Gallery: Lotus F1 drivers in Malaysia

lotus drivers visit coe

I just got back from Proton’s Centre of Excellence (COE) in Shah Alam, where newly named Lotus F1 drivers Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen paid a short visit to. They came, had a closed door meeting with Proton management, posed for a few pictures and left. I had hoped to squeeze in a short interview with the drivers but no such luck, as they had a plane to catch!

Heikki, being a Finn, looked really interested in the Proton Satria Neo S2000 rally car that just came from finishing second in the Rally of Scotland – he took a seat inside and asked plenty of questions. Perhaps he’ll have the itch to try it out someday and join fellow countryman Kimi Raikkonen in rallying! On the topic of the Neo S2000, we recently had the chance to ride in the car with Alister McRae as chauffeur in a real rally stage; look out for a post on the amazing experience!

Meanwhile, check out photos of the Lotus F1 drivers after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=679]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MALAYAdesign on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:29 pm

hope they they will do their best

• albagmane on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:30 pm

hope the finn and italian work well together next year!

• Good Job Lotus….KEEP IT UP…..

• nyawere on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:36 pm

first..>!!!

The Europa looks good…!! Always have.!

• olala

=)

• pakcik on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Suprisingly, fairuz seems a bit taller than Heiki and Trulli :)

• Sam Winchester on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:53 pm

really wonder… how can a person view this as a bad thing?

• mantois (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Good……

• mancunian on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:03 pm

GO MALAYSIA!!

F1 Malaysia gonna win the Grand Prix!!

• volks2 on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:09 pm

can't wait to c them driving the Lotus F1 car

• Leonardo on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:13 pm

I hope the Lotus team can put up some decent performance in the race next year. Realistically it will be difficultl, but not impossible, as shown by Brawn team, to get some points by mid season. all the best!

• ayam@lotus on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Kuning + biru = mcm baju outing sekolah aku dulu …

Anyway all d best …

• redwings on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Jarno seem a good choice but not Heikki. Heikki was driving a superb car last year and did pretty bad, just wonder how far he can go with Lotus F1Team.

• keane on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:42 pm

paul…

where can i get the official merchandise of 1M F1 Team?

• paxter on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:42 pm

All the best to the team, I am not expecting any wonders next year but i do hope its not a back marker… but with this drivers, lightspeed, mike gascoyne (wrong spelling i knw), cosworth engines seems like some dream team coming up.

On the other hand i pitty fairuz tho… test drivers in the current format are kinda pointless they cant do testing during race season… leaving him sitting by the side of the pagar looking at them racing. While waiting for his chance.

• squawk on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Close door meeting wit Proton management? I thought their involvement was only to license out the Lotus name, which wasn't really necessary anyway as I don't believe Lotus Restaurants had any closed door meetings with P1.

So will there be more involvement then, contrary to what the PM said?

• nmfairus on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm

gud luck lotus f1

• cmc80 on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:48 pm

past… heiki always be with SLR…SLS… AMG series…

now…

only satria….

trulli also the same…

• osh_kosh on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:37 pm

i still can't digest the news… Heikki? come on… for goodness sake! Heidfeld is better than him… *sigh*

• Akmal Fikri on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Why the name is not ProtonF1?

• Eyesore on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Well squawk, since they using Lotus's name and Lotus is 100% owned by proton… then it makes sense for them to have meeting with proton management…

maybe just for introduction and some warning so that they won't tarnish Lotus name.

• alpha0201 on Dec 16, 2009 at 12:07 am

Moving from big spenders Toyota to new small team. I hope Jarno Trulli able to adapt.

• carneo on Dec 16, 2009 at 12:13 am

can't wait to see the Lotus F1car …

• squawk on Dec 16, 2009 at 12:42 am

Hahahaha…. Warning. :-)

• Mysticmind on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:11 am

alpha0201 said,

December 15, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

Moving from big spenders Toyota to new small team. I hope Jarno Trulli able to adapt.

It's a good move btw.

Toyota is rubbish and useless in racing. They just made a 'durable and last longer (and boring)' car. But not a fast and champion racing car. None of their car a race champion!

Big 'spenders' doesn't mean you have big ehem! inside it. lol!

Need guts?

• dzulx on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:20 am

alpha0201 said,

December 15, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

————-

Haha did you know they flew in with Air Asia…

Just imagine…. used to first class every time they fly and now… have to pay 12 bucks for satay and 4 bucks for small bottle of water… hahaha

• frossonice on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:28 am

Aiya… Don't politicise everything la. Enjoy the F1 as it is.

• carsenthusiastdotblo on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:31 am

my heart beats faster when heard this news

• bga jd ank m`sia! on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:43 am

lantakla pape org ckp.. jnji bange jd ank m`sia!

• Mohd Nazri on Dec 16, 2009 at 1:57 am

all the best

• waklanproton on Dec 16, 2009 at 2:09 am

visiting The Big boss…welcome to Proton!

• badaveil on Dec 16, 2009 at 2:40 am

This is really one happy car!

• Crasher on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:23 am

What is there official company car? Proton Gen-2? Waja?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:09 am

no good

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:40 am

Crasher

What is there official company car? Proton Gen-2? Waja?

———————————————————

Maybe a Lotus Evora or Europa S :)

• planet on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:45 am

smlm baru je balik dr COE shah alam…….ada program 'My Proton Journey'

dpt lunch bersama bog boss proton….dibawa melawat kilang pembuatan exora….best gak ooo..dpt pengalaman…..dpt naiki lotus lg……pusing keliling track…..yg pasti masa melalui area R&D ada ternampak keta yg tidak diketahui identitinya…nampak dr jauh mmg cantik ooo…..tp tu laa nampak sekali pandang jee

• Sentul Cowboy on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:19 am

Ya, Lotus F1 will finished infront of Force India, that is we count the tally backwards…

• waste_bucket on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:01 am

Sentul Cowboy,

its shows you cowboy mentality…

• raixa on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:27 am

Hopefully F1 is just gonna get better this time like their golden day where sterling moss time, where smoking and girl 2 must have thing in the track.

• nigel de vries on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:53 am

i wonder why most of the news are from the principle owner with ref to mike rather than the ceo of lotus f1? ceo no credibility?

• budzer on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:31 am

It's going to be a real exciting F1 season next year.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 10:12 am

Let the rakyat's money spending spree begins!

• yeahaa on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:03 am

http://www.autoweek.com/article/20091215/CARNEWS/…

Another Ferrari man is heading for Lotus.

Donato Coco will take over as director of design for the British company on Jan. 4. He follows in the path of new Lotus CEO Dany Bahar, who was a sales executive for Ferrari.

Previously, Coco was director of design and development for Ferrari, where he worked on the 458 Italia, the F430, the Spider 16M, the California and the 599XX.

Coco also worked for Citroën, where he rose to chief designer. He was responsible for the Xsara, the Picasso, the C3 and other cars.

Russell Carr remains head of Lotus design, and he will continue to work on Lotus cars and its third-party projects.

“Lotus has a reputation for designing evocative sports cars, and it is a great honor to take on these responsibilities and challenges,” Coco said in a statement.

• Mufasa on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:16 am

yup rakyat money….but because of that world now malaysia,,,people come to malaysia….some invest, some put money here , and rakyat yg meniaga untung a,,, what other choise that gov have? keep rakyat money… no activity. no money to roll in rakyat? wait and see until petrol finished?

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:34 pm

SY0H, well it only involves a few thousands (or just a few ringgit) from your pocket… stfu… and stop acting like you have right to everything own by the govt. A lot more bigger tax payer in this country that support this…

The amount of tax paid by you is much much smaller than the subsidy the govt give to you… whether you realize it or not…. selfish b#$%^rd! Just becoz it does not benefit you, you deemed it as a waste…

• tengkurex on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:56 pm

planet said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:45 pm

smlm baru je balik dr COE shah alam…….ada program ‘My Proton Journey’

dpt lunch bersama bog boss proton….dibawa melawat kilang pembuatan exora….best gak ooo..dpt pengalaman…..dpt naiki lotus lg……pusing keliling track…..yg pasti masa melalui area R&D ada ternampak keta yg tidak diketahui identitinya…nampak dr jauh mmg cantik ooo…..tp tu laa nampak sekali pandang jee

I think its the new waja aka Mitsubishi Lancer GT

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Eyesore said,

December 16, 2009 @ 8:34 am

Hello, your statement up there is a bit dumb don't you think so?

It shows a "typical Gov mentality" to "cekik darah". Also known as I-G-N-O-R-A-N-T.

"Tak Apa" kinda mentality.

So, its ok to spend millions of ringgit for some racing event that will benefit very few people.

Using tax payers' money to finance a "nafsu serakah" event?

Figure it yourself ignorant people. It's either you're stupid (I forgive you) or you're an ignorant (this one I'll consider).

• No Faith…. will see

• MADBOY on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Jarno Trulli : Hey, Fairuz, you know how to drive or not? wasting my time, need to develop new car and now need to teach you how to drive also ahhh?

Fairuz : Sorry Jarno, I tot the car is ok.

Heikki Kovalainen : Aiya Jarno, give this kid some time la. At least he did not crash the car during practice at Monaco like Alex Yoong. Opsss, sorry, he is our boss now lah.

• squawk on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Waah, now they have ex-Citroen & ex-Ferrari designer. Will the F1 car have hydractive suspension with Lotus handling?

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:47 pm

Burning money again….hope they will learn the technology of F1 car and use it on Proton car, not just doing advertising.

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:50 pm

well well well… accusing me of ignorant…whilst in other proton's thread you yourself being ignorant by keep bringing on the old power window problem when it is already solved… bravo…

to you it only benefit a few ppl.. bcoz you have mindset of everything govt do that don't benefit you is a waste… typical…

to me.. without bias and open mind i can see a hundred ways of how this F1 project can benefit millions of Malaysian…

• zenzan (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:12 pm

from bharian 14.12.2009

Model ganti Waja tampil salinan Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT

PROTON Holdings Bhd yang mengukuhkan semula kehadirannya dalam industri automotif tempatan menerusi model pelbagai guna (MPV) Exora, bakal mengeluarkan satu lagi model sedan baru menjelang Julai atau Ogos tahun depan, dengan harga pengenalan sekitar RM80,000 seunit.

Model yang akan menggantikan Waja dan dikatakan mampu meningkatkan lagi penguasaan pasaran Proton dalam industri automotif tempatan dan antarabangsa itu, akan menampilkan salinan versi Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT yang dipertingkatkan.

• Its kinda weird seeing the pic with two Malaysians that are actually taller than the two 'Mat Sallehs'..

I just hope this project will translate into better cars for Malaysia in the future.

• Jumbsuck on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Yeahaa: “Lotus has a reputation for designing evocative sports cars, and it is a great honor to take on these responsibilities and challenges,” Coco said in a statement.

To ensure no Proton logo whatsoever on Lotus name is a great honor indeed. Avoid bad fengshui lah.

• chiewwl on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:54 pm

a white Lotus car wit 'crying' headlamp..

• mohgui (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:58 pm

though i've always been supporting the Prancing Horse, i'll always look out for Lotus F1. will cheer for them too.

go Lotus F1… silence your critics once and for all!

• Jumbsuck on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:59 pm

"to me.. without bias and open mind i can see a hundred ways of how this F1 project can benefit millions of Malaysian…"

Except how F1 can really improve Proton's power window and door handle when there's none in F1 car. But for sure the instant benefit for millions of Malaysian is to enjoy watching live TV of silly crashings' shock and awe.

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Jumbsuck, r u SY0H? since you keep bringing the solve power window and door handle issue? Talking about ignorant and living in the past….

Didn't I told you that improvement can be obtained from F1 is not about door handle or power window…. Go ask toyota or honda whether those kinds of components can be improved by participating in F1… I bet they'll just laugh at you..

we are talking about technology such as engine, transmission, suspension, ride and handling, durability and reliability…. These are the improvement that Proton can gain through F1…

• If you wanna win, employ a Fin.

Lotus looks all set!

• Jumbsuck on Dec 16, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Eyesore: "we are talking about technology such as engine, transmission, suspension, ride and handling, durability and reliability…. These are the improvement that Proton can gain through F1…"

For as long as Proton still selling outdated overpriced craps and scared of open market competition, any amount of F1 tech transfer considered useless. It's not gonna reached end user. Happy in comfort zone as jagoh kampong.

Still cannot fix power window, door handle but trying F1 stuffs? Stop joking lah Proton. For Toyota, Honda taking a piss out of F1 simply a case of quit or die trying. Been there done that.

Even old techs from F1 like ABS or ESP traction control considered a sin to be installed here as minimum mandatory car safety standard, what would Proton think can benefits all of car users in Malaysia by joining F1? Got that?

Just fix power window, door handle totally first. No need to convince the world from F1. It's enough to show you're not jagoh kampong by open up local car market competition. Earn your respect (not ask, self-praise) then you can dream, talk big.

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Idk who you calling scared of open market…. if proton scared, they would not sell car in thailand, australia, singapore…. those are open market right? Proton are ready for open market… it's up to the govt to do that…. i wonder which company is really protected by the NAP… it starts with P…. but certainly not Proton… Its only benefit Proton because they use more local vendor than that P…..

And if.. the govt are to open the market… i believe Proton can still go strong… bcuz their get cheaper as well… however in order to do that, govt must also be fair to proton by allowing them to use foreign vendor =)…

btw.. how long are gonna live in the past? still about power window n door handle?? didn't i told you those r solved….. of coz the migth be 1 or 2 occurence since nothing is perfect… even toyota or honda new model face those problem sometimes… if i'm not mistaken the ever popular MyVi also have quite large number of power window problem…. =p

• waklanproton on Dec 17, 2009 at 12:11 am

Jumbsuck said…..

what ever la……. :P

• Ferruccio on Dec 17, 2009 at 1:04 am

There is certainly a marketing and PR benefit for Proton from the F1 programme but in terms of technology?? Sorry but there is no revelance at all.

How do you make use of technology used in an 18,000rpm 2.4L V8 in a mass production 4 cyl or V6 engine programme for Proton road cars.. or even for Lotus cars.

The technical objectives in F1 is so far apart from road cars. So much so that F1 even avoids technologies that car manufacturers value like variable valve timing, variable intake, dual clutch gearbox, direct injection, turbo, diesel turbo etc.. Even the crash safety technologies are far apart.

Believe it or not something like a BMW 7 series or Audi A8 or Merc S Class contain more advanced gadgetry than an F1 car.

And F1 car is only technically highly advanced, within the set of rules it is allowed to operate, the rules of which is incredibly irrelevant and backward to what's important to the auto industry.

Le Mans racing is more relevant, at least Audi did prove their TFSI, TDI technologies in Le Mans first before making it available on all their road cars, only 2-3 years later after racing those technologies.

What is the goal of the road car? To improve efficiency and its impact on the environment plus to protect its occupants. What is the goal of an F1? to win races through whatever means necessary, within the rules. KERS is an afterthought to try an add relevance to f1 and it failed.

At least in Le Mans, the diesels must run exhaust particulate filters to keep the environment clean, just like what you find in a diesel road car!

At one time, 2-3 decades ago and older, F1 was indeed the proving ground for technology that was later introduced in road cars. But F1 today is totally a dinosaur for technology.

• bashbash on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:24 am

jumbsuck still lives in 90's ke???

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Agree with Ferruccio. Technology from LeMans and even Rally have more direct impact on road cars than F1.

• Nakal on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Jumbsuck said,

December 16, 2009 @ 2:00 pm

…………………………

merepek & membebel…merapu-rapu

your comments just show how stupid your knowledge in the bussiness & automotive tech