2011 Volkswagen Jetta revealed – no surprises!

Volkswagen has pulled the wraps off the 2011 Volkswagen Jetta, which is the sedan version of the Mk6 Golf hatchback. The Jetta, which received an American premiere at NYC’s Times Square will be priced from around $16,000, which is lower than the base price of its predecessor and should see it go head on with the Chevrolet Cruze and Ford Focus sedan in the US. The launch tagline is “great, for the price of good.”

VW has high hopes for the Jetta in the US, which is understandable as the car is said to offer best in class rear legroom, a premium interior and a driving experience from the class above. “The 2011 Jetta is a class-up driving experience with the kind of styling, design and power under the hood normally found in more expensive luxury cars. At an extremely attractive price, this car is sophisticated, fun to drive and practical,” gushed Stefan Jacoby, CEO of Volkswagen America.

As with all new models, the Jetta has grown from the Mk5 Golf based car. Width and height are unchanged, but the new car is longer by 86 mm to make 4.64 metres. The familiar Golf 2,578 mm wheelbase has been extended to 2,650 mm for this application. Not so much a luxury as a must, as classmates like the Honda Civic have set the benchmark at 2,700 mm.

In terms of looks, the Jetta wears VW’s latest design theme with sharp lines and clean surfaces. They call it “timeless elegance and dynamic styling”, we say it’s a handsome car, if a little conservative. But that’s what people love and expect from VW; those looking for bold, avantgarde design will have to look elsewhere. Accurately previewed by the Detroit 2010 NCC show car, notable design cues include the gloss black long grille, well defined but not aggressive wheelarches and the prominent shoulder line or “tornado line” in VW speak. Rims can be up to 18 inches in size.

Inside, most will think that the Jetta’s dash is lifted straight from the Golf; it looks so, but that’s not the case. Although the layout is familiar, the main dash moulding is squarer in the Jetta. Here, the instrument binnacle hood “flows” into the centre stack while the Golf’s is independent. The air vents in the Jetta are rectangular. VW has also moved the wing mirror controls back to the door panel, which is less intuitive than in the Golf. Like the C-segment hatch benchmark, material build quality should be top notch.

North American Jettas will come with four engines, including a 2.0 TDI Clean Diesel with 320 Nm, good for 0-60 mph (0-96 km/h) in 8.7 seconds. The others are a 2.0, 2.5 R5 (5-pot diesel) and the 2.0 TSI. All engines will come with a manual as standard, but a six-speed auto is an option. The 2.0 TDI and TSI can be had with a 6-speed DSG.

Would this have been the next-gen Waja if Proton-VW talks didn’t go down the drain? Gallery and a video after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1202]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The black stig on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

the car looks boring, even the car itself looked bored.
    interior wise is much worse.. totally yesterday’s design. Heck.. Cruze and Forte has better interior.

But no doubt it will sell, it’s German and most important that VW badge!!

• Wow, it’s nice… Reminiscing the A4

• Water Kulas on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Old fashion interior….

• Danny, you may need to fact-check the “hatchback-to-sedan conversion ” part, I read in other reports it doesn’t share any parts with the Mk 6 Golf and it is an entirely new car line from VW.

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:30 pm

It’s a sedan built on the Golf platform lah. Just because it has new sheetmetal doesn’t mean it’s not a sedan Golf. Just like how the 408 is a 308 sedan.

• Thomas Heng on Jun 16, 2010 at 3:22 pm

I do also read another report mentioned this new Jetta isn’t based on Golf platform anymore. It is totally new platform lineup together with polo, golf, passat, tiguan etc.

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Paul ,

there are some sources that imply if converted it could be the upcoming Mk 7 and not the current Mk 6 … read below link, so I think we are all abit confused here …. nonetheless design wise still pretty boring, so VW buying over Giugiaro is a good move.

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/251851/seven_up_for_golf.html

• looks like I’m not the only one here telling you this car is not based on the Golf platform.

• west meets east on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm

It’s a sedan built on the Golf platform lah. Just because it has new sheetmetal doesn’t mean it’s not a sedan Golf. Just like how the Fluence is a Megane sedan.

• vw beetle on Feb 05, 2011 at 10:39 am

It’s a sedan built on the Golf platform lah. Just because it has new sheetmetal doesn’t mean it’s not a sedan Golf. Just like how the Fluence is a Megane sedan, the Volvo C30 is a S40 hatchback.

• Philip J. Fry on Jun 17, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Here’s one example of the reports you are talking about:
      http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/253048/new_jetta_puts_the_boot_in.html

• dukenborg on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:22 pm

The VW’s keep getting more sophisticated every time they launch a new car! What a beauty!

• azrai on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Head to head with cruze? I think it is better ahead of cruze.

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Don’t think it was ever behind the Cruze or any of its predecessors.

Since the Mk3, they have been very good at what they do, with the Mk4 being the best looking and driving of its range with its 1.8T or 1.9 TDi.

And it was built in mexico, which means it undercuts even Toyota and Honda’s Corolla and Civic at the higher trim levels.

The Mk5 grew quite a bit, enough to slot in a smaller polo based Vento under it, and it seems the Mk6 will continue the trend.

Would this be a better Waja than the possible upcoming Lancer based unit? no doubt. Since the Mk5, the Jetta is a poor mans’ Audi A4

• Looks are subjective. I like the Mk6. And about the Mk4, watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0oCc2f6d4A&feature=related

• k_man on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

More like head to head with civic, altis, if it comes here…

• Huhu… nice… a little boring but nice non the less…

… that last sentence is cheeky of u guys … hehe :-)

• LightStar on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:26 pm

When it will come to Malaysia?

• dMike on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Comes to Malaysia who wants to buy?It would be the price of a Camry

• johnny on Jun 16, 2010 at 6:42 pm

And why is that? It says here the jetta would be competing with the cruze. By right it should have similar price. And the cruze isnt CKD either.

• Who want to buy Camry when same price as an apartment?

• The front is boring. The headlights is similar to other new VW cars. Nice car though.

• When will it come to Malaysia? Any speculation on spec and price?

• The answer is easy: Never…

As you know already, only VW’s niche models are sold in Malaysia.

The best-selling VW cars are not available here… ;)

• klguy on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:21 pm

in US it competes against Cruze. Over here it will compete against C class and the 3 series…thanks to the pricing

• Nice looking but nothing too radical in design.

• squawk on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Interior doesn’t look Golf-ish at all, which can be a good thing for a sedan.

• paultan fan on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm

wahlao….. nice car….. want one :-)

• Mujahiddin on Jun 16, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Definitely looks classy and solid. Exterior is more sleek & elegant than any of the rivals in this segment, The interior is a bit conservative but still pleasing (Civic’s futuristic dash is still the best I think). Quality should be top notch. Overall, has the potential to be the class leader.

• 2.0 Liter, it will try to sell around Camry and Accord price at RM150K for sure. or just US$16K add another 0, become 160K ringgit. What a good life of being AP holder.

• Mujahiddin on Jun 16, 2010 at 2:29 pm

If it’s ever brought to Malaysia, to compete with Cruze, Civic, Forte, Focus alike, I don’t think VW will put the price close to the Camry & Accord territory, would they? Unless it’s Passat.

• If VW Malaysia ever to bring Jetta here then it would be the 1.6 version. 2.0 is way to close to Passat.

And I guess it would be priced around RM150-170k. Passat is what, RM200k?

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Why not?

I’ve been seeing a good number of the MK5 Jettas in town. These would be niche market anyway. And being a CBU unit, the price premium is not unresonable, especially with the 6 speed gearbox, 6 airbags, proper ISOFIX mounts…..etc. I reckon some people might pay the premium…..

Besides, if you’ve been inside a VW product, the interior is top notch. Definately a class up on even the Camry and Accord.

Remember, this is malaysia, price categories are all out of whack anyway and never in line with equipment and chassis segment.

• johnny on Jun 16, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Bro why would they want to put it against camry n accord? it should rival the cruze , lancer and civic here. With the cruze n lancer being CBU with great price, dont see why VW cant price it competitively here.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Gov have FTA with Japan, maybe that’s why CBU Japan is cheaper than CBU from europe.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm

this guy is hijacking my nick here…

• Mujahiddin on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

Yeap, the VW Jetta should be joining the Chevy Cruze, Mazda 3 & Forte as the latest best CBU entry level, executive cars.

• fenzo on Jun 16, 2010 at 7:07 pm

saw one nice MK5 Jetta with white body color & black rim

• GT27 (Member) on Jun 16, 2010 at 2:53 pm

USD 16k for VW 2.0 TSI, 6 speed auto, this can only find in US, so so nice, I envy them…

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

they also envy us for the cheap petrol, cheap houses, low income tax here. or, they envy arab more than us, no tax in arab :)

• there is no reason for them to envy anyone. i’ve worked in both the US and the middle east. take home pay in the US is very decent and living costs is considerably low compared to Malaysia, if you can control yourself. salaries in the middle east is nothing to shout about, really. even though its tax free, you are forced to pay through your nose for your tiny 1 bedroom apartment. but still, cars are extremely cheap in relative to what you earn.

but here in our country, we fork out a decent amount of money for downpayment, only to be enslaved by the banksters for 9 years. Mofaz, pls note that our country is out of the league for cheap houses and low income tax. the only thing we should shout about instead is our cheap public health amenities.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:32 pm

that’s not from the usual “MoFaz”.. he hijacked my nick…

• Enrico on Jun 18, 2010 at 9:00 pm

cheap petrol in Malaysia? only if you earn US dollar in Malaysia. And cheap houses in Malaysia? What kinda houses? The RM50,000 tiny low cost houses?

• I’m a big fan of the 1999 Jetta during my student years in the States.

If CKD’s are to roll out from here next year, it should be priced slightly below the overpriced Civic for it to sell well. I would love to see more conti makes roam our roads.

• VW_fan on Jun 16, 2010 at 3:52 pm

VW owners don’t want flamboyant designs but prefer understated elegance and quality. I enjoy the German engineering and how everything feels in the cabin. Photos don’t do justice to the car until you drive one.

• appetite4destructions on Jun 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm

how come in US it will be manual as standard, auto as an option… but most cars model in bolehland it’s always auto as the only option……..

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:11 pm

because auto got more buyers. more people choose auto here due to traffic jams wherever they go.

• messi_WC2010 on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

at least put manual as an option.. not everybody facing traffic jams everyday…

• Unless they manage to hv it built s’where in Asia, d price as history has proven will make it a low volume seller.

Looks wise is more ‘mature’ than ‘boring’, but then again very difficult to resist from owning 1.

• muuse on Jun 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

design is boring.. they just want to play safe. but is a good car to drive.. VW rocks

• ABTguy on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Jetta at the prev version is already a very nice car, many in SG bought it instead of Golf due to the need for boot. It will not be priced against Cruze here unless Naza got the distributor ship and VW Malaysia quite the market.

I bought a pre-owned Passat 2.0 TFSI at only few grand more than a Camry, I tell you -> German car never disappoints :)

If Jetta ever makes it way here, it should be priced say a few grand (but no more than 10k) above Civic, I meat the 1.4 twin-charger version, then you may see may on the road. Anbd I tell you what, the maintenance is not so high, if compare to Merc / BMW / Audi (the 1A-2B). But sure higher than T&H lah :D

• looks elegant without being loud.not futuristic like the recent korean designs but nevertheless still looks classy and solid,typically german.I’m sure it would be a good buy if the price is right but alas,import duties come into play and this c segment standard 2.0 will probably cost more than a D segment 2.4 litre accord or camry.so make your pick……..

• farghmee on Jun 16, 2010 at 6:55 pm

i like the exterior look..but..
    the dash is not my taste.

• mitlanevo on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:41 pm

plain but nice!

• firefox on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

VW car is good, i still prefer CC

• tikus on Jun 17, 2010 at 1:18 am

If Jetta in Cruze price…P1 “future: Perdana ,T&H brand will koyok and our G will not make it happen.

• Lemorris on Jun 17, 2010 at 7:38 am

Love the Jetta from MK3 on. I drive a 58 rag and love both sides of the brand. VWs rock.

• Chilavert on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:34 am

the average salary of new executive/engineer in US is about USD 3,000 – 4,000 and this car will cost about USD 16,000. damn they only need to wait for 5 month and they can buy it cash. unlike in malaysia, 5 months and u still dont have enough money for downpayment. hahaha

• previous version of Jetta selling in Malaysia for RM 165k (1.6 model) and RM 182K (2.0 model) so you need between RM33-36K per month salary to buy it cash in 5 months! And most people in that income bracket wouldn’t buy this car anyway.

Paul,perhaps you could do a survey to see how many months salary we spend on our cars? eg RM 50K Proton = 12 months salary of a graduate with 4K monthly salary

• Chilavert on Jun 17, 2010 at 11:37 am

in malaysia with income around RM4,000 still cannot but the cheapest car (viva 660 basic) in 5 months. RM4,000 a month is considered quite high u know. malaysia, truly asia ~ LOL

• Amir Mokhtar Amir Hussain on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Come on bro, if you say so, try to compare cost of living in the States, education fees, etc. Please be logical, not biased. Why don’t you work hard and save enough cash for your dream car? Why always complain? I guess that’s the best you can do.

• GT27 (Member) on Jun 17, 2010 at 11:07 am

VW in Malaysia is overprice, compare to US, this VW Jetta is about same price as Honda Civic 1.8…

If they can sell this car price like Honda Civic 2.0 in Malaysia, this car going to sell like Hot Cake!!!

• John Doe on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:06 am

This new Jetta is positioned to compete against Civic and Corolla elsewhere in the world. If they’re going to bring it here, it should be priced as such. I hope VW Malaysia don’t try to rip off the customers by charging a premium over the Civic and Corolla by relying on their prestige alone. Car buyers today know better and have access to the internet!

• west meets east on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:11 am

i like it as i like vw golf. if you don’t like golf, don’t buy the jetta,scirocco,new beetle,eos, tiguan, or touran, as they are on the same platform. i will wait for the R version to beat the mitsubishi’s lancer evos.