New Hyundai Accent premieres at 2010 Auto China

This is the all new Hyundai Accent or Verna as it is known in other markets. It made its debut at the 2010 Beijing Automotive Exhibition and will be first sold in China before being introduced in other markets.

The new Accent is built on a new platform and its being manufactured at the company’s plant in Beijing. The compact is powered by a new Gamma petrol unit with multiport fuel injection. The 1.6 litre all-aluminum DOHC engine makes 121hp at 6300 revs and 155Nm of peak torque at 4200 revs. This engine is linked to a 4-speed automatic slush box.

There is also a 1.4 litre unit that produces 106hp at 6300 revs and 135Nm of torque at 5000 revs. Buyers in China can select between a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto. With the former the 1.4 litre version delivers 100 kilometers with 5.7 litres of fuel. The company revealed that the engine has an enhanced Continuously Variable Valve Timing as well as a smart alternator and air conditioning compressor. There is also a motor-driven power steering.

The Accent’s design is inspired by Hyundai’s new design language. The front end looks a lot like the front end featured on the new Sonata. As a whole it looks better than outgoing model but I feel that the front end looks too big for a rather small-sized vehicle. What do you think?

More images are available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1079]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• m4xspeed on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

this is one angry looking car… :)

• accordmania on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:38 pm

great outlook, but how is the performance?

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Looks like Korean cars are becoming increasingly desirable. Looks larger than the current Accent, though.

• The girls are okay too!

• Can we for once pls stop talking about the girls?This website is about cars, go to a super models page to comment on girls

• pumpkin76 on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:02 am

what okay….. THOSE 2 GIRLS ARE HAWT!!!!!!!!!!!! way better than those bunch of fat tummy puch-up bra Singapore FD girls….. haha…

and what’s wrong with talking or commenting about the girls? Girls are always associated with automobile industries and motorsports….. they create as much orgasmic effect as those super hot sexy cars……

you don’t see handsome male models at such events right? Gay~~~~~~

• Verna sounds better than Accent

• Babelon on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:53 pm

the tail looks like Camry

• Gajen on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:07 pm

not bad man….koreans really moving forward

• taboogen on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:19 pm

moving forward?.. I don’t think so… look like the design ques from Toyota and Peugeot to me… when gen2 came out people say the design not nice… but when X6 came out.. they said woooo nice wooo…. hoo leng woo… why lah malaysia people like this… btw i’m proud my BMW X6 having gen2 design ques… all the way. .malaysia Boleh… dont worry…

• g-spot on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm

agree….

• _xXx_ on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:54 pm

U want to tell ppl r bias rite? Ask yourself 1st. Why ppl bias towards foreign makes?

• Just dun really see any connection between a Gen2 and X6.. double checked.. still none..

The design of korean cars have definitely moved forward if you compared their last gen vs this gen, unless you are a person that has dull taste, i forgive you for that.

BTW, if you really want to find a car that resembles Gen2, google Opel New Astra. Just a tip, although car’s design can look similar but just misplacing the proportion of a design leads to a different feel. Gen2 imo is not ugly, it just looks ok, not the best. K.

• bobby on Apr 25, 2010 at 6:05 pm

How would you compare a gen2 with a X6 ? the last time i checked, it’s not even look alike to be considered had the same ” que “.

you do not compare design cue from a rm60k products with a rm600k products.

IF there is really had the same similarity que from the both car, you cant says X6 had the design que FROM Gen2, and vice versa. Design of the X6 might have been there since 10 years ago. nobody knows.

Ppl are biased not because they want or need, its because thats what human are.

• X6 = big gen2…full stop

• Yea la, yea la, u win… everyone copy from Potong!

• Vincent on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:42 am

Hhahah, I ready cannot related Gen 2 when I look at X6…

If one shall think that BMW X6 copy P1 Gen 2…then that one say say: when you see car with 4 wheel, they copy Ford ….

• tikus on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Hello !! Which part of X6 look like Gen 2??

• inderaloka on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:02 pm

And I’m proud of BMW X6 owner like you hehe. Kan bagus kalau semua pemilik BMW seperti anda ada sikap patriotik dan tak sombong… Syabas! Best regards from the proud Gen.2 CPS owner which is me!

• the design is very nice
    the steering wheel reminds me of Honda’s
    the only drawback is the 4-speed automatic and the low hp produced
    will be price at ~70k i guess?

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:12 am

I agreed the down turn is the 4AT…if it mate with 5AT sure give a compete with Honda city

• shawal on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm

wow! makes the city look like a brick and the vios looks like a scrotum!

• u r u on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:26 pm

interior of FORD FIESTA is better lol…..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• g-spot on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm

honda steering AGAIN….

• the interior is superb…kinda lost interest in toyota n honda…see the current vios…so ugly..the freed…the back so flat…even forte offers better features…

• i prefer V-TEC over extra features in Forte

• I dun like vtec engine for normal driving….u need to rev too high which consume fuel to extract most of the torque, …..for normal daily driving, will prefer honda’s diesel engine idtec characteristic…..low down torque = good fc

Honda Msia…how bout bringing yr diesel model here?

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

for regulars drivers like me..I prefer FEATURES…and I think most malaysian drivers are like me.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

If you want it, be the first to book it when Naza announces it. If wait later, then got gov pressure to increase the price

• HirumaKecil on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Nampak mahal….. harap harga lebih kurang yang lama….

• Neo.S on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:19 pm

i like the girl more then the car hahahahaha :P

• LOL, this i have to agree.. they hired too pretty gals.

• Yup, only hire pretty girl models for really good looking car. Matchmaking!

• Alpha on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:32 pm

the new sonata was a wow! thing when it was introduced.but ths one looks…weird and kinda ugly to me.sonata’s design cues r not suitable for a small car.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

overhyped pre-released pics. now we know its just as ugly as ever.

• but..at least look better than T brand dugong….if price lower than dugong and having a 1.6 engine and usual hyundai 5 yrs/300,000km warranty….will be a good seller

• Try compare it with P1, then you’ll realize that T or H brands are not bad at all.

• endre on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Mazda 3 hatch 2008 model IMO oso ugly

• Tha_Fadz_One on Apr 25, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Neo.S; agree 100%

• my 2004 accent look shit now

• Tezza on Apr 25, 2010 at 6:04 pm

The front end look of this sonata is SUPERB!! Looks much more sporty and aggresive than the conservative toyota camry and honda accord..Better still,if the future owner willing to lower down the car and changing to the larger size of sports rims..the fondness goes to this car would be instantly hiked up..unbeatable exterior..two thumbs up!!

• Maserati on Apr 25, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Wow! Looks awesome! Korea really catching with japs! Just uv to wait on da performance

• alldisc on Apr 25, 2010 at 6:54 pm

the copy cat is becoming the master..

• The front looks nice but overall flow looks very much like the current Elantra, of which I find kinda ugly.

The interior is awesomely awful. Gear console is cheaply made, air-cond knobs are so 1997 but I’m reserving my comment for the meter panel since I could not see a damn thing clearly.

• Taillights remind me of Opel Insignia and the steering wheel too.

• The gated gearbox reminds me of Pronton Exora’s automatic gearbox. =P

• the girls are much more beautiful than that lousy car…
    can i get their numbers? hehe

• HirumaKecil on Apr 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

belakang semacam xsara……

• IT is really nice. very unique.Now hyundai is no longer a copycat as its fludic sculpture design language is getting better.if the verna performance is great,it will be as popular as elentra and i30. Hyundai is the best!

• Definitely going to defeat Honda city and Toyota Atlis.

• Altis? You are comparing the wrong range.

• he is correct la….toyota dugong vios is too cheap,cramped and pariah to compare with city or accent. it is comparable to saga. so only altis is comparable to this accent or city.

• wow! hyundai! at least accent better than vios n city in terms of quality,outlook and pricing…

• hmmm…sure win for hyundai in pricing & outlook, but quality….hv a bit doubt, hopefully got improvement & defeat the overpricing H & T~~

• kimi_ on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:34 pm

I prefer this than the Forte…….More flair and curve in design, looks bigger

Also dont have to carry the STUPID naza badge !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

• xenogearz on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:00 pm

you and your never-ending Naza badge complaints….get over it already!

• Who cares if the front looked too big ? As long as it drives fantastically, good FC and reasonably priced, I’m all for it !

• think on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:07 pm

when is it coming to malaysia,,is there any ideas for hyundai to compete with mpvs like innova and ria..pls bring in some cheap mpv’s..japaneses models , are expensive than a house itself…

• Hyundai already got its huge mpv here …ie starex selling around RM140K

Kia have it Rondo ….wish that they bring in the latest Grand Carnival/Sedona to replace the Naza Ria but please bring the diesel 2.2 version, the petrol is drinks too much!

• Exterior is looking very good but interior dashboard is outdated design come with manual air-cond button. Come on, Hyundai y not offer 5-AT??

• Elvis on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:11 pm

I dont understand the mentality of hardcore Proton fans. When you puji Hyundai getting better at design, you see a lot of idiots saying, proton this, proton that…grow up guys! Proton is a crap so is Perodua…tin nipis ja kereta tempatan with mediocre specs. and overprice too! Wat the heck, milo tin better than Proton cars!

• wazyeee on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:23 pm

look smart…

• klguy on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:25 pm

sonata is out, accent is out…..when is the elantra coming out?

• estima778 on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Future carr ..but aircond button same ALZA…

• brossprocps on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:02 am

nice model!mengancam!

• wow… aluminium engine..must be a super lightened car

• should be price below vios, city & mazda2…. then surely can sell very well :-P

• hondan on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:53 am

If this would priced RM 60K, all persona waja vios city mazda 2 ford fiesta and even myvi too will TAUPAO!!!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:19 am

Nope for Fiesta ..with .6 speed Twin Clutch…it tapau everything else even price at RM90k

• You wish. It won’t sell well even if the price is RM40k.

• alyy8128 on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:17 am

wow… one of the greatest looking B-seg car in Malaysia market. (200% better looking that the VIOS.)

Hopefully the price will remain with current price.

• Oyeah on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

Woow..nice girls…but the picture not in high resolution, really upset.. cannot see her pimples hehe..

• hah,with girls like that… sure can sell lots of cars here…. one can forget abt the specs n just buy the car… ouch!!!

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:30 am

Small cars are coming out with bigger and bolder faces.

Point the note the Chevy Spark, the other small Korean hatch sports a similar “big face” look….

Its a nice departure from the current Accent, looks quite a lot bigger…so much so I had thought this was the new Elantra when the first spy shots came out.

• alpha999 on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:16 am

hired these gorgeous gals to be SA’s for hyundai accents in Malaysia, definately will be top selling model even year, even more than myvi’s

• come on…all cars design takes inspiration from one another…how diff can design be…4 wheels…2/4 doors…headlights+fog lamp…grille…with rear lights…all the same

• taucu on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

rear ok tapi depan not so ok for me

• Vincent on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:40 am

Korean is coming very agresive.. just another 3 years… we will see Kimchi bit sushi….

• Peter on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:04 am

Hyundai is really improving alot from the previous generations……All the newer models are much more modern than outdated design than before….

For this new accent, it resembles sonata alot…..Furthermore, i kinda find that the 1.4l is kinda weak this. Mainly because it is kinda to big….

Most probably will reach the shores of Malaysia…….But unsure when will they reach because of our dealers……

• Proton, Look at people!!!!! Think again what the fuxx u still doing!!!!? Hyundai was knew its market trend and revolution, but what pronton did? Stil proud of its suxx Exora la, Persona new edition la…..go sleep la!!!

• Dr. Dre on Apr 26, 2010 at 5:52 pm

nice legs…….err…..wheels…..

• Alanore Chong on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Good looking Accent, personally feel it is far better than vios…
    High expectation on the coming Elantra…..
    Now all eyes on the what price Sime is putting on the new Sonata, hope they will not spoil their future by greed.

• james clarkson on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:43 pm

way better than vios and city hehe

• If only all the sales person so “leng lui” in Malaysia..
    Hyundai will out sales Proton in no time lah…

• DonkeyKong on Apr 27, 2010 at 12:22 am

The car looks so low.. Look, the roof of the car is only at the level of the model’s boobs! Although the models are wearing heels, the roof is still too low..

• Proton, please go sleep la….give u 10 years time u also can’t reach this level and standard!

• great for HYUNDAI!!!

• shorty on Apr 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm

fantastic good looking.

• inderaloka on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:44 pm

What a nice looking car! Oh Proton, please produce a car like this…

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:15 am

bring it to India

instead or the Verna-Transform

we need a Verna-Replace

• Alitstar on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.

Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.

About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a “disposable” first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.
    THE i10 ALL NEW 1.25 KRAP-PA ENGINE
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 liters of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per liter; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?

On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k. And please get a spare rear windscreen wiper rubber. You need to use it more often than the front. Some smart-alec designs the rear spoiler to channel all the rain and dust onto the glass. Maybe the Hyundai club fans can tell us how much down-force they got from it in their wind tunnel testing.

On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?

I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.

I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up yours!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad? When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.
    About this “Why buy a car just to sell them later” that some Hyundai die hard owners brag. Well guys, with an exception to being a millionaire, most of you cannot claim the car you drive is yours, right? It belongs to the financier until we settle the full loan tenure and this maybe 5, 7 or 9 years. We are practically driving cars on lease. And the so called “Our car/my car” is a liability in respect to road safety as an asset. It’s not at all close to being an investment to hold on the car we purchased to last for eternity.
    The average car reaches metal fatigue just after 3 years. Some even after 1 year, irrespective to what the mileages are. Even with regular service, we can extend probably the engine and gearbox lifespan whilst the rest will be taken care by the way you drive (I’ve seen how you drive), climate and the excellent road condition we have here in Malaysia.

Most of us don’t have the cash to buy cars like millionaires do, so we need to dispose the ones we have to get another. Knowing that these cars (European, Korean or Japanese) are unlikely to survive time, we take the longest tenure, lowest installments (save some) and plan to get rid of it after 3 years. Furthermore, by that time there will be new model with greater features to enjoy. Why keep an antique?
    After the 3rd year, just after the warranty expires you will notice the trip to your favorite garages will increase, time spent will be longer and the money you cough-out for your loyal baby will escalate. Plot them on a chart, and you will actually see with your eyes how your wallet thins every year. You want to keep this sentimental scrap metal, be my guest.

That’s why most Malaysians with the buying power (the Uncles if I may) always consider resale value of the car they buy. And mind you, we Uncles so far have been successful in keeping a grip on which car has better resale while the younger goons continue to debate on the dawn of the uncle’s car.

But it’s fine if you were born with a silver spoon and actually thinks those unheard off cars are antiques, please go ahead. Cars that simply overwhelm you with its ‘torque’, monster BHP, SMART Gearbox, TipTronic, HeadsUpDislay, NightVision or simply for the Chris Bangle design, or the Bang Olufsen sound system and the facts and figures of the machine that matches your ‘character’ and success. Otherwise, you must be joking to say your Hyundai (or any other car) is for keep sake, which remotely has any of the latter standards.

Again it’s OK, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, fine. Enjoy yours and thanks for your NEW SCHOOL thinking, you will remain suckers for another 10 / 20 years and continue to make Malaysia a dumping ground for these scrap…plastics.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I have just crossed 4000km on my new i10 Krap-pa engine. I’m servicing it with Ah Chong as I don’t see the point in paying RM 250.00 (for the first service as well) just to be entitled for their krap-pa 5 year warranty, which they will some how find it void.

I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centers in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

For those who bought the Hyundai, may god bless you. For those whom are planning…please for god’s sake, check out Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota first.

• steven on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:15 pm

it is comes with a GDI type or engine or what engine?

what will the price be in malaysia?

when it will release in malaysia?

• Isabel on Oct 10, 2010 at 10:28 pm

when will it be in malaysia?
    need to know before placing a new booking for the accent now…

• I bought Hyundai Accent CVVT (auto) four months ago. The interior for Verna China version is similar to Accent sold in malaysia. The engine and external is different.
    The car fuel consumption performance:
    100 % highway : 16 km/liter (473km/29.5 litre), full load 5 passenger (extra weight 300kg, 3% extra fuel/100kg base on US road transport report).Control speed at 100 to 120 km/hr. At 90km/hrs speed, seems giving about 15km/litre.

City drive, very much dependent on speed, when the car did not go to overdrive speed
    (about 62 km/hr), it consumed a lot and is giving about 10.8km/litre. Mixture of overdrive and 3 gear speed, delivering about 12.5km/litre. Throttling driving approach is apply at low speed, keep 3 to four car distance away to avoid unncessary car brake.

1st and second gear driving in Taman route (picking up Children from school) about 7 to 8 km/litre.

It is not a staright forward approach to judge a car FC performance, too many factor and variable affecting it. The straight forward approach to save FC, buy light car like Kancil (auto), I have one, 15 years old, making tons of noise but it is delivering 16 to 17km/litre, 60% city and 40 % highway. Throttling approach but try to go to overdrive speed which usually will gives about 25% fuel saving compare to 3 rd gear.drive.