada genarasi X dan Y. Jadi apakah maksud tersirat dari kajian ini? Tentunya ia memberi tahu kita bahawa peranan dan pengaruh internet sudah mula mengatasi TV. Lantas potensi membuat iklan & promosi di internet semakin hari semakin popular dan berkesan.

Iklan yang berkesan adalah iklan yang boleh sampai terus kepada kumpulan sasaran. Atau dengan kata lain anda boleh menyampaikan mesej perniagaan terus kepada pengguna produk dan perkhidmatan anda. Inilah kunci kepada semua kaedah pengiklanan berkesan. Dari awal lagi, saya cuba tunjukan bagaimana kaedah penyiaran tradisi seperti bilboard, media cetak dan penyiaran elektronik sukar melakukan tugas sedemikian.

Dalam siri yang akan datang, kita akan terus membincangkan bagaimana internet dan aplikasi teknologi web 2.0 atau media baru boleh menjadi pilihan yang lebih baik dari media tradisi untuk mengiklankan perniagaan anda."

END :)

so..what i saw here,this F1 not launch yet but it got huge discussion on the net(ex:paultan,zerotohundred etc) now without we notice it. Also,by accidentally it was unexpected advertisement for Proton,Lotus also Malaysia :)

PEACE

• nudin on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:04 pm

kimi_ said,

September 29, 2009 @ 4:36 pm

The NAZA chap are so rich because of it is the largest AP holder….

Wonder why RAFIDAH give so many AP to just few people and make them INSTANT BILLONAIRE……

Why not GIVE EQUALLY to others too

why still cemburu with naza…i just doubt it

ppl who sell others foreign car also be milionair for long long time ago

• fan of it on Jan 07, 2010 at 10:15 pm

why is everyone so bothered when none here are actually funding the project or is indirectly…anyways…freedom of speech…say what u wanna say eventhough its stupid or not,i think its great that this businessman are actually doing something to put malaysian brand names out there to be known worldwide rather than the other who just sit and comment on what others are doing even if its a good thing