Kia Sorento launched at KLIMS – RM160k indicative

Sorento 1

Naza Kia Malaysia has introduced the new Kia Sorento at KLIMS. The new Sorento’s overall length of 4,685 mm and width of 1,885 mm makes it longer, lower and more spacious than the previous-generation offering.

Sorento 2

As previously mentioned, the 4WD SUV is offered only with a single engine option, in four-cylinder 2.4 litre DOHC CVVT form. The block puts out 174 PS and 226 Nm of torque and is mated to a six-speed automatic tranny.

Sorento 3

Features include push-button start ignition with a smart key, a panoramic sunroof, a stylish ‘supervision’ cluster, in-dash six-CD changer with Aux, USB, iPod and Bluetooth connectivity as well as dual separate climate control for the driver and the front passenger.

Sorento 4

Other goodies include an electric-chromic rear-view mirror, rear parking sensors, leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio-mounted controls and 18-inch alloys. In terms of space and carrying ablity, the second and third row seats can be folded completely flat, offering the vehicle a total cargo space of 1,047 litres if you so choose to utilise it.

Sorento 5

Safety-wise, the Sorento comes with a total of six airbags (dual front, side and curtain airbags), four-wheel ABS, electronic stability control and EBD. There’s also Hill Start Assist and Downhill Brake Control in the mix.

The final pricing of the Sorento wasn’t revealed at the show, but Naza Kia has indicated that it will be around the RM160,000 or below region. You can catch the Sorento at the show, as well as the new Optima sedan, among the many Kia exhibits.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• toooo bad without the diesel 2.2R like Hyundai Santa Fe did. Petrol engine with heavy steel body always ended with high fuel consumption example like the fortuner 2.7V. Beside, petrol price just increased recently and soon they will no more petrol subsidy as announce by government lately. Diesel Engine tend to have higher 20~30% more mileage then petrol engine does, hence even one day the diesel Vs petrol price are $ame (Soon) Diesel variant option still the best choice to go for as it provide more mileage and power.

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Priced too close to Fortuner, exceeding Santa Fe. Not going to be as successful as previous generation, especially if Fortuner is given some update (eg 5-speed auto and newer engine V6) in ~ 2 years time. Well you can argue against all the weak points of Fortuner if you are so DEFENSIVE, not planning to write reports to your BOSSES for them to improve.
    For me, if I were to choose a Korean, I will opt for Santa Fe at RM158, 888.

• Sante Fe 2.4 Theta II RM154,621.80 wheres 2.2R Diesel at RM165,362.10…..So where will this Sorento price will be??? Guess is RM158,888.88 stay in between. At RM160k mark there will be a lot choice to make….NAZA need to price it very carefully with this PETROL version….nothing to be excited about this petrol version.

• Gavin on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:42 pm

If they brought in the diesel which by the way was JOINTLY developed with hyundai it would be a good buy, judging the number of sorentos i see here in Holland, it must a good car where there are so many german marque to choose from

• DonkeyKong on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:09 pm

A Kia Sorento even showed up in that Scandinavian movie “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”

• i like the russian babes….

• didie on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Proton dare to change,
    Kia? Arrogant with price?not realize.. they are Korean or may be Naza manipulating it price. Be wise go for Santa Fe R diesel197hp 2.2L excellent!!

• Rubery Owen on Dec 04, 2010 at 6:47 pm

I think its a damn good price considering the specs and size compared to the CR-V.

• come on mR.NAZA, bring in the diesel version like what santa fe did and price it at RM149,888. Lah then i gurantee naza will be no 1 best SUV seller in malaysia.

• hahahaha on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:34 pm

interior pics ? which is better ? fortuner or this ? but sorento has a lot of techs than fortuner.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:17 pm

No way to the Fortuner. This sits on a modern SUV chasis which is confortable and rigid while fortuner sits on a 15 year old Hilux chasis and platform which is built for ruggedness and utility. Hard core riding, if u want a toyota better to get the Harrier.

• mohsin on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:14 pm

I don’t know…
    It seems OLD!

• Renault Power on Dec 05, 2010 at 6:00 pm

hmm…i bet the actual one will look worse

• reuben how on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:52 pm

malaysian company & foreign product = disaster. Everyone remembers the bad old days of Honda Boon Siew. Replay now with Naza Kia – Kia is a Global brand. Tell Naza where to shove it, I reckon. You will not believe how good the Kia / Hyundai service is overseas, everywhere but Malaysia, of course.

• reuben how on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Hyundai owns kia and i’m sure that there’s some platform sharing. If customer service is better at Hyundai in malaysia, just switch laaa?

• Due government protect the Proton, everyone force to buy car 2~3 times expensive compared to others country (US selling this 2.4 version at USD25k which is less than RM80k). Other country car maker selling their new car cheaper in war price with other automaker for the benefit of their resident. But In Malaysia, all “NAZA/Rafidah/SIME” own the license and kawan-kawan together control the price. Lately our DR.M urged government to increase tax some more to protect his proton. We malaysian paid tax and paid every sen they spend, they never use their hard earn money like to to own stuff we like….ex Tourism menteri can spend up several million just for a trip…bringing all this family, maid kawan-kawan stay suite and first class.

• ah yat on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:01 am

buy one sorento get two hot chicks???

• ambross on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:39 pm

design look like Suzuki Vitara..price? ok la tu..

• the rear side of the car looks ugly..doesnt suit the current generation car designs…i still prefer latest Tucson in terms of design….

• farghmee on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:10 am

agree.

squarish tail light doesn’t suit the body line.

tucson looks good.

• G Q Chan on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:15 am

Test driven both the brand new Sportage and Sorento (2011 models), and they are fab! I was never a fan of Korean cars, but after my experience with the Korean built Chevy Captiva and the new generation Kia cars, I am sold. Value for money with the specs offered.

I tested Fortuner as well, the ride is terribly stiff and bumpy like a truck, whereas the Kia Sorento drives very much like a car, and great option for extra 2-seats when needed.

Both the new Kia Sportage and Sorento 2011 have been on the roads in Singapore for a few months now and so far they are doing really well.

• talked to the naza man there about diesel sorento.he said there wont be any because our diesel is bad

• They lying…kia brother hyundai santa fe already bring in the diesel version & same theta II 2.4 which same to new kia sorento. Is the market strategy, forcing malaysian sapu all the bad selling version into malaysia with cheper price contract but they sell sky high as they control the market.

• hukaka on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:26 am

ya i want the diesel model.

• halim on May 04, 2011 at 11:13 am

What is the price for the new SUV Sorento?

• Peter on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Any news if the Sorento V6 will be coming to Malaysia?

Between Sorento 2.4 vs the new upcoming face lifted 2.7 Fortuner, which is a better buy?