Latest Mitsubishi Pajero 4X4 spotted in Shah Alam

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1415]

This black real proper Mitsubishi Pajero (not the Pajero Sport) was spotted by Jack, a friend of mine. It had trade plates but didn’t have any form of disguise on it. Before you dismiss this as just another grey imported Pajero out for a test drive, notice that this particular black car that’s in focus is parked between in the middle of a whole row of other Mitsubishi vehicles including another Pajero with some kind of cream paintjob, a Grandis, and a Lancer. So it’s likely that this is going to be a future Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia offering.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• waimak on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Finally its here. Truely amazing to see this.. well done paul for capturing the photos, you’ve got reliable spies ; -)

• azrai on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:00 am

Paul, from the surrounding i really think the cars shots are taken at PJ or Shah Alam. There’s no ambience of putrajaya’s ambience here. Do you notice the blue road signages and the highrise behind? Maybe those cars coming from DRB-HICOM Glenmarie.

• matjoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:36 am

i guess so. this auto blog is well loved by everyone

• clone on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:35 pm

I think I saw a few of this beast here in KK

• clone on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:16 am

whoever dislike this comment are in states of denial, Kota Kinabalu are not far from Brunei you know!..nowadays there are lots of Brunei plated fancy cars roaming around in KK…

• dude if u notice the kerajaan sabah car in bangunan persekutuan near sabah collage use diz pajero since last 2year if im not mistaken..all silver coloured…rite??

• muharifz on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:35 am

Agree…even in Sarawak……but registered under state government car….bearing QSG plate number. The name of the department that owns it is printed on the door….if I’m not mistaken was Jabatan Pendidikan or something like that…..just passed by a few.

• Lady CarCar on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

QSG really has a lot of cars. Fortuners Prados Troopers Land Cruisers Mercs etc.

• Anti Proton on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:38 pm

nice. but this car is kind of 4 years late.

• pdvilq on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:34 am

Ya u rite, Sarawak Govt n some of the federal department currently using this Mitsu as they official car 3 years oledy…haha ;)

• FAReast on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:36 am

better late than never =)

• mr_3m on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

yes it is coming…. i think MMM has informed one of the local newspapers as featured in their Motoring section as seen here a few weeks back..

http://star-motoring.com/news/story.asp?file=/2010/7/25/motorreviews/6724924&sec=motorreviews

• The Loner on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Well, seems like petrol engines are to be brought in. The 3.2L diesel engine, which is same as Triton 3.2 is excluded.

It is a pity but the diesel quality here with high content of sulphur really can cause quick deteoriation of NOx trap and DPF inisde Pajero 3.2L diesel engine, which are costly to replace.

• rossi46 on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:40 am

What, only the 3 liter petrol…Huge road tax and huge fuel bills, the diesel make more sense for an off-road/heavy vehicle

• The Loner on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:28 pm

But bare in mind the diesel engine is compliant with EURO IV emission standards, in which NOx trap and DPF must be equipped.

If the 3.2L diesel Pajero to be introduced, the engine must be down-graded to Euro III, same as Triton 3.2 whereby NOx trap and DPF must be removed like the BMW 5-series diesel cars.

• Ben X5 on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

if really its gonna be offered.. it’ll be too late and a lil bit exp then the recon(new) imports.. plus the engine is not really nice.. many who owned it had to have their something (in the engine) to be heavily repaired :D.. but with warranty its worth a buy if its 5 year warranty and price around a fortuner haha :D

• littlefire on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:08 pm

I believe is the GDI (direct injection) engine, It suppose to support Euro 4 petrol/diesel standard in Japan.. Same as triton here, as people already getting injector being dirty or malfunction due to our inferior fuel quality…

A lot of them import into Malaysia without doing much research.. u know laa.. just for profit (AP).. In the end, the owner have to take care the rest..

• The Loner on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Agree. 5 years warranty means DPF and NOx trap are replaced without charging to car owners. So our diesel fuel quality will make Mitsubishi suffers due to early and frequent replacement of these parts which are expensive. In other words, frequent servicing of these part will reduce the profit margin for Mitsubishi.

• mr_3m on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

by the way, if the paper is to be believed then the Lancer Sportback and the ASX crossover will also arrive before year end….

• the current model seems nicer. maybe it needs be WHITE like many of the recons BIG toyota/lexus.

• My neighbor owns this pajero long ago. Not sure if his 1 is the same model as this 1 but sure looks pretty same to me. Trust me, it looks darn good.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Great shots. Kudos man. WOuld really love to see the ASX. Saw it on Sing. road. It was beautiful.

• CityBoy on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I would like to correct the location. This is not in Putrajaya. It is in front of Shah Alam Convention Center. How do I know it? Well, because I spot SIRIM Headquaters building at the background in one of the photo here.

So Paul, hopefully Jack just con you on the location, not the the car.. he he he

• mr_3m on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:53 am

well spotted, cityboy! sharp eyes you got there to spot the SIRIM building in Sec2, Shah Alam.

on second look, you can also see the new LKSA (Lebuhraya Kemuning-Shah Alam) signage in one of the pics…

• nabill on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:02 am

luv this car,very macho,heard price is gonna be around 300k….

• KitKat on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:22 am

It’s everywhere in Miri…

• Dentie on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:40 am

Check out the 4WD gear.Nicee. The look feels like Hummer

• keluangman on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

finally… the “proper” Pajero unlike the Pajero Sport( I can’t bloody stand the Triton front look).

Wonder what’s the price will be like. I’m guessing it’ll be in the region of hmm….RM330k-350k maybe? ( CX-9, XC60, XC90, new Murano price range).

Or maybe they’re crazy enough to price it in LR Discovery range (RM400k++)

Either way, this is a very good car which will last 20 years easily with good resale value! I forsee our PDRM, JPJ and Bomba buying loads of these, just like in the 80s and 90s!

• altezza on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:08 am

this is not in putrajaya… i’m living in putrajaya and i’ve never seen that white tall building..

• samkhairul on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:16 am

yep..bt i like this version of pajero..usually saw the government of sarawak using this pajero for official purpose…rugged lah this version!

• nebula87 on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:17 am

Paul, mitsubishi can saves alot of commercial money after u post these photos though…

• if im not mistaken, this picture was taken previous weeks before at Shah Alam Convention Centre. I was there for SIRIM event and Mitsubishi is doing their own event also. Yeah, it looks nice.

• wah,I think that pic taken at Shah Alam….
    and I like the new Pajero…

• Alpha on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:57 am

imagine ths beast with 22″ sport rims!!!

• Sarawak Government officials have been using this latest pajero since years back as their official car.

• Freak on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:26 am

Same old ugly 4wd.

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:32 am

Pajero ni dah lama keluar d Jepun…hampir 4 tahun…kenapa baru sampai ke Malaysia?

• Aris Tee on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:33 am

I saw this in Japan… it’s large and macho, and looks darn good in metallic green.

• azrai on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:46 am

But the price sure cannot afford one. Pajero actually is a fine tuning product by the Japanese which assembled the original Jeep post war.

• azrai on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:56 am

Specifications have yet to be released on the 3.8-litre Pajero, expected to be priced at around RM300,000. -Source:-The Star

• mr5zal on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:58 am

paul, this is not putrajaya. it is shah alam. see the sirim building behind. it is probably near pkns complex.

• sranua on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:58 am

I had seen Lancer Sportback on PLUS highway speeding to JB. But it emblem was taped..so I think it ha to do with Proton….anyway good look..

• cslee on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:16 am

Hmmm….the location seem not in Putrajaya. It was in Shah Alam Area (SACC Convention Mall).

• Head Hunter on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:27 am

Finally!!!! It is here!!!! The proper Pajero!!!!

• Head Hunter on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

Let it be Di-D 3.2, so much more refined than the 3.2 in a Triton. Same engine but different settings since the sound of the diesel clutter is different when i saw the two together.

• Seriously on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:38 am

ugly no?

• JonLing on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:39 am

Don’t really like the looks, but it’s always good to see some “old” players returning to the market, especially one legendary Pajero! It’s been way too long for Toyota to dominate the luxury Japanese SUV segment here in Malaysia, hope Pajero could bring some long awaited “spice” to the segment.

• Land CruiserzZ on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:41 am

WAHHHH!!! tis is the KING PAJERO! finally is here!!!!
    My father owned 3 previous generation Pajero, gonna tell him bou tis rite now..

• arch808 on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:45 am

1stly, Putrajaya doesn’t have black-n-white road kerbs.

2ndly, that tall white building at the background looks like a certain ‘quality control’ building in Selangor, so go figure.

I think Paul or ‘Jack’ cud’ve been hiding something fishy here…

• FIREPOLICY on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:55 am

just saw it in kuching…owned by one of the govt agency

• nazrin on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Jabatan Pelajaran official car if i’m not mistaken.. already few years old

• Very old – it’s been a few years back i spotted this 4×4 in Labuan.

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:02 am

The Return Of Mitsubishi Pajero is To Malaysia!!!!!!!!

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:06 am

Paul Tan It’s not putrajaya but capital city shah alam selangor.

• This is not Putrajaya. This was in SACC Convention Centre, Shah Alam.
    They’re having their sales training there. You can see batches of salesmen in their uniform going for test drives.

• mudahlupa on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:13 am

Expected price RM 300k? How many Malaysians can afford it?

• Good that Pajero (the usual masculine) look is coming back. Same great look with the 1990s one parked at home. The front could be more bold but hey, it’s fine.

This package can easily beat any contenders but too bad Mitsubishi ‘lost’ in terms of advertising and consumer awareness these years… :(

• this pajero already sales by recon and the price is expensive..RM27+,+++…
    donno la about the price that been offered by mitshubishi..

• puipui on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:02 am

maybe wat u saw is a ford escape ?

• Paul Tan on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:06 am

Very sorry guys I got the location wrong!

• i wonder what pricde will it be at…….. the rim reminds me of lancer gt wheel….

• muharifz on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:31 am

from the article guess only petrol version will be offered? diesel would be much better i suppose….just wait and see….

• santa cruz boy on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

my neighbour has been having the exact same model with the 3.5lit engine since year 2008 , it’s nothing great really . exact same body and interior and colour but his has 22inch wheels . it’s available thru grey importers but i guess nobody really fancied this car compared to lexus , range rover , porsche and vw so there was no demand to bring this model in big numbers

• Not that many people fancy it becoz this model is already 4 years old and heard that they are only bringing in petrol models only. If this is true, then the tech is already old-fashioned. If you are to look at its L/hp, you will know what I mean. With 3.0L you get 170 hp and 3.8L at 252 hp, fc will be very high. Nowadays, 3.0L NA are mostly doing around 230bhp and 3.5L around 272hp. They should have turbo-charge the engines.

• santa cruz boy on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:58 am

forgot to mention that my neighbours one is the 2 door version and he got it for around Rm 300k . not very worth it for a car with that size n specs

• squawk on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:48 pm

So it’s back to the same situation 25 years ago where Mitsubishi can only sell non-sedan models?

• Rulered on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Lets put it this way, if you can afford an expensive recond car, your capability to buy ‘expensive’ brand new cars with warranties, servicing etc, etc is always there. I just wonder how come it took them this long to figure out that the grey importers have been laughing to the bank all this while. My guess is maybe we will see more government agencies using this car as their official car, especially in East Malaysia perhaps, just my guess. Now i wonder who owns Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia……

• Lady CarCar on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Hope it comes with start/stop button. Malaysia is lacking of cars wt start/stop button.

• Head Hunter on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm

It’s up for launch next month!

• Looking at the dashboard, it is only the Exceed Version ie. without DVD screen and navigation. Not the top specs version. Very disappointing for 300k.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:08 pm

who noes this maybe Proton SUV’s test mule…

• will be very expensive lah.
    All hail our great Gomen and their great tax!

• Jimmy on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:48 pm

No 1 bodoh person will choose this over the Ninja King from Toyota or Mazda CX-9: length/height/ width/wheelbase semua kurang satu size, BRAND, resale value, availability of spare parts etc. The most prestigeous of all Japs large SUV is of course Mazda CX-9. So friend, if you can afford 300k for this, then you might as well add another 50k and go for T or M.

• Head Hunter on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:27 am

It’s a little bit harsh to label people ‘bodoh’ I guess. Truly that pretty much sums up who you really are. Cheers!

• Georgie on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:04 am

Ahh actually this is nothing new. This model had been sold in Brunei for a couple of years already, and we can see quite a couple of them on the Sarawak roads (bought via grey importer).

The only fact worth noting is that it is lined up with other Mitsubishi’s line-up, so expect this to come to your nearst Mitsu showroom soon. No offense Pajero owners/lovers, Pajero wasn’t really a great SUV. The 2nd generation Pajero was haunted with engine problems. Reliability that time wasn’t that great at all. These heavy babies were horrible on jungle treks and the fuel consumption for the 3.5L is dreadful. Not to mention the resale value of the 2nd gens, can almost reach the resale value of the 1st gen Pajeros. I bear no grudge against Mitsu, just these 2nd gen Pajeros since its was proven very troublesome in our company fleet.

I say, no thanks Mitsu, maybe we’ll stick to our Toyo’s and Suzu’s just a tad longer.

• agreed with u bro..no offence but the resale valule of 2nd gen pajero really2 menurun compare to prado .. poor mitsu :)

• Tommy on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

I don’t mind what’s the price or how long has it been in the market, but I think this car is handsome! hahaha…

• sabah govt used this since 2-4years ago…it looks good..hw bwt the price??

• same pajero as in Aussie