Max 20 liters of refuelling for foreign plate cars?

Fuel Wallet GaugeFrom tomorrow onwards, cars with foreign plates will only be able to refuel a maximum of 20 litres of fuel within a 50km radius from Malaysia’s borders. In the Peninsular of Malaysia, that means south in Johor and up north bordering Thailand.

First of all – I don’t think this is a big issue for the owners of foreign cars. Unless there is some way to mark that a car has already filled up his 20 litres of fuel for the trip, the car owner can just drop by multiple petrol stations and get his multiple 20 litres of fuel into his tank. Just a minor inconvenience.

Apparently there are also some reports that suggest that Singaporean cars will only be able to leave Johor with 20 litres of fuel! I’m really not sure if this is just a misunderstanding on what the minister/ministry meant as it’s quite ridiculous for cars who already leave Singapore with a three-quarter tank as required by the law to have to abide by the 20 litre rule as well.

Would the driver have to drive around aimlessly to burn off the excess fuel or have the fuel siphoned out of the cars? And then what, throw the fuel away? And what about the manpower needed to check each car – wouldn’t that cause extra congestion?

The intention is good though. Implementation needs to be finetuned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration with the 20-liter refueling limit policy for foreign-plate cars, viewing it as impractical and harmful to Johor's economy, especially since foreigners, notably Singaporeans and Thais, contribute significantly to local business and tourism. Many believe the policy is poorly enforced, unfeasible, and unfair, especially since fuel smuggling and misuse are ongoing issues. Several suggest better alternatives like removing subsidies entirely, implementing higher taxes for foreigners, or using MyKad or toll systems to monitor fuel consumption. There is widespread skepticism about the policy's long-term effectiveness, with some arguing it will be easily circumvented. Overall, sentiments are largely negative, viewing the rule as another unnecessary or poorly thought-out measure that could backfire or be abandoned quickly.

• Gov should impose the rules like Singapore..foreign car only can go back with not more than half tank or 1/3.

• peromyvi (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:35 am

stupid gov policy

• squawk on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:43 am

How are they going to check if a foreign car has 20 liters? Every model's fuel gauge is different (and SG has many more models than we do) and these gauges aren't exactly accurate.

What if an SG car came with 3/4 tank full, didn't drive around much and goes back with the remaining petrol bought in SG? Will he be penalized?

I get confused every time the govt says or changes something.

• Elvis on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:48 am

A good move…unless there's better idea….dont want to criticize on this issue…because the price of oil WILL jump up again once economy back on track or depletion of oil cannot be denied anymore….

• OpenMind on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:55 am

All these mechansims are not justified and feasible to be implemented. Too much resources will be involved and worst case is that it opens up more channel for corruption or manipulation.

Knowing that most if not all the Singaporean car would eventually fill petrol in Malaysia every time they are visiting Malaysia, I suggest to charge Singaporean car on higher entry fee (toll fee) on the both links connecting Malaysia and Singapore. Perhaps, addition of RM50

For Thailand, we may implement the same but at lower rate as the price different in petrol is smaller. Perhaps addition of RM30

So, all the collection can goes direct to the government with minimum additional of resources.

• MazdAstina on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:57 am

what happen to the my kad system for subsidise fuel? Let the foreigners pay the non subsidised price. Expats earn a lot anyway.

• muharifz on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:58 am

another tea and karipap session's solution. it do sound silly and stupid as well…because I really don't know how they're going to implement it. whoever suggest this should be given kpi 0.5…a 0.5 percent bonus for his or her idiocy

• wandy on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:59 am

so confusing and ridiculous!!

• littlefire on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:00 am

Another half-bake idea… For Singaporean they cant leave Singapore if their fuel tank is less than half, if i not mistaken. But from Malaysia back to Singapore need to be less than half… LOL~!

The only way is to charge them like what Brunei doing.. If ur car foreign, market price. Easy… Look at the car register and we all know.. (Except he change it..)

• 50% tank ok la.. if not.. tax rm10 lor.. can make millions every year.

singapore is a "fine" country anyway.

how to check 20 liter… govt bodoh !

my car E still got 10 liter la.

• Jugaus on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:02 am

Not that practical…

• Arcane (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:05 am

Seems like a half-baked afterthought

• jb boy on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:13 am

sg cars will not affected….stupid goverment.

• racerx111 on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:13 am

If the main intention is to prevent foreigners from indirectly enjoying fuel subsidies, one surefire way is prohibiting foreign vehicles from entering into the country entirely. They'd have to use local public transportation if they plan to visit, and you'd eliminate the weekend causeway crawl at the same time. Plus might loseout abit on toll but the move would generate revenue in other areas so it evens it out generally. Ofcourse our neighbours wont be happy but in this case someones gotta give and it sure shouldnt be us.

• Kevin Lee on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:15 am

another sudden scary plan from the govt. they should give enough warning already

• jb boy on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:15 am

it's should limit at half tank for sg cars. 3/4 in, and 1/2 tank out from m'sia, then can really control foreigners to buy our petrol. m i right?

• tun mahathir on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:17 am

it's should limit sg cars out with half tank.

• sonyman on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:22 am

as usual, Malaysian Gomen making Rules, To amuse the road users. giving a question mark.. What lah they doing? Malaysia should add a new subject into the education that is called "common Sense "

• USDfan on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:33 am

sure 1st link jem maaa..every weeked i go to singapore take my wife…perghhh

but for sure…tis law on the paper and lips only…retoric!…sure no implementary…u know…malaysia govt always talks..no firm action..nt likes singapore govt…..they always do wat they said…

jus wait and see..hehehe

• Can put all the siphoned petrol into my car!

• haha….one more cock move

• myself on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:44 am

GVT Should charge the foreigners tax! We get to enjoy better petrol because we pay TAX, but they DO NOT! Now they wan't to complaint some more! Pls help to hear this Mr President of 1 Malaysia!

• bruce lee on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:47 am

i think one day i will imigrate to other country, to leave this lousy and stupid country.

• karim on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:50 am

are malaysian man enough to go unsubsidized?

• jansej on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:58 am

sia suay!!!.. can najib boot this retard minister out for god's sake!?

• jansej on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:01 am

singapore car come over with 3/4 tank, go hotel steam sauna massage and buffet then go wash car before going back. tell me is the government going to fine him for having a 3/4 tank going back?

• stupid ruling again. but i am pretty damn sure no enforcement will be done. there's money to be made by the petrol owners, you think they'll just let the goverment kick them around?

hell no, most likely they'll continue to charge same price for all.

i said this before a thousand times, 1 best way is to unsubsidize fuel prices, but this will be extremely harsh on lower-mid income families who rely on cars to transport, seeing as how we have shit ass quality public transport.

• Bebelon on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:18 am

Just limit foreign cars to pump petrol at Petronas at floating market price…then money go back to us!…haha!!

Brilliant idea or stupid idea?

• confuse on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:32 am

Very, very "kanfusing" rules. We will see what happens tomorrow.

• drMpower on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:44 am

no no no no no no no nooooo

this is all wrong! we are in the 21st century. these mindless discrimination against the other human living apart from malaysia is… numb.

whats so wrong if the human is singaporean or thais?

this is totally unfair. DAP must fight this. please.

the petrol is for all. i am begging u.

on the other hand, also, please dun collect all the summonses by these foreign number plate vehicles.

whats so wrong with singaporean plated subaru WRX spec C beaming the right lane, pushing us go the other lane, and them speeding 200kmh?

of that thai super toyota van. although there are almost 10 people inside, the vans still going like 150-160kmh.

dont ever collect summonses from them. let them pass and just ask them nicely to pay them summonses.

for this, must ask pakatan to fight for it.

• Most S'pore ppl come to spend $$, the thai come to pump fuel in the week end… so??

• stupidm'siagove on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:48 am

stupid goverment bring up stupid things again,big joke to the neighbourhood country,Lol!

• Fauzi on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:55 am

How to check it's 20 liter??? So, no enforcement… pi mai pi mai tang tu…

• konon on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:14 am

this issue will be a laughing matter in the lion city

• I luv Malaysia on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:17 am

why need to be angry with the govt? as long as u are malaysian, u dont have to worry. Singaporeans took a lot from malaysia as in water etc…let them pay more..

• raixa on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:40 am

Govt should implemented the using of mykad to buy petrol so the foreigner should pay non subsidized petrol that are extremely expensive plus govt tax then we can make more money from them, killing 2 bird with 1 stone lah,

• they might as well enforce that all cars coming in from Singapore with singapore plate number should be full tank. same goes for the thais.

• nabill on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:02 am

this is stupid , we are becoming famed with introducing policies that either plain stupid , or totally cannot be enforced….

• moutain on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:10 am

I heard from astro news that Singapore car will exclude from the 20 liters rules, others foreign cars like Thai will follow the 20 liters rules.

I think because Singapore car got 2/3 tank rules so it is not fare with them, many Singapore car also own by Malaysian. (because Singapore PR can only drive Singapore registered car)

• Vezeroth on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:20 am

who's gonna monitor how much a car fills up? not the fueal stations i'm sure, what do they car, they make money… our ministers are so damn stupid…

• Funk Banana on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:23 am

If they want to "penalise" singapore cars like this, then Johor state can close shop as they are very much fuelled by weekend tourists from singapore.

• droll on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:55 am

common, don't be stupidthe only way to solve this problem is for subsidized fuel to be available ONLY to malaysians (then again, you have the issue of putting your trust in malaysians hehehehe)

the govt doesn't do any cost vs benefit analysis do they???

• droll on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:56 am

actually, irregardless of what the govt does, i find it difficult to believe that any savings derived will be channeled back to us. :(

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 10:07 am

Hurm, a bit difficult.

Surely not a briliant move by the government. Perhaps they do not have other alternatives for now.

Just let it be, after all, this move will only affect Singaporeans, Thais and Indons (if the ruling applied at Sarawak/Sabah borders too).

I have to agree, something needs to be done with fuel smuggling which is occurring at our borders for years. But, I believe, that the authority should have beefed up its security along the borders rather than applying this irrational ruling.

Furthermore, how to observe each vehicle passing the border on daily basis (in thousands)?

This fuel subsidy should be given to Malaysians. At least, I'm in par with the government's concern (strictly on this matter only).

To Singaporeans and Thais, sorry guys, no more fuel hijacking please.

• nick nick on Dec 16, 2009 at 10:08 am

our gov like to do this kind of funny, stupid, idiot things.

soon this will cancel again, because really no point, no help! like what paul said, just top up with multiple petrol stations then the result is same.

Those ppl in our gov really educated?? stop making this kind of ridiculous policy for let those foreigner laughing to us( "proud" to be MALAYSIAN)

The 15-years car need scrap, need go inspection, those promises with petrol price & other else….our gov really like to JOKE. Said this today, change another story tomorrow~ Maybe our GOV knows we are all live so hard nowadays, make some JOKES for our boring life.

Cheers up guys~Laugh at it and see how soon this policy will dissapear~

• agree with paul..

• Come to think about it, Ngan has a point. The government should make it compulsory for all foreign cars to have a full tank of fuel before entering.

• Bebelon on Dec 16, 2009 at 3:09 pm

why you guys only can think of Singapore car when this rule is introduced? Actually the misuse of subsidied petrol problem isn't come from Singapore, but Thai. Thai people are the one who take advantage of our so called "cheap" petrol. Most pure Singapore can easily not to fill up petrol in Malaysia, because petrol price in Singapore is cheap enough and their salary is justified to pay. Only those PR(M'sian) like to pump petrol in Malaysia.

• hhhhh on Dec 16, 2009 at 3:14 pm

seems paultan.org has become a place for those who hates the govt…hmmmm

• Why not make it simpler, surcharge for foreign cars or sell at unsubsidized price.

Make them apply for a RM10 card to allow buying fuel, then surcharge to help fund the country's development?

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:14 pm

I am amused how they might even implement something like this….

Besides, 50km fuel burn on newer cars on the highway (15c/km give and take some) doesn't even amount to RM$7.50 in fuel.

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Stupid Gov invented idiotic policy; any how those foreign car can just shout "neh….bungkus" to the petrol station whenever the petrol tank has excessive fuel inside before entering back to their country…..perhaps this might be a brand new trend of job for Malaysian….call "perkerja minyak bungkus", maybe this is what our stupid Gov is up to to create more vacancy for our lovely country….hahaha….

• cardreamer on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:38 pm

Don't worry, nothing will really 'happen' as they planned. Some day the rule will be abolished just like other rules, ad-hoc rules they tried to implemet before…The G was very 'clever' when thinking about having a mykad system for malaysians, but why not implement the same card system for foreigners?…Get TnG to come out with a fuelcard specifically for foreigners. They need to buy the card and swipe the card when filling fuel. The card price is the actual fuel price without the subsidy and they may upload the card at any fuel stations. It will take time and effort but surely it will be a proven subject and a policy to be maintained with less sceptism. Fair!

• squawk on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Correction: In today's Sun – There won't be a 20 liter tank limit on SG cars exiting. The limit is just on filling up at stations. Then again, like Paul said, they'll just have to drive to a 2nd station.

• as far as i concern.. the govt said the max filling is 1/3 of the tank….

• Jumbsuck on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Instead of make things harder for govt itself to run the rule, make it other way round. Just use tax collection.

Govt can impose double rate tax for petrol pumped by foreigner. Each litre of petrol pumped cost twice. The more foreigner pump, the more govt get income lah.

Upon exit at immigration, put another flat rate exit tax RM50 per car.

Singapore can pay lah, bila lagi mau cekik BN-style.

• Boink on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

bird brainers running at office… "be a good ostrich and stick all ur heads into the sand please"

yes, what about waiting for the mykad system instead of this lame ideas…

• Ricky on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:15 pm

This type of useless policy.

Why so stupid?

Juz ask foreign registered car to pay for higher price for fuel then everything settled. Either they want fill how many litre is their business.

• 1malaysia on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:25 pm

gov already said it will implement fuel subsidize only for 1.6 liter & below nx yr, thats good enough to eliminate foreigners (especially thai) to get cheap petrol from us. why come out this 20-litre policy again? lebeh punya kerja!

• slimershine on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:39 pm

good.. dont give any subsidized petrol to them – sucker singaporean..

malaysian people also stupid.. like y'all doing the custom's work. let they do their work!

• I believe there could be a simpler way to solve the issues of foreign cars pouring fuel in our country and miss using it. Just like what our government plans to introduce subsidize fuel using MyKad for us, they should issue a card system for foreign cars in the country in order to pour fuel. That way not only can they monitor the amount of fuel each foreign car can pour but also regulate the price higher for fuel for foreign cars in the country. I think if they play around and fine tune this plan above, better regulations and less issues will take place.

• ford_ton on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:01 pm

They should enforce a rule for Singaporean car to leave with not more than 3/4 tank. Come in no less than 3/4 leave no more than 3/4. More than 3/4 tank is fined by a predetermined value..say RM50. It shall stay enforced till may 2010. And it is a whole lot cheaper to implement with 20 odd officers at exit point rather than one at every fuel stations. As for PR in Singapore, they choose to 'gantung' their Malaysian citizenship so it's their choice. They earn a better income so what is the issue here.

When the Mykad subsidy is implemented I wish to have my say here. Every Malaysian over 18 years old is to be considered a motorist as they had passed the schooling age. So why not granting every one above 18 years old a set amount of subsidized fuel to purchase like 100 litres per month. They have to swipe Mykad at the existind credit card reader at fuel pumps after paying for the fuel or swiping their credit card. The pump will than adjusts fuel price to the subsidised price. If his or her quota is exceeded the pump will dispense fuel at full market price. This will encourage car pooling and planned vehicle usage to avoid exceeding the quota allocated. Husband and wife will again share a car to the workplace or if their workplaces are far apart will get into carpooling with officemates.

I believe that fuel subsidy is a privilage to be enjoyed by all citizen (18+ shall be automatically regarded as motorists) regardless of any type of vehicles owned. Fleet cars shall apply fleet cards to allocate the 100 litres per month per car. Foreigners are automatically disabled form accessing the subsidy system as the mandatory Mykad swipe prior to pumping fuel at the pumps using the existing credit card reader. Fleet cars drivers are also required to insetr Mykad to verify the nationality of the driver. Foreigners driving company cars using fleet card will automatically disqualified as he does not posess Mykad.

That is my 2 sen worth of opinion. However I am sure many readers can submit a better comment here.

• The ruling not intend to Singaporeans laa. Mean for Thailand. For me, they should be more than 50km, 100km better. We should follow some country, foreigners pay actual price without subsidy (after myKad they'll do this, kononnya).

• mohgui (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:27 pm

another no brainer ruling by the people of Boleh land. i am amaze that this is brought up again after it was discontinued months back.

with rampant corruption in Boleh land, such ruling can't be fully policed… period.

• mohgui (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:36 pm

@ford_ton

hmmm… the RM50 sounds like the amount one would pay to get away scott-free from getting the fine… LOL.

anyway, by controlling fuel subsidy using MyKad, it is an idea but do you know that Malaysians living in Spore (as a Spore PR) do carry MyKad too? say… a Malaysian driving a Spore car pays with MyKad, does he get the subsidy? will the cashier go through lengths just to identify that the MyKad holder is not driving a foreign car? possible but time-consuming and utter ridiculous.

btw, if this ruling really gets off the ground, it may seem to work initially but i doubt it can sustain long term. as we know the saying… "Hangat-hangat tahi ayam".

just my view.

• blaze on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:46 pm

remove the fuel subsidy, but then remove all the restrictions, import taxes and import duties for cars, big bikes and all other internal combustion vehicles… maybe paying VAT is acceptable..

So, malaysians, are we ready for the real oil price? maybe then we will drive more `carefully', wont wait in the car with the engine running, car pooling, etc….even the thais, philipinos, and indons have been paying more than us for sometime..

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Wonder how long SEA to become like EU. This region only a small piece of land compare to europe. I bet SEA would never become like EU.

Today gomen announce this policy, then next day they canceled it,not practical or etc.

• TehOIce on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Just another kopi policy for our officer to earn extra income….but this time is sing dollar inside their poket with 2.4 exchange rate…..

• Wira Tua on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:18 pm

If you're not happy…go stay in singapore lah….if u love them so much…

• ford_ton on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Can a malaysian with singapore PR be earmarked through mykad? Don't need the cashier's intervention here. A mykad reader at fuel pumps is enough.

• mamat on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:42 pm

How many times must I teach you people?

No need to spend money and other resources to come up with new nonsense like using Mykad to fill up petrol.

Just abolish the subsidy and impose fuel tax. Automatically the difference between our prices and our neighbours will be reduced.

The government then can "pay" those low income people later via income tax and whatnot.

Why reinvent the wheel? Unless your father or uncle has monopoly of the wheel shop?

• the idea seem good. but to implement i think is not very practical.who to check every car not exceed 20L?? The fuel meter can adjust lor. Pick up the fuse then the fuel meter will be E.

• initial R on Dec 16, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Lot of us said "Let s‘pore & Thai car fuel up with our petrol, can generate border economy (or sound & mean by that)"… But when our fuel price up by RM0.10 per liter, we shout out like end the of this world. We pay tax, fuel get subsidies, some time been rob or smuggle by greedy people… should be Malaysian get all benefits…. or Malaysian can give to them, not Malaysian it shelf.

The intention is good enough, but needs to be tuned. We have Mycard for Malaysian also TnG card. U have Mycard, swipe at the counter or the pump with thumb reader & get subsidies fuel or can used TnG card & get 5 to 10% discount of fuel from market price….

I ask me, i can say that sell at market price to them, fact is some of the smuggle our petrol & Diesel, flour, rice, cooking oil in & out with out pay the tax…. not to mention we sell our fresh water to S'pore at low price but have to buy back the poluted water from them…. still malaysian shout to G where tax have spend out….. at that point how many RM lost already….. Hope G can make this rule more "Telus & Ikhlas".

*p/s: Even if opposition take over the Malaysia, still they can't do anything coz they leader also have attentions to "Songlap duit rakyat"…. nothing change but maybe “lagi teruk”… still I’m Malaysian….

• Rrrrr on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Rm20 @Petronas, @Shell, @BP, @Caltex and….after that's full tank maaa…

• rchoo on Dec 17, 2009 at 12:13 am

I agree with what OpenMind Said:

1) Charge Singaporean car on higher entry fee (toll fee) on the both links connecting Malaysia and Singapore. Perhaps, addition of RM50

2) For Thailand, we may implement the same but at lower rate as the price different in petrol is smaller. Perhaps addition of RM30

In this way, the G could overcome shrewd foreigner car owners from any of the proposed system weaknesses of which they could exploit. Mind you, The foreigners could even siphon petrol from Malaysian Cars, but once we have tax them the RM 50 or RM 30, the tax will offset any ploy they could envisaged.

The argument that the RM 50 or Rm 30 will turn them away is just lame excuse (not only lame but stupid rationale). What is RM 50 (or SG 22 to them – it is peanuts) and also the Thais will not be turned away by the RM 30 when weighing the enjoyment they could get from their island jail (sorry to use the term).

• All you guys are crap..talking bullshit. The subsidies by Gov only serve for MALAYSIANs. So what the hack are we try to condemn our Gov when they try to impose something for the benefits of MALAYSIANs. It is a simple measure…20 litre means they can fill only RM 36 only… A VERY SIMPLE SYSTEM to protect the MALAYSIAN's previliage. Shame on you!

• All you guys are crap..talking bullshit. The subsidies by Gov only serve for MALAYSIANs. So what the hack are we try to condemn our Gov when they try to impose something for the benefits of MALAYSIANs. It is a simple measure…20 litre means they can fill only RM 36 only… A very simple to protect the MALAYSIAN's previliage. Shame on you!

• mystvearn on Dec 17, 2009 at 1:54 am

How about tax for foreign plates when leaving the country?

1/4 tank full= no tax

1/2 tank full= RM50 tax

Full tank = RM 100 tax?

Or if want to be more preceise, gov sure know all the car's fuel size. So adjust the tax to fit the vehicles and where they come from. If bus full tank only RM 100, no fair to cars then. Just charge them the fuel withuot subsidies. But implementation will be a problem

• Just don't subsidize foreign car even for one liter as well. I feel that 20 liter also too much. Make them pay full price.

• mohgui (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:05 am

@mystvearn

interesting points but utter ridiculous!

i think you know that SG cars leaving SG must have at least 3/4 tank. so if a car comes in with that amount of fuel, spends some time eating and shopping (all of these contributing to Johor's economy) and leaves without topping up fuel, you think it's fair to impose a RM50+ tax on it?

if this is fair… then sooner or later… retail in JB will suffer.

• dude mohgui said,

December 16, 2009 @ 7:05 pm

@mystvearn

interesting points but utter ridiculous!

i think you know that SG cars leaving SG must have at least 3/4 tank. so if a car comes in with that amount of fuel, spends some time eating and shopping (all of these contributing to Johor’s economy) and leaves without topping up fuel, you think it’s fair to impose a RM50+ tax on it?

if this is fair… then sooner or later… retail in JB will suffer

=================================================

who cares about SG people?????? we are MALAYSIAN.. imagine if this LEAK continue Gov may need to increase the fuel price.. then u will blame Gov..bla…bla..bla.

you must be a sg or love sg very much or apply to be SGians

• kl-ite on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:53 am

it is not being cancelled. it is a serious project, and yes, they are doing feasibility studies on it now – expect to see it happen next year

my only objection is that overseas, they pay a premium for petrol but they do not get taxed for cars like we do. I hope we see a change in this.

p.s. you must have a car to have a subsidy, for now the plan is all 2.0L cars and below are entitled. Think there is a cap per month on how many litres is subsidized as well, but don't expect much (to deter selling mykad pumping to foreigners)

• littleboy on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:01 am

maybe gov can come out a way where all the car put up a sticker i pump 20 liter only don catch me…ha ha ha ha

• transformer (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:13 am

Gov subsidies fund comes from rakyat(pay thru LHDN, Import Duty & etc.), so rakyat had been paying fuel subsidies for years! BUT foreigner just come here to buy it for free…

bcoz of fuel subsidy, rakyat had to pay higher car price!

So its better to remove fuel subsidy totally!

All Rakyat sure Vote for No Fuel Subsidy! Then No Need GST!

No Need Import Duty and Sales Tax for Car!

Then Rakyat can afford to own true cars once the tax barrier removed! Happily Ever After!

• transformer (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:24 am

i heard from SG radio this morning, some listener are quite angry with this ruling… but some are not… those who are not related doesn;t feel any but those who are related… guess what ?

so i hope our gov will remove this subsidies and in return, open auto market for rakyat, rakyat can own true(imported) car then… every motorist would agree!

also lesser mat-rempit as fuel are expensive! they'll has to take bus… "bus-rempit"…..?

• Another stupid plan. bodoh

• gey2718 on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:07 am

i'm malaysian chinese, driving singapore registered car back jb once in a while…

for me, i don't really pump in jb, my fuel is paid by company, so i'll visit jb with full tank and back singapore without refuelling, (somehow minimise the chances of being rob in petrol stn), good move to curb those modified fuel gauge singapore car, whose meter show full but actually tank is empty, then pump full tank of mal fuel and back to singapore….

• make use of touch n go card, since custom in jb only accept TnG card, just control foreign registered car to pump in jb using TnGcard, limit to 20liters and one time payment per entry per day to malaysia ok loh, make full use of TnG card, learn from singapore, their Autopass have many usage, can pay custom toll, ERP, even use for retails…

• eWerkz on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:02 am

@OpenMind

For your info, SG pple come to JB to SPEND money, not just pump your petrol. They come to eat, wash car, do servicing, install accessories, do body kits, shop and chiong….. on the average every SG car that comes in will spend min S$100 or RM240 in Johor.

Moreover, go ask any shop or food stall what percentage of their total business is Singaporeans, it's minimum 70%.

The SG G will be most happy if the Malaysia G implements even RM50 tool fee, that means Singaporeans will spend money inside Singapore and not in Malaysia.

Also, from the record, when the G wanted to implement RM20 toll fee for SG cars last year, businesses in JB suffered huge losses. So, if you are thinking penalize the pple who bring money to your country, better think twice…..

• kl_boy on Dec 17, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Just abolish the stupid car import duty system and no one will complain so much if the petrol price is according to market rate. The thing is we have been paying such a ridiculous rate for toyotas and hondas that we fuss over matter like this. The ministry can impose whatever they call onto the foreign motorist for all these foreigners care. Our exchange rate is getting weaker that it is only a matter of time it becomes chicken feed to what they are getting in Msia.

• Shameer on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:00 pm

What kind of rule is this.One of major investers and spenders in malaysia are Singaporeans.We just don't pump petrols only.But we do increase your economy and revenue in your country in other ways.Lesser cars entering johore and the people who will be affected in business will be Johoreans.

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Screw up Johor economy and the ruling party will lose its strongest state. LOL!

• peterich on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:47 pm

I am very disappointed with such system the Malaysian Government implemented. In one way or another, it will please some Malaysian ppl who are not happy that the subsidy go to other foreign ppl, but on the other hand, will effect some of their own economies and jobs as Singaporean going there to spend money or invest will be reduced. Moreover, the Malaysian Government is encouraging Singaporean to invest in the Iskandar Project, buy properties there etc. I myself is a investor there, and had brought a luxury house in the Iskandar area 2 years ago. Half of my time, I live in JB and commuting around in my Singapore registered car. Such implemention will cause very inconveniences to me. I am thinking of buying some shops there, but now have to put my plan on hold. Kind of afraid that rules will change suddenly against us as foreigner in many ways. May have to consider selling my house or renting it out in Malaysia and coming back to Singapore if too much hassle and inconveniences created.

• mohgui (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:19 pm

@SM4

dude… i'm a Malaysian lah and i don't want to see a fellow Malaysian state loses its appeal because of some bodoh rules (as some of the dudes here termed it).

thinking rationally, JB needs SG to fuel her economy.

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Now we're beginning to see the negative effects of all those nonsensical protectionist and patronizing policies. This country's system has been crippled but we're only finding out now that we have trouble standing, never mind walking or running.

All this subsidising and privatisation are coming back to bite us because the present administration is clueless to tackle this.

• waklu on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:40 am

This is a stupid idea. It doesn't make us any better, unless they do the other way around like foreign cars should have full tank before leaving the country.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:56 am

why didn't our G brainer think ahead that this policy(Foreigner <20Ltr) will only chase foreigner away…

G just only need remove auto(car, bike & truck) tax barrier and remove fuel subsidies… its simple as that… now, "everyone" should be happy!

"everyone", except living cronies & etc….

p/s : wish G cybertrooper's will channel this constructive idea to the PM

• amiran on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Dumb law made by dumb & lazy lawmakers!