Hyundai Concept RB – low cost Accent for Russia?

Hyundai unveiled a new car at the 2010 Moscow International Motor Show today called the Hyundai Concept RB. It’s size puts it in the sub-compact B segment, the same size as the Hyundai Accent.

Of course you must remember that the new generation Accent has already been launched, so this is likely a low cost version. This is just a random guess but RB could possibly stand for Russia B-Segment!

The car is targeted at the Russian market (and likely other similar economies) and will begin production in January 2011 at Hyundai’s Saint Petersburg plant in Russia. Two engines are available – either a 1.4 litre Gamma CVVT with 107 PS and 135Nm or a 1.6 litre Gamma CVVT engine producing 124 PS and 156Nm. Both engines will be mated to either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Concept RB.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1443]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• natkid on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:03 pm

this looks even better than the actual accent / verna
    less angry, more friendly outlook
    bring this one here instead of the actual accent

• hisap on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:55 pm

better than proton car.. ^_____________^

• azrai on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:41 am

We couldn’t understand why everything must be link to proton??

• mufasa on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm

malaysian maa… what you expect….wanna be high income nation konon….

ok,,now it related to politic…… sorry,, i am malaysian tooo

• ong chin aun on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Yes, i fully agree and support your wise suggestion. Bravo! Cheers !!

• too much combination of other cars.

• much more nicer than p1 can ever produce….

• wow..this is much better looking than the video about 2011 hyundai accent verna @ youtube..

• JACk LIm on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Front look like hyundai tuscon… Nice!
    Tuscon sedan mode =)

• ahshuy on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:34 pm

nice car! :)

• The look is almost similar to 2011 Hyundai avante/elantra

• this is really a lost cost accent? doesn’t seem like the lost cost version of it, maybe just a bit changing made to the exterior

• mystvearn on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Low cost got integrated daytime LED running lights and chrome built in exhaust? Those features you get in Audi’s….

• Guard on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Of course that is for concept. Perhaps in the future (during mid-life facelift) they will offer such feature to uppermost variant.

• savvy88 on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

wow! Vios and City killer. and even SAGA killer.. hehe..
    (only if it introduced in Bolehland and the price also “B-segment” price)

• COOLZ on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Plz bring this to malaysia market.. Looks like medium size sonata.. Nice!

• if base solely on looks, i would buy this low cost car anytime. Perhaps proton could learn from this. Cheap car doesnt necessarily mean ugly/boring car.

• Guard on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Honda and Toyota better watch out.

• kimi_ on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Paul, are you sure this is low cost???????????

It comes with TWIN exhaust pipe and big alloy rims also fog lamps!!! It more likely sport version to me…………..

• nebula87 on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:14 pm

c properly…one of the exhaust pipes are fake, same like we see it on Nissan Livina with bodykit…

for bolehland, if low cost, mana cari fog lamps? cover pun mayb tak provide..exp : Persona B-line…XD

• Paul Tan on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:16 pm

What they’re showing here is probably the most expensive top of the line model… you can expect things to be dumbed down significantly for the cheapest models.

• Guard on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:09 pm

I guess this model will do battle with Dugong and City and will definitely make them run for their money.

• sheikomatic on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:10 pm

looks way better than accent/verna

but everything can change as its still in concept

• danial farouk on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Cun wooo!!

• mitlanevo on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:44 pm

low cost car can look this great?

• wolfsburg on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Wow!! Even better than the China’s Verna!

• elite on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:25 pm

when was the last time u saw a car featured on this website that is worse than the best car proton has to offer?

at least proton is cheaper mah..

• RadzLee on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Wow….
    this beaut babe is a ‘low cost’ car?
    are u serious? very neat… if masuk malaysia ill sure buy 1!

• Wari Nordin on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:47 pm

hyundai will take lead world auto industry one day, if their always come-up with great idea and concept like this..

• kkchai on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:56 pm

From it looks, already can consider production ready model. Hope can come in Msia as well as sick with Proton!

• I’m impressed with Hyundai. Black color model is going to be slick

• slumber on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Well, my wild guest is Hyundai is doing something like what Toyota is with their Corolla. Some market they call it Corolla, some they call it Corolla Altis.

The underpinnings maybe the same, just some changes to the exterior to suite different market.

• slumber on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Further upclose, you’ll notice that the RB have the Hyundai family’s “TRAPOZIODAL” grill instead of the YF Sonata’s, more resembling to the Tuscon.

I think the rest of the car is exactly the same as Accent/Verna.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Great design

• Ceap_Kar on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:14 pm

@elite: evry1 here know why p1 car is cheap… china n russian made car r cheaper. If there is no tax, HYUNDAI cars maybe cheaper than p1 bcause they can cut cost by mass production

• Yoona on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm

i agree, car business is all about economies of scale IMHO

• Toyott on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:23 am

if no tax in Malaysia, Proton Persona can sell RM33 000 dude see Proton at Saudi Arabia! very cheap.

• cyrus on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:40 am

why i feel like looking at Mazda 2?

• nolan on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:41 am

NICEEEEEE……………………………proton should design their cars like this….

• azrai on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:44 am

I think VW should better think to overtake Toyota because the Korean really aggressive in capturing new market. I like to say this will be a Vios-City contender. Meanwhile the Kia Rondo no longer sold at North America. Low demand is the cause. Every car maker has a not so well model also.

• zanggief on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:30 am

a pretty car, looks like a compact sonata..
    i agree P1 should come out this kind of car instead of the traditional design, perhaps nw P1 realise this by getting LG design d G2 saga…i guess at least something

• MyCarMyLife on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:16 am

Nice design, but still krappy korean engine specs, after one year ‘nobody nobody want you anymore’

• Toyott on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:28 am

who said korean engine not good? Hyundai Theta II engine won many award, even Chrysler n Mitsubishi use Theta II engine in Lancer and Evo x 4B11/4B11T/4B12 Engine

• yippi33 on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:39 pm

isnt this engine derived from the GEMA engine jointly developed by Chrysler+Mitsu+Hyundai???each manufacturer will then develop separate variant of the engine and make it their own..

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:49 am

Pretty good looking. But don’t know how it drives. Tested the new Sonata; did leave me a good impression, there was road sound from rear(can some of you pay attention if you plan to test drive it), and the suspension is a not so good compared to Accord), the engine roar was very loud if you press hard the pedal; overall not a very refined car, even worse than a Sylphy. So, you can predict how this one feels vs Latio.

• ADAMpus on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:05 am

Jimmy hates Nissan..biased remark. no wonder all thumb down for him…

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Too bad. There are 2 Jimmys here; I am the first in this blog.
        Sorry, wrote too fast. Actually Latio drives quite well and is quite refine; I mean if you want to choose Accent, then you might as well choose Latio. Sylphy is a good and refined car comparable to Camry/Accord (from different segment), but too bad, Sylphy is not good-looking from OUTSIDE but interior is ok except poor steering design aesthetically and in terms of functionality — cannot adjust TELESCOPICALLY and no remote control buttons on its steering. Can ADAMpus please tell Nissan to put these in place?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

I LOVE YOU hyundai for this

first the i10, i20 and i30, then the new sonata, then the new tuscon(ix)

then the pictures of the accent earlier

and now this, I dont care if the rear seats are tight on headroom, this looks all like a coupe

If its a concept than the only change i want in the production model is the tapering roofline to go, or not hell i dont care

I am never into exotics, its the regular cars that excite me the most. I can actually think of buying them instead of dreaming.

bring it on hyundai

you know how to look radical without gaping grilles

• Sonata was a dissapointment i guess this will too. the lack of toys on the high spec 2.0 sonata got me running back to toyota and honda

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:05 am

Hyundai already sells the pre-gen accent and the current gen accent (by the name of Verna)

one suggestion hyundai

if this is smaller place it as the accent’s replacement to sweep out the uglky bum suzuki swift dzire(they pasted a horrible looking boot), ford ikon, mahindra logan and the indigo CS

and the other one whose spy pics were seen earlier as the Verna’s replacement to kill the overpriced honda city, the tata indigo manza, ford fiesta , VW vento, and the Fiat Linea(may be not the Linea)

and you will

• alpha999 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:35 am

no doubt hyundai is improving fast with superb design and built quality,

BUT……

as long as hyundai unable to be on par with the jap makes in terms fuel efficient and driving dynamic, it will remain undesirable

anyway, well done hyundai, i shall wait the day u will triumph over the japs

• rossi46 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:47 am

Not fuel efficient?What are you talking about?…their r-series diesel are soo frugal compared to Japs vvt-i, ivtec..whatever

• are u salesman??

fuel consumption for hyundai/kia ia WORST!!…their car also UNDERPOWER….mantenance/spare part also very expensive..their service centre always cekik darah….thats the fact….

btw, why u compare their r-series diesel with Japs vvt-i, ivtec?

• gangully on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:20 pm

therein lies the problem…

Korean cars tend to put low cap/low powered engine in rather big cars. i think this is a strategy to capture the market for lower priced cars in the particular segment…

what happens is, people need to apply more throttle to move the car, hence a high revving drive thus horrible FC.

get it?

• When hyundai/kia, people will think twice.

many people very impress with their design..they give praise a lot..gud dsgn, beautiful dsgn, great dsgn, prton should follow them, when come to bolehland..bla..bla..bla..

but can we see how much new sonata/tucson/i30 on the road?

• rossi46 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:52 am

not much sonata/tucson on the road are due to insufficient supplies coming from Korea…they have prob meeting the huge demand worldwide (very popular currently)
      ….if u book now, prepare to wait for a loongg time to get yr ride since their priority are those mat salleh countries not our small irrelevant mkt

• wolfsburg on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:48 pm

i30 is a different story… But i have seen quite a few Tucson on the road already and the waiting list for both Sonata and Tucson is very long…

• Jaybond on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

Exterior-wise, better than City & way better than Vios.

• lovekiahyundai on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Sonata no 1 in us.

• bobby on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Hyundai and Kia is doing great in europe, australia, us and even asian market, especially singapore. Cant see much on the road now cause the waiting queue is loooooooooong. And also typical Malaysian mindset that still feel that Hyundai/kia car are lousy and incomparable to honda / toyota.

• king2 on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm

very nice…especially the fog lamps

• libralcl on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Bring this here to Malaysia market then let us decide. We will compare and if it is fair and value enough then the market will respond. Btw, KIA seems like missing this segment car?

Luxury segment Hyundai Genesis – KIA Cadenza/K7
    D-segment Hyundai Sonata – KIA K5/Optima
    C-segment Hyundai Avante/Elentra – KIA Forte/Cerato
    B-segment Hyundai Accent/Verna – KIA ?
    A-segment Hyundai i10 – KIA piccanto

Anybody knows what car KIA have in B-segment?

Thanks! :)

• mata katak on Aug 27, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Well, at least the Accent looks BETTER than Proton cars……hahahaha

• mata katak says:
    27/8/2010 at 6:22 pm

Agree!ppl who waiting for new Waja Evo?lolx =D

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 19, 2010 at 4:54 pm

if it aint fast

make it look good

love you hyundai

i am a hyundai hat now

• Alitstar on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:34 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.

Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.

About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a “disposable” first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.
    THE i10 ALL NEW 1.25 KRAP-PA ENGINE
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 liters of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per liter; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?

On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k. And please get a spare rear windscreen wiper rubber. You need to use it more often than the front. Some smart-alec designs the rear spoiler to channel all the rain and dust onto the glass. Maybe the Hyundai club fans can tell us how much down-force they got from it in their wind tunnel testing.

On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?

I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.

I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up yours!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad? When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.
    About this “Why buy a car just to sell them later” that some Hyundai die hard owners brag. Well guys, with an exception to being a millionaire, most of you cannot claim the car you drive is yours, right? It belongs to the financier until we settle the full loan tenure and this maybe 5, 7 or 9 years. We are practically driving cars on lease. And the so called “Our car/my car” is a liability in respect to road safety as an asset. It’s not at all close to being an investment to hold on the car we purchased to last for eternity.
    The average car reaches metal fatigue just after 3 years. Some even after 1 year, irrespective to what the mileages are. Even with regular service, we can extend probably the engine and gearbox lifespan whilst the rest will be taken care by the way you drive (I’ve seen how you drive), climate and the excellent road condition we have here in Malaysia.

Most of us don’t have the cash to buy cars like millionaires do, so we need to dispose the ones we have to get another. Knowing that these cars (European, Korean or Japanese) are unlikely to survive time, we take the longest tenure, lowest installments (save some) and plan to get rid of it after 3 years. Furthermore, by that time there will be new model with greater features to enjoy. Why keep an antique?
    After the 3rd year, just after the warranty expires you will notice the trip to your favorite garages will increase, time spent will be longer and the money you cough-out for your loyal baby will escalate. Plot them on a chart, and you will actually see with your eyes how your wallet thins every year. You want to keep this sentimental scrap metal, be my guest.

That’s why most Malaysians with the buying power (the Uncles if I may) always consider resale value of the car they buy. And mind you, we Uncles so far have been successful in keeping a grip on which car has better resale while the younger goons continue to debate on the dawn of the uncle’s car.

But it’s fine if you were born with a silver spoon and actually thinks those unheard off cars are antiques, please go ahead. Cars that simply overwhelm you with its ‘torque’, monster BHP, SMART Gearbox, TipTronic, HeadsUpDislay, NightVision or simply for the Chris Bangle design, or the Bang Olufsen sound system and the facts and figures of the machine that matches your ‘character’ and success. Otherwise, you must be joking to say your Hyundai (or any other car) is for keep sake, which remotely has any of the latter standards.

Again it’s OK, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, fine. Enjoy yours and thanks for your NEW SCHOOL thinking, you will remain suckers for another 10 / 20 years and continue to make Malaysia a dumping ground for these scrap…plastics.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I have just crossed 4000km on my new i10 Krap-pa engine. I’m servicing it with Ah Chong as I don’t see the point in paying RM 250.00 (for the first service as well) just to be entitled for their krap-pa 5 year warranty, which they will some how find it void.

I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centers in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

For those who bought the Hyundai, may god bless you. For those whom are planning…please for god’s sake, check out Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota first.