Chevrolet Orlando 7-seater based on Chevy Cruze

This is the production version of the Chevrolet Orlando 7-seater MPV, which is based on the Chevy Cruze platform. It’s basically a competitor for other C-segment car platform based MPVs such as the Toyota Wish, the Honda Stream, and the Peugeot 5008.

The design differs quite greatly from what we usually expect – all of its competitors are sleek and curvy while GM has decided to go for an American boxy and muscular look with the Orlando. This production car was first previewed as the Orlando Concept two years ago.

Perhaps there is a possibility that Naza might just launch this as an official Chevrolet offering sometime in the future as the Orlando is set to be launched in Indonesia soon for about 250 million Indonesian Rupiah. This shows that GM has the “ASEAN market introduction” checkbox ticked for the Orlando 7-seater.

Two engine variants are planned for the Indonesian market – a 1.8 litre petrol engine similar to the one in the Cruze and a 2.0 litre diesel with 163 horsepower.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Chevrolet Orlando 7-seater highlight its potential appeal in Malaysia and India, with some users optimistic about its design and spaciousness, considering it a modern and macho option compared to existing MPVs like the Toyota Innova and Mahindra Xylo. Many appreciate the boxy, SUV-like look that promises ample interior space, though opinions on aesthetics vary, with some finding the rear boring and the overall design too out. There's enthusiasm for the diesel engine’s power, and discussions about pricing suggest it could be competitive if brought into local markets, with some expecting prices around RM100k–RM110k. Overall, comments reflect a mix of excitement, design critique, and curiosity about market availability and pricing.

• senimaunui on Aug 31, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Not Bad…
    But the side mirror looks like a golf club…

• udasalleh on Aug 31, 2010 at 5:56 pm

I like this… abit more macho… raise the suspension and add some kanggaroo and side skirt bars would look more of an suv than an mpv just like the Honda JDM Crossroad (sic)!

• diesel is good

• shawal on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Tissue Box on wheels , could’ve at least make the rear end abit more exciting….

• Apernie on Sep 01, 2010 at 1:16 am

Agree with you on the rear end…
      Front is interestingly tasty but the rear hmm…the tail light could be better imho :-)

• shawal on Sep 01, 2010 at 7:34 pm

yeah , they could’ve integrate the tail lamp to the c-pillar,
        other drivers behind this thing would think ” gosh, thats a hideous car “…

• Lance on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:47 pm

250 millions ruppiah only cost us RM 87k…

if they can match the price in Indonesia..i definitely will get one here

• rear light on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:05 am

if it’s true, then it would be great…

• Using the cue from Honda, the Freed high spec with sliding door is selling for close to 260m Rups, and in Msia, its about 112k. So, perhaps pricing will be similar for this Chevy? and plus the midas touch from Naza, perhaps cheaper?!

• squawk on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Not so sure people here will go for the boxy look. With some complaining about the 1.8 in the Cruze, will a 1.8 be enough for this 7-seater?

• ppl also complain about exora 1.6….

• squawk on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Ya, I know that. We all know that. But Exora sells at RM60+ so there’s still a market for it. I doubt this will be RM87k when it gets here. Unless Chevy M’sia is more customer oriented than profit oriented.

• roughn3ck on Aug 31, 2010 at 9:38 pm

X-trail is boxy.. still sell very well… 1.8 from Chevy? As long as it is not Campro 1.6.

• rear light on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:00 am

2.0 diesel seems interesting…

• how much the road tax differs from 1.8 petrol for this 2.0 diesel?

• @#$%^ on Sep 01, 2010 at 8:28 am

I am using 2.0 diesel captiva. Very good for such a heavy vehicle.

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:31 pm

No brain, no wonder loosing money. Cuma pandai buli orang muslim/Arab dan China aje budak-budak Amerika, tidak mature pun.

• bit too boxy for my liking … but with competitive pricing should be ok kua!

• BaLlOoN on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Why cant they make the exact same car as the concept minus the blue lights ! This car is not up to standard in term of looks . The concept is already not stunning to look at but this is plain unbearable. .. i will not spent my money on this THING !

• Fresh design,at least it looks different than the main stream rival.kinda like the way it looks,if the price is right,innova,livina and exora will have a hard time. price it between100k-115k.it will fly

• mitlanevo on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:31 pm

bring it on!!! this one looks awesome :-)

• It lost most of the details that made the Concept interesting.

• This car reminds me of Toyota Unser

• wow..that price even cheaper than HondaCity VTEC 1.5 M/T indon which is price Rp. 266,000,000,- / Surabaya..maybe bcoz indon is huge MPV market…the trend if Orlando came to Malaysia price might be same due the fact car price in indonesia slightly similar or higher than us here eg city or vios…hope the trend for MPV follow the sedan car

u can check here
    http://www.oto.co.id/mobilbaru/

• i have a strong feeling its not as big as it looks. it’ll probably be the size of an alza.

• looks bored…

• BOYRACER on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Doesn’t look so bad.Hope they bring the diesel here.More low down torque.

• Supporter on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Always like a boxy n muscular type of MPV…

Suite well for mommy n daddy, for sending their kids to school, go to ‘pasar’ n even loading it full with anything with any purpose in mind. Not like some other models that their owner treat them more like sedans… useless… BTW, if u want it sleek n curvy, go get urself a car, not an MPV….

On the other hand, this is the alternative for the absence of Honda Crossover in Malaysia (which only available in Singapore)… Definitely gonna check this out if it lands in Malaysia…

• rookie on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

while some others might prefer the typical mpv looks, i personally prefer these boxy yet muscular like american suv looks..

altho its really an mpv, but isnt it looks better like a suv..? – to me, thats a great thing..

and yes, the 1.8L petrol version maybe isnt enough but the 2.0L diesel (is it turbocharged diesel?) makes more power than necessary at 163hp right? that should be enough to move this mpv yeah?

looks are subjective, to me this is sumting great.. ;)

• rookie on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:55 pm

the 2.0 diesel makes 163hp, i wonder what the torque figure will be as an mpv, torque figures are more important than horsepower to pull all the weight if all seats are occupied plus all the luggages..

this will be a hit if the price is right..do bring it to malaysia asap, pls…

• rossi46 on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:10 pm

If its the same diesel engine as the 2.0 VCDi as the Cruze (not available here) & the Captiva 2.0 diesel (available here and re-known to easily tapauing the CRV 2.0 petrol asthmatic less than 200nm torque)…it will be stonking at 320nm@ 2,000 rpm!!..lovely!

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:20 am

I like the boxy look, it’s refreshing. It looks tough.

• budin on Sep 01, 2010 at 1:04 am

looks kinda boring…, looks like grand livina from the side view

• sdkguy on Sep 01, 2010 at 1:23 am

i’m sure they won’t launch it in Malaysia… the look is totally out!!

• Why the look is TOTALLY out? I think the overall design is very muscular and direct. It doesnt try to look like a fish or organically incorrect.
    This is the kind of MPV that you wont put eyelashes on, and refer to it as ‘him’ instead of ‘her’.
    We are so accustomed to seeing Wish-like MPVs here in Malaysia.

• LoveIt on Sep 01, 2010 at 1:06 pm

I second u on this… and yes malaysia too accustomed for Wish or Estima or Stream or Odyssey (anything T & H) designed MPV..

• appetite4d... on Sep 01, 2010 at 7:39 am

kinda looks like ‘facelift’ version of T . Unser….hmmm

• cardreamer on Sep 01, 2010 at 8:16 am

Well..for me the looks is great…not too boxy and not too curvy…looks tough and more towards SUV…the rear looks like toyota land cruiser (?), and the front looks okay though nothing special to it….but personally, since am looking at MPV myself, will consider this should the price is right…to my budget..not more than RM110k….

This car suites people with family in mind + active lifestyle…it looks cool with an MTB at the rear or ontop the roof or with a THULE utility box on top….

Great car…please bring it to Malaysia..

• zanggief on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:59 am

d 1.8 petrol engine for 7 seater??? even d cruze with same engine is like alright and this should go for d diesel model which normally get higher torque to pull this 7 seater…

this model pretty like d kia/naza mpv rondo but is there any idea for honda stream that avail in s’pore?

• LoveIt on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:08 am

what part of the vehicle is boxy ? (seem so many comment on it) . Don’t look any different than any of its league..I think it well streamed with respect to space and seating configuration

• looks a lot like the NIssan GL to me

• can be considered cun….and can fit and carry various type of item…any picture of seat and seating arrangement..?….if 100K….livina can bungkus oooo….unfortunately…already bought midi mpv in may…haiyaaa….

• Still prefer to wait for Peugeot 5008

• Ordinary Joe on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:13 pm

IMHO I think it looks modern and macho. A welcomed edition to the many wish/stream like MPVs we are so use to here. Its boxy, but not overly boxy. Nways, boxy shapes ensure abundant space inside, the whole purpose of an MPV.

If the inside has seating arrangements like the Nabira’s flex seats it’ll be a superb 7 seater. The Nabira is really an under-rated MPV. Only thing against it was spare part prices, everything else was at par if not better then its Jap rivals…

• its look like SUV….

• hullahup on Sep 01, 2010 at 3:24 pm

i dunno why,, but i kind a like this..hahahha

• Faisal on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:42 pm

hmm.. the rear part is boring.. the price will determines it can sell well or not..

• toyoltak on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:53 pm

maybe the size will be the same as Toyota Rush (a 7 seater too) & price not much difference. BTW 2.0 diesel will be great!! About the boxy design…well land rover freelander & nissan x trail are still selling well & the design is timeless.

• Rulered on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:20 pm

After they launch Ford S max and Peug 5008, then I’ll decide which MPV to choose from. In terms of design I prefer continental. This car looks too ‘Korean’ for me even though its American brand. Anyone knows when will S max and 5008 will be launched?

• nolan on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:26 am

look nicer if you go to this link…..

http://www.edmunds.com/chevrolet/orlando/2011/review.html

• Camaro Club on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:52 am

I really like the style of this car! I think its very different looking than similar cars in it’s segment! Im crossing my fingers that this car will be making it’s way to dealerships soon!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:54 am

oh yes raise the suspension

some fat wheel arches and the spare wheel on the rear door.

btw chevrolet

we need this in India I am tired of seeing the dead-fish look alike toyota innova and the mutant alien looking mahindra xylo.

the Chevrolet tavera is a utilitarian product so price it accordingly and place this above the tavera and your PV range shall be complete with the tavera at the bottom , orlando in between and the captiva onthe top

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:09 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPMz4G0o8hA

here is what this grandpa did to GM in India

• Neutral on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:19 pm

mm i think this car will not satisfy majority Malaysian taste. only few customer who like to be different will buy this car

• It is likely to be in Malaysia.. perhaps.