It’s official: FD2 Civic Type R to be discontinued after August, Japan to get 2010 spec UK-built hatchback

The impending demise of the FD2 Civic Type R is confirmed; Honda has announced that it will discontinue production of that manic machine after August 2010. However, Honda is out to sooth broken hearted Japanese enthusiasts with the 2010 model year Civic Type R Euro, which comes with mild exterior revisions and a “limited edition” tag.

The sharply styled three-door hatchback rolls off from Honda’s Swindon plant in the UK, which is the only factory in the world to build the car. The first FN Type R units boarded ships from Southampton in October 2009 to make the long trip to Japan. Since it went on sale in November last year, Honda has shifted over 1,850 units.

The company says that the CTR Euro has been “especially well-received by buyers in their thirties to forties, who value a sports car as part of an upscale lifestyle.” We can only presume that the buyer profile for the FD2R is younger and more “hardcore”, which can also be used to describe its uncompromising ride quality.

While similar in basic concept (howling high revving i-VTEC engine, slick six-speed manual, super grip), the European Civic Type R is not the car we know with a different skin. The 2.0-litre engine makes 198 bhp/193 Nm, less than the FD2R’s 221 bhp/215 Nm and the rear suspension is a torsion beam as opposed to double wishbones.

Local FD2R owners might want to hang on to their cars, which will very soon be “collector’s items”. The hatchback would be very expensive for Honda Malaysia to import, so this should be the last we’ll see of official Type Rs in Malaysia. It was fun while it lasted.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tehfh on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:31 pm

wat’s the spec of this car?

• deus2122 on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:33 pm

So sad to hear this is true

• ninjaGAIDEN on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:38 pm

sigh… Now the FD2R joins the legends of the past.. will there be a next Civic Type R?

• sad … story.. :(

I’m going to register one for safekeeping! :)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

this version is so gay…

• 101% in agreement!

• theanswer on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:57 am

but look at older version of ctr..all of them were hatch..until fd version. so this hacthback doesnt look tht bad. in fact ive seen in couple of times in fifth gear..handling kinda nippy since it’s small.

• Vincent on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

day after day…Honda and Toyota will be slowly become irrelevant…

• subhero on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Local FD2R owners might want to hang on to their cars, which will very soon be “collector’s items”.

—————-

limited edition excidently happen.. “Rare” product

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm

i toTaLLy agree..
      i’m a serViCe adVisor @ a HonDa officiaL deaLer- n tdy i tolD a customer of a TyPe R bout tis news n he went BizaRk..!
      he said tht mayB tis car remain in My fLy tiL my son is in his driVing staGe..!! ;p

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:06 pm

“collector’s item”.. I can see a problem with spare parts there. Imagine buying a ~RM200k car only to discover no spare parts for it.

• theanswer on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:58 am

ya la..since the production period is too short. hurmm..

• impossible. i’m a parts controller at 1 of the honda dealer. as long as this car is selling at malaysia (now or before). parts will be available for sure. is just that maybe u have to wait for some time .

• This euro civic looks sporty but a bit feminine… prefer the asian/us/aust civic …the type R looks more macho!..just my opinion

• very disturbing news……

• walalala on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:13 pm

will it also come to m’sia?

• The Loner on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Too bad. The K20A for FD2 has higher power than the Europe Type R (Japanese call it Euro R).

• BeemerFreak on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:32 pm

why not discontinue the Euro type R instead. Kah Motor imports it officially for singapore, and it is very ugly. the fd 2 is so much nicer looking. We need a Honda to be quintessentially Japanese, no designed by the Europeans. And worse was they should look at the waiting list malaysia and singapore has for the FD2 type R, it is worth even assembling here in malaysia. Very very bad move.

• Aariz on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Paul wrote: “According to the report, the reason for discontinuing the product is a sluggish market for high performance gas-guzzling cars. ”

Honda is a company which want to earn money with it’s cars.

If the number of sold FD2 Civic Type R is too small, but the number of sold Civic Type R Euro is okay, why should they discontinue the Euro R?

Because the FD2 has nicer looks? If the waiting list is really that big, Honda surely wouldn’t stop production… ;)

• Bruce Ban (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Sad news indeed :( they have quite F1, not making the HSV010 a road legal car, no integra replacement, no perlude replacement, no s2000 replacement and discontinuing this? … Soichiro Honda once saids that “If Honda does not race, there is no Honda”… seems like there will be no more honda spirit anymore, they have fail him…

• trav_da_man on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:25 pm

I think honda management decided its time to move to environmental friendly cars and no more sports performance cars from now on. More like a reason to make more money rather than following Sochiro’s foundation towards engineering n motorsport.

Sad to see this but good to see Akio Toyoda to make sports car back for toyota!

• Bolehlander on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

sob! sob! sob!

• Honda move will make all tyre r FD2 owner feel disappointed. Unresponsible decision was make, like Boon Siew introduce the NSR150RR and Shadow 650, run out of spare parts.

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:22 pm

What to do? Honda wanna hug trees now… not just honda, many other car manufacturers. The term ‘petrolhead’ will one day be replaced with ‘hybridhead’ or ‘electrichead’…

• tokmoh on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Cyclists call themselves “eco warrior” in UK. In Malaysia, motorbikers are called Mat Rempit lol.

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:46 am

they called mat rempit becos they terrorize the road and consisted only by one race.

a disgrace to human being, terrorizing the road and get smypathy from their same kind. shame shame shame.

• rambo ramsey on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Clearly you havnt been to Penang. They have Beng rempit and Macha Rempit as well. in my days, the kungfu decal on Honda EF and Suzuki RG are the most powerful modified machines on Seagate track, the wiralution with big bismillah always comes last.. But the most daring is the mat from kedah with the superman lambai. Wonder what happen to that guy.

• tamaki on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:50 pm

since FD2R demise, look forward to toyota FT-86 rise of thorn

• victor lee on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

for your info, there is already more than 5 FN2R cars in malaysia which import by some car dealers. I saw 3 red and 1 blue at a car dealer shop near the damansara toll exit

• tikus on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

No worry…Got CamtakPro Lotus Edition mah… ha ha

• Commenter on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:22 pm

camtakpro ur head. NR3LE using cps engine, camtakpro only valid for campro kosong.

• staff on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:26 pm

As long as FD2S in production, there will be no problem in spare parts i supposed… coz, the parts supposed to be common, except for the badge and performance kit…

And, why worry for spare parts?

Honda is RELIABLE isnt it? haha

• eposuer on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:11 pm

yeah agreed..people buy H badge because its RELIABILITY..why worry about the spare parts..???

• U sure H cars are is reliable?….mine was very bad plus few of my frens had soo many issue wt theirs

• sayapdewa on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:15 pm

fd2r owners shud keep their stuff as most rarest in town (commonly in the world)..i think i msia officially not beyond than 400 units of fd2r rite?…the remaining at showroom shud be the hot pan cake!! cmon2 first come first serve basis…ROFL

• Crasher on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:24 pm

The rear view is very poor in the hatchback Type R

• With Auto on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Very nice look . just like sporty.

cheers

• YAHOOO!!!! The end of a lousy, overpriced and overhyped Jap car!

• brian on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Sad…but now i depends the next turbo hybrid Type R, The CRZ Type R? Sound Funny but i hope this will happen

• teelim on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Oh no……….!!!!

• KCivic on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm

For all Malaysian Type R owners, all of you should unite and go over to the residence of Mr. Toru Takahashi, the present president and MD of Honda Malaysia, one weekend, to appeal to this gentleman to speak to his counterparts in Japan to stop production of UK Type R instead of Malaysian Type R and show him how much Malaysians just LOVE the champion white Type R. Haha, this will freak him out.. No, better still, all get together and parade somewhere, say Dataran Merdeka, but of course, get proper approval from authorities, I think DBKL and also Kementerian Penerangan something.. not sure.. just a wild thought.. also maybe at the same time to foster 1Malaysia Concept, that will be cool. I am so saddened (is this correct spelling?) by this cessation of Type R although i dont own one! Sigh…….. :(

• Yukikaze on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:26 pm

bro, I think we are just a small fraction of purchase compare to other countries. I dont think they care bout this matter but i think the sales FD2Rs has reach its10k units. Neverknow, maybe we are in for a surprise from Honda. After all “Type R” is their flagship.

• any CPS engined Proton car with higher cam setting (i mean higher cam than the Neo R3 Lotus, or the Neo R3 Lotus itself) oredy can tapau dis thing.

the most fakap Type-R ever, uses torsion-beam pulak tu.

• Funny torsion beam on performance car…..neo suspension is better

• theanswer on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:04 am

even renault clio rs and megane use tosion beam. torsion beam is not an advance tech compared to what neo have…but we cant just look at it as ‘cheap’ setup anymore. furthermore..renault already won their f1 title..so their engineering tech cant be taken easily as..’tosion beam’.

• murga on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:09 pm

LOL that what they told u at kakimotor huh. This is not as quick as FD2 but still would still easily pwn ur hi cam cps

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:17 pm

I was a privilege for me to able to bring this car back home for two weekends and my it was a joy to drive. It really is a stripped out Honda Civic that is designed to excel on the track with its slick rubbers. Unfortunately the car isn’t so good on normal public roads. It is such a shame that Honda decided not to build this car. If they do, all it needs is more torque by turbocharging it and more forgiving ride.

• Not an owner of FD2R but i feel very very sad! Because I like FD2R very much! No chance to get one in future. There are only 300+ FD2Rs in Malaysia so far if not mistaken.

• kangoroo on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:54 pm

TypeR just a god damn front wheel driven high rev machine from honda, I dun really bother much LOL… seriously, the real Fun is from a rear wheel or smart AWD machine, wake up people, Honda already did.

• tokmoh on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Golf GTi and Focus RS is front wheel too. Doubtful people cannot have real fun in these real McCoy.

• phas3r on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm

grab one FD2R fast

• tokmoh on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Apasal mahal pulak nak bawa masuk Civic Type-R Europe? GBP sekarang murah!! lol jk jk.

But seriously, thanks to cheap GBP, Honda Malaysia should start ordering from Swindon now.

I visited London last year, the same cheese which costs RM5 there costs over RM20 at Cold Storage here… and it just keeps on rising!! Bloody bloodsucker betul…

• Andrew on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Why travel that far? The same orange juice that I drink in Singapore cost SGD5.8 but it is RM23 here in Malaysia. And if you didn’t know… vegetables from Australia is cheaper than vegetables from Cameron Highlands in Singapore… one has to travel by air + insurance + in a cold room… so go figure :D

• Christophe on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:16 am

yeah!!!its ended!!!

At least on the road i won’t see those Ah Beng buys a rm111k normal civic then put a red badge and change exhaust sound(sound AWFUL after they modified it!) and claim it is a TYPE R!!!

Rejoice for REAL type R owner!!!
    =)

• l3ryan on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:06 am

Torsion Bar WTF

this is not a genuine driver’s car, and Honda is losing their ways… there are still loads of petrolheads out there, and the demise of the NSX, S2000, and now the REAL CTR, they are messing with its own heritage as builders of great driver’s cars.

• honda fans on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:19 am

All I can is: R.I.P FD2-R!!!! no wonder the Japanese ppl at Honda so generous letting their “baby” to be sold here in M’sia, (out of 100+) countries, izzit they want to get rid off the stock? I mean it sound strange, what makes M’sia so so special that we are the only country in this world able to enjoy FD2-R.

• droll on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:41 am

honda is doing what’s best to keep the company alive. i’m happy for that because it means that they will still be around and who knows, they may just revive the Type R in the future.

• theanswer on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:05 am

H should start making b16 engine again. small but powerful.

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:05 am

Good riddance to Type-R. Hondas sux anyway

• xavier lert on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:40 am

FD2R is living legend…..

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:48 am

saw Honda FN type R in Bangsar.

Malaysian are rich.

• KCivic on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Honda Malaysia already announced officially thru their website citing, moving forward for environmentally responsible cars. I will go vegetarian too, so that less methane gas in my pooh pooh!

• i have seen this CTR Euro Edition… alot of demand here in malaysia…

• Sexythang on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:15 pm

why not just release a softer suspension setup for the fd2. CTR euro is just for posers. looks fast but isnt. and the torsion beam is just cutting cost and yet decreasing comfort and handling. considering its the same price as a gti.

with this move they better not ruin the honda accord euro.

• mahend on Apr 22, 2010 at 12:50 am

for those still interested with the FD2R, let me know, there are still few more units available- BRAND NEW . email me..tks..

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm

can someone please hand me a tissue?

• lalala on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Yes… Finally… the stupid 4 door type-R stop production… we need a 2 door type-R…

• darkfibre on Apr 27, 2010 at 8:13 pm

damn!! the demise of type R really stabs me in the heart. Being a honda kaki myself for some time makes me realize how this engine betters than any other engine of the same cc. by all means even the b16s can smoke a Cooper S..hahah….those who criticize can only meant one thing, their cars are not as fast nor powerful compared with the hondas. B series are legend and so is the K series. Salute to the red emblem….sayonara…

• DC2Teg on May 09, 2010 at 7:24 am

Torsin beam and a watered down K20 ? That is not a real Type R…

• Fraz006 on May 13, 2010 at 9:57 pm

is the discontinuation caused by low demand?
    i mean seriously low…
    but, not in mlaysia, we are a bit amazed by honda..

type R is not that GOD/GOOD in performance car class. no kidding. Hi Rev vtec is classic trick. nothing compared to golf gti, evo, suby. if u don pass vtec, u feel like driving a burden, camry can potong with no effort. handling also not up to performance car standard. torsion beam type R tested by drivers, they are not satisfied. the older Type R is better.

so, i think the reason of discontinuation is just CLEAR…look at the type R review in most review sites, then u know…