Porsche officially greenlights production 918 Spyder

It’s official – Porsche has greenlighted the development of a production version of the Porsche 918 Spyder. It was a no brainer on the part of the Supervisory Board in Stuttgart, as the concept received overwhelming response from both customers and the public alike. Apparently they now have a total of 1,000 serious buyers for the car that was first previewed at the 2010 Geneva Motor Show as well as Auto China in Beijing.

“The production of the 918 Spyder in a limited series proves that we are taking the right approach with Porsche Intelligent Performance featuring the combination of supreme performance and efficient drivetrain concepts. We will develop the 918 Spyder in Weissach and assemble it in Zuffenhausen. This is also a very important commitment to Germany as a manufacturing base,” said Chairman of the Board of Management Michael Macht.

The 918 Spyder Hybrid supercar produces a total of 708hp from both its high revving V8 engine and its electric motor, which is channeled through the 7-speed PDK gearbox and a fixed transmission ratio for the electric motor. This enables a 0 to 100 acceleration figures of as low as 3.2 seconds, while maintaining an average fuel consumption figure of just 3 litres per 100km and pumping out 70g/km of CO2.

No official word on the pricing of the car, but rumour has it that it will be slightly more than Porsche’s previous showpiece, the Carrera GT, coming in at around 500,000 Euros. More information will be released in the coming months by Porsche.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Jaybond on Jul 29, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Nice body, shame about the electric stuffs…

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

how many malaysian will put an order for this magnificent machine? couldn’t wait to see it on our soil !!

• ericten on Jul 29, 2010 at 4:53 pm

low taek jho! haha

• Black Dog on Jul 29, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Low Taek Jho…of course!

• bro? speculating 2.5 mil without tax. knowing porshe its going to be higher.
      that’s almost 2 gallardos.
      its gorgeous and all but I don’t think anyone here is that crazy.
      based on looks alone its very orgasmic.
      based on the figures its quite easy to live with too.. comparable with the R8, minus the hybrid.

• lorsaa on Jul 29, 2010 at 4:41 pm

buy one la, wait for wat?

• PakAbu on Jul 29, 2010 at 4:57 pm

I have the feeling that this is the kind of car that Lotus is planning to build in their 5-year plan (or sumthin’ like that).

Good luck. The more, the merrier :D

• Black Dog on Jul 29, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Just beautiful…

• Alanore Chong on Jul 29, 2010 at 5:21 pm

3 liters per 100km !?!?!? This is super low consumption… Unbelievable

• rookie on Jul 29, 2010 at 6:11 pm

3L/100km with 0-100kmh in just 3.2seconds…?

what more could u ask for? ;)

its more fuel efficient than a moped yet superfast than most of the cars..
    plus the looks..and the emblem…

• pomen_gtr on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:43 am

nope..with this car u wouldn’t get that FC while driving it fast….

its just as poor as any performance car (might be slightly better from the normal one without hybrid)…

it does return 3L/100km when u were driving it like old granny…..(ok from my point of view if the owner decide to go makan angin drive leisurely)……

what interesting is that another 2front wheel drive was from the electric motor….i wonder how the power transition feels like…since there’s no mechanical connection with the main engine power delivery….snapped understeer maybe???

• Gajen on Jul 29, 2010 at 6:42 pm

this will kill lambo and ferrari

• shawal on Jul 29, 2010 at 7:48 pm

this VS the 599 GTO!

• if this babe got technical problem in malaysia..any malaysian know how to fix?..lol

• i’m sure by the time you can afford the car, asking someone to come in just to fix it won’t be a problem.

• wow wow wow