Land Rover Defender 110 Double Cab now in Malaysia

Land Rover Defender 110 Double Cab

The Land Rover Defender is an icon, a true 4X4 great, but have you ever toyed with the idea of owning one? With the introduction of the new Land Rover Defender 110 Double Cab pick-up by Land Rover (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd, civilians can now play out their military fantasies for the price of a Honda CR-V.

Assembled at Inokom’s plant in Kulim, Kedah using knocked down packs brought in from the UK, this double cab Defender is priced at RM148,888 for Peninsular Malaysia and RM152,388 for Sabah and Sarawak (OTR excluding insurance).

Defender 110 Double Cab

While it’s one of the more unusual ways to spend RM150K, this Defender isn’t the usual machine you find in the army barracks. Equipped with “a host of new features designed to make it suitable for work as well as play” this variant sports 16-inch alloy rims instead of steel rims, leather seats, reverse sensors and power windows. A revamp in 2007 means that the cabin now features a new fascia and improved ergonomics, while the robust materials used are scuff-free and able to withstand the harshest conditions.

Land Rover Defender Interior

The Defender 110 is powered by a 2.4-litre commonrail turbodiesel with 122 hp and 360 Nm of torque. This four-cylinder “Puma” engine from Ford is more modern than the Td5 engine it replaces and is 30% quieter. The gearbox is a six-speed manual with an anti-stall system.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Is a great machine, but only 122hp, izit more powerful if compared to Triton & Hilux? and the price is a key of consideration for this machine.

• dumb ass on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:36 pm

I doubt it is more powerful compared to our usual pickups. Even with 150hp, it will only perform marginally better. The fact is, these things are hardcore vehicles, can be driven even after 30 years. Need proof, go to Cameron Highlands. You can see plenty of it. Comparing it to Toyota/ Mitsu just isn’t fair. Still, if I’m given a choice, I’d go for the Defender. When I retire, I can use the truck to carry kankung, jagung, kobis..etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • malaun on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:39 pm

couldn’t agree more with ‘dumb ass’. u can call me old school but i still love the defender :D

• Deff110Freak on Jan 10, 2011 at 6:50 pm

i vote for dumb ass!! coz 80% of people around the world even knows a Defender. even in remote area ppl seen a defender. I mean hell man do you see a hilux nor triton serving in the military? those are sissy trucks. I own A Defender One Ten And I know its worth every cent. you gotta have the Love,Hate affair with the Defender.

• ko malu saje... on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

people who buy this adore the 9 bold capital words in front.

• smartone on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm

There are suckers born every minute…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • jl@ipl on Jan 17, 2011 at 10:55 am

Land rover Defender is the true 4×4. Design with nothing in mind but ruggedness and robust.

If I got the money and the need to really go off roads, this is my choice.

The design, well just like the teardrop “Rayb*n. Only those who know history and appreciate it, will love it. And, it is making its return.

BTW, my uncle own one. Not sure how old the vehicle is. Not sure where he get it. But, he restore it, dress it up with dark metallic green, simply awesome! I admire it every time I visit him. Majestic1.

• GoLandyGo! on May 10, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Land Rovers are more than just vehicles; they define a way of life, a passion for
          adventure and a dedication to the marque :)

• Kyrill on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:42 pm

I believe when it comes to the Defender, power and price is not really a consideration but durability…. it will serve you well for a good 10 years and even then continue for another 10 years or more in places like Cameron Highlands thereafter.

• Used to own an ex-police 109. Got it for 4k.
        Kept the police color, but not the word and insignia.
        Once got free toll from KL to Kuala Kangsar… hahahaha…

BTW, the gearbox of the old 1980s 109 is quite “manja”, so need to use them with care and caution. Hopefully the newer one is more “tough”.

• MoFaz on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

hahaha… yes, all police cars get ‘toll free’
          and nobody would mess with you.

• Jimmy on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Status different. People perceive this as more prestigeous compared to Triton or Hilux.

• mitlanevo on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:42 pm

triton = gay

hilux = everything good’s except underpowered

this = some serious stuff

• laluan sehala on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:15 pm

price is not the consideration. status is. for price, there are the more fashionable and ‘today’ looking japanese pick-ups to choose from.

• vertigo on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:13 pm

offroader doesn’t need horsepower, just agility and durable engine is suffice.

• goproton on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

many ppl don’t know bout this and like to bash whatever offroader with lower hp…for them….high hp and many gear is the thing(but they don’t even own one)…
        luckily this is a land Rover Defender…if those hp figure is in some other 4×4(pajero,triton,navara…bla bla bla…..) the bashing will go high….
        offroader needs agility,durability and higher torque….not something like 7 gear shift!
        come thumb me down basher…

• Tongkat on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:24 am

its for the enthusiast la.

land rover, range rover, all for rich ppl/ military

poor ppl how to buy land rover? buy second hand 20 years one la, at cameron highland one.

• dumb ass on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

matt green paint anyone?

• shooter on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:45 am

hell yeah! throw in an M2 .50 cal MG and we’re ready to roll!!! HOOO YAAA!!!

• jl@ipl on Jan 17, 2011 at 10:59 am

My uncle own one, painted it with matt green! Awesome!

• hamka on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm

i love it..

• rulered on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Land Rover was the King of the jungle in its heydays, but those days it was only engine body and four wheels.

• mini cooper freak on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:44 pm

I love this classic so much….

• klguy on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:47 pm

ideal machine to drive in penang which has one of the worst road conditions in malaysia

• jaguarXJ on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:59 pm

kelantan bro.dont forget kelantan :P

• aljolil on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:06 am

go to sabah and have a ride from kk to kudat or kk to sandakan. u’ll realize that kelantan road much2 better than sabah.

• Hilux Stig on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm

as well as Bintulu – Miri road (old road)…

• as well bintulu -asap-bakun hep road.. plus face to face with 18 wheel mad-truck belong to logging camp..well, this road, they call it “jalan persekutuan” hahahhaha..

anyone know that???

• ...... on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:04 am

But at least we get to enjoy long driving…you need at least 8 hours to go from KK to semporna…and enjoy the views….unlike your place….hahah…that is why we all use 4×4……suckersss

• BOYRACER on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:09 am

And Sarawak too.

• mitlanevo on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm

if u free, try to visit other states, ok?

dont always stay in PG…

• Well at least we don’t have to pay any toll…Free is best

• Don’t forget ’bout Sarawak and Sabah. The worst so called Pan Borneo “highway” in the country.

• Trinity on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:48 pm

It looks macho and rugged. Paint it in army green or black, no one gonna mess around with you even if it’s not moving.

• Jimmy on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Goof stuff. Amarok comparable?

• i would buy this over other suvs..

• Nissan truck still better than this..
    and cheaper oso..
    around 120k oni.

yeah, nissan navara.. better than this.

• zimba on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Navara 2.5L(A) LE (4WD)
      Navara 2.5L(M) SE (4WD)
      Navara 2.5L(M) Standard (4WD)
      Navara 2.5L(A) Calibre (2WD)

RM105,800
      RM94,800
      RM89,800
      RM89,900

.__. Where got rm120k?

• the_fighter on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:31 pm

uuuhhh???…this is legendary Land Rover Defender dude….what do u think??

• mitlanevo on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:44 pm

ya, durian is better than kiwi….

• RealManLandies on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:03 pm

This is real off-roader for the real world…Not like other Japs so-called off-roader…Triton, D-Max, Hilux, Navara, X-Trail…all are sissies…

• VirgilEli on Jan 04, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Haha I own a nissan navara, yes it is more powerful and easier to overtake other cars especially on hills and straights but i brought it off-roading from Sepulot,Pensiangan to Kalabakan and it sucked so bad..

If you’re looking for fast then yes navara is pretty much the fastest stock pickup in the country at the moment. However, if you’re looking for a real good off-roader then you might want to consider a Toyota HZJ75 or even a Hilux SR.. But on anyday, i would go with a Defender.. I’ve tested all these cars on the exact same road and the Defender beats everything else flat especially when it comes to slippery surfaces. These cars were not using the same brand of tyres but they were all using Mid-Terrain tyres.

My rating for off-roading:

1. Defender
      2. HZJ75
      3. 2012 Hilux 3.0 / SR Turbo Hilux (Performed pretty much the same level)
      4. Nissan Navara

• shawal on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Perfect for those paintball drive-bys …. Hartamas here we come~!

• laluan sehala on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm

this is not a ‘fashion’ truck but a workhorse with a premium badge with a strong and decorated history. it is not all about power but durability here but the fact that one is actually driving and owning a legend and icon that will provide years of distinguished service to the owner.

the power bulge on the bonnet indicates the new engine. wonder if they will make the defender 90 available at a more affordable price.

• the_fighter on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:20 pm

the true 4×4 legend …

• HirumaKecil on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

I wil easyly choose this one compare to CRV.. Its perfect… Oldskool looking with new(if not latest) tech…

• oldman on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

legend…stand still

• Naz@AE111 on Nov 12, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Landy Defender.. Olalala.. my favourite Landy…

• dragster on Nov 12, 2010 at 8:24 pm

its a good machine…..u still can see itu running in SARAWAK esp in kampung where its the taxi of those tough terrain…… one thing good of it is the aluminium body won’t rust…..

• pehh.. on Nov 12, 2010 at 8:36 pm

wuu..this is my dream machine…

• if im rich, i will certainly will buy this . this is for the purist.

• SambalBelacan on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Plz don’t compare Defender with jap pick up like Hilux, triton or navara. It is like compare a macho male with little kids. For Real 4X4 Kaki, our pick of the century has arrive!

• ko malu saje... on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:23 pm

owning this will be like having a labrador dog, very loyal till death.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:35 am

Just like Honda C70,, slow and steady.. Still “mantap” after 20-30 yrs in ladang sawit,kebun getah and sawah…

• D' only on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Arrggh…. i have been staring at this page for more than 20 minutes…

• vw_fan on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:47 pm

mount a fake machine gun in the back and everyone will give way ;-)

• D' only on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Danny, could we have a review for this bad boy, please?

• ismazri on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Our front line troops in the army.. errr I mean the old one, not this. Sadly some of them crashed on our road, not in combat.

• E Bear on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

I still remember decades ago the ori 110 just ploughed thru the mud where u see a Pajero struggling!

The ride……da?n hard. Didn’t like high speeds either but it was just beautiful up and down the slopes and thru the wet mud.

• freeze on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

I don’t think it’s as solid as the old school ones. Sheet metal looks thin.

• laluan sehala on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:41 pm

you can see how think of thin the metal is just by looking at pictures? wow. by the way, i think land rover defenders use aluminium bodies.

• slum in bolehland on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Man my dream come true i have been thinking about this car since i practical 1 year at cameron….uhhhh
    but dint have that much money maybe go thru other option buy body and change the inside…drool

• Duncare on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Maybe you should go back to Cameron Highlands and get yourself a nicely done up recon unit. I just came back from there and I just couldn’t keep my eyes off them!

• mirror mirror on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Like an English stiff upper lip.

• vertigo on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:15 pm

obviously ppl who compared this to others such as triton or navara never really went offroad.

• jigmaster on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:23 pm

if i tell my wife this thing will cost 150k, she will faint and die of heart attack eventually

• mr_3m on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:36 pm

just add a winch and a snorkel and you are good to go anywhere with this, the best 4×4 by far….

• Ive seen and touched and sat on an exact model of this in Summit USJ some weeks ago and dam*it, I love the oldskool look and the straightforward ruggedness the truck potrays. Even when stood still the truck is like telling you to keep a distance or Ill smack you in the boot. The interior isnt for a comfy ride, by the look of it, and the rear seats are angled at almost 90 degrees. Itsa bit pricey though and thats the minus point.

• 908HY4 on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:45 am

yup, i do agree that the price is a little steep. that’s why i would recommend that land rover introduce the 2 door defender 90. create a sport model with some luxuries of today and price it a little lower. should be able to put more on the road. unless of course they are only introducing the defender for govt business and sales to retail customer is on a “by-the-way” basis.

• ah seng on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:25 am

actually, how can one say that this new defender is long lasting? previous history might says that the old defender is long lasting, but new model also might not build to last?
    some more it’s using ford’s engine?

• Budak Pontian on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:27 am

I am comtemplating on buying a 2-Cab 4×4. There are too many to choose from …. Toyota Hilux, Nissan Navara or a Isuzu. Please give your comments for a good buy !

• adzman on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:23 am

buy my Pajero Sport…..wanna change to L/T Defender…retro….

• Rotul on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:30 pm

For me, i’ll take Hilux or Isuzu D-Max..Both very reliable..Hilux 3.0 is the latest new boy..D-max is fuel friendly..interior, almost all the same but Hilux is better..back seat feels much comfortable…n maintenance i both okay compare to navara..i used to own frontier, n really regret took nissan 4X4..but dont know about navara since dont want to take nissan 4X4 again..just suggesting..tq

• rapper thug on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:10 am

yo!! now this is the man!!
    just bling2 a bit and it will replace the onroad only hummer.
    now this is the new thing and will see in new music vid soon.

• Teamsleepnine on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Pls dont do that…this is the real deal…hummer is for wimp but want to be a pimp that is lack of confidence.

• 908HY4 on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:39 am

i did see a blinged one. high gloss black, dark glass, large chrome wheels with extended wheel arches, twin aerials at the back. no spoilers or anything but it looked real tough and mean.

i saw this about 2 or 3 years back. was a defender 110 wagon.

• The way I see it this one is not just for the ‘4 x 4 kaki’. I mean just look at the sheer ‘machoness’ of the exterior! The interior is not too bad either! So, this vehicle is for you to live out your G.I Joe fantasies and also has enough ‘luxuries’ for when you are not in the mood!! I mean, I may even be able to persuade the missus to see it my way with this one, no problem. Tq Landy Malaysia for bringing this in!

• do they have hardtop for this?

• nabill on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:35 am

its awesome , mite have that old school looks , but its such big personality and presence , thers no way u can compare it to the japanse alternatives…it mite have a lower engine output bt then again it has a very low ratio gearbox….probably means everything hapens below 3000rpm , and noting hapens above that

• Whoa~!! ZERO CRASH SAFETY RATING~!!!

• Gajen on Nov 13, 2010 at 2:43 am

when u drive this,people take u seriously…cos this is the essence of 4×4

• droll on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:42 am

this is durable because it is simple. no weird electronic wizardry all over the place.
    i’ve seen one parked along the road where i live. i think the owner brought it in via a parallel importer. he keeps it squeaky clean. but my god, is it imposing. it’s big and it looks rugged even when it is clean.

• dr chan on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

I am very interested in getting one, but i wonder if it comes with at least 2 airbags, and ABS which i consider the minimum in any modern car, I left out traction control as i am aware that there is 4 WD, so it is ‘redundant’ in a sense.

The leaky engines of old is gone finally. Good riddance

• zafedz on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:29 am

Paul…How many colours do they offer??

• Fat cat on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:00 am

saw one Mat Saleh driving one defender 130 Double cap with G4 challenge paint
    “Damm So Macho” can’t stop looking at it.

• 150k??? i find this hard to believe. but its true!.

• Fervent reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:23 pm

It is the retro age? I have not toyed with the idea of owning it. Nevertheless, I am still keen on having a look at this unique Land Rover Defender, especially the rear lamps of this jeep, hahaha.

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:27 pm

The best thing of all, it comes in MANUAL!

• mohdazizee on Nov 13, 2010 at 12:47 pm

just visit land rover malaysia website.comform, it use aluminium body. :)

• I was just doing some research on a UK-based company that makes 4×4 vehicles for the Paris-Dakar Rally and how they’ve got a road legal version of it called the ‘Bowler Nemesis’. Thought to myself, “How awesome would it be if I could get one in Malaysia”. Then I saw this piece of news. Must be a sign, then. :)

• Terence Toh on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:33 pm

I would consider this the poor-man’s Humvee. And it’s a good thing.

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm

yeah! LOL! poor man cannot afford to fill up the petrol tank of the hummer. this evergreen diesel 4wd however will be around forever, just have a look around Cameron Highlands!

• the_fighter on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:39 pm

hummer is history dude…this beast ll live forever

• Fervent reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm

buy it, MAN !!!

• quottro on Nov 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm

definitely a big boys’ toy.. :D the question here is… is the maintenance a killer in m’sia?

after all it’s a LAND ROVER… :D

• the only thing about this is u have to explain to your gf/wife why u bought this. Sincerely , most of women didn’t know how to appreciate these kind of stuff . Other than that , this truck is awesome!!

• bro, i so totally agree with you. even if you told your parents you wanted to get this, the reaction would probably be ‘you want to open a farm ah?’ so, it is not only women but parents as well! hehehehe :)

but it is an acquired taste. and if you want to get it, don’t let social pressures keep you away from it!

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

this is not a pussyfoot SUV, it is a proper 4wd pickup. it is the Volvo 200 series of 4wds, so an acquired taste.

• Mr. Melon on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm

i.loving.it. dreaming to own defender 110 station wagon with 7 seaters. great!!!!

• sukasuki on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:49 pm

my dream car ever since! just remind me of during my kindergarten age of my father brought me into 5door land rover to jalan2 around kuching! with the smell of ruggedness (yeah, leaking engine block) and heavy duty (my brother’s finger once stuck when he want to close the door, he slams the door hard because its hard to close softly) and also the window (no winding window, just sliding one) but still i love it so much!!

• this is a proven chassis, if u go to cameron highland. land rover is official terrain transporter. although it has been going through several engine transplant ,the the chassis is still in use.

• http://cdn.wn.com/pd/3a/c2/5df350a1c264ee1f8a142b07f88c_grande.jpg

look at this.

• BadBET on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:41 am

Love the classic style and modern interior, just wonder about the FC, a mighty bison in goat clothing , defender rule..

• zanggief on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:03 pm

yeah, the 4wd legend is coming back and it is really the ‘taiko’ of the 4wd…talking about lasting this new may not as good as our cameron highland one coz nowadays cost saving, material downsizing…but i’m sure better than the jap rivals.

when i was kid and got a chance to sit with my dad who drive a ex-police defender for couple of day, robust and tough yet no power steering so he’s sweeting when parking the car…as long as it is a LR it will really a outstanding 4wd!

• i drove this beast once about 10km offroad..D90…Put in Low 1st gear…take ur feet off the brake and accelerator….this beast will climb uphill..crawling slowly but surely…awesome…no need to put ur feet on the accelerator pun…it still climb up slowly..the torque is so damn low!..respect!

• LR not for everybody on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Friends,

This is high maintenance car, I had 3 models LR, TD5, 300Tdi and 2.5p, every times this car break down, I need 4 figures to make it running especially the TD5 and 300tdi.

• I have tested the new defender 110, pick up toque is good but the clutch padle is hard to press, no change at all from the previous model 20 years back. If you are in city driving, you will experience very tiring leg! Moreover, driving is not smooth on changing gears due to the clutch release is not smooth.

• Wanna get one for main main or ronda kg This is really iconic 4wd with elegance looks moreover this is last model prior to new one slated for release 2013

• nolike on Dec 03, 2010 at 4:01 pm

defender is an iconic brand.. i do like it. but this one is so dull.. no aura at all. I wonder why the other defender that posted in abroad much more elegance than this one.. why? do they think Malaysia is the third class’s market what??

• Marcoslai on Jan 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm

I’d put Humvee slogan on Landy – ‘ Like Nothing Else’. My dream car is Defender 90. I heard some idiot compare this sweetie with those bunch of craps like Honda CRV,Hyundai Tucson,BMW X5,Volvo XC90……..Hey wake up u idiot! Those craps built for pussy! If u still hold a stick underneath your tummy,get a Land Rover.

• tokmisai on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:48 am

Hie, to all the landy otai. Could someone help/advise me. Seen a few defender 110 in a used car centre repairing and selling this type in KL.. Already done, new paint,etc. Going between 50k to 100k. My missus loves it. So do my kids. Thinking of having it as a second car, town driving, totally not off road. Might be the only car for me to go to work.

Been told that consumption is not a problem. The same with maintenance.. Is it true? Appreciate any input for me to make my decision.

• Mr Web on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:35 am

I use it officially as the family bus. hauls 8-9 people in one go. You sure you want to get one? You wouldn’t want to let the steering go once you get off the car.

maintainance wise is subjective. for more reference, look up my landy malaysia on fB group. most of them are new owner. i find it quite informative.

• GoLandyGo! on May 10, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Land Rovers are more than just vehicles; they define a way of life, a passion for
    adventure and a dedication to the marque….One life, live it :)

• Paul, do malaysia have station wagon version with 5seat?

• Jeffrey on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Hi there. Does this model comes with Auto Transmission at all?

• fourFOUR on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:01 pm

150k is expensive for a car that feels like the exterior panels are made of plastic when hit. Does anyone knows if it is a FULL TIME 4×4 or switchable? and how bout its fuel consumption? love this old school classic design anytime better than the latest vovo suv, omg. who will buy that sissy piece.?

• fourFOUR on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:05 pm

a ford engine ? for a brand like LR… are they kidding ? C’mon, develop your own engine la. I think people buy is bcos of the branding, but with a ford engine …..? think twice?

• Mr Hukaka on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:44 pm

real MAN Drive this.
    love this car since i was a Kid’s the design are never need to do any changes.
    it will have Hardcore fans to support.

• when i was a kid in s’wak,the only vehicle to go back to my kampong{the road was a total typical camel trophy jungle track)was a landy.and 20 passengers or so will cramped into it,this was a typical scenario in the 70s in rural sarawak,growing up as a boy.i had my disco td5 in the 2004.but always have gesket problem with the head and alternator problem.but my next project is either the defender 90- fire and ive edition but not available.defender 110 is too long for me.defender is certainly the real thing.imagine since i was a kid until today.i know what is a land rover it a defender.dont ever compare this real 4×4 with any other,they dont have the record to be global and enduring.

• atz1999 on Jul 15, 2012 at 1:23 am

land rover is build for purpose…
    can’t compare england and japo…
    even rusted also people will find out…landy for restoration..maybe can compare to toyota BJ/FJ
    ..BUT JEEP CJ macho maa…

• mikeking on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:48 am

defender……i cant sleep for the nex few nites!

• ooronga on Mar 23, 2013 at 7:37 pm

You dont need airbags for this. Once it hit a Toyota at a car park. Toyota bounced like it was a dodgem. Side impact? Its so high, cars hit its chasis. Two slabs of solid steel. You’ve got to pity the other car.

Its a well known joke that the Defender’s safety system is the other car.

Its not perfect, but its never needed updating because it simply works. Did you know that Land Rover needs to obtain an export license to export the defender to foreign countries? Its because it is classified as a weapon/ military products/ dual use by the MOD.

Like Bond said in Skyfall, ‘ sometimes the old ways are the best’

• Hey guys, I am looking for a used Land Rover ‘Puma’ Defender 110 Twin Cab. Any recommendation?

• Hey guys, I am looking for a used Land Rover ‘Puma’ Defender 110 Twin Cab probably 2009, 2010 or 2011. Any recommendation email me at [email protected]?

• My heart just bleed when I saw one. I’m sooo in love with this handsome beast. Real Man drive it? Well a woman may as well buy it and drive it ;)(Well never stop dreaming and believing to own one, one day)

• dont buy this landy if u cant afford to buy a good car for your wife….other wise u will sleep with your landy off road

• Jeep vs Land Rover ?

• silverleaf on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:19 am

I own a 110 Double-cab. It has a huge personality & character whether on the road or parked at the side. But ghaz has a good point – don’t buy this defender until you got your wife & kids a comfortable car. And don’t bother abt the social pressure – if you love it, can afford it – then go for it!

• I want this so bad I’m crying. :'(
    Went to the dealer in Miri yesterday but he doesn’t seems interested to entertain my request, wanna know all the details on the price & availability. Just busy with my friend who’s hooked on the Ford Ranger. Same dealer.

I want it so bad…………don’t stop producing this beast until i own one please……………

• Lee Chee Hong on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:15 pm

enjoy reading the comments. would love to get one for some 4×4 adventures, just wondered do you think the ckd kulim made would do the justice for this beast?

thx

• Yusof on Jul 30, 2017 at 10:08 am

I own the new Defender 110 double Cab…… superb agility and offroad…. I am looking for a electric winch suitable for the model anyone suggestion where to get one