276hp Lotus Evora debuts in Malaysia – starts from RM 443,480 up to nearly RM 500,000!

Lotus has officially launched the much anticipated Evora for the Malaysian market earlier today. It took a while for the Evora to reach our shores considering it was unveiled in 2008 during the British International Motor Show. The 2+2 mid-engined Lotus is slightly larger than the Europa which is rumored to be shelved later this year.

The Evora is considered by many as a Lotus that is more livable, although it can still prove to be quite difficult for a large-sized individual to comfortably fit in the cockpit. There rear cabin is just enough for kids as well. It is also only available with a good old manual transmission, for now at least. It weighs just 1,350 kilograms and power to the rear wheels come from a 3.5 litre VVT-i V6 that is able to produce 276hp at 6,400 RPM and 342Nm of torque available at 4,700 RPM. The Toyota-sourced engine which features a Lotus T6e ECU is linked to a 6-speed manual gearbox.

Apparently the ratios of the transmission are tuned to offer a smoother drive, not as hard-hitting as some performance-oriented transmissions. With all that power and a light weight chassis the Evora is able to hit the century mark in 5.1 seconds and goes on till it reaches 261km/h. It’s average fuel economy is figured at 8.7 litres per 100 kilometers while producing 199 grams of emissions per kilometer.

The Evora is offered with four trim levels in Malaysia with features like Bi-Xenon headlights, power-fold door mirrors, BOSCH Electronic Differential Lock, ABS with EBD offered as standard. The most basic trim level is the Sport Spec Edition which has a switchable sports mode, titanium sports exhaust tailpipe, engine oil cooler, cross-drilled brake discs with black calipers and a sports diffuser.

Next up is the Tech Spec Edition that comprises of an upgraded audio (2x50W), DVD player, 7-inch WVGA touch screen, portable navigation unit, cruise control, rear parking sensors, tire pressure monitoring system as well as Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivities. There is also an Alpine reverse camera.

Further up the scale is the Sport & Tech Spec Edition which combines the equipment list available with the models above. The range-topping spot is taken up by the Launch Spec Edition. It has all of the above plus accent lighting, an Evora logo on the dash, premium floor mats, more leather upholstery and a choice of four seat colours including Oyster, Charcoal, Chestnut or Paprika.

On top of the above trim levels, buyers can also optionally add a close-ratio sports gearbox, premium paint or choose between two wheel options such as Y-type 5-spoke cast alloys finished in Stealth Grey or 10-spoke forged alloys in either Hi-Power Silver or Gloss Anthracite. The base Sport Spec will set you back RM443,480.00 while the Tech Spec and Sport & Tech Spec versions are priced at RM463,650.00 and RM472,110.00 respectively. The top-of-the-line Launch Spec can be yours for RM490,210.00.

As always, an image gallery can be found after the jump. There is also a special compilation video of the Evora released by Lotus.

GALLERY: Lotus Evora Malaysian Launch
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1234]

VIDEO: Lotus Evora Compilation Video

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Eric G on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:36 pm

CANnot afford.

• exorass on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm

i terkejut i tot EXORA MPV got 276 hp…..and selling at RM400k…..i tot is concept car…

ish ish, terkejut ni…

• mohsin on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:41 am

i’m shock! mahal sgt!
      hope there will a proton version!

• Fuzi Dream Builders @Ndlala Network on Nov 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

i rasa proud kita ada satu lagi jenama di puncak DUNIA>>>LOTUS
        kereta tak le mahal sangat cuma orang je tak mampu…by the year 2012 PASTI jadi miik AKU…….CONFIRM…. Amin….

• Mohd Konoha on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Rather buy the Nissan GTR…

• shawal on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:19 pm

mmm….. exactly

• blrrr on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:17 pm

or porsche,nsx,civic type r add turbo,lancer evolution,nissan gtr and bmw…..

• autojohndoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

it means that u dont understand the difference between Lotus and nissan…

you may see the nissan brand.. like so good…

• mr_3m on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm

and Lotus? Better still is it?? Is it because they produce the world’s best handling cars?

Yes, Lotus engineering is super excellent… but admit that they are just bad at putting cars together… that’s all…

so for a Lotus, nice to look at, nice to drive but not nice to own at all…. ;-)

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 25, 2010 at 7:38 am

obviously you never ride one…if you did..I bet you’ll change your mind

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:55 pm

unfortunately not many ppl in malaysia understood lotus…the remarks above stems the fact. I suggest, get down to Lotus Club Malaysia and get an appointment to test drive.

• Cosmos on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:22 pm

The cars like the GTR and the like are in a different class. In terms of performance they may be way better than this Evora. They may be lots cheaper too. But then to the Evora buyer, this is not the most important aspect in the purchase decision. It is also not important who gets to smoke who at the traffic lights. It is called arriving in a car that costs that much.

It is to say, ‘I’ve made it in life!’. So, the performance figures while important to anyone buying a car costing that much, is not the one and only criteria. It is the heritage behind the brand. The value of a sought after car because it has a strong heritage behind it. This will not be appreciated by the GTR or other class of sport car buyer as their criteria is completely different. They want something that can beat the Porsches and Ferraris and cost a fraction of the price. Yes we have all seen how the Supra smoked the Ferrari in Fast n Furious. Nope, the Ferrari buyer is not the least bothered about it. Same for the Evora buyer cos that is not what is important to the owner.

So, as I mentioned earlier, this car may not appeal to those looking for just pure performance. It is made for those who want something finer in life.

• dickybird on Jun 27, 2010 at 4:44 am

there are finer things in life and there are many ways to show you have arrived in the world but this car really is not one of them.

• paultan fan on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:58 am

yesss!!! GTR :-)

• something to look forward to ^_^

• NazEeR on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:40 pm

niceeeeeee

• i tot it’s a Exora… haha

• scgtimk1 on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

The Air cond. vent on the door is taken out straight from the proton saga.

• wow!

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Why Lotus which is own by Proton are selling such a high price in Malaysia? They should be selling at cheaper rate as this is own by Proton and should not be AP or tax so high…

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Owned by Proton it may be, but it’s still a CBU from Norfolk, England.

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Do you read my comment?

” They should be selling at cheaper rate as this is own by Proton and should not be AP or tax so high…”

Why want to tax so high, while u want ur people to support Proton & Lotus? If the price is cheaper, i would believe that Lotus cars will sell even more in Malaysia. Which is a win-win situation..

But seeing the G want to bangkrap de, i think they have no choice but to apply AP & Tax high-high to own a Lotus…

• autojohndoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm

if everybody can afford the lotus… so, where is the exclusiveness?

• Black Dog on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm

they don’t f**k care about the Malaysian market! 2008 launched, now only here? Only for P1 directors and their cronies to enjoy lah, the rest they don’t f**k care.

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:58 pm

its called marketing strategy and target market.

• autojohndoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Stupid la some comment here…

everything related to Proton is corrupt?

even it is made in UK, by the British, export by British… STupid some malaysian mind…

• Cars4Life on Jun 24, 2010 at 3:02 pm

and some ignorant minds living in denial even more stupid..

• redxdevil on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:22 pm

ya. typical stupid pakatan rakyat minded. just bash everything about the Gov. even the lotus!! lol stupid minded

• cmc80 on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:28 pm

agree!

For nearly RM500K…
          Ferrari 360 Modena only RM 6++K…^^

• Jonnie on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Modena F1 2003 can get around 450k la.

• Ferrari engine get heated up very fast….i sold mine…

• made in UK la. own by proton not made by proton.. lotus UK.. even proton car have to pay tax.. all thing have to pay tax.. tax.. tax..

• waterman on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

made in malaysia u also not dare to drive. LOL

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

live in UK worse…tax is worse off…direct and indirect tax constitute 76% of your salary…now even more with the new budget…with VAT up, go figure with consumer price index…

• don’t agree with you …

even after 76% Tax, with the left over they can afford more things than us …

• doesnt matter owned by who, as long as it is not develop or produce here, it should be taxed high. if a car company owned by Israeli but develop or produce car here, then it should be no tax or minimal tax, since it already provides job opportunities for local people.

so for those calling for cheap car, ask the manufacturer to produce or at least assemble the car here, not by calling the gov to reduce tax (this is plain stupid selfish act)

• honda city assemble here, selling 80k? why not selling at 50k?? tell me la. same tax kah? kepandaian ketuanan.

• taboogen on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:01 am

gti.. make ur own car lah.. then sell it around 50k.. and if u can create a car with the same spec and quality.. I’ll be the first one to order…. take lah my challange

• yeah.. y when it come to honda suddenly it become ok?? big fan of honda ka?

• honda ASSEMBLE… not PRODUCE like what proton did. how many contribution to the country in term of job opportunity and economic activities between ASSEMBLE and PRODUCE? you do your math. so ofcoz honda car has to be taxed more than proton.

• scgtimk1 on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Honda can sell even at 80k…..

Why bother reduce price then…. cannot afford Honda buy other brand and don’t complain …..

• watever on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm

yea man. If u cant afford it, dont buy. Go ride motorbikes. Want to complain about rain ? Wear raincoat. Too hot ? Go take public transport. Too slow ? Go die

• redxdevil on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm

gti is a noob. he just bash everything about the Gov

• campro on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm

see our neighbor enough la…..Thailand, singapore, Indonesia…..Toyota & Honda price there jz like our proton car price at here….u all no brain ppl thk lah….example vios in siam only 5xk….dun 4get m’sia is 1 of the most highest tax on vehicle in the world….proton at outside m’sia so cheap until ppl dun even want to take a look….when their currency convert to ringgit still far cheaper than selling in local price….

• tikus on Jun 24, 2010 at 6:20 pm

They should rebadge or SKD it so that rakyat can enjoy Lotus mah like German can enjoy BMW or Merc at cheap price.

• tikus on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

It can be done by rebadge it mah… or SKD.

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:00 pm

LOL! SKD? they might still be using epoxy to bond the car together, personally i dont trust those guys at tg malim with even a glue gun!

• mr_3m on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm

hahhahahahahhaha…… funny one dickybird…

• chasis in UK la … other part can manufacture here
          don’t worry, i believe got tuner will sell better aftermarket interior hahah and better bodykit

• carzlover on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

nice ride….

• blue…GEN-2 colour..haha..they got proton DNA..hahaha

• What is a ‘Lotus T6e ECU’?

• coolguru on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm

very purist car with hints of Protons inside like the door handle, buttons, handbrake lever, gear knobs, etc… though different quality and finishing!

So unsure if it’s good job Proton or poor job Lotus…

• jwitdotcom on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

emmm…expensive Local Made “Sport Car”.

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

This car should rival the Porsche Cayman, the new BMW Z4 and Nissan 370Z..

• tamaki on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:31 pm

indeed, but in every aspect comparison power performance, design, interior, safety, technology i think 370z done better then evora ,most important PRICE brand new 370z cost rm370,000 only.

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Still, like the guys on TopGear said when they test the Lexus LFA

“It is still a Toyota.”

Well, 370Z is still a NISSAN. Whereas Evora is a Lotus. Unless you’re comparing with GT-R which is a witchcraft.

• Cosmos on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Yup. this is where brand value separates the cars. It is not purely about performance. If this were the case, why don’t every person who can afford a Porsche Turbo buy an average eastern car and mod it to have Porsche beating performance? Clearly, these cars are meant for the more matured and they are also to highlight that the owner has made it is life. It is a status symbol.

• dukeKTM on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Wow!…with that much of money…I’d rather choose the evo and impreza both…or my fav the Focus RS…available in Naza World…. :0~ *drool*

but anyway…people who really likes lotus should have no problem…I saw evora perform during SuperGT last weekend at the autocross track outside…nice car…

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Price is quite steep though for Proton owned car company :) , maybe because of the prestige name..

• RK-M5 on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Wow so nice!!!!have you driven it?

• Teacher says: on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

This one is potong CKD ?

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

more of a showcase rather than for track use. nice fit and finish.

• theanswer on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:16 pm

sweet looking car…but the steering looks like a toy. p1 should ‘cilok’ the designa bit to make putra replacement. hahaha

• venven81 on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:17 pm

starting price from RM443k to RM490k! oh my god! lotus has to seriously think of its pricing strategy for a car that could produce a sub-300bhp sports car! ridiculous

• proton filir mcm bagus sangat nakjual mahal2.. hahah like proton car… mahal2..

• redxdevil on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:27 pm

proton better than perodua. Thats TRUE!!

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:21 pm

u sure?! are you gonna tell all those ppl who bought P2 and made it no.1 for 3 years running that they are idiots for doing so? LOL! i hope your medical insurance is paid up.

• anti-Porsche on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

could you be missing a point here… u judging price based on bhp? u really have to drive one to know the reason to its pricing… not forgetting the R&D that goes on behind getting you the Colin Chapman specials… ignoramous…

• Amiran on Jun 25, 2010 at 8:43 am

Ha ha… I hope you r just kidding.
      Elise oso got 1.8l and now 1.6l with pathetic bhp. But professionals still praise it without caring its price. So my opinion is, talking about bhp & cc alone on Lotus is inaccurate.

• Cosmos on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:30 pm

It is not always about BHP or Nm. It is heritage, brand value and the prestige that the badge brings. That is what those with money look for. Performance is secondary.

• Johnny on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Is it worth buying if compared to BMW 335i M-Sport?
    Evora Launch Spec – RM490,210.00 versus BMW 335i Coupe M Sport – RM 498, 800…
    3.5litre versus 3.0litre twin turbo..
    I’d choose BMW :)

• Chris on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:00 pm

dude!
      compare apple to apple la!!!
      BMW 335 is not sport coupe or grand tourer like Evora…
      it is a 3-door saloon…
      use better cars for comparison la johnny…..clue for you,porsche….

• shawal on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:27 pm

the 335i sport century sprint is 5 seconds flat , the evora can drift on all four wheels but considering the tyre prices and the fact that you have to travel all the way to a track to have fun, cost is big factor…
        Plus the beemer is more practical..
        but in the UK where evora is 50K pounds , it is a big issue there too…
        cuz you can get a cayman for the same money

• feisal on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:09 pm

For those who can buy, tyres price should not be an issue. Cost is not a big factor. :-)

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:45 am

People who buy this car wouldn’t be thinking about practicality anyway…

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 25, 2010 at 8:22 am

this car is mostly buy for fun run until got killed by accident only, not really to pick up your kids from school or go to pasar

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:25 pm

on contrary. The aluminum body shell could withstand crashes even at high speed…touch wood….on the other hand, it is cat a 2X2 as kids could get fit in the rear seats…

• Nice car but overtaxed and over inflated price. why buy the car and feed the corrupted.

• Vincent on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm

err.. 400+K….

There are a lot of alternative out there by Naza ler…

• nazri on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

you can outrun at straight line.. try beat at curvy road.. haha

• Kok Hsien on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Swt. Rm400k++ for a toy?

People can buy super cars with that price.

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Whatever…. go buy your Nissa GTR.. nobody cares….. well that’s if u have the money… otherwise…talk only la….

• mkrafz on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:27 pm

ya right..
      if u can afford, u buy it.
      otherwise, just buy the pic or poster la..
      much better. :)

• evora is known for its superb handling,not power

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm

…and people who keep comparing it with GTR, BMW M3 whatever, Evo and Scooby should read and understand this. Evora was never about power in the first place. It is about handling and how it can be driven on field of daffodils without breaking your spine (as Jeremy Clarkson said).

Unless they come out with Lotus Evora Cup Racer with juicy 400bhp.

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

agreed, pretty damn amazing handling… this would be a perfect example of handling trumping power. Although i think the elise did better if I’m not mistaken.

• Camry lover on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Evora 2WD FR. GTR 4WD.
    you know which have better traction and handling.
    yes, i dont have the money to buy, i talk only.

• I think with the potholes & uneven roads in Boleh-land the practical usage of the Evora will be limited. I’d rather go for an Audi Q5 Quattro or the A5 and have spare change instead of spending RM500k on this. But that’s my own preference.

• feisal on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:17 pm

My preference would be a Tiguan for everyday use. I won’t use Evora for everyday use. Not even for highway long distance travel. But it would be a fun weekend drive.

• I second that. VW owns Audi and essentially the Tiguan will be a very good choice. Driving a SUV or equivalent would be the most prudent & logical choice for the road conditions in our country.

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:51 am

Well, the thing to understand here is anyone even thinking of buying this car wouldn’t consider practicality to begin with. But a tiguan? Q5 FTW.

• lol the roads in Australia is even worse lah.

• better buy Exora than this expensive Evora… wakakaka~ joke :p

• hairi on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:29 pm

…where to service this car? proton workshop??

• hahaha… i wonder also… proton service center also ok maaa… :D

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:49 pm

the boys of lotus cars malaysia in proton are equip with fixing, mod of any range of lotus cars…even more so, there come with tons of experience…so no issue…

• shawal on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm

If you like it, can afford it, just buy it…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:35 pm

sick price

• junaidi on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:35 pm

I like how the car is photographed on pebbles. Undoubtly very uncomfortable to drive on.
    Its hinting at something but I cant put my finger on it.

• mkrafz on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:33 pm

have u drive one?
      or any other sports car?
      want some cheap and cheerful, got for myvilah
      want comfort? go for bmw 7 series.
      this car for people who appreciate what true car all about.
      this is a driver car.
      hence a magnificent piece of art.

• anti-Porsche on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:30 pm

finally came across a sensible input to all this rubbish, including mine!!! lol

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:57 pm

you must have not watch this,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHcLP0wvENQ

• mitlanevo on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:43 pm

overall 2 thumbs up!

• PakAbu on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Whoa… Lots of noise about the price. So I google lah the price. Apparently starts from GBP 45k in UK. Convert to MYR…. 200k++. I still can’t afford it. But some people can ;)
    Masuk Malaysia, of course lah ‘donate’ to national fund another rm200k++… Shipping some more, long distance technical support… blah blah bla…. Kira Ok lah… 440k++… What is half a million between… Er… Friends…. ;)

• rex79gt on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

i would say the price is for a new car not recond super cars u see around
    nth special bout the price also -.-

• Maserati on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

hahaha..500k for a car which has a interior that looks like a Proton car.No way man,Nissan GTR anytime.

Just look at the steering wheel ,lookz like it was plucked out of a Saga.My goodness,so expensive car ,but look so cheap…haihzz..Just take a look at the speedo,really looks like Saga or Waja..OMG!

• some aspects of the car was designed by Malaysians which works for Proton. thats why Evora’s design is a bit identical to some Proton cars.

shame that it uses Toyota engine, when will Proton build a 3.0 Campor V6 ah? lol

• firos on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

3.5liters V6 only 276bhp…….

• Toyota engine maa, what do you expect?

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:04 pm

exige started off its life, post rover, as a megre 1.8lts with a toyota with only 192bhp….fast forward, there is now a exige 300 public road version that run at 298bhp….so, again its product life cycle and strategy….look at the engine bay…if you notice there is ample area for placement of additional power gadgets….hehe….on the other hand, GTR started off in 2007, the basic power remains on average the same….then again, its a turbo…whilst evora is NA…WITH LOTS OF POWER OPPORTUNITY…

• you have to find and buy one the GTR from outside and get AP, nissan not yet sell the GTR here in malaysia..

• handmade isnt it?

• lotus : thumbs up
    toyota engine : blergh….

• kaiser on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:29 pm

sub 500k is actually quite cheap. This is an expensive car, even in the UK. almost 60000 pounds with all the options in(about 300k ringgit, without tax, transportation etc). The basic model (don’t even have rear seats!) in the UK is priced at 48k pounds.

Compare that to similarly paced cars such as a porche, the cheapest cayman is much more than half a million ringgit. A BMW M3, which is around 50k in the UK, will set you back 700k here. Lamborghini Gallardo (yes, the evora is at least as fast!) is 1.5M.

So, if it is the price that people is complaining about then don’t bacause this car is dirt cheap for it’s species. It probably is not as well made as a Porche (it’s German), but an actual (gorgeous looking) sports car for less than half a million ringgit, that is a decent proposition in my book.

• anti-Porsche on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:32 pm

spot on brother! well said!

• jaguarXJ on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:36 pm

indeed,this car is quite cheap

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:19 pm

ur the kaiser alright!!haha!!i support u~

• bohpee on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:39 pm

kaiser is right!!

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:23 am

Said like the RM500k so cheap, why not u own 1 and prove to us it is cheap?

• @littlefire He didn’t say it was cheap, as if can buy like bawang only. He was saying that similarly priced cars in the UK, were more expensive when sold in Malaysia. So the Lotus is in a way “better value”. Read carefully before we go bashing people.

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Dude, even u convert into Malaysian ringgit it wont be so expensive..

In UK, u have tax also on cars… If u earn & spend in UK compare to Malaysia here, which 1 is cheaper to own? The thing i want to tell is that someone in Malaysia here are overcharging us.. With all the Tax & AP in the end went to whose pocket? Still saying that in Malaysia buying all these cars are cheap?!? Even in UK, people are also complanning car prices also in term of insurance & co2 taxes.

• You only comparing car price here bro. Yes maybe our car is a bit expensice due to tax…but other things is not. You go and live in oversea and you will know how expensive is their tax. i’ve once live in Australia and gosh…their tax is mind boggling.
            They o9vercharging us with tax in car…bro…the tax will go back to us.

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:47 pm

@met, yes the tax will come back to us in the form of a new parliament and new istana and NO more subsidy.
            gosh you must be very rich if you think things even as there are now are not expensive! get real!
            aussie tax maybe high but at least you can walk anywhere without the sidewalk suddenly disappearing from under you and the kids can have a world class uni education for a song!

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:16 pm

i take it you have migrated and am living in down under now or still bitching about in malaysia?

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

@nigel, my country i will bitch about it if i want.

• Eyesore on Jun 25, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Bla bla bla..the ppl who actually buy this car or other imported cars doesn’t really talk abt whether the tax coming back to them or not…. only ppl like u did… on the other hand.. for you..day to day live… the benefits you received be it thru infrastructure, subsidies etc daily might have easily exceeded the amount of tax you paid monthly big time!

So… wanna keep complaining about tax? So in UK..they might not complaining abt car prices… but the costs of owning a car? taxes etc? look at the whole picture… not just 1 tiny pixel of it…

• jaguarXJ on Jun 25, 2010 at 9:41 pm

@little fire,dont be stupid can ah?
        this is a sport car ,try comparing with the lambo’s and porsche’s

THIS IS QUITE CHEAP!

• littlefire on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:18 am

Yeap very cheap… That why Lotus sales will always loss to others…

• botak on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm

i love to see when it can break as well between ais and wet road.. very good handling… :D

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Ais? Where on Malaysia’s road got ais? Seriously? Up on Kinabalu mountain? And, what with the ‘break’ (pecah)? Do you mean ‘brake’?

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:14 pm

no issues there. the evora handling was adjusted and fine tuned at the norway icy lakes where most WRC champions train….

• jaguarXJ on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:04 pm

,this is CBU!not some cheap macha modified cars!
    dont bash la if you dont have the money,aiyo!!

• Hey is this on display anywhere? I wanna take pics

• blrrr on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:11 pm

go 2 hell!! bek aq bli porsche cayman s 3.4.. lgi murah lgi laju.. x cye tgok page nie http://www.mudah.my/Porsche+Cayman+S+3+4+Japan+Unreg+Mst+View-6434645.htm…s2000 pon sdap jgk bwk..

• jaguarXJ on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm

im sure u dont have the money cause you are writing like a monkey

• lol i don’t think those Cayman has better handling than this. go to hell!! LMAO

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:18 pm

kesian..ko bandingkan kete recond dgn brand new.ape kate ko tgk harge brand new cayman s tu.baru la boleh compare bro.kalo camni aku pn bole kate baik aku beli 350z 2nd hand.rm130k cmtu da dpt.fikir la dulu b4 cakap.

• bohpee on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

ntah, aku ada baca majalah autocar, dalam handling test, 9 dari 10 juri bagi first place untuk evora ni..

• Daamz on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

ko memg sekolah rendah la…keta recond nak buat pa…entah dah tukar itu ini…pa benda yg diorang tukar pun ko tak tau..dia dah eccident pun tak tau…keta lama plak..porsche kalau org ada duit, org tak beli recond la beb..org kaya beli baru lah punya..org kaya baru je beli keta recond..save money..ni keta bukan utk org takde duit…ni memg di jual utk milionaire…bukan milo naire..

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

i think this is cheaper that it should actually be…. the Evora in the UK cost about £45k. In comparision… a 370z comes in at about £28k.

Logically, it should hv been priced at about RM600k or more. Heck it’s even more expensive than the Boxter in the UK

Please think before you comment on the price you apes

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Well, because we Malaysian always think that everything that cost more than a Proton is expansive. So logically, every car must cost less than rm30k. If not, they will blame Proton for being lame and the government for high tax.

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:17 pm

yeah,i was surprised at the price too.cheaper than i predict.lolz,all ths ppl no ntg la.only knw how to talk than doing researh.ye olde typical msian way~

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Dude, cars in UK are also been taxed… U can check and see the real price of Lotus is even cheaper…

Even 45k * 5.5 only cost around RM250k.. So where the another RM200k goes? Into the AP guy pocket, the G pocket or maybe someones pocket..

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:19 pm

funny malaysian.

even Jeremy Clarkson praise this car.

that’s from a person those hard to pleased btw.

• mystvearn on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Maybe buy a Z4 with that price?

• oldman on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:35 pm

like usual, overpriced…should be price below perdana v6, baru boleh laku cam pisang goreng

• zafedz on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:51 pm

any recon models from UK??How much the price??

• opss.. I was appointed to Mr Puki <— name also bad word.. no wonder……………… wrong people kena taruh.. my bad.. :)

• Maserati on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Made in uk is no different thn made in msia if u hv proton engineers in UK handling this. In the end its still “made by malaysia in UK”…

• solen on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

waaa… maserati eyh. nice car. hand made car, no wonder so expensive.
      why dont you build your own car from scrap.
      then you dont have to pay tax.
      and cheaper too..

read the previous entry here. More and more ferrari engineer join Lotus….

• Fangalica on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

taking a camry engine and put in the evora chassis and the price tag around 443k till 500k is not make it any sense at all…..

• mohdjiman on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:18 pm

uh…fair price indeed

• jaguarXJ on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

the price is not so bad compared to other super cars,so pls dont talk crap!

• Handmade car beb… no wonder u got that price… this evora just for rich people whoz hav lot2 of money… for me, just buy Exora… better handling, 7 people, big space…

n small engine.. erkk…~

• Elvis on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Another half million car, so called Malaysia punya company. No thanks, why spend half million when you sit inside, the roof touch your head, feels cramp inside, tidak boleh bernafas. Better buy half millon caravan, got toilet, kitchen and can sleep some more. This is a toy car for the wealthy, if you dont have 10 million cash forget it, this exclude your bungalow and other properties mind you.

• you just compared a sports car to a caravan. thats a really stupid statement lah. can the caravan go 261km/h? can the caravan drift?

“the roof touch your head, feels cramp inside, tidak boleh bernafas.”

you’re a fat 200+kg person or what?

• Alpha on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:19 am

I’m kinda fat,n i feels comfortable inside an Evora.you must be HUGE,man!!no wonder u hav to get a caravan.

• yeah…why buy vw polo when you can buy myvi?
      have higher roof, not cramp, some more 4 doors.

elvis you’re genius.

• jaguarXJ on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:01 am

its quality you dumb dumb,mim and alpha make a good point,dont compare sports car with caravan la.

• nigel hisham on Jun 25, 2010 at 5:04 pm

its was built around ppl like Mike Kimberley who is 6’5 or 6’6…it was also built taking into consideration the predominantly large US frames…are you that big?

• masih tertanya2 apa itu lotus evora…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHcLP0wvENQ

• mr_3m on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Lotus build quality, fit and finish is still questionable… even the Brits say so when they reviewed this car….

of course Lotus Evora is the BEST HANDLING car for 2009 BUT WHATS THE POINT if it falls to pieces in 5 years time?… At this price it makes a re-cond Cayman at RM3xxk good value (official one at RM550k plus)… or even the 370Z at 370k looks OK….

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm

well,if someone who bought ths baby is a sucker,wat r u,someone who can only talk but can’t buy ths,then??lower than sucker la.hahaha!!let me see pics of ur GTR!!!but not the one u google ah.

• alamak on Jun 24, 2010 at 3:27 am

oh…then i think Ah Paul or anyone here only can post here after they bought the car and prove it here…

• nanajib on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:26 pm

i smell koenigsegg

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:31 pm

ppl….why compare lotus and proton ah??i wonder…lotus is not proton.proton made affordable cars while lotus made sports cars.yeah,proton owned lotus.but lotus has a looooong history.rmb the Esprit??so wat if it’s owned by proton??if one day proton bought ferrari or such,ferrari = proton ah??so then,ferrari oso kena bash??the rims like waja la,the looks like persona la,the steering like saga la,the door handle like savvy,the gear sounds like wira n such.oh my.aiyer…THINK LA.lot of u made us malaysians sound sooooo stupid.

comparison between proton and lotus is absurb,neandhertals!!

• bohpee on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:44 pm

agree with u alpha…

• jaguarXJ on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:50 pm

you got that right!

• Welcome to Malaysia ^_^

• “THINK LA.lot of u made us malaysians sound sooooo stupid.”

Actually some Malaysians are stupid.. Juz becoz Proton owns Lotus, price must be cheaper?? What kind of logic is that?? Just becoz Proton ciplak some of Lotus design so that Proton car looks a bit upmarket.. suddenly Lotus design becomes lousy??

Aren’t these people tired of “Made in Malaysia or Own By Malaysia” bashing? Eventho some Malaysian made stuff needs quality improvement – the complains must be channelled in a proper manner and with aim “to improve” not “to make joke or ridicule”. Wake up lah Malaysians, if Malaysians are not proud of Malaysian achievements, who will?

I’ve always wanted a sportscar. Can’t afford it at the moment coz I need to use the $$ for something more important ..

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

agreed!

Ferrari own fiat,
        but ferrari never cheap as fiat too!

very right.

some malaysian are still stupid and 4th world mentality.

• dickybird on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm

oi bodoh sombong! check your facts! FIAT OWNS ferrari. ingat drive proton makes you einstein is it!

• raybrig on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

dude…fiat own ferrari,alfa romeo,lancia,maserati…so…fiat is the MOTHER

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm

As Proton own Lotus, it should our pride to own Lotus sport car at a reasonable prices..

It is also a win-win situation for our people to support Lotus, which in turn also give Proton more revenue as both also are own by the G? Sadly, they never saw this and their try to aim Lotus as one of those high-price sport cars.. Which in the end, will scare a lot of future owners from owning them..

• Storm on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Would be better off getting a Ferrari 360 from those importers. Price also more or less same albeit a used one.

• E bear on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:05 am

Nice toy.

Should be ok…..Toyota engine…ha ha ha.

Proton and Lotus, I guess same boss….ahem, definitely the genes will mix and match to create synergy.

If parts of the Lotus fall out, no problem….just glue it back. The small bits n pcs ok but the main chassis should not have problem.

• Peter on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:13 am

Bros….Different cars are meant for different purpose….

If you say about GTR, its more about power…..

But EVORA is more about handling and cornering….

Different la, different people like different style….

You can’t compare Rooney and Terry right?

One is a striker , the other is a defender….

All i can say, both cars are good….

Also, in racing or even driving….

Power/Torque are not everything….Superb handling and cornering are more important.

Do you guys know that even EVO8 can match Lamborghini….

Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AMIoQUCEvY

• raybrig on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:34 am

i agreed that evora is about handling and cornering..but i disagreed about GTR..it is about handling and cornering as well..mind that…both were great in cornering…

it depends on how u appreciate the car..if u prefer the evora..just go for it..it is still reasonable for the fun sport car…it is not a supercar…

but…if i can afford the 500k tag car..in between evora and gtr, i’ll go for the recond gtr, at least more practical in term of the space and the number of seat, plus still uve got the best thing that they offered as well in evora..the HANDLING…btw..just my thought..

evora is a nice car…ive seen this car a few times..it is so sexy…one of the best looking sports car out there..

btw…that is not an ordinary evo 8..it is FQ series..so yeah..it is logic…thats why it can tailgate the murcie….

• exactly…..for RM500k…i’ll go for the GTR, it may not be prettier than the Evora,but probably better than the Evora in all sorts of way….mind you, despite this, Evora is a cool car….but GTR is better….performance better than a F430, but way cheaper….just look at the Green Hell lap times…. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/N%C3%BCrburgring_lap_times

• yeah.. gtr also tuned by lotus btw..

• raybrig on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:48 pm

nobody ares about it..as long as they deliver a good car…thats what happen to gtr..it is a good car..same goes to evora..but in term of practicality…gtr is overall…thats my opinion..so…up to u then

btw..toyota supplied engine for lotus..fair enough aite?

• barcelona on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:15 am

All that talk about how great lotus is but at the end of the day
    P1 gains nothing … Lotus and their management reaps everything.
    Malaysian will only get another facelift model with Lotus handling again and again.

• Maserati on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:53 am

For some who said Jeremy Clarkson says this is a good car,of course lah.He is a Brit,and
    he is obviously bias towards British made cars.Just go and have a look at his reviews.

Just look at the build quality.IT is atrocious.Even from the pics you can see the signal indicator is build from low quality plastic,the gaps on the steering wheel column is uneven.

Oh wait,did someone say this is a SUPERCAR? Hmmm..270+ hp and you are telling me this is a super car? Even BMW M5 which has 500hp also not categorized as super car lah.So Lotus is smart,put a stupid engine in a metal shell that LOOKS like a supercar shell,and sell it! There you go,a car for ppl who never think..

• For those who like to make comparison with other makes,bear this in mind,this is not run of the mill sports car,the engine donor is toyota unit,but its brain is lotus and it will screams like a ferrari.so dont be absurd to compare this with the slow moving van or the sagas,this is lotus evora not the stupid exora k

• CocoBear on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

If money can buy everything, I will definitely choose Lotus Evora as my daily driver’s car. Besides, I love the minimalist interior.

• fique d on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

miss the time where sportscar is still sportscar not overpriced supercar…
    eg jag xke that quite affordable in 60s.

• TaipARGHOwner on Jun 24, 2010 at 2:15 am

precision or pure power?

man or poser?

human driven or computer driven?

oh well, some people wants to be racers but can’t stand the toughness of sitting inside a pure track car. Ironic isn’t it?

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:26 am

Some comments here just shows how shallow people here are.

1) Price is a stupid comparison factor as all cars here are taxed and AP silly and no way representative of thier actual value. FWIW, 500k is “cheap” for an imported sports car in comparisonm especially if you look at the prices of the Evora vs its competitors in UK.

2) Lotus fit and finish. They have been lousy at that for ages. Its also hand built. What were you expecting?

3) Toyota engine. Nothing wrong with that. If you have driven any Toyota’s with that engine you’d forgive its rather lowly on paper power output. It is very smooth, very efficient and very clean running.
    Power has never been Lotus’ selling point. They have been shifting lots of Elises with Rover K series engines that most to us wont bat an eye over.

Besides, I reckon that Lotus would not want to over power the Evora. They still have the next Esprit to take on the German and Italian supercars.

• mr_3m on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:50 pm

yes 500k is ‘cheap’ for an imported sports car relative to Cayman etc in Malaysia….

but Lotus is selling Elise for RM238k (GBP25-28k), Exige for RM3xxk (GBP35-40k), and now Evora for RM4xxk (GBP50k)…. i guess, based on your comment, if you spent that much money on a car, you no longer have any right to question its fit and finish or reliability?

and may be for you, your decisions are based on your heart alone and not with your head… of course, if that is the only way we make our decisions, most people would have already bought Lotuses, Alfas and all the eccentric brands where you will buy only because of your “passion” for those cars!!!!

bear in mind… UK price also include the local taxes and excise duties such as VAT already (GST equivalent)… so if you take all that amount out to come to the cost price of the car and add back Malaysia astronomical taxes, AP etc…. surely you wont come to RM240k for an Elise, let alone RM450-490k for an Evora with average fit and finish…. people expect premium or luxury at this end of the scale… and to add insult to injury… the GBP currency is actually “cheaper” now at GBP1=RM4.82 yesterday… so i bet Proton & Lotus won’t be passing that exchange savings to customers, would they?

Lotus can’t survive on heritage alone, they need to make cars that more enthusiasts (old and new) will buy…… judging by this, not suprising the Evora is slow selling (refer Autocar news and comment on Lotus recently announced new directions) …

• Jaybond on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

I believe I’ve read somewhere, the Nissan GTR might costs you more than RM 700K, OTR. So it’s definitely , not comparing apple to apple with the Evora.

• raybrig on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:26 am

yeah..agreed..but most of the ppl comparing the evora with the recond GTR which u can get arnd 500k plus these days…

• Actually the GTR can be bought for less than RM600k now.

• rabbitx on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:21 am

Nissan GT-R body works and suspension was a collaborative work with Lotus engineering.

• molala on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

second that.

• raybrig on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:32 am

but the engine for lotus supplied by toyota…nobody cares about it anymore…all manufactures help each other to reduce the time and cost..as long as they deliver a good car…

• Nutty Dad on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:37 am

Very dangerous car^^ This car has one of the biggest blind spot on the C-Pillar……When change lane, better turn head to check, not once or twice….just keep looking if got sand lorry bearing down on you lol…….

• yup, probably you are right, but if you think about it, majority of all the greatest sportcars and supercars are surrounded by blindspots

• MyDear on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:00 pm

no need to change line except other super car chasing your car.. :P

• the highest spec evora in england is only 50,000 pounds equivalent to RM 241,301.26. but instead m’sians have to pay double for it. this car should be priced lower perhaps RM 300 k to RM 400 k is reasonable.

• Jaybond on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:34 am

With Proton’s position as a G-linked enterprise which has been given special treatment all these while, the price of the Evora should have been around RM 300K, whereas sub RM 200K for the Elise. But looks like still they want to reap huge profits…

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:41 am

Have to feed the AP Kings and Government’s voracious appetite for rakyats’ money mah…..what to do.

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:46 pm

You can change it when in election, do ur vote wisely…

• mr_3m on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm

agree…. if Evora sold at RM300-350k… then it will make 4G63tDSM comments more acceptable/reasonable…

Assuming I had the money, I may give-in and buy with my heart rather than my head at that price…

• it is not lotus supercar, it is their sports car. just wait for lotus unveil new lotus esprit replacement and that is supercar.

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:23 am

Even Nissan ask Lotus to tune their GTR suspension system btw.

• why proton cant came up with a car like this and priced it cheaper? sure people are happy. not yet i guess.

this looks bad cos its pricing. the car sure is nice.

engine, no development cost,
    interior, spare part shop jalan ipoh,
    body, 100k.
    400k for a chasis?

owning it and drive the hell out of it = priceless

• Get a 7 series instead. Ladies would ‘prefer’ to sit in projected SAFE and STEADY car rather than this sport type…

Aunties may like though… : ))))))))))

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:31 am

eh.. how come not CKD? should ma.. since proton keep saying that their factory is not working at optimum level… joker la them…

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:01 am

Great car, superb handling however, unfortunately horrible built quality. Guess that’s why many people cant see how 500k can justify a car like that.

• jaguarXJ on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:03 am

can you change your name ah?

• nighttrain on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:54 am

Sports Car: Miata? Boxter? Elise? Evora? Cayman?
    Sports Coupe: Skyline? GT-R? M3? 911?
    Super Car: R8? Cheap Ferrari vs expensive Ferrari?
    Exotic Supercar: F50? Veyron? F1? Enzo?
    Continental GT is what category huh?
    I really can’t categorize these cars.. please help! Do you compare prices, or power, or shape? Where does Evora go into these categories, so we all can make proper comparison?

• toyotaguy on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:55 am

lolz juz another proton behind german name lotus =.=…

pay so much for this piece of shit still is proton .

i see b4 in car show inside lotus like piece of shit my vios more luxury =)

• PakAbu on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Of course la…

Vios is the best in the world

;-)

• hallmark on Jun 25, 2010 at 11:15 am

@toyotaguy:

I just ignore ur English.
      German names? what?
      It’s a sport car la weyyy….U wont afford to have it.
      Byt he way..it is not a proton…it is a Lotus. Lotus is not the same as proton. Proton just own it la… stupid.

Seriously u start conparing it to dugong? Like shit and creme…

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:13 pm

lotus is english brand bah! lotus also famous for lousy interiors, lightweight and good handling. but if i has to pay 450k for a sportscar, it better come with a bespoke interior.

• alamak on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

its nice, but seems to suffer identity issue… why bother with this? If u want to buy a Lotus u get exige or elise…

• mohgui on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:58 am

then when petrol price goes up… you will cry and your GT-R will rust at home.

• is too expensive, by the way lotus is under proton, y they need selling high price in malaysia? here is not they home country? kill people better

• all cars, Proton or not, have a really high tax in Malaysia. don’t blame Proton for that, blame the govt laa.

• rageaccel2 on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

now we know what is the true power of camry… hehhee…

• Boooo on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Even JC praise this baby unlike u Malaysian condemn everything that related to Proton talking like u can afford to buy one.

• keep on bashing on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:27 pm

rich ppl – buy evora as spare or weekend car.

mid income ppl – buy exora for daily use =D

if you have extra bucks, buy what you want.

if you don’t, only buy what you need…

• FUNNY on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:44 pm

what if ppl already have GTR? they will stil buy the evora if they have money
    is like….” i have a GTR, and i have 500k more to buy a car. what to buy ”
    they definitely wont buy another GTR. will buy evora instead.

• oldman on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:41 pm

no, they will buy MyVi….it’s the best selling car in the ‘world’ hahaha

• piece of sh*t like this cost 1/2 a mill..inside like proton..what is going on with the world…

• Nice car.

• its funny but also sad… seems like most people here think a higher price equals higher horsepower… a lot of other factors to consider eg: power to weight ratio, torque, build quality, design, handling etc, while the nissan gt-r look set to swallow the evora whole on paper, but if you put them head-to-head on a track, you can never tell…

but cant blame the mindset, with the crazy car price in malaysia seems like everyone is trying to squeeze every horsepower with every penny they have… if thats the case, buy a proton wira, put evo3 engine +bigger turbo+bigger intercooler+bigger everything and u can drive a 600hp monster for less than 50k…

cant agree more with an earlier comment, if a lotus is sold on the cheap… it will no longer be exclusive. so an lv bag is 5k, a pasar malam bag is rm50… doesnt mean u can store more with the lv bag, no? so there’s a price for everything… question is are you willing to pay?

• CarNut on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Trust the British to ruin a good thing. The inside looks so cheap!! Even Hyundai looks more luxurious compared to this. The type of red looks like something one would pick for a souped up Wira at Jinjang. Why can’t Lotus hire better designers?? Oh! Wait… I think they shared designers with Gen.2

BTW… The advertising company should be sacked!!. Evora is not a 4×4, why put it on rocks?? Duh!! It’s a supercar… suited for smooth roads.

Proton.. all the ambition but nothing to show.

• Proton Wira 1.8(A) A/B Uk Spec on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

too expensive. can buy high spec of 5series lo..

nissan GTR sure is better, but oso come around 100k more expensive lo.

if me, i buy golf gti is very good ledi, n tune it .. hehe..

• taucu on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:36 pm

hmmmmm a toycar for multimillionaires

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 24, 2010 at 6:48 pm

I thought PROTON own LOTUS ?

Why sell it so expensive here?? If we wan to support malayia boleh to buy a malaysia’s made sports car (not exactly yet) also kena tax us 200k++ apa ni pulak????!!???!!

but then understand la!! our proton gen2 that sold oversea all are higher specs than we are getting here… but yet the price is not higher than us though!!~~

poor us… guess our life is not important..that’s y dun have airbags…. or guess our money is easy money… which govt will give us many pocket money…if not… why only sell the most low specs with highest price product to us?

I love this country the most is the natural environment, no natural disaster.. but the rest? suck it!!!

• Kimchi on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Proton does own Lotus but this is a CBU model from the UK, which means that it has to go through the same taxes that other cars do. This is not a Malaysian made sports car.

As for Gen 2 being sold overseas at the same price, yeah, that’s true but the specs are the same as here. Seems like the specs are better because they don’t offer the barebones model internationally.

Your life is as important as you put your own value to it. If you’re not willing to buy the Hi-Line version with added safety, then you don’t care about your own life. Proton gives you the option to buy either, it’s not their fault you choose to buy the cheaper one to save more money. I understand that some people cannot afford the Hi-Line but then that is the price they have to pay. If they put in extra air bags and stuff, the price naturally goes up rite?

• alibaba on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Waaaaah!!! This national car soooo expensive!!! Hmmmm…I wonder how long the power window will work…..

• ah seng on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:32 pm

why not they produce the same car here and selling for RM 100k? why they want to let people pay big cash for no-so-great performance….. lotus my ass for handling.. they can’t even be on F1 podiums…. expect them to always qualify outside the 107 percent from pole time and be a bench sitter……..

• mata katak on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:43 pm

when will this car available at our kedai kereta potong?

I wanna put its engine to my potong saka car……..

• Beach on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm

If you look carefully, this Evora is very beautiful from the bird view.

• BMALOI on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm

NUTS…. Lotus owned by Proton… How much will proton earn from this… I wonder.

Proton why not re-badge and put in Campro Turbo with reasonable price to make our “MAT fast and furious” happy…

• armandd on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:48 pm

aiyaa.. why gaduh2 lah? just buy proton exora if u can’t afford this. almost the same name what..

• shitt!
    so expensive better buy another car..
    support la malaysia made

• Amiran on Jun 25, 2010 at 8:24 am

In UK, its in the M5 and GTR price range, however its cheaper than both here. Some more cheaper than 7s and Sclass (although these should not be compared).
    Anyway if you gonna arrive at your office in style, choose this car or recond 2008 Sclass?
    Whatever, its your own preference…

• Amiran on Jun 25, 2010 at 9:01 am

If 1 million of 1M’sia people can afford, I heard they can only produce 4~6k of this annually only to cater the whole world. So in short, can forget it lah…

• Elaueh…if Got $$$ Go buy 2nd R35GTR, much more faster & much more quality,….

• This is what Cosmos said earlier regarding status and not everything about torque and power :

“The cars like the GTR and the like are in a different class. In terms of performance they may be way better than this Evora. They may be lots cheaper too. But then to the Evora buyer, this is not the most important aspect in the purchase decision. It is also not important who gets to smoke who at the traffic lights. It is called arriving in a car that costs that much.

It is to say, ‘I’ve made it in life!’. So, the performance figures while important to anyone buying a car costing that much, is not the one and only criteria. It is the heritage behind the brand. The value of a sought after car because it has a strong heritage behind it. This will not be appreciated by the GTR or other class of sport car buyer as their criteria is completely different. They want something that can beat the Porsches and Ferraris and cost a fraction of the price. Yes we have all seen how the Supra smoked the Ferrari in Fast n Furious. Nope, the Ferrari buyer is not the least bothered about it. Same for the Evora buyer cos that is not what is important to the owner.

So, as I mentioned earlier, this car may not appeal to those looking for just pure performance. It is made for those who want something finer in life. Badge appeal is another thing that these buyers look for. They don’t want a brand that also sells cars that are priced low enough for everyone to buy. Imagine you owning a GTR and the Latio owner pulls up. Same brand right? To them, this may not be acceptable. It is in the psychology of buying cars. They don’t want a brand that can be enjoyed by everyone. Again, this is all about status and nothing at all about who is going to smoke who.”

• Cosmos on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:36 pm

The cars like the GTR and the like are in a different class. In terms of performance they may be way better than this Evora. They may be lots cheaper too. But then to the Evora buyer, this is not the most important aspect in the purchase decision. It is also not important who gets to smoke who at the traffic lights. It is called arriving in a car that costs that much.

So, as I mentioned earlier, this car may not appeal to those looking for just pure performance. It is made for those who want something finer in life. Badge appeal is another thing that these buyers look for. They don’t want a brand that also sells cars that are priced low enough for everyone to buy. Imagine you owning a GTR and the Latio owner pulls up. Same brand right? To them, this may not be acceptable. It is in the psychology of buying cars. They don’t want a brand that can be enjoyed by everyone. Again, this is all about status and nothing at all about who is going to smoke who.

• Cosmos on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:38 pm

They are all good cars though, don’t get me wrong. It is just what is more important to the buyer. An Evora owner may also have a GTR for the times he feels like smoking everyone around him but may use the Evora for a dinner event at Istana Negara for instance.

• muuse on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:28 pm

not my cup of tea.. even if i got the money also wont buy….

• xavier lert on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:46 pm

expected

• freekick on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Lotus priced so expensive because the salary of their mangement
    is like maintaining the Real Mdrid team.- Exact words of CEO Dany.
    Then there is also F1 – another money sucking scheme JV with Tony F..
    Lotus is a loss making co and will remain so in the next few years.

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 5:11 pm

inaccurate as the f1 team only borrows the name of Lotus.

• what shit car is it worth 400k to 500k. Get a porc better than evora.

• Beach on Jun 26, 2010 at 1:57 pm

For the bird view,

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=lotus-evora-malaysian-launch&image=lotus-evora-54.jpg

Evora is the perfect insect.

• This car are sold only for the “Ubah Gaya Hidup” leaders, political warlords and some spoil brat of a corrupted vip son (so he can shack all the girls in town). Afterall Malaysia gonna be bankrupt in 2019, might as well use up all the rakyat’s money before its too late.

• blowwaterguy on Jun 27, 2010 at 5:20 pm

http://carmaxspeed.blogspot.com/2010/06/lotus-evora.html

hits the top speed @ 4th Gear 7000RPM !

1st : 60.61Kmh / 37.65Mph @ 6500 RPM
    2nd : 112.10Kmh / 69.63Mph @ 6500 RPM
    3rd : 176.07Kmh / 109.36Mph @ 6500 RPM
    4th : 249.37Kmh / 154.89Mph @ 6500 RPM

highway cruise is fuel saving too….

6th : 110.00Kmh / 68.32Mph @ 1820 RPM

• Lovely car, worth the money. Go Lotus Go.

• Lotus is usually an expensive car but it is fun to drive in terms of performance and handling…

Buying at 440k ++ (inclusive +/- 150% tax bracket). My question is where did this 150% tax went to? To subsidies fuel, that is fair but why gov still complain they are running deficit? No one query on this? Somemore KL road is like driving on kampung road already… pot holes and uneven road here and there.

• too bad i oledi bought bmw z4 (e89)

• PetrolHeadache on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:20 am

Before some of u guys comment anything about cars in this thread, get a dictionary or an english teacher… Improve ur english before talking about improving Malaysia’s car industry (which is similiar to ur english)… Sorry.. Malaysia boleh…

• paan81-lotus supporter on Mar 24, 2011 at 6:59 am

Nice car…Porche Caymen as a rival..its a good rival for lotus..first car for everyday use less grandprix.

no doubt lotus handling is no 1 but the engine may effect the the Brand because for supercar “speed is everything..be the fastest may help to stand up against big name such as ferrari and lamborghini,..not to mention pagani and boggati..

• paan81-lotus supporter on Mar 24, 2011 at 7:01 am

Lotus boleh…

• asar8285 on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:47 am

oh, please.. it’s a toyota engine for God sake. So if Lotus decided to put a kancil engine you still say.. “it’s heritage, history value & brand name for status symbol..” Porsche make their own engine & read the history, porsche came to F1 before lotus did.. Clearly you haven’t been in the motorsport scene.. lotus is just a chasis / body. Track cars are even lighter than this lotus. Why do u think nissan targeted the 911 turbo in designing their gtr?

• asar8285 on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:56 am

oh, please.. it’s a toyota engine for God sake. So if Lotus decided to put a kancil engine you still say.. “it’s heritage, history value & brand name for status symbol..” Porsche make their own engine & read the history, porsche came to F1 before lotus did.. Clearly you haven’t been in the motorsport scene.. lotus is just a chasis / body. Track cars are even lighter than this lotus. Why do u think nissan targeted the 911 turbo in designing their gtr? It’s not who smoke who or my cheap car can smoke ur expensive car, it’s who is smart & who is an idiot.. ;p