Kubica under induced coma after a seven-hour operation

Lotus Renault has issued yet another press release on Robert Kubica’s condition, following the high-speed crash at the Ronda de Andora Rally. It was mentioned previously that the Pole suffered from multiple fractures to his right arm, leg and hand and doctors has also revealed that he suffered from severe cuts to his forearm, which could leave an impact on the mobility of his right hand.

Following the diagnosis, Kubica underwent a seven hour-long surgery at the Santa Corona Hospital and doctors have revealed that they are satisfied with the way the surgery went. A total of seven doctors worked on Kubica and they were split into two teams, one team was made up by the emergency task force from the Sao Paolo Hospital in Savona and the other team was from the orthopedic department of the Santa Corona Hospital.

“It has been a very important and difficult operation. Robert Kubica’s right forearm was cut in two places, with significant lesions to the bones and the tendons. We did our best to rebuild the functions of the forearm,” said Professor Mario Igor Rossello, Director for the Regional Centre of Hand Surgery at San Paolo Hospital in Savona. The professor went on to add that at the end, Kubica’s hand was “well vascularised and warm” and this comes as good news.

Kubica under induced coma after a seven-hour operationHis status is currently “stable but serious”. Following the surgery, the was placed into an induced coma and could be woken up later today. Eric Boullier, Team Principal and Managing Director of Lotus Renault said “The news of Robert’s accident came as a real shock to the whole team. All of us, at Lotus Renault GP, wish him a quick recovery.”

“We have been really impressed with the way the doctors looked after him today and we would like to thank the whole team of the Santa Corona Hospital for their professional approach and dedication. I will be traveling to Italy tomorrow, along with Vitaly Petrov, in order to see Robert and tell him that we are impatiently waiting for his return,” he added.

From the looks of it, Robert Kubica is likely to be temporarily replaced. The last time such an incident happened was when Felipe Massa suffered from a severe crash at the 2009 Hungarian Grand Prix and his team, Ferrari was forced to temporarily replace him with the team’s test driver Luca Badoer. Badoer was then replaced by Giancarlo Fisichella who was bridged from Force India. Fisichella’s place in Force India was then given to Vitantonio Liuzzi.

We have also added a video interview with Professor Mario Igor Rossello, who gave some comments after the surgery. Rossello was asked if Kubica can return to do his job, and the professor’s answer was that it is “quite difficult”. There is also another video which shows us Kubica’s damaged Skoda Fabia rally car, which is the one he crashed in. Our best wishes are with Kubica. Check out the videos after the jump.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Amryl Malek on Feb 07, 2011 at 11:36 am

Best wishes to him and his family. Hope he will get well soon.

• nabill on Feb 07, 2011 at 12:33 pm

wow…from the sound of it i dont think he will be fit for the season…bad news for lotus renault…best of luck

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2011 at 4:49 pm

hopefully fairuz can replace him even for 2 or 3 races. the rally car look strong actually..no dent at the frame at all..wonder what happen if kubica is driving normal daily car at that time. be strong kubica!

• get well soon kubica,,, his rally car total wreck~~~

• No.1 Fan on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Hang on there Kubica you’re a fighter not a loser !!!
    We are with you and pray that you’ll be up and running soon!!
    May God Give Him Strength To Face This Challenge.
    Amen.

• yellowbus on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:16 pm

What a shocking news…I met him two years ago when he was still driving for BMW; both him and Nick gave me an autographed cap…nice guys both of them, Kubica especially he was a chatty person compared to Nick…goodluck and have a speedy recovery!

• diamantis on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:34 pm

it looks like he never never get back into F1 car again.one year if he fully recovers, how long it takes to get fit to drive again? pity kubica, he was very very talented driver.

• tokmoh on Feb 07, 2011 at 11:06 pm

was? Wei, don’t la make it sound he’s dead edi lol!

He survived Canada GP 2007, and I dunno what, that crash was like the start of him becoming a seriously good, quick driver, he made Heidfeld look like a total noob. Hope it has similar effect here too!!

Go Kubica! :D

• Firman on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Rally car should copy F1 safety features…when we saw Kubica accident with F1 BMW few years ago, we thought he will got seriously injured..but he escaped with minor injury… Get well soon Kubica! Hope u will race again in F1..

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2011 at 4:52 pm

it is different type of racing ler. furthermore rally car is using ur normal daily routine car chasis. its hard to use f1 tech..totally different. its the risk that the driver has to take.

• Azrai_Razuan on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Hi Paul,

The folks at Team Lotus wish Robert a speedy recovery. Thanks for the updates on paultan.

• Azrai_Razuan on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Oh.. thanks to Harve too :)

• isfufushah on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:35 pm

RAIKKONEN!!!

get him to replace kubica, the best f1 driver if he have the best car.

• kayel on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:53 pm

the latest news i heard was he’s going to loose his hand…is that means that his career in F1 is over?

• linear_system on Feb 07, 2011 at 3:36 pm

even with roll cage he can badly injured..if with only normal car sure fatality is the result..

• Pakka on Feb 07, 2011 at 4:57 pm

The guardrail went into the cockpit. That’s eerily reminded me of the Sani Express accident at Ipoh where the guardrail gutted the whole lower section of the bus.

• trav_da_man on Feb 07, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Shocked with the news. Best wishes for Kubica, hope we can see him in F1 soon.

A big blow to Lotus Renault esp when they need the driver to get podium positions. Still there plenty of reserve driver to be picked.

• But none of the reserves at Lotus Renault can match his speed. God bless…

• kayel on Feb 07, 2011 at 6:43 pm

surprisingly, his co-driver escape from the injury…i believe the manufacture or the team are looking into this seriously…how could this thing happened..

• Imbhotep on Feb 08, 2011 at 12:53 am

Haiyoo 1year for full-recovery….seems kubica be next champion in faded…
    But i think would be 3 lethal combinations will come-back to grid-
    Lotus+Renault+Senna!!
    Like their golden years!!!

Speedy recovery for kubica…..

• shawal on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:36 am

Get well soon

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:09 pm

He’s out of the induced coma now and there’s talk that Kimi & Nick are top contenders as his replacement.