Porsche 918 Spyder Concept – future Carrera GT?

Advertisement

This is the Porsche concept car that they’ve managed to keep under the wraps so far while other Geneva debuts like the new Cayenne were prematurely leaked. It will debut alongside the Cayenne and the 911 GT3 R Hybrid on Porsche’s Geneva stands.

The 918 Spyder reminds us of the Carrera GT and thanks to its hybrid powertrain, it can hit 100km/h in under 3.2 seconds. It can also do the Nurburgring in less than 7 minutes and 30 seconds, which Porsche says is faster than the original Carrera GT! Even with these impressive figures, Porsche claims an average fuel consumption of just 3 litres per 100km though you’ll use far far more than this when you are really gunning it as hard driving isn’t factored into ‘combined fuel consumption’ driving behavior.

The car is built on a modular monocoque bodyshell made of carbon reinforced plastic as well as magnesium and aluminum. Thanks to that, curb weight is only 1,490kg, despite having to carry the entire hybrid system. That’s a lot of stuff there – the combustion engine which will no doubt be large and powerful since this is a performance car, and then we also have the batteries and the multiple electric motors.

The hybrid powertrain in question combines a 9,200rpm redline high revving V8 producing about 500 PS together with electric motors on both the front and rear axle. The motors produce a combined output of 218 PS. Peak combined output from all the power sources is 718 PS. Rear wheels are driven by the V8 and an electric motor through a 7-speed Porsche PDK dual clutch transmission, while the front axle’s electric motors drive the wheels via a fixed transmission ratio. These motors get their power from a liquid-cooled lithium-ion battery mounted behind the passenger cell, which seats two by the way.

The car can work in four different modes. In Hybrid mode, the 918 Spyder uses both the electric motors and the combustion engine but shuts either off depending on conditions, just like a regular series-parallel hybrid like the Prius. The Sport Hybrid mode turns on both electric and V8 power all the time, with most of the drive power going to the rear wheels. There is also torque vectoring so power is distributed well between the left and right wheels. In Race Hybrid mode, both power sources also work together, but there is also a “push to pass” button that feeds in extra power for overtaking. Finally, the E-Drive mode allows the car to move on electric power only up to 25km.

Look after the jump for three initial hi-res photos they’ve released.

P10_0242_a5
S10_0232_a5
S10_0231_a5

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. wan_knox says:

This is what we call improvement!! superbbb!!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 2
  2. Kington says:

Thanks Porsche for giving me a reason to save money. I already missed out on the Carrera GT… hopefully i'll make it to this.

Reply Thumb up 1 Thumb down 4
  3. Fuego66 says:

At first glance, I thought it was a Ferrari . . .

Reply Thumb up 1 Thumb down 4
  4. AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 says:

Hmm, agreed with fuego66!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 4
  5. vbkcheng says:

I wonder how true is the claim… 3 Lt per 100KM?

6. wanramle says:

porsche with a ferrari's design?

7. beanMaeko says:

Fuego66 said,

March 2, 2010 @ 11:53 am

At first glance, I thought it was a Ferrari . . .

Porsche breaking the traditional frog rules?

8. 1penang says:

yeah, tot ferrari oso..

9. krazyfacts says:

If only..

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 3
  10. mitlanevo says:

wow, i thought it was a Ferrari, lolol~

11. mohgui says:

more precisely… the Ferrari Scuderia F430

12. Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK says:

0~100km in 3.2 seconds and fuel consumption just 33.3km/l ?

superb super superb!!!

i think this figure is about same as bmw dynamic efficient concept car.

rite.?

13. 4G63tDSM says:

918?

Next Boxster i'd say more than Carrera GT. Of course, with a more down to earth drivetrain.

14. Zool says:

Will it use Variocam similar to CPS?

15. 2fast says:

Amazing! Looks like a modern interpretation of Porsche's classic 907 and 917 sportscars. Hybrid technology makes it even more desirable

16. lambov12 says:

just looks like a Ferrari 458 Italia …. too similiar

17. Alpha says:

this doesn't looks like a porsche!!it's more of a 458 italia + evora!!yeah,it's nice and aggressive..but somehow it lacks the appeal of a porsche…….

18. Jai says:

I don't think Porsche like to chip-in any Ferrari design in this super-garang. Look at the front, there's still Porsche's identity.

19. nmh says:

I think porsche hire a new designer…..good

20. pomen_gtr says:

front looks like 458italia….

21. thgh says:

panamera again? sick with it… cayenne too

22. Vezeroth says:

sex on wheels! love it!

23. Gajen says:

superb design man…i see lots of old porsche classic hints…the interior is spot on…

what a car man…

Reply Thumb up 2 Thumb down 3
  24. proton _noprodua says:

i love the carrera GT but this one is bombshell…

Reply Thumb up 1 Thumb down 3
  25. HZA says:

can’t wait to see mokhzani mahathir driving around in one.

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: AMG’s new M157 5.5 liter twin turbo V8!
Next Story: All-new VW Sharan – bigger with sliding doors