Pakatan to table “radical solution” to reduce car taxes

Pakatan to table “radical solution” to reduce car taxesDo you know that hire-purchase loans allegedly account for about RM118 billion total worth of Malaysian household debt? This was revealed by PKR deputy president Azmin Ali at a press conference today, and PKR estimates that of this RM118 billion, about 70% are actually the high excise taxes, import taxes and sales taxes paid on our cars.

Here’s an example, the Renault Megane RS 250 Cup ,which we all really love, costs about RM236k in Peninsular Malaysia. It costs about RM119k in Langkawi. Even hybrid cars are not completely exempt from tax – only excise and import taxes are waived while sales tax still applies, which explains why the prices of hybrid cars in the regular economic zones in Malaysia are still higher than in Langkawi. The price difference is about 10%. And of course the profits from these hire purchase loans to pay taxes are also taxed – that’s a lot of income for the government.

PKR revealed that their Pakatan Rakyat coalition will be tabling a “radical solution” to reduce the NAP-imposed automotive tax burden in a proposal at the Pakatan Economic Summit next month. It will be interesting to find out what this proposal is and dissect it to see if it’s truly workable.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Election enticements eh? Looks like the oppos do read Paultan.org!

• Iskandar on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Before we go huha huha about this whole thing, just remember one thing.

This is the same people who said that they can boost Selangor’s sand profit from $20 million under Khir Toyo to $100 million. When they won, the Pakatan only get $5 million from sands — which is far lower than the “corrupt” Khir Toyo.

I welcome any moves to reduce car prices. But given their track records and the fact that the election is very near, I’m pessimistic that they’ll can serious do it.

It’s a super popular move by an inexperienced government. But again, no one in their right mind will be against this idea.

• Anonymous on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Dear Iskandar, appreciate if you could provide the liable source of information which you mentiioned.

• that was the reality.. or u so pr so much till u just forget it.. there is one thing called as google.. go google.. u will know that.. that was what they said..

• THEY said. who are THEY again ? are those prof relevant ??

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm

‘they’ are MOSTI and paid bn blogger…..

• MoFaz on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:11 am

I’m more interested to know on how they’re going to generate revenue. while reducing one source of tax, would they increase other taxes? or would they abolish subsidies for foods & fuels? If that’s so… this move doesn’t really going to benefit the whole Malaysia, but the whole Malaysia would need to pay for those who enjoy changing car every few years.

Imagine you need to pay more income tax due to reducing tax for cars? or pay more tax for alcohol & tobacco products..? And without subsidies, the cost of foods and travels would be doubled, if not tripled. oh wait, they promised that if they win the last GE, they would lower the price of petrol. it has become more interesting to know how they’re going to increase spending (give more petrol subsidy) while at the same time reducing their revenue (cut on car taxes)…

i just want to know what their plan is.

• joeyzizul78 on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:54 am

good…

• Approach on Feb 10, 2011 at 12:13 am

A bottoms up aproach isn’t as bad as some might think

In top down:
          Government collect high taxes. Government create projects. Government hand out contracts. Only good (read: already rich) or affiliated(ehem!) companies (again read: already rich) will get them contracts. Money circulated among the rich.

Bottoms up:
          Government collect lower taxes.I have more money to spend. I buy your stuff from you. you get more money to spend. you buy stuff from other people. Buying power increase. Also, since you and I have money to spend, we can set up more businesses. More people buy from these businesses(since they have more money to spend). Businesses prosper. Lots of businesses means foreign investors. Government still collect taxes… but money is circulated to everyone.

cheers~

(Might be a somewhat flawed explanation though)

• cikgurusdhi on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:46 pm

auto taxes yes. other taxes no. and yes ur explanation is flawed. really2 flawed

• Why should I pay high price for car in the first place to subsidize food that you eat?

• cikgurusdhi on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:48 pm

individualistic lot! no care for other ppl esp the poor ones

• Iskandar on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:17 pm

I know my comment will be thrashed. But I was simply giving a fact.

Like anyone in Malaysia, I want the car prices to be low. But I’m tired of politicians promising us gold and diamonds, no matter whether they come from BN or PR.

The promise to lower petrol prices, food prices and car prices will win you vote. But how realistic is the promise?

• hexagon on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:00 pm

it will be realistic and achieved when the main factors are trashed away. The one who in control. and u know who.

• haji maarof chan on Mar 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm

That’s why we need to watch closely as the proposal is laid down on table next month. Til then, spare your bad thoughts n bloating praises. :)

• haji maarof chan on Mar 20, 2011 at 5:27 pm

That’s why we need to watch closely as the proposal is laid down on table next month. Til then, spare your bad thoughts n high hopes. :)

• Amin GmbH on Feb 09, 2011 at 5:41 pm

so, it’s timely for Malaysian MPs to adjust the economic chain subsidies based on criticality, CPI and cashflow rates of goods. if Malaysians spend under illustration of a graph by top bottom ranking petrol/day/daily frequency vs price followed by LPG/day/daily frequency vs price followed by cooking oil/day/daily frequency vs price, then heaviest weight should fall to petrol to LPG to cooking oil.

as for government revenue, tax can be increased in times of upswing/bounce of inflation rate to send a bright red signal over OPR and BLR. if the rakyat understand the semblance relation between public and private bodies, the pain is just temporary. middle class made up the highest composition participating to cushion and service negative cashflow, so none of public/private parties interested to assume credits obligation in times of recession/bubble, otherwise such integration causes compromise of public sovereignty or signalling the government is bankrupt, that cannot happen.

debt cannot be written off in negative cashflow system (due to nonconformity with money changing policy, almost like programming 1-2 out of 100M lines compilation error) unless monopoly takes over, the monopolist will bail it out in cash/credits and so the rakyat will once again be rich in instant, that also will not happen. what I want point out here is, the cashflow is meant to be liquid therefore either tax or 2,3…fold payment are liable on cars/properties/proprietorship even for few generation to come servicing the debt.

• where do you think the gov get the money to charter the planes that was used to bring back our student from the kaherah? thats the use for our tax money

• Anonymous on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Actually the money from the car taxes is used to subsidies petrol !! In Singapore 95 petrol is S$ 2/litre equivalent to RM 4.7…

• come on bro.. in year 2000.. keje kilang kat singapore, jadi technician pon dah dapat 1500 singa dollar.. equal to rm3000 at that time… so.. toksah nak banding la rege minyak kat singapore ngan kat kita… some more s’pore bukan nye ada tlaga minyak cam kita..

• AP lover on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:55 pm

they paid by S$
          we paid by RM

S$2 not equal to RM2

• Netsoft on Feb 12, 2011 at 11:32 am

And your RM 2,000 Salary is not the same as SGD 2,000. Learn the differences between purchasing power parity and not converting the cost back to homeland and compare!

• keep your current car.. no more 2nd hand value…

• suweypaul on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:02 pm

paul blog is no more an auto blog.
    so much politics.

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:19 pm

How is this not related to cars? I don’t know about you but most people PAY for their cars. Or perhaps you misinterpreted the mere mention of opposition as in support of their proposal? We don’t even know what’s in the proposal yet and we fully intend to analyze it when it’s tabled… If it’s available for public.

• Angra on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Those who want to separate politics from automotive or any other industry are too naive and ignorant. You want to abstain from politics, please migrate to the moon, or mars or anywhere away from earth. There is nothing in our world that govt doesn’t have a hand.

• bluetravler on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:08 am

well said.

• slekuzen on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:34 pm

suweypaul, in case you have not realized how dire the situation is in Malaysia but consumers out here actually BORROW money to pay for taxes! Pathetic isn’t it?

We’ve been fooled by Government to think that we have low taxes in Malaysia, low gas, low food prices (not even true anyways), but actually, taxes are SO high that we have to stretch the payment over up to 9 years, hidden behind ridiculous car prices. And this is not Proton’s fault either because even their cars are very overpriced compared to their prices abroad. It’s just a way for Government to get away with siphoning our hard earned money without us noticing it…

Paul, do please update us on what the opposition tables.

• asddff on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

i’m willing to give them a try

• Estimosis on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:27 pm

There a hope then together to reduce the super bikes taxes from the current 80%. Maybe PR should table up their plans publicly.

• jason on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:47 pm

that’s why la…
        wanna give public transport people object la..
        but when talking about car price..people start compare to other countries..
        then talk about other country have good public transport…
        why complaint when people themselves are ignorant to changes..
        all they want is everything cheap..
        cheap cars..
        cheap food..
        cheap petrol..
        what a cheap mentality…grow up malaysians!
        the world doesnt work that way..

• Jason, are you insane or idiot, or both? We’re discussing about mere CHEAP but we rather discussing over extremely HIGH TAX imposed to us by the beloved government since 1985.

In Japan the Velfire merely 2,857,143.00 JPY=105,602.92 MYR BUT retailed at massive RM400,000 plus. Put aside the freight cost margin for the players in the supply chain etc, also minus the price mentioned above since the price is for new car, then you can do your maths how much government revenue in tax/excise forms.

This is CRUEL as monies from tax forms NOT wisely spent and rakyat forced to borrow for the stuff they can buy without financing if the price was not INFLATED MASSIVELY like other stuff i.e camera, pc, furniture, sporting goods, etc.

Jason,

Do you think the SPAD MRT proposal is feasible for most of Malaysians? Think again if the infrastructure alone has massive RM30+B exclusive of land and trains how on earth they can charge a reasonable rate of fair to the target market?

You heard about PKFZ, Bakun, country first 5 IPPs etc especially the last mentioned is national culprit that worst than ALONG due to the lopsided agreement entered made them national darling at the expense of TNB. They never bother over beta or investment risk since irrespective of level of demand from TNB, TNB must buy their agreed volume of energy. Why not de-subsidize these entities first?

• yippi33 on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:46 pm

you are taking things too simple..

why opt for vellfire which is 400k if you can have an exora for 80k with almost the same function and space?? what we have are options! most people buy high priced cars due to they do afford to pay it. its a symbol of luxury and class. In other words, high priced cars are something that are merely “desires” rather than “needs”…we need to differentiate between the twos..

everyone is sceptic at first with the putra lrt, monorel etc..but it has served well to us malaysian..heck, even the KLCC is said to be a waste..but these sceptics are the one enjoying them now..yes, the cost is high to construct given that we do not have the expertise in it..the same goes with the future MRT..if we are thinking about the negative aspect of certain issues without seeing the good ones, nothing will be achieved.

you are only looking at the flops that the G had done (PKFZ, Bakun)..although in my opinion, the flops are due to errors from certain quarters and not the G as a whole… have you taken the time to look at the success that the G had brought to the country? the Malaysia today does not appear from nowhere..it is the result of the efforts from the G…dont try to deny that..as for the IPPs, if you a have lived long enough before the existence of IPPS, youll be cursing a lot more than Namewee on how bad their service are..the main objective that these IPPs existed is for only one reason..to increase the quality of availability of the power supply of the country….maintaining a power station is no cheap business..the price of a power plant can support you and your next 5 generations..TNB alone could not afford to supply a steady power to boost the nations economy and needs..that is what many people failed to see..of course, being a private owned, it is custom that the price that needs to be paid are higher…but it is for the quality that are to be achieved..and who says that the agreement is one sided??those outside the industry and doesnt understand wholly on how the system works should shut their mouth up..there are risk that had to be borne by these IPPs in order to maintain the high availability…the amount of penalty that they have to face are no cheap amount….there is always a price for everything..

Think deeply in analyzing certain issues and dont simply pluck the points from hearsay and unproven facts..study more and if you dont know a lot on certain subjects, just keep quiet….

• now think about it. Vellfire vs exora… seriously? same functions ? do a crash test and compare .. vellfire provides comfort and lux etc etc..

if you think that we should accept the fact that we should live happily and appreciate what the GOv did then you can just go to a 3rd word country.

this country needs lower taxes and increased quality of living.
            AND THE ONLY WAY TO GET THERE IS PUBLIC PRESSURE.

• Now I know how dire the situation is in Singapore, where I am right now….. :) Everything you mentioned applies to Singapore as well.

• Office of Azmin Ali on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Please do keep a close eye on the Economic Summit that Pakatan Rakyat intend to organize.
        It is only apt for everyone to look and assess the policy especially on the NAP. Pakatan Rakyat will surprise and please Malaysians.
        If car-enthusiast or policy analysts would like to attend the soon to be held NAP roundtable by Pakatan please email us at [email protected]
        Azmin Ali appreciates all comments and will ensure that constructive criticisms and comments are included in the discussions on the policy.

• 4G63tdsm on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:00 pm

How can you even say that? Are you really that blind or brainwashed?

Our automotive market is already neck deep in politics. At this point of time, politics and our automotive market is one and the same. Look at the AP system, its another thinly veiled ploy to buy votes. How can you even justify its existance?

Not to forget you also take loan to cover your AP costs….which in effect is another indirect tax.

Id say in addiion to cutting back on taxes, is to give one free AP to each citizen that turns 21. :)

High loans is a leach to the economy. Only the banks make money.

• azuanishak on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:10 pm

you must be kidding me, you want to separate politics with your life? did you know that our car fuel price is decided by politics, even your 20cent toilet entree also decided by them.. Our life is surrounded by politics..

• VW_fans on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Please……….PKR, fight for our “rakyat ” welfare……….pity our hard earn money & being “force” to buy proton. We don’t even have choice to choose other makes. Not all of us are rich to buy good or even better cars.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:07 pm

HAHA,this is damn funny,they can’t even settle their problems in the party and still don’t know how to rule a state,and come out with the so called “radical solution”.
    They are actually discussing how to get more many from the rakyat if they win next election.

• anti-first on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:12 pm

hei BN cybertrooper, do not mock paul tan’s informative blog with your nonsense.

berambus buang!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Hey PR cybertrooper,you to get outta here.

• Why would u want to support a Gov who tax everything and tol every road.
          they spend as they like and dont bother. What have they solved so far? tell me

• joeyzizul78 on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:02 am

give 1 example, the gov in this world that not tax in everything…?

• focus tdci on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:54 am

coz Malaysia Memang Boleh doesnt mind having to bend over and take it from this govt.

• Anonymous on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:07 pm

You’re being too single minded.

Like what Paul Tan’s mentioned “Or perhaps you misinterpreted the mere mention of opposition as in support of their proposal? We don’t even know what’s in the proposal yet and we fully intend to analyze it when it’s tabled… If it’s available for public.”

• I still doubt it…but it’s really very nice if it really workable…Pakatan leader was once a DPM & Minister of Finance…what did he do at that time…i wonder…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:53 pm

True True

• taboogen on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:57 pm

thank god he did not cont to be DPM.. more gay bars will be around then

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Bro, 1 person cant do wonders if u still have all the big “Buaya” around you. If u come out a good proposal without the big heads to approved it, do u think it will change even he is trying to do it? Please remember that during his time, Dr. M is still the PM & if his proposal is not ‘suitable’ for him, still remember the 97 financial crisis? He is sacked & framed so that he will not get in his way… Really mudah lupa nowdays these people…

• ultraman on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:40 pm

the heck with whatever they claim they find out about..everybody knows la..
      every government has a policy of making money in ways to generate income for the country..
      even if they abolish the “TAX” that so many are so crazy about…
      they just might adapt a new policy on owning a car such as what neighbor singapore has which is the COE..
      or perhaps u guys love a policy more like the brits?? far crazier than ours..the insurance itself has a complete diff structure..
      i dont think many can live with that…

CHEAP CARS DOESN’T MEAN THAT IT IS CHEAP TO HAVE IT ON ROAD!!

• HollyF on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Renault Megane RS 250 only costs RM119k before the tax applied? Wow!

• wow my stupid civic are more expensive than RS250??? Bagus kerajaan malaysia bagus. mana lebihan duit cukai2 yang aku bayar tu ye? jalan raya rosak sana sini, lampu jalan takda, jalan yang cantik kena bayar tol…paip air kotor karat je, anyone want to explain?

• vw beetle on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:27 pm

triton is more expensive in singapore. it’s priced RM215k after exchanged. singaporeans are clever.

• armang on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:46 pm

let me know why triton is more expensive, there is explanation, get it and tell me why. lastly, why less singaporean driving 4wheel drive?

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Bro, Singapore have better transportation than us.. They have so call COE which pay directly the tax to the G, compare to our AP system which only benefit a few. Besides that even their road condition is better.. So what u want to compare? They can also enjoy those imported cars better & faster compare to us & still their earning power is even higher compare to our locals here…

• lollipop on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:47 pm

yup, singapore Smarter, wealth, discipliner then us mostly is non-corrupted then us.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Singaporean Kiasu-er

• Cannot compare after conversion. A singaporean earning SGD5k a month only need to fork out SGD 130k (include COE) for a Golf GTI.

Where else a malaysian person earning RM5k a month needs to fork out RM210k for a Golf GTI.

Cars are way much cheaper for singaporeans to buy. Plus all their cars are imported.

• danish on Feb 16, 2011 at 9:48 am

bro…u compare certain thing…not all thing..please inlcude this too:-

1) Bank Interest
            2) Road Tax Price
            3) Insurance Price
            4) Parking Price
            5) ERP charges
            6) Maintenance Cost

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 20, 2011 at 5:38 pm

how to compare singapore,,, Singapore income tax 2% ony…,, Malaysia 28% walauweii!!!!!

• nazmal on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Cuba tanya penduduk jepun, german, perancis dan us, mungkin di sana harga kereta jauh lebih murah berbanding malaysia, tapi harga keperluan utama lain spt tanah/rumah & petrol di sana jauh lebih mahal dari malaysia. Lihat pula indonesia & thailand, mungkin harga kereta lebih murah tapi harga petrol, gula & minyak masak lebih mahal. Di beberapa negara lain harga kereta murah tapi tak boleh pakai lama kerana terikat dengan peraturan pelupusan tetapi tidak di malaysia. Apa pun di Singapura harga kereta lebih mahal dari malaysia (rujuk www.oneshift.com). Pendek kata tidak bijak nak tukar kerajaan semata mata harga kereta lebih mahal dari negara lain sedangkan banyak lagi manfaat dan kelebihan lain di negara ini yg diusahakan oleh kerajaan tidak terdapat di negara lain walaupun harga kereta di negara lain lebih murah.

• Dear Nazmal,

I sincerely think you grossly missed the point. Firstly, look at what we as rakyat ought to be enjoying, or ought not to be burdened, then look at what the present govt is doing or not doing, then look at what a counter party can do or wants to do…then you can decide:
          – Is it worth the switch?
          – Is it comfy to sit tight and let things be?
          – Is it comfy to know that our kids’ future will be the same as it is now?

Let not be sentimental about any party, but let be smart about who is better at governing our country so that we’ll be better off.

Cheers!

• agogo on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:31 pm

err… RM50,000 daripada tax kereta boleh beli

– gula
          – petrol
          – minyak masak

untuk 100000 tahun…..

kalau saya nak jimat 20c untuk 1kg gula tetapi kena bayar rm50,000 untuk tax.. tak payah lah

• alldisc on Feb 12, 2011 at 10:39 am

vios without tax and excise duites can be sold as cheap as saga blm. G wont want that.

and some info as comparison – both VW Golf GTI and 1.4TSI come to malaysia priced between 40-50K only before tax and everything.

• Ash Menon on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Bukan katanya ingin menukar kerajaan secara buta begitu. Tiada salah untuk memperkenalkan pendapat dan idea baru yang boleh memanfaatkan rakyat dan kerajaan. Walaupun tidak boleh dinafikan yang kerajaan kita telahpun membuat banyak untuk kebaikan kita, tetapi memang ada ruang untuk perbaharuan, betul?

• graduate on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:48 am

senang la hanpa cakap,cuba jadi pelajar yg baru graduate,
          nk bayar loan ptptn.sepuluh tahun x lepas
          graduasi ijazah pun paling koman 2,000
          nk makan apa?
          pasir?

• Gaji di Singapura 5 kali ganda di Malaysia!!

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:13 pm

It’ll be interesting to see what the alternative is and how practical it will be.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:16 pm

This one of their tricks to win next election,don’t get fooled by those moron because so far they haven’t done anything thay really benefits the people,they can promise everything but can they fulfill it,NO.
    You see what car are they driving,I know the current govt also use expensive cars,but the so called people who don’t want to burden the people also using expensive cars,what the hell is that,why can’t they use at least Vios J.
    Im not saying that current govt is good,but the opposition crazy plan will eventually ruin this country.
    If car is too cheap,we will be the next Beijing where traffic jam is the worst of all in the world.

• sazzrazz on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:27 pm

all the usedcar dealer definately going to close down their shop!

• Denfire on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:37 pm

I don’t know which area you are stay. But if you are staying in KL, I can tell you that CAR has become a necessary thing other then a place to stay. It is not a fun things to do when every month you need to pay for extensively high amount of loan just for transport, some more need to paid for maintain your vehicle. Frankly speaking, it is no harm to listen to what they are saying. Indeed they had political motion at their back but hey, they are POLITICIAN. If don’t discuss about that, discuss about what? Their party got problem does not mean they cannot form a good government. Current government got a good party record but did they do a good job? No way, if they did do a good job, now you will not facing everything’s price also jag up. Harga Barang Naik laa.. Bro/Sis

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Why don’t they discuss how to solve traffic jams or how to improve the public transport,why discuss about cutting down the car price.
        Do you think we have enough oil for next 10 years.
        They are discussing HOT topics which is car price.
        They will gain a lot of publicity through that.
        Once again,that is their trick to win next election by discussing hot topics.

• Denfire on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Bro, like what I mentioned earlier, they are POLITICIANS. Of course they are following the trend. Don’t trust too much on those politicians, whether BN or PAKATAN is just two group of rubbish people sitting together and called them self LEADERS. While most of them just rubbish and nyayuk old man. It is no harm to listen what they are saying and it does not mean it will work perfectly.

• Neutral on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Trick? What trick? You mean our current government use your money to buy vote? Giving out cash before election? Again, wake up baby boy, every politician in the world use the same strategy to win vote.
          Let’s me get this straight, opposition got a lots of idea to shape a better Malaysia. Look at penang. If tomorrow opposition took over putrajaya, it takes more than 10 years to before you can see the result of solving your so called “traffic jam”. It’s not a overnight thing. But no harm give an opposition a chance.

• stiggy25 on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:42 am

hav a ride in ktm from serdang to kl sentral in peak hours.u will know how rubbish the public transport right now

• Duhhh on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:09 am

Read the article in TheSun paper today about why the Egyptians rebel big time this round.. do we really want to wait till things get out of hand then change the govt? Think again my dear Msian.

• shinobi on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Cars should be affordable for the masses. What the govt should do is to impose tax on consumption instead e.g. fuel.

If you buy a fuel guzzler or drive like a rempit then you should pay more because you waste more.

• Ya, stop the fuel subsidy and we will have cheaper cars. We simply cant have cheaper car with cheap fuel in Malaysia.

• now car expensive, fuel also not so cheap…
          although RON95 still cheap but yet still make my car performance lag cause more fuel consumption. especially on City run..

btw I m driving Vios J

i not sure on other car, but please do comment ur view

• Malaysia bulleh! on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:00 pm

But Umno Youth taking so good care of those Mly Rempit. They told media that those Rempit is so potential that they can even join race team to win in a circuit.

What a joke. hahaha

• What about raising food price on purpose so that people don’t get obese?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:52 pm

There are more PR supporter than car enthusiast here in PT.

• bilamauturun... on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:06 pm

malaysia memang boleh – ko dah takde ideake…balik-balik angin ngan PR, tak semua pendapat org kat sini ada kena mengena ngan idea PR, kitaorg cuma meluahkan isihati kerana bosan ngan cara BN cari duit untuk poket sendiri dengan mencekik leher rakyat. ada paham!!! lagi satu ko tu org kaya pasal tu lah ko tak kisah dengan sistem sekarang. kaya bodek BN…muahahahhaha.

Aku rasale kan, sekiranya BN yg bentangkan cadangan untuk turunkan harge kereta aku rasa engkolah orang pertama yang mengiya dan mencanangkan cadangan tersebut di seluruh pelusuk malaysia ni. funny eh…

• penyetcybertrooper on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Malaysia Memang Boleh : you ‘re either trolling or a UMNO cybertrooper taking a break on an AUTO website…have you recently seen what opposition drives these days.
      Lim Guan Eng have an extended proton wira from the 90s …I have personally meet up Lim Kit Siang taking putra LRT bus to parlimen for work….

Heck only a quarter of them actually have their own driver to drive their dipillated cars…

Every morning NKVE many honest public joe and jennys are harassed by UMNO luxury cars accompanied by special guards and policemen muscling their way into an already traffic jam ….

the current government already robbing us in broad daylight in the name of taxes and yet have the balls to muscle their way into our already congested driveways due to lousy planning and poor implementation of their UMNO promised transportation system

heck if we have a decent transportation system the question of overly priced cars should not be been raised in the 1st place.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Check out what Khalid Ibrahim driving.A LEXUS!
        I can also consider you as PAKATAN cybertrooper too.
        Haiya,you think LGE only have one car.Some people used dirty tricks to win something.

• wasTe_buCket on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Khalid was a rich man before he became a politician!!

dont bring your outdate UMNO skills here…dont try to twist facts…and Khalid is just controling a single state…

dont try to act smart..it might have worked 20 years ago..now general malaysians are smarter!!!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:00 pm

But,he bought it after becoming MB,and don’t forget the Camrys that the EX Perak State Gov bought before.
            Businessman?,so its easier for him to get more money.

• YES. he’s was like some palm oil company CEO or something. so buying for him aint a problem.

• ka_one2000 on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:10 pm

So…. to be a good polition, you mus’nt drive expensive car. Aiyoo, some people aaa……..

• focus tdci on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:59 pm

and he bought it with his own money. what are you on about malaysia memang bangang?!

• Khalid Ibrahim was a top businessman before la kawan. Beli pakai duit sndiri la. Dia sudah kaya sebelum jadi politician bukan macam geng Barang Naik tu, kaya sebab jadi politician.

• Khalid Ibrahim was the CEO of Sime Darby before appointed as MB of Selangor. Tapi masa tu takde pulak dengar ada SKANDAL SIME DARBY. Sekarang plak baru ada…

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Khalid is a successfull businessman before joining politics. He also admit he benefitted from NAP and he is now trying to help others by joining politics. Compare to some which only pocket in their own and try to ship out even more… Why not go ask ur Tun Dr.M and c how many foreign cars he own + his kids?

• amino on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Do you know Dr. M’s son is the only fella that owned a Ferrari Enzo in Malaysia?

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Why not u come to Penang & visit him in real person?!? I think u dont even know where is Penang also…

• Neutral on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Why don’t you check out which model of ferrari mathatir’s son is driving? Or which real estate that taib’s family owned? Or how about toyo’s mansion? Yes I agree with you, some people use dirty tricks to win vote like how to give out cash before election.

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Not as strange as a school teacher living in a mansion and owning several luxury cars. :-D

• bluetravler on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:34 am

Malaysia Memang Boleh,
          LGK have other cars, and yes i have met him, outside of office hrs. A few times. But None of them are anywhere near umno’s personal cars. And yes again I have met some of them BN guys, due to secondly business with friend. – We “have to” sponsor 17 air-con for one of the BN gov’t “officer’s” new house, 3 years ago, including the toilets and dry kitchen. At the gathering, the other officers turn up in cars you would not believe that they are all Just gov’t officers.

• drMpower on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:14 pm

come on. its not about what their drive are
        uncle lim i know has been seen in a few type of cars
        maybe political stunts he decided to take on the LRT bus on that day
        he was in a crv before
        so leave that kind of argument home

it would be interesting to see whats what with pakatan
        of course the car prices are very hot topics
        most people now owns a car each. atleast
        so again this is the case of politicians doing what politicians do

with the tax imposed currently
        the nation got something in return
        with them want to cut this and that
        making everyone happy and willing to CHANGE
        i was wondering what kind of return the nation can expect when they DEMOLISH all these taxes

a plan is a plan
        nothing much in it
        but execution of the plan is simply another matter

but with me behaving like a mature citizen
        i would be giving them the chance
        to state their case
        as they preached before
        rakyat is the tuan

so i am now a tuan
        and i will give u a chance
        dont worry son

• at least Uncle Lim try to feel what and how RAKYAT feel …

• drMpower on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:06 pm

should we continue this?
            apparently yes
            because u said something about it
            after i said leave it

u want someone else ‘to fee what and how rakyat feel’?

try that tiung from jb
            whats his name
            the one brother with kalid samad
            he got onto public transportation as well

so if we wanna continue from here
            i think both are the same
            opposition or gomen people

they speak what u want to hear
            and then as predictably
            people listen
            thats the problem

what we want
            is a society that can differentiate
            what a promise is
            they all want power

thats the biggest fact of them all

• SukaTgkOrag on Feb 09, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Have to agree with u..a plan is a plan.. ideas are everywhere.. but what happen to the ideas is what important .. if it is just a plan.. even the current G have their plan.. belanjawan is a plan..economic transformation is a plan.. . for me what is more important is the quality of the execution.. because every plan have their own pros and cons..some will gain ..some will loose anyway…

ultimately the BN plan is to maintain the in power and keep up with the stability we have right now.. the PR also have a plan..their Plan is to be In power , to have the most votes during the next GE….. stability may be not that high on their agenda.. else road demonstration might not be their choice of voicing out opinions .

For me it should have been the opposition initiative to set up a mirror goverment if they are sincere about running the country.. it would also have been an easier way for the Rakyat to compare notes when certain policies are applied at the least of it, Rakyat will get to know who they can depends on if the Current G to be ruled out. give la good example, show some caliber.. right now I cant even see who can lead the PR goverment if they went on and win the election. LGE? Tuan Guru? Anwar? not that Najib is any better than them either…

anyway I still apploud the PR revolution, thanks to them we are becoming better in understanding politics nowadays.. at least the current G are more mesra rakyat than before ..but then we are only human.. we care the most about ourself and our family, our properties , ..after that other will come.. God, parents, Sultan etc others unknown Rakyat are way down the pecking orders in my list heheheeheh

• seriously man, every morning NKVE sure got these car rombongan asking us drivers to f-off, in their big cars and police escorts, what’s up with that?

he late for work or what? everyone is stucked in jam and yet we need to f-off for them to pass through, everyone is also late for work la! sommore waste our taxpayers money to pay the escorts.

the current ban on heavy vehicles to use NKVE during peak hours, i suspect also because of these fellas…

• Just relax and dont be too sensitive when PR give some good suggestion / proposals.
      Just let them try it out, ppl nowadays able to judge their performance but not just listening to others. Furthermore, they really voice out the problem that we are facing now that the current G is still keep quite and ignore it.

• Eyesore on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Yeah, we should them a chance and hear what they have in their so call plan…. if it works / feasible probably they should bring it to the parlimen and force for it to be implemented (tho I think they would say ‘this plan will only put into use if they are the govt’).

Hopefully it will not be just another ‘half-cooked’ plan without any extensive research done on it…. like the undefendable ‘100 days plan’ and ‘free water for rakyat’. too many loophole in the those plans and one of the plan, the free water, tho works wonder for some rakyat (mostly the kinda rich ones), it put quite a high burdens on state govt n syabas in order to ‘tanggung’ it…. why it benefit rich ones? because most of the poor ones live in flat / apartments where you have to pay water bills to the management not syabas…so they dont get the ‘free water benefit’…

• soulburner on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:58 am

Pada pendapat saya, jika PR nak beri satu idea untuk perubahan.. adalah amat bagus sama sekali. Beri PR peluang. ini yang di namakan Continues Improvement – KAIZEN.

So.. untuk MalaysiaBoleh.. takyah la nak sekolahkan rakyat yang dah sekolah. rakyat tau mana yang baik dan buruk. bukan ckp pro PR or PRO BARANG NAIK!

• Are you deaf or just plain stupid?

Who wants to buy a lot of cars? People just want to lower their burden of paying these high-cost-liabilities called ‘CAR’. If Pakatan reduce car price, i’m sure we will not seeing traffic jam like Beijing, instead, people will actually can buy car that really suit them…like Renault Megane RS 250 Cup.

• focus tdci on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:07 pm

i agree with you just not your car of choice?! LOL
        smaller car payments means more disposable income to cope with the rising cost of living or maybe to spend it on something to improve your quality of life or save it for the future. if they can do it then its good!

• Ash Menon on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Beijing experiences massive traffic jams also because of it’s population excess. It’s not a equal comparison. Also take into account Beijing has about 17-18 times the population of KL.

• zyzone on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:27 pm

for those who ‘still’ don’t know, our car prices is THE HIGHEST IN THE WORLD.

when the car prices high, monthly installment also high.

damn!! ~~

i hope in the future, car prices much lower so that we can buy more quality and more safety product.. huhu.. ~~,

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Highest in the World,haha.
      Do you actually check other countries car price,have you check out all of the country in this world.

• mandur on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:52 pm

every smart, handsome and good lookin malaysian knows, so please and please goooooogle..

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:52 pm

It’s not entirely wrong to say our car prices are among the highest in the world, if not the highest. All you have to do is pick a country, find out how much they earn in their local currency and then how much their cars are selling for in their local currency. Or, an easier indication would be how long it takes them to pay off their car loan.

I can tell you some African countries have cheaper cars even though their average salaries are lower than ours and their cars are also taxed.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh – if you are a the cybertrooper as people claim you are .. i think you are doing a very very very good job in making others angry ..

keep up your good work because this will only make people hate the current government and elect the opposition in the next GE ..

Go malaysia GO

• bangiperdana on Feb 11, 2011 at 9:56 am

agree with aha…
          keep up your good job Malaysia Memang Boleh…
          coz current G like M/sia can only buy cheap car even without Airbag….that is why lot of them can just afford to have “kapchai”…what a pity ..

• Tak Suka Makan Gaji on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Our car prices is the highest in the world?
      Wow… I didn’t know that!
      I thought we the car prices is the cheapest in the world…
      Even a makcik selling keropok lekor near the road can afford a 5 series here in Malaysia.
      BMW, Mercedes and Audi sales increased every year.
      The number of Ferrari, Lamborghini, and Bently also increased.
      I think only lazy people who don’t want to work hard will see car prices as a burden.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Good point there.

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

New 1 or old 1? I also can own a 7 series also, even a 1990 728 i can pay cash for around RM10k only.. So does that make me rich? Besides that, if she already have a lot of property outside or kena lottery how u know? Even my hometown selling ais kacang also own a bmw 3 series. But all of us know that he is already rich due to his parents left him a lot of property to manage… So does that mean that he is really hebat? Some people are lucky but Most of us are unlucky! Even u also mention a makcik selling keropok lekor only! How many hawkers outside can own a luxury car or condo?!? 5% or 100%?!? Pea brain…

• soulburner on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:03 am

setuju dan amat setuju… dia cuba menyekolahkan org yang pergi sekolah.. sebba dia tak pergi sekolah.. sebab tu dia tak tau.. apa itu sekolah.. heh.. !

• oppss.. maybe he is telling the truth, but he forgot to mentioned that makcik is one of the member of UNO or Poton.
          that makcik can sell her “local make” keropok with RM500 per gram and the current G will buy 50kg per month from her, others competitor’s keropok will charges a hight tax with the price RM5k per gram.
          that’s the way, makcik can easily own a 5 series, even 7 series, not a big deal…

• Will vote Pakatan for Renault Megane RS 250 Cup.

• aminali on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:32 pm

oo yeah!!

• hexagon on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:12 pm

hahahha me too.. Vote Pakatan for Renault Megane RS 250 Cup… Byebye BarangNaik, 50years are enough for me.

• skiborne on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:53 pm

wow, people do actually wanna vote a particular party just to get Renault 250 cup? haha, next Merlimau by-election dont forget to put in a picture of renault 250 cup next to calon ok?

• August2Day on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Really hope for a change here. however due to rich malaysians buying cars even though it is at ripoff price, government really don just give a damn. this trend is continued at UMW on its prius brand based on the rich ppl buying tendency.

The weird thing is, government earn alot from this taxes but made no huge advancement in public transport sector. If the public transport sector is at its top class, fine, you can channel all the funds u want to reduce pollution, congestion. But sadly, the money is yet to be seen.

Come on Malaysians, lets change just for the next 4 years, you don’t like it, we can change back. What’s the harm? It’s not like they will be a military dictactorship installed.

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Have you heard of MRT and LRT extension? There’s not advancement in public transport?

• Sempoi on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:28 pm

speak for yourself u KLites, others in the other part of the country don’t have such luxury. Heck, they don’t even get taxis that goes by the meter….

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:37 pm

you are absolutely right, who needs MRT/LRT where there’s no traffic jam?

• What extension? Announced 4-5 years ago…until now habuk pun tarak….jalan lubang2 jugak dapat…

• hexagon on Feb 09, 2011 at 10:19 am

yes meh turun kat kawasan new development Nusajaya di Johor, Meh tengok macam mana jalan kat sini. Macam kena bom, tak rata & berlubang2. Kalau tampal pon, tampal macam buat bonggol. Macam mana investor luar nak invest klau jalanraya mcm ni. aku pon heran kenapalaa orang2 Johor Barang Naik ni masih boleh angguk2 kat parti derang ni. Bayar tax macam2, ini yang kita dapat. Memang terbaiklaa G.

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:40 pm

MRT/LRT extention for what company to built? Gamuda & MMC again? Who own these companies again? Got open tender?!? Even built these advance transportation also need to pocket a few without fair competition..

• PR_SUCKS on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Gamuda – Chinese company
          MMC – Malay company

50-50 project.

• littlefire on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:28 am

Bro, who really own Gamuda? Please go and check before u write… If not mistaken one of it’s biggest shareholder is one of the Perak Princess…

• bluetravler on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:41 am

wrong, Gamuda already in Gov’t hand for the past 1 1/2 years already. old boss, chinese guy still there but no longer calling the shot. sold controlling shares already. sold mine same time as he.

• Gapodios on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:50 am

What LRT/MRT extension boleh sampai Hulu Terengganu, Kuala Tembeling ka, only KL people pay taxs ke bro..

• less than 1 year needed to destroy 50 or even 100 years of a country development. So,jangan nak rasa seronok sekejap..tapi merana memanjang.

• Mau8312 on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Pls help to raise our income, so that we are affort to buy good quality and EXPENSIVE car.

• It is not just gross income that should be raised, but disposable income. High income but high expenses (for everything) is no use.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:38 pm

But I am pretty sure ‘we’ are not so dumb anymore. With the amount of ‘digging up’ that has been done over the past couple of years, we must not let them influence us with such ‘good’ news. A ray of light it may seem, but it’s all a dirty tactic for them to secure some winnings in the next election. Yes, our car prices are one of the highest in the world. Even our crappy Proton and Perodua, RM to RM, is freaking expensive.

• What dirty tricks? If all move by politicians are dirty, Barang Naik has more dirt than one could count.

We should see the essence of the move and not just by whom it is done.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:11 am

The truth is, all political parties have their own hidden agenda. The question is, how much are they willing to compromise once they get what they want ? Yeah, Barang Naik has clearly showed us, that THEY are not willing at all. So, I would love to see PKR in proposing the so-called radical solutions in lowering the prices, not only for cars in Malaysia, but everything else ‘Buatan Malaysia’. But guilty as charged, I have stopped supporting the local automotive industry for many years now. Like I said, RM to RM, our cars are cheap by quality, but Oh-So-The-Mahal by price. I rather splurge my RM to Yens and Wons. At least I know, when I woke up every morning to go to work, I’m actually driving something that is worth my while paying for it. :)

• alpha999 on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:45 pm

great…now i have to put my money on hold of getting another car…..till this ‘radical solution’ is made public.

Pakatan, make us happy

• thepil0t on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:45 pm

wonder how PROTON survive after the tax reduced.. ask urself supporters, will u still buy PROTON becos of the lotus handling?? giving u CIVIC 80K, CITY 60K.

• muixxium on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:12 pm

one way thinking ….
      as if proton now proton were tax free car…

• Hazri on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:06 pm

bad idea…if car become too cheap, nobody wants to use motorbike! massive traffic jam…no more mat rempit!

more worse, illegal car racing everywhere, increase of accident rate…

no more space to park the car as each family members are capable to own car…erm

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:56 pm

How to race illegally if there’s massive traffic jam everywhere? :-)

• lollipop on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:02 pm

bro that a ideal place for you is jungle, every aspect problem always come solution, only depend do you make the major moment or not?

• simple… after cars bcome cheap, just implement a new law that makes hire purchase max 5 years. that will balance the number of cars on the road. at least when we sell our cars, we will get back a significant amount of money back to trade in for something much better. problem solved.

• hexagon on Feb 09, 2011 at 10:29 am

civic are crap man, go for renault megane RS laa

• Mr Stop on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:48 pm

This is great..Even if Pakatan dont win, it will definitely speak the peoples mind and the government will stop this cutthroat business. We have enough tax and we cannot expand if this hire-purchase thingy is on our back forever!

• amingo on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:49 pm

put politics away.. interest on loan being charged at flat rate. plus tax, sales tax, duties, gov. tax, import tax. later tol and road tax..fuel price keep on increased more 6% service tax.. yet people still happy with it.. confuse!!!

• Apollo on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:51 pm

I hope they can reduce the tax for car as the transportation in Malaysia sucks and we are forced to buy a car if we want to live a meaningful life.

Will the reduction in the hire-purchase burden our people can actually enjoy a more decent life in Malaysia and not to cut 30% of income to pay the car loan. The people will have more money to improve the quality of life. Rather than using the tax to feed the obese corrupted persons.

• Bob Tahar on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:20 pm

when car price down… I will ride bicycle to work because everywhere will be jammed… bad public transportation can not be solve by reduce the car price.

• skrg pun dah jam….correct or not?

• blackbox on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:44 pm

make sure you wear oxygen mask while cycling. :-)

• Ash Menon on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:58 pm

No need. By the time this plan go through all the political red tape and finally work, EV cars become common already. Clean air all the time.

• focus tdci on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:42 pm

u sure? nanti the electricity needed by EVs is generated from coal fired power plants lagi, banyak bala, acid rain lah, photochemical smog, and the haze from indonesia also will not go away.
            the main problem is where are you going to charge your EV if you live in a PPR or condo where you have to park outside?

• They will do it or not is another problem. but this is a chance to get lower car price. why not we gv them a chance to prove it? don’t compare it with some unfilled promised they done in last General election because power on state not same as federal. federal now really forcing them to what they can or not to do. so by give them a chance for federal they have no reason to unfilled their promised. if they fail we can revise it in next GE.

• If the plan is good and workable, I don’t care where it came from, I will sokong it.
    Anyway it is always good to have someone to do check and balance.. now every party have to be careful of how they handle peoples’ money.. which is good to us rakyat

• rosdi on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Matlamat menghalalkan cara.. all is legit in order to win.

• What is wrong with this move / initiative? haram ker?

• rosdi on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Nothing is haram in politic, but this is really a populist move. Someone is desperate.

• if the tthe tax structure is reasonable why not we support this sepatutnya win win situation not barang naik saja yang menang

• Is true, may be more than 70%, just give the PKR five years to change to whole car industry tax & price structure, if PKR cant perform, we will sack him.
    PKR promise no tolls, reduce the petrol price and now propose to reduce the vehicle price, I personally welcome all these proposal, is help me to save a lots of money.

• lanwm on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:11 pm

look at this objectively. If BN were to propose the same thing, i will support it!

Rule is, if its good for us, then we should support, regardless of who’s ideas it is

But we know how BN has performed for 53 years dont we. We dont live in the cave without access to news

• pehh.. on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:15 pm

so the PAKATAN think their are the best in whatever economic situation, just crap…
    we all pay just minor tax to this country, so please be fair la dude… PAKATAN only want to be glamor in any circumstance..i know them well…

• you must freakin rich or freakin (insert any words you find annoying here) to say paying a car double of its price is minor…

• guanerrr on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:15 pm

I think “Malaysia Memang Boleh” is OKU (Orang Kuat UMNO). Vote of Pakatan for cheaper car. Paultan boleh…!!!!!

• Gajen on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:20 pm

FACT OF THE DAY: Car in Malaysia is much more expensive than in China.

• waaaahh on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Went to Beijing couple of weeks ago. Taxi driver drove me to hotel in an Audi A6.

• alldisc on Feb 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

friend, cars in malaysia are more expensive than anywhere else in the world and not only china.

we are the only one in the world that need more than 5 years loan to buy a decent car.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:25 pm

add excise taxes to pickup trucks such as hilux and triton, and cut taxes from performance passenger cars such as lancer evo and lotus elise. look at singapore, the triton is priced over RM200,000 if exchanged. wise decision to the taxes, and singaporean government are clever.

• BMW-More Problem on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Bro… if you are working in sgp one to one the cars are cheap compared to malaysia..
      Dont convert sgp dollor to rm .

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Please compare Apple to Apple, how much Singapore earn & Malaysian earn annually and convert in USD. Besides that how much land to population ratio both of them have? COE tax? Bro, u talk only price after converted in RM, but i believe u never been in Singapore also.. I never blame u, as u r already paid to write.. I just pity u have to write all these just to please ur boss… Woff woff..

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Those who convert to USD to compare instead of using proportion of car price to average income as comparison really tak boleh. :-)

• lollipop on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:04 pm

please learn to google GDP in world, Singaporean earn top five highest GDP in the world !!

• put aside those political issues of government and opposition, the only thing that strikes me most in this kind of plan is, what happen to those who have loans… while their car value depreciates a lot, they still have to pay for it… selling it will only make things worse (or worst as I could imagined)…

you are going to have a very little asset but with big liability in a blink of an eye if this isn’t executed properly and for sure it’ll raise people’s anger. I seriously would love to see their plan on this…

• kaiser on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Yes, two things come to mind:

1) How are they gonna replace the lost income from such tax reduction without the country going further into debt.
      2) How are they going to battle the issue of plummeting second hand values. People with long term car loan will definitely be screwed if it goes ahead without any sort of contingency plan.

Agree with you that it would be interesting to hear their detailed plan.

• blackbox on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:52 pm

1) Reduce corruption and don’t use RM1,000 to buy a car jack!

2) Do it slow. Every major plan should have a transition period. Tax excemption or reduce for those who trade-in their car during this transition period.

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Why be petty over plummeting used values which will happen just one time when after that you can buy a car at lower prices and thus have higher disposable income which will lead you to spend on other segments of the economy e.g. property, retail, f&b?

Do you remember a time when govt raised the taxes of cars and overnight, the current car owners made a profit by selling their cars in the used market? Of course no one complain then about making a profit. But they complained for years after that due to the higher prices of new cars.

• For your 1st question, the tax reduction is not going to cause the country into further debt, but a loss of a portion of government income. The debt is more appropriate to decribe malaysian household debt, ie. you, me, ali, abu, ahmeng debt. Whatever, loss of income/ revenue for the government, they will always think of another to replace it, either by a new tax, ie. CC tax, entertaniment tax, etc..

Your 2nd question, it is widely known that car is/ was always a depreciating asset due to constant tear & wear. I think you know that, just that you tend to ignore/ forget bout it. As smart consumer, we need to think about consequences of what we purchase. Although, I do understand the predicament msian public faced when buying a car. We have no choice due to poor public transportation. But who can we blame, really? For over 50years, we did nothing to improve this situation, or should I say BN? So who screwed you (msian public) really, BN or yourself?

Let me share a different perspective. In EU generally, or UK specifically, you only need to work part/time and save the earnings for 6mths to 1 yr to buy a decent 2nd-hand car, CASH, without loan. And Im talking about 4-6yrs Toyota or Honda A or B segment cars. Part/time rates there is about 5-9pounds/hour. It’s the same in German. The thing is, the public in EU are not burdened with car loans, mostly house loans. For them, owning a vehicle is a personal convenient/ luxury. If they need mobility/ travel, but can’t afford personal convenient/ luxury, they use public transportation. Hope this helps.
        I don’t know Pakatan’s proposal, it’ll be interesting to read 1st about it.

• drMpower on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:08 pm

so in other words
          u said if pakatan gonna do this
          then they will increase something else
          aite?
          so BN does not necessarily equal Barang Naik
          going by ur logic
          pakatan also…. BARANG NAIK
          so whats the difference?

i am no BN running dog
          but i want answers
          and of course by being a mature citizen
          i would want to listen to them
          but
          not necessarily i will accept whatever they sing to me

• they need to stop all corruption, kill all cronies. then they do not need to make money by taxing us on the cars, and not providing any public transport.

• WasTe_bucket on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:12 am

The answer is simple…but implementing wont be as simple as the answer

The current Government is taking away a large portion of your earning by taxing you every way possible so this reduce your buying power and when your buying power reduces the country growth is restricted.

It is like a chain reaction but we malaysians have to be realistic..we do need to pay tax but at the same time we would love to see our tax money is being invested in proper way and also contributed back to us the people the tax payers.

Our current government is not efficient, they dont know how to spend the money wisely and development is minimal..

when Dr M was the prime minister we did see alot of development..regardless of what people tell about his character,he did put malaysia on the map!!

this sort of investment has made malaysia what it is now but there is more to do and there is nothing done to improve it.

i dont trust the current government and PR as well but i would vote for PR since BN has stayed too long and we do need to compare.after all its just 5 years…we can change them if we dont like them.We rakyat have to power to determine who we want and how we would like our future to be!!

PR please plan something to revamp our education system…regardless of race,religion or background..only the most deserving once must get the best education/scholarship n etc…we need to increase our R&D sectors and keep our best brains here…

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:52 pm

I believe there will be a compensation scheme to used car dealers and existing car owner as well as bank loan adjustment by the banks should the ‘radical solution’ be implemented.

While all the above are tedious works, the other bigger problem shall be, how to fill the hole in the Gov bank account.

We might have increase in income tax, GST, road tax…and any other taxes you could possibly imagine.

• Perhaps everyone who owns a car now will have to pay 20k MYR or more every seven years to fill the hole. This can translate into 3k MYR of additional income tax a year in average, or 10 MYR for each entry into the federal territory.

• Msia can also become a higher income nation if car prices are down, majority people’s huge portion of income goes into servicing car loans…

• Oh well, there’s a reason why there’s a boom in second hand car dealers and grey import dealers, because the car business is just too lucrative!!!!!!!! and circumstances are allowing it, if u know what i mean!

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:06 pm

my guess would be to gradually reduce taxes over the years (5-10% every year?). In that way it’s a good political move on PR’s side as people will continue voting for them if they see car prices dropping and would stretch them over to the next election.

• Nuar baem on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Too Good to be true…. prove it first in Selangor, Pulau Pinang, Kedah and Kelantan… Show us the best of Pakatan can do with the power they have now!!…

• oldman on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Nuar,

wat to prove…? U think they can reduce the car price if they dont control the federal gomen….

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:49 pm

I am sad that most of the success stories from Pakatan state have been close or shut up by mass media so that the whole country cant know what have they done… Luckily we still have a lot of independent news we can read in the net..

Do you know that Penang now is consider as 1st in anti-corruption in Malaysia? Besides that Penang have transform from red to black in financial report in just a few years time compare to previos management which almost 30 years also cant make it.. When Penang have good results, they say is their own effort.. Well why not u do it during ur 30 years?!? Besides that, please google about Penang facts before saying about it.. U just make fun of ur knowledge… “Katak di bawah tempurung”

• Nuar baem on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Too Good to be true…. prove it first in Selangor, Pulau Pinang, Kedah and Kelantan… Show us the best of Pakatan can do with the power they have now!!… Tunaikan Janji2 Manismu…

• Struggletosurvive on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Wow!!!!!.. hope we can afford to buy Inspira at 60K

• Ash Menon on Feb 12, 2011 at 2:11 am

LOL, after the tax reduce, all the cars come down in price, and yet you still targeting for Inspira? Super loyal la you, macha.

• WasTe_BuCket on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:42 pm

atleast pakatan rakyat is looking at the problem people are facing in Malaysia!!

hope they come up with practical solution!!

Barisan nasional is not doing anything and most of their facts and statistic are pure bullshit and TV3 has become their advertising media!!

Is not that pakatan dont know how to rule a state or have internal problems….its all created by Barisan nasional to make pakatan look bad..

look at Penang…with minimal backing from the central government yet they are the best managed state!!

look at Selangor,the central government is so worried that the water price in selangor would be affordable and cheap they dont want the state government to take control!!

pakatan has given about RM 10 discount every month for water bill and they been doing it for the last two year which the previous state couldnt do since the former menteri besar was busy building his mansion!!

i would prefer a government or a strong opposition who cares for the people and indentify the problem faced by the general public and find solution to overcome it..

50 years plus and barisan nasional is just making thing worst…

even to watch a movie we have to pay about RM 2 plus for tax..and tats about 20% entertainment tax!!that really sad!!!

• Liquid on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Typical PR, talk only no action. Once they took over the country, the next day, Malaysia will go bankrupt for sure.

• Imbhotep on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:23 pm

PR gomen go towards backruptcy?! LOL!!
      Unfotunately, Malaysia already facing severe bancruptcy when our Gomen Debt/GDP surpassing 100% at 1998!!

The equation is-
      (Gomen’s Debt-asset[forex reserves])/GDP X 100%

(RM372bil-RM75bil)/RM270bil($72bilXRM3.8)X100%=110%!!!

Greece declared backruptcy when their debt/GDP at 105%…….so malaysia at 110%….so what ur healthy mind say about that?!

And of course mahathir is hardly hide this TOP SECRET from rakyat…all of because his failure managing duit rakyat and spending in his ‘brainchild’ wasting project such as Proton, putrajaya and etc….

Other prove…when gomen as major stakeholder to Proton…so why gomen’s debt still at RM362bil at 2011 when proton on their 25th anniversary?!
      So why gomen only afford to pay-back  RM10bil from 1999’s gomen debt worth RM372billion(ref-today’s gomen debt-RM362bil!!)?!?!?!

When other BN cybertroopers fully believes all mahathir’s project generate enormous income, why mahathir leaves us with enormous debt RM372bil at 1999 that force Najib to abolish fuel subsidy just to payback Mahathir’s huge debt & RAKYAT indirectly pay for it?! Any answer?!

And of course, malaysian have to extend our car loan to 9years just to pay for his crony!!!
      Yes!!! Borrow from the bank just to feed his AP’s friend!!

I think we have to CHANGE or have to wait until our 4th PM NO LONGER in this  WORLD for Malaysian to taste cheap & affordable price for original imported car….
      Pathetics!!

• 4g63tdsm on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:23 pm

hah…you mean Malaysia is not bankrupt yet? with all these taxes, we must be.

If anything, PR would inherit a bankrupt nation.

after all the years of plunder, what has the rakyat have to show for it?? more taxes, higher cost of lliving, diminishing standards of living, lower standards of education, the brain drain, loosing competitive advantage to our neighbours for FDI…….

• captain_gaban on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:51 pm

pehh.. : are u retarded or just a plain moron???
    “we all just pay minor tax to this country”????
    either u are a 12yrs old lad who try to talk BIG or just another Puteri/Pemuda UMNO who try to pretend to be smart…

let me tell you this…we have :
    a) income tax (mine P/A can afford a deposit (10%) for brand new kia forte – not much?? then go get me the new forte…)
    b) road tax (not much, but look at our road pavement)
    c) car tax (this is what those PR were talking about)
    c) Tax on Fast Food meals (5% tax for everytime you enjoy you Big Mac – N pls don’t f**king tell me not eat there!!!)
    d) etc+etc+etc

n if u remember what does our G’s did during the budget presentation in parliament..they only reduce/abolish the tax for LINGERIE/PARFUME/BRANDED HANDBAG….and for what???!!!! of coz it was for the bloody BIK MAMA!!!!

Next time…use your tiny little brain (if u do have one) before put any comments!!

• justice on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:06 pm

relax guys,.lets vote..

car price reduce (a lot) n salary stays.
    or
    salary increased (let say 1.5X) n car price stays

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:01 pm

I prefer an increase in salary. Cheap cars could only benefit those habitual car changers, but with extra money there’s more things you could do. Save for the future for one, go travel and experience the world is another.

Or better yet, maybe Pakatan, if they’re really thinking about the rakyat, could find a way for cheaper houses. A roof over your head is definitely more important than the brand of car you drive. Right now, a fresh graduate have a very slim chance of owning a house right out of the bat (not that many of them do think about buying a house)

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Yes. Right now fresh working professionals can only afford housing outside the Klang Valley. And then they need to buy a car to get to work in KL or PJ.

• justice on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:22 pm

good reason…
        and how about this idea..

lower car prices..so,we could buy better/quality/safer car..
        and also as the price is lower,then the monthly payment also lower…
        the balance money..we could save for future or buy a house..

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Like I said, that’ll only benefit habitual car changers. Those who are not frequent car changers don’t get that much benefits.

• asdas on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:23 pm

you do not change the car often, becos you make less money, and our car price is too high.

just compare a car like a handphone, do you pay installment for your handphone for 9 years? so you still using nokia 3210??

tiadaid is a blind P1 supporter and gomen supporter. you driving honda? EX5? pity

• LowMid Group on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:35 pm

I have a better solution.

Let all the filthy rich fellas continue paying inflated price (APs + Tax etc) for expensive cars.

Middle to lower income groups will get to buy at cost / cheap price. Of course you need to come out with a mechanism that can qualify yourself to be eligible. That way, the government will still generate reasonable income from those bunch of rich people. The more they buy the more income the government gets. To top it up, we can even banned them from buying cheap cars. I’m pretty sure this might work. Hehe Any supporters??

• justice on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:32 pm

also kinda good suggestion,

let say,
        below 2000cc (almost no tax)
        2000-3000cc (10-30%tax)
        above 3000cc (50-80%tax)

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:34 pm

All potential owners (and the sellers) of the 1.4 TSI engined cars as well as the Mercedes-Benz E200 CGI and C200 CGI, Audi A4 1.8 TFSI (all 1.8 turbo) will be very happy if what you suggested is implemented.

• Give them a shot. Don’t judge the idea before it’s even been released.
    I just got back from indonesia and a GOLF GTI there is the same price as a civic 2.0 here.

I’ve had it, just because we wanted our own car manufacturer, we put in taxes to protect them. It all makes sense at the start but now after 25 years dont tell me Proton cant self stain itselft. I’d be a total failure otherwise. We by right should be close to the level kia and hyundai has acheived and those car industries aren’t protected for many years already.

Even a reduction of 30-50% of the taxes would be much welcome.

• Azahari on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:17 pm

What a shame. I think this blog should not involved with any political party or mentioning any of the political parties name. The information about the real car price and what are we actually paying for a car should be good though. Everybody made mistake.

• johnnyc on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Dude, please dont politicize this. This blog just merely reporting this piece of news. automotive news and he was neutral about his stand on this.

• mustafa on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:23 pm

hello if PM announces increase in petrol prices (which he never do and will never do), or any other matter related to cars, do you mean PT cannot cover, because this is from BN. Ayo yo yo how shallow can you be brother.

• anti-first on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:53 pm

if you’re an avid reader of this blog, you SHOULD know that paul is just the messenger: he relays news of interest to car enthusiasts.

all was fine until a political cybertrooper joker came and flood this particular thread with political nonsense. i’m pretty sure these political sickos have some sort of word filter whenever a thread showed “Pakatan” or “PR” and dispatch their cybertroopers to respond.

• Nik Azan on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:18 pm

First of all, Pakatan never tell us that they are going to abolish 100% of all the taxes. I doubt they will ever do it. If they reduce the taxes by 50-70% from the current rate, it should be good enough already. They can reduce the hire purchase tenure to max 5 years, so that the monthly installement will be the same but the puchasing cycle will be shorten and the industry will become active.

Of course there will be people who will use the car until 10-12 years but when the car is cheap, the temptation also will be there. So everybody is happy – from the public up to the industry as a whole.

Cynics will always laugh off pakatan, but as far as I know they are better compared to BN in term of keeping their promise. They honour their promise to give RM10 free water, scholarship for anak Selangor, 10kg rice each month to the poor @ Kelantan etc. On the other hand, BN are the one who keep breaking their promises.. remember the fuel that ‘will not go up after election and before December’?

I will go for the one who are better in their promises and better in keeping it. Of course nobody is perfect!

• drMpower on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:22 pm

with the taxes imposed as currently they are doing
    the nation gets something in return
    doesnt matter how it is being spent
    but the thing is malaysia gets something in return in the form the taxes

pakatan claimed they got the solution
    i believe it is a HOT TOPIC as everyone will be waiting
    unfortunately if they dont get it straight
    i am afraid this proposal will become another akademi fantasia

all brouhaha and no results
    infact it may turn worse

so i would like to know where the money
    that the nation gets in form of taxes as things are currently done
    if those taxes are removed
    would the nation be deprived again from another source of income?
    or would they sell off protons to make up for the money?
    if they do plan to sell off proton then the employers/vendors gonna lose everything
    and their happy-politic-moves are gone

but yeah as pakatan say
    rakyat is the tuan
    so i am a rakyat
    and i will be tuan for that
    as a responsible tuan
    i would like to give them a chance to state their case
    tuan would get very angry if the tuan knows hes being played around

just dont forget to remind urself of that, pakatan

• DrM Memang Power on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Ya man… i truly agree
      the nation gets something in return with high car tax

we get
      – bakun
      – pkfz
      – Merdeka Tower
      – Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Stadium
      – cannot-submerge-marine
      – 6x RM1billion patrol bot
      – crashing military helicopters
      – free 1Malaysia advertisement in Mongolia
      – robber highways
      – robber IPPs
      – free porn from running-dog-party president
      – low quality education
      – low or maybe no quality public transport
      ……
      ….

• drMpower on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:05 am

the jokes are not funneh
        but i’d take it
        just to fill my wee time

i would be able to list so much more
        but i think u wouldnt be so interested to know any of them
        so i decide to leave them

u should to leave the jokes as well.

• drMpower on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:11 am

come on
        i said drop the jokes
        they are not funneh

i am saying the government got something with the tax
        so i need to know where the monies gonna be replaced comes from
        or no money coming in?

and as result we would see many things go up?

if that happens
        i would love to keep the current gomen
        but just change the line ups
        get them more discipline
        no need to replace them
        just change the line ups

u guys like to give chances, do u?
        now lets us give the chance to the current gomen with new line ups
        want?
        hehe

• watever on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Id rather have the government increase our salary (comparable to developed countries) than reduce the taxes on cars. Not everyone needs to drive a Toyota or BMW

• skiborne on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:26 pm

the question is, if they were to replace BN, will they lower down taxes and reduce petrol/diesel prices? or is it just cock and bull to woo rakyat?

• littlefire on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:40 am

You have ur vote every 5 years or less, if Pakatan cant manage well within the 5 years limit, vote them out again laa.. Why scare about voting them?

• kemosabe on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:33 pm

I once read that if you can control food, medicine, shelter and security to a person, you can control that person like a puppet. Hence prices of essentials remains on an up trend.

A good example of this phenomenon is Myanmar. Things are very expensive that the population is dependent on the government for handouts(if any).

But the difference between us and Myanmar is we have more “freedom”. The Government has underestimated the power of the internet. Hence a proposal for a Bloggers Act.

Also still a large part of the population still have access to good or high income.

Good luck to us all.

• i hope their plan to reduce car price is workable…
    dont just promise but when cannot implement blame others like now..

• mafia87 on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Go PAKATAN GO!!!

• Richie on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Imagine is those people really reduce tax, many people will suffer losses .. not only that, the crime rate in Malaysia will increase with Mat Rempits can afford to upgrade to cars now .. haha .. road rage will be a big issue that time

• johnnyc on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Pakatan, before u give us another promise, fulfill ur old promises first. before u give us cheap cars, please fix all the lousy pot holes here in penang!

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:03 pm

WasTe_BuCket says:
      8/2/2011 at 4:42 pm

look at Penang…with minimal backing from the central government yet they are the best managed state!!

————————————-

Are you sure johnny c? Thought Penang’s the best managed state?

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:55 pm

offcourse penang is the best managed state.

tiadaid you never read news???

• PENANGITES on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:13 pm

come to penang, is better than last 2 years… check out the industrial which had the worse pothole road, now almost all being paved.

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:47 pm

One thing though, traffic jams are very bad there. Not like when I was staying in Penang from 1986-2000.

• duncare on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Dude, how many cars were added onto and how many km sq. of land added onto Penang since 2000? You really are a moron!

• Norman on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:26 pm

The average Malaysian population growth between 2000-2010 was 2.17%, annually! http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/4alb/Article/

Don’t forget these numbers are taken from the number of people born minus the number of people passed away. In other word, the actual population added to this country could be average 4 maybe 5% per year!

So how on earth Penang being the second, maybe third largest city in this country not having traffic jam? Ever tried crawling on Jalan Tebrau (BN ruled, BTW) during peak hours? Can you name any towns or cities in Malaysia (be it ruled by BN or opposotions) that had better traffic compared to year 2000?

Come on, be a man, and admit that you were simply taking a invalid argument to prove your point!

• Unforgiven on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Seen the Renault Megane RS 250 on the road a few times and really love that car, imagine the price is RM119k, I’ll definitely go for it…

Maybe I should be driving a brand new BMW too, no more recon cars…

• Sad. Sad. Sad. I know BN is good but but when ppl in power too long is not good. BN should become opposition one a while in order for them to think of the box and at the same time we see if PR can manage this county better. If PR same as BN than after 5 y we change back…ppl power!

• BalanceD on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Put it this way.
    If the goverment removes AP from Imported Cars, then at the same time, they should remove subsidies from fuel. This would even things out.
    The goverment always complain about how much money they have paid to subsidies the fuel we use on the road. However, at the same time, the rakyat complain about how much money they have paid the AP for.
    Let’s call both situation off, off with the AP and off with the subsidies fuel.
    What say you?

• but if you remove fuel tax, we will see price increase at other things as well…. especially foods…..

• BalanceD on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:43 pm

First of all, it’s not fuel tax but subsidies to the fuel we use.
        Take this into consideration.

How much tax do we pay for CBU cars ?
        How much tax do we pay for CKD cars ?
        How much tax do we pay for our ‘local’ cars ?

Remove those taxes, the rakyat would have sufficient to pay additional on other things.
        For the price we pay for our ‘local’ cars, other developed countries are getting safer and much more higher built quality cars locally. Comparing apple to apple, we are paying super high price for a rotten apple.

What say you?

• mohdjiman on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:26 pm

yea…

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Since they already implement Ron97 to be floated againts the open market why not?!? A lot of drivers around Malaysia support this! Open market price fuel, open market price cars!

• Ha Gnih on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:18 am

But do you guys really noticed that our fuel doesn’t really float against the open market price ? Other countries change their petrol prices on a daily basis. Our’s? Only when THEY decide to. I would say, all tipu punya la. Cakap ini, cakap itu, naik ini, turun itu. In the background, ‘someone’ would still be smiling from ear to ear because their pockets are getting all the fattening up, despite all that has been amended and re-amended.

• may be somebody may say that zero fuel subsidies will cause the inflation of the maket’s product price..
      but then, in a long run, the fluctuation of fuel price will be in the business’s calculation. the product price will be more stable already.
      I support zero subsidies for fuel. zero AP for imported cars.

• would u rather spend on expensive car with cheap fuel?

or

would u rather spend on cheap car with expensive fuel?

i’ll choose the 2nd option, reason being i save alot from buying cheaper cars, and it’ll take me long enough to spend the difference $ between expensive vs cheap cars on fuel. and hopefully by then, good public transport is ready.

• acumm on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:10 pm

i doubt that PR can do this….BUT look at positive side….
    when they have buku jingga,,,,,BN strike back,,try to implement some of PR suggestion

so there is some possibility that BN will try to immitate PR NAP policy,,who knows? we should see this as good competition between two alliance….

it will benefit rakyat…

• Neutral on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Sorry Paultan, those Politician in your blog trying to turn this Automotive Blog to Politician Debate blog…..

To everyone here, Paul Tan is just to share the news related to Car or the tax with car here.

do not spam politician view here

• udasalleh on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:24 pm

I think we need to tread carefully. I too am anxious to hear the details of this ‘solution’.

Numbers can so easily be packaged to tell a story. Malaysians purchase over 400,000 cars last 2010. The cited RM118billion household debt should include those who buy a Mivi to those who purchase a Merc S300 and more of in between. Where did he get the numbers? Does this include the commercial sector, company cars and private purchases? Are this numbers for new purchases only and does not include second hand cars? That cited number spans to how long(?) since some take a loan maximum to 9 years and some others shorter? Or is the sum an annual figure?

Cited above too is that 70% of the RM118billlion (or RM82.6billion) are for the excise taxes, import taxes and sales taxes does that include interests set by the banks? What’s the real breakdown of that if it includes buying a non imported Proton or Perodua which are the most sold car models in M’sia anyway?

Then finally in lieu of the various taxes how do they intend to make money for the Government?

If they can really come up with a real solution then its good. I just want to see the facts and figures before i make up my mind.

• The fact is Malaysian cars prices are way too high against the GDP per Capital.

Take German for example, where I have a chance to work there for a few years.

I take used car price as benchmark, say C200k, build year 2001.

GDP per capital is USD 45k
      C200k (2001) = € 4k

Car is very affordable, and put the loan pressure to the minimum.

• thats why we are still 3rd world country. Which 1st world country makes cars so unaffordable?

• D.O.G.N.O on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Agreed..he should cited the references and not make up the numbers.

• It is about time this govt taxes bullshit made understandable to laymen…people of Malaysia who have been scalped since mahathir time. Believe me, we all have been scalped since mahathir time, yet mahathir calls himself the champion of malays…well, is he really a malay or a champion, for that matter. I’ve always say that he neither, yet we all, malays included, continue to be scalped every day by then mahathir, and now by BN.
    Do everybody think its high time to wake up and really question them?

• scgtimk1 on Feb 08, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Haha… don’t be stupid….. roads are maintained by federal government la oooi….

Road tax state gov take ka? income tax state gov take ka? If Penang get the road tax money definitely tomorrow all road will be newly surfaced.

• Info :

Dr.Anwar is the one who suggested and implemented these crazy taxes on us (for cars).

• anak dato'kk on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:19 pm

gaji naik, harga brg pasti naik. Harga kete turun, harga brg naik jugak ke?

• anak dato'kk on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:21 pm

aku bukan nak pakai merc or bmw tp nak pakai kete dgn harga yg munasabah. salah ke?

• prestigious25 on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:32 pm

My personal point of view, our goverment should have a good plan in our transportation issue from vehicle pricing to public transport usage. Nowaday, our Malaysian people is smart enough to judge on how goverment performance and give to rakyat !! So PM should know what to do next before too late !! Think about it…

• Jangan Ingat Rakyat Bodoh on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Malaysian been fool so long. Actually all car price is very cheap.

Proton price must cheaper than korea’s car because no import duty and low excise duty.

Eg Hyundai Sonata CIF port klang price is below RM 60k, it’s even cheaper than Proton Inspira or Perdana after plus 20% profit and 10% tax(if gov only impose low tax).

But Malaysian car price is damn high due to gov and car dealer. Car dealer make a huge profit after goc add a very huge tax.

Below is the proof that car price actually is very cheap, we all been fool so long. So car price must reduce to reasonable level.

http://paultan.org/2006/03/25/customs-cbu-vehicle-gazetted-price-list/

• fadhil on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:33 pm

hello brader…kita xde raw material, high tech machines…etc…
      raw material= cost, machines=cost, technology=cost…..marketing=cost
      e.g= let say proton produce certain model, they must sales up to 30k cars to breakeven, but if market indicate only 15k can be sold, for sure price will go up. and proton cant compete with other car maker, our market are very limited…
      when decide to post something make sure u know at least a little bit about macro and micro economic…i believe even proton can sell inspira for rm50k or less if market indicate 100k cars can be sold…

• duncare on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:04 am

So why not ask Proton to figure out ways to sell in other countries to reach that break even figures?
        Or why not just close down Proton if they can’t even sustain?
        What’s really the point? Just to tell the rest of the world that we have our own car manufacturer?
        Last question: Exactly which moron university that you learned your micro and macro economic?

• macro and micro economic? Emm.. sound great..
        It seem that u r quite knowledgeable.. but might have wrong application.

Let say i am opening a brand new restuarant – Kampung Fried Chicken, which i plan to compete with KFC, but my set lunch with 2 pcs of chicken will sold as RM50 per set.
        The price is so high since im not having high pressure cooker, fresh chicken, and latest equipment., will u accept it?
        Will u choose my Kampung Fried Chicken instead of KFC which more delicious and more cheaper?

I dunno ur answer, for me definitely will choose KFC since the value is there.
        Same to the car, we as the consumer only will choose the value car, if the Poton not competative enough, then it is out.

However, my Kampung Fried Chicken still can survive if the G is supporting me just like supporting Poton, the KFC will kena a higher tax until 1 pcs of chicken have to sell as RM100, then only my business will getting good since all the consumer are “forced” to buy my chicken since they not afford to buy KFC.

• So why in the world do i have to suffer just because it’s someone’s idea to have a local car manufacturer without taking into consideration raw materials, labour cost, market size etc.

• skiborne on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:46 pm

now i know the readers and paul are mostly pakatan fans, go kit siang, go communism. aha.

• Hukaka on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:46 pm

wait and see what they will say later.

• They better think carefully before making this happen. Depreciation of current cars on the road is going to kill the industry. Even they introduce reverse interest structure for new and old car. ie: 9% for new car and 6% for old car. Still wont help.

Having worse depreciation will eventually reduce trace-in purchase. Not all having cash to buy car in full payment, those that having full payment may not bother with any tax structure.

• skiborne on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:00 pm

im sick to read words of malaysians saying that singapore is better than malaysia in every way, certain topics yes, true, but not all.. cmon u have a choice, u can surrender your passports tomorrow, be a singaporean and buy better cars there but u’ll be living in flats la.

• malaysian on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:00 pm

ya..at singapore if ur salary SG$2500 u can only live in a flat and think twice to own a myvi while here in malaysia u can own a new honda city and live in a much bigger terrace house.

• If the same person earning SG2500, he will earn RM1200 in M’sia with a kapchai.

• adsalsd on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:12 pm

in sg, if you make 2500$, you are at the bottom, you should be thankful that you are alive.

Just like ppl making RM1500 in malaysia, they are barely living.

honda city my head. jalan sombong, poket kosong

• malaysian on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:03 pm

u think all singaporean salary high ka. there’s still many people having a salary below SG$2000 at singapore.

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:07 am

“flat-life”, haha isnt that stressful? but i agree, malaysia car taxes are too much, should reduce it, not abolish them altogether

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:17 am

id want a better house (if i could) in prime areas with decent good car, because the former is where ull be spending your time the most therefore u need comfort space etc, unlike landless singapore that u guys had been “worshipped”, ull see audis, bimmers, merc in flats’ parking bays, we dont want that do we?

• Well atleast in Singapore the gov’s money from COE’s and other taxes actually provide great public transport. Making the reason of owning a car a luxury and not a need. Unlike in most parts of Malaysia where a car is a Need or a Must.

• ah chai on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:05 pm

singapore small ma..their gov had backup from other country.u know which country?

• D.O.G.N.O on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:21 pm

I wonder what will happen if the government reduce the car tax..

a) Medical fees will go up
    b) Lesser subsidies for our petani, nelayan
    c) Higher fees in education in pre schools, schools (SK, SJK), high schools, college, politechnics, universities
    d) No free flight from Egypt
    e) No free textbook after flood
    f) Income tax will surely go up also :(

After all, car tax is the easiest way to get money from the rakyat especially some people in Malaysia is irresponsible and hiding their real income from IRB..hahaha!

I know la..i am one of the officer..Whwn i’m doing the survey, some people got big house, big cars, big plasma tv, big shop but when I ask their average income..how come theirs same with me?? I wonder??!!

Conclusion..Lowweiii!!… the government have lots to cover to get back after reduce the tax

• acerman on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:34 pm

I can’t comment anything on this matter. We just have to wait see. if they really want to do it, lets see how fast they can implement it. If cannot they are just like “2×5”.

only time can tell.

• CreativeMind on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:39 pm

looks like everyone getting into the election mood, some bringing in wishes thru this blog site. well, it doesn’t hurt to charge the rakyat decent world market price cars with good safety and features and the rakyat doesn’t mind paying world prices for fuel. The current G cannot take all… extremely high taxes (not justify) and so claimed subsidy on fuel??? forget about the so called subsidy, abolish it totally, but give us real world market price cars. how i use the car then to travel and budget the fuel consumption is totally my own. just give cars in the real world market price. We know the world prices and it is time we enjoy it. Enuf said, what action next from the G? We wun wait forever

• think on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:42 pm

whoever the politician is from either opposition party r goverment party,,if they have a good idea we should except their good views…i am one ofthe person who was waiting and thinking,,,whe nthis issue will be discussed…go ahead pakatan…i support your ideas and eagerly waiting for ur ideas….think………

• BeemerFreak on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:02 pm

When the Government has such policies, they should also include regulations to keep cars on the raod not more than 10 years old eg higher road tax, insurance premium, etc to keep the road free of old junk pollutors.

Such policies might also control the number of car on the raod…… In Singapore cars above 10 years old pay 50% extra for road tax and insurance premium a year, hence cars in singapore are most new and beautiful and less polluting. This policy should also be levied on busses and lorries…. Look at our stupid metrobus, dirty, smelly, disgusting and always perpetually late.

• Azuan Nazri on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Each and every month, the MAA monitored number of car sales in Malaysia. (http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?sec=business&file=/2010/6/2/business/6381651) These figures are directed to central government.
    Now, if the number of vehicle sales is too high in a period (let say for a year), then Bank Negara will hike the interest rates of bank loans (your so-called taxes).
    One of the many reasons is to avoid more traffic jams (mainly in KL, we all know how terrible it can be). So, increasing the cost of borrowing is not to dig a hole in our (taxpayers) pockets to some extent, but rather to combat the traffic problem.
    So, if you say government are all jollied up raise taxes for nothing, Think again.
    Zeti Aziz is far smarter than any of you guys (including myself and certainly this PKR man here), she sees things on the other side. People will still buy cars, even when the “taxes” are high.
    Disposable income of Malaysian is relatively high, our banking system is strong. It’s the rakyat that don’t able to see the bigger picture here.

• People still buying car (in fact 608,000 last year alone) ‘coz they had no choice as our public transport in far satisfactory.

Government suppose to reduce the car price gradually started 2007 (the year when the newer car priced cheaper than 2006’s prices), BUT both government and distributors do not take this opportunity to TEACH everyone (car market, individual, financial institutions, toll operator etc) the DISADVANTAGE/NEGATIVE consequence of buying the highly taxed car in economy like Malaysia. By 2010 we expected to have cheaper car substantially lower than 2006 level but the thing never materialized maybe due to complacency for the government (for having massive tax revenue for the car alone as well other upstream and upstream activities related to CAR in the supply chain).

Or second reason, government also learnt from US-bound property burst SUBPRIME MORTGAGE in 2007 that affect car industry as well. Imagine if in 2010 the car price drop significantly without gradually decrease from 2007, what happen our “stable” banking system like your understanding? We’ll experience a worst bubble as in Malaysia both our property and car so inflated much much bigger than our wage increase. When buyers/borrowers default their payment or worse, BAD LOAN how government going to handle the economic crush?

NOW, the best government can do is MANDATORILY reduce the car price slowly and by 2015 or 2016 the car price will follow other countries (like how we enjoy our cheap laptop or electrical appliances: do we change out LED TV/fridge/furniture every 4 year?) while gasoline/diesel price also gradually increase according to market equilibrium (can’t increase immediately to avoid economic burden to majority of car owner s that paid legs and arms for their old rides OR newer cheaper car buyers PAY higher price for MYRgasoline/diesel).

In this scenario, take Corolla Axio in Japan 1,291,429.00 JPY= RM47,732.54 can’t be priced at this bracket but rather sensible for those victims that bought theirs for RM106,000 AT 10% cheaper than in 2010 at RM95,400 in 2011, RM85,860 in 2012, RM77,274 in 2013, RM69,546 in 2014, RM62,591 in 2015 and RM56,332 in 2016.

As a comparo in Thailand the cheapest Corolla Altis is 751,000.00 THB=74,255.76 MYR or “just” 42.7% cheaper than Malaysia while their gasoline RON91 USD0.93 55% more expensive than ours USD.60. In USA their gasoline merely 22% more “expensive” than Malaysians pay for their gasoline BUT compare RM to USD we pay too much than American (USD0.73). You can’t expect tomyum cheaper in Malaysia than their original country Thailand, huh?

SO, back to our issue raised by our prominent blogger Paul Tan, we must have mechanism to CORRECT our economy and avoid at all cost USA and other countries experiences in property subprime mortgage bubble using the method suggested above. If buyers still want to buy super expensive car price using financing mechanism then let face the music (negative consequences of their behavior) BUT government must have courage to implement this mechanism in order to help people to reduce their burden as both property and car(s) made up 50-60% of people income.

Reduction in car price (and installment)will increase for other sectors in our economy and 9-10 years installment will be gradually become history as it will phased out gradually by 2016, for instance.

Thus, when financing period shorter, car price lower, gasoline price gradually higher PEOPLE will understand that car is A LIABILITY and no such thing people will be rushing to purchase car like nobody business as the purchase correlate to the financial calamity if not handle properly (cheaper Megane 250Cup may not necessarily attractive for the majority).

If Zetty of central bank really smart she must stop the car price crazy in Malaysia to follow majority of nations’ car price or risking our economy to both property and automotive burst. Act effectively, slowly and tackle this issue for once and for all. We have difficulty to follow 2007 price reduction in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 (partly due to the players attitude like UMW, Proton, BMW, Audi, and scores of other distributors were government link companies GLCs, buyers behavior- still buying expensive cars like nobody business last year at record 608,000 units and other institutions in this AUTOMOTIVE DRIVEN ECONOMY).

Without CAR, our AUTOMOTIVE DRIVEN ECONOMIC MODEL will crush since government will loss tax, excise, import tax, TOLL will collects fewer monies, GAS STATION will selling smaller volume of fuel, SERVICE CENTERS, TIRE CENTERS, RnR business, ACCESSORIES, and POLICE & RTD will collect fewer revenue.

When government got fewer chance to collect more revenue from excessive tax government will started to be more prudence in spending (Sweden closing down score of their embassies and consolidated few under one representative in order to be sensible to public money) and we can get more benefit for our hard earned money in tax forms. Generally, in Malaysia we spend indiscriminate and a lot of wastage or extravaganza in spending.

Heavier car tax equal to complacency and we want to see better governance of our economy and a tremendous saving in government tax. Frankly, in Western economies we never heard about RM1 billion palace being built unlike our BUS PALACE at Klang Valley with RM570m tag!

It’s time to reduce people burden. No more luxury of having super luxury car tax.

• tunomura on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:06 pm

I don’t need a car, I need a effective and comprehensive public transport..Please keep or increase the taxes so that money can spend for spreading public transports to every inch of Malaysia..

In Singapore, car taxes more higher than Malaysia because they are encouraging people to use public transport.

PUBLIC TRANSPORT FOR ALL

• Another cheap stunt by Azmin and PKR. They are suppose to takluk Putrajaya a few years back but habok pun tarak. More than 20 PKR’s MP are leaving the sinking ship and counting….cammonlah…if pembangkang really cakap serupa bikin why not help your “own” rakyat first (kelantan, penang and selangor) with free itu, free ini, let state gomen rebate all the expenses by giving back state money to rakyat….to my understanding, those states are kaya raya what…sekarang senangla cakap…nak bagi macam2…once memerintah…tembolok masing2 la dulu jugak yang depa dok isi…

• Why don’t raise the food price and medical fee so that useless people just leave the world.

• johndol on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:52 am

moron, Selangor people already gets free RM10 water, anak Selangor gets TAWAS, got tol abolished on a few parts of Selangor where during Khinzir Tayik time we only got more tolls and increased in toll to fund his mansion. And we dont even get a tiny bit of free water for 50 years on BN time. Go bark somewhere else la u, woof woof

back to topic, it will be interesting to hear the PR proposal on the car taxes. I’ll vote for them for Renault Megane!! haha

• mig29_ria on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:34 pm

25 years ago just after proton was born, Honda civic RM19K Saga RM17K loan for 3 to 4 years only. Today Saga RM40K loan 7 years and Civic RM110K loan 9 years. Malaysia is still 3rd world country compare to Singapore, UK, US, Japan, event far behind Korea and Taiwan (These countries most cars are cheaper and their road system better than Malaysia)

• zhong on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:49 pm

It’s about time somebody did something. And stop the napoleons from milking the population.

• reuben how on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Eh, come on laaaa, if cut all these tax where can pay for RM 6 billion navy ships ah???? How to pay for all those leakages and inefficiency. U don’t like it… better tink of migrating…. anywhere but here.

• it’s a good move to cutdown the taxes .. but.. subsidies to many2 department will be lesser.. thus at the end rakyat have yo pay more for other necessities. at the start maybe people will like it because finally they can afford a non-national car but taking it long term.. government will lose money . don’t u guys ever think that the government save the money from the taxes after all subsidies have been given as a financial backup in case our economy get attacked by “outside culprits”?? think again.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:32 am

In the event our economy gets attacked by ‘outside culprits’, neh….just send out that recently acquired submarines that made headlines to fight them all lorh. Our economy is weak is all due to our own mismanagements as well. Don’t blame the outside culprits. Like what an elder once told me, only one hand with so many mouths to feed. Yeah, thats why the rakyat has to suffer for this. Like what has been mentioned in the video, a Myvi actual value is only around 25K, but sold with extra taxes and duties. What the heck man ? It’s considered as part of the national car and why do we still need to pay the extras ? Think about it.

• hahaha . by the time they successfully attacked us , maybe we don’t have money to buy fuels to power the submarines. Of course there are some mismanagement and the point that u bring bout is the one that the G should be focused on. There is the answer . Ok so about myvi’s actual price of 25k.. if the G doesn’t take taxes then how they gonna spend it to subsidise other things?? Simply put , national cars are sold in big volume so of course la the G must imply taxes , if they only want to depend on the non-national cars taxes.. most of the money sources gone. then how G wants to subsidize the other necessities that u and me used everyday??

• Ha Gnih on Feb 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

I like your point. But the G will impose taxes in everything and anything under the sun. But the taxes they impose on anything local is seriously over the top and over the roof most of the time. Take Ford for example. In the states, for just a mere 30K, one can enjoy a car as good as the Toyota Altis or equivo. Imagine, 30 freaking K, one can drive in comfort. In Malaysia, what do we get ? An empty can on wheels called the Viva. With nothing to impress on both the interior and exterior. RM to RM, Dollar to Dollar, I’d say we are paying for something we can’t see. My point is, why impose such high duties and taxes on our local cars when they are already earning from imported ones ? Tax can be imposed, but depending on the make and model as well. Don’t la sebarang je hantam itu tax ma……… Hahaha

• Jimmy on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:39 pm

I want car taxes to be down to a reasonable level, not the current level. So you guess who I will vote.

• ayam goreng pak ali on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:55 pm

PKR penipu! Janji KOSONG… bila menang pilihanraya semua hancuss…janji tinggal janji. PENIPU! hehehe

• kereta murah untuk masyarakat(KUMAR) on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:56 pm

a dream come true?

• DAP and PAS just not good combination, left vs right not going anywhere, my vote still with BN

• Before this D.S.A.I said that “hari ini pakatan menang, esok harga minyak turun”. so if this proposed radical solution to cut car taxes really can work.. we Malaysian gonna get cheaper car with a cheaper fuel prices? rite? and in a paper.. Selangor Daily? im not so sure, one of PR strategist said that Malaysia actually can cope with the subsidy given.. So that will be CHEAP CAR+CHEAP FUEL+CHEAP EVERYTHING!! so? where is the logic behind all of this? from where Malaysia gonna get the money? we cut the taxes then we gonna raise the subsidy for fuel? at the same time other subsidy still in place? WOW!
    That So Sweet~~ DUH

• they going to shift the burden to poor people, my vote still with BN

• Before this D.S.A.I said that “hari ini pakatan menang, esok harga minyak turun”. so if this proposed radical solution to cut car taxes is really can work.. we Malaysian gonna get cheaper car with a cheaper fuel prices? rite? and in a paper.. Selangor Daily? im not so sure, one of PR strategist said that Malaysia actually can cope with the subsidy given.. So that will be CHEAP CAR+CHEAP FUEL+CHEAP EVERYTHING!! so? where is the logic behind all of this? from where Malaysia gonna get the money? we cut the taxes then we gonna raise the subsidy for fuel? at the same time other subsidy still in place? WOW!
    That So Sweet~~ DUH

• AntiStupid on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Good move! Lets see their proposal before making any assumption/accusation.. we all just want the same thing – cheaper cars!

Dreaming aside.. i’m not sure how can this be done..car taxes give billions to country revenue and the current/future gov will find it hard pressed to find easy and secured billions to fund our country development…let see how they propose, keep an open mind please!

• Miwqa on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:42 pm

wow,118billion? that makes buying Fernando Torres like buying a candy.

• Average People on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:50 pm

My monthly salary got a PCB. Around 35% (I guess) of my car installment is a tax. Driving to the office need to pay a tol MYR2.20 X 2 daily. Going back to my hometown have to pay another tol MYR40 X 2 monthly. Furthermore, I have to pay a tax around MYR2600 after I purchase a house. Then got ‘cukai pintu’ and ‘cukai tanah’. Owh, I forgot cukai jalan as well.. I don’t want to blame anybody. I’m just feeling sad because of these. Sob sob…. But thanks god I’m still having a great life…

• suweypaul on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:34 am

be a grateful citizen.
      it is becaused our generation nowadays never felt living during the hardship era.
      the older generation know well about this.
      i dont think gov limiting us to work harder and earn certain limited of income each month right? and we are not like people in palastine? or maybe afghanistan? or iraq? i dont think we want to live like that.
      i dont think there are people dying or suffering to death because of this high car taxes.
      what i can see, mostly it is becaused of emotionally influenced by something like this ‘let’s make the issue bigger and gain something from it’. for political mileage.
      paul know better about this becase he reads malaysiakini a lot.

• wiewie on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Just gonna vote B.N for the sake political & economic stability… and hear what PKR going to say about the tax solutions. Not going to do any harm to hear what they say.If it is brilliant, G is going to look stupid not implementing it… Also, it’s their job as an opposition to provide these kind of point of views… Like what Mr Lim Kiat Siang said “to replace a government is really hard. However, the government needs strong opposition so that they won’t steer off when managing the country”(more or less)… We are mature citizen.. yeah?

• Car Driver on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:09 am

There are 230+ comments for this article in this blog. When it comes to money everybody are involved.

Malaysia taxes are beyond control. Just found out from ASTRO bill that starting January this year there is a 6% tax on our ASTRO bill. Another burden to carry.

I do not think our taxes are justifiable or properly being used. Look at todays The Star page N15. The defence Ministry had allocated 6 BILLION to buy 6 vessels. I Billion per ship is more expensive than the most advanced ship in USA which cost less than 1 BILLION.

Money is mismanaged and RAKYAT’s have to pay for these.

• did u really know about that ship price? the admiral in TLDM has answered that.. dont just hear what other people said la.. u can google by urself.. malaysian allocated RM 1B.. whereas ship in u.s.. in the same class cost about 700 USD!! get that fact rite.. need more clarification on this matter? go read bigdog.. what a pity.. Malaysian still so shallow minded.. hear what opposition say, then “gebang” it all over mamak and forum.. but the truth.. he also didnt know…

• I was just talking to a friend this afternoon about how high cost of living here in Malaysia is. I don’t want to compare with other people in other countries, but from my experience I am literally in debt the minute I come out from Uni. And don’t say I am lazy la, not working hard enough la, this la, that la. I work from 8 to 6 from Monday to Friday and 8 to 1 on Saturdays ok. Before this I was doing 12 hours daily from Monday to Friday. I am an engineer holding an Assistant Manager’s position in one of the big Automotive players in Malaysia and my salary can only be positioned at around 5k. I am holding a car loan and a house loan totalling to nearly half of my salary. I drive a Proton Saga BLM and am paying around 500 bux monthly for it for 7 years. If you include the price of petrol and toll (which is directly related to the gov) 60% of my salary is used to pay for everything. What about food? bills? insurance? Ask around, with a wife, I have only another 2k to spend. I cannot imagine when I have kids in a couple of years’ time…

So in short, I’d like to see how PR can change the system and make cars more affordable to people like me. I cannot believe in the right mind that my car is worth 40k, not with the appalling quality. Don’t say I got choices ok, I don’t. With a budget of 40k for a new car I can only look at a Myvi or a Saga(chose Saga because of the boot space). And that itself is already sad. If they need to raise the petrol prices then so be it, but at least let me have a chance to buy a car which is not a fuel guzzler like what the crap Proton is producing (and don’t try to challenge me on my car’s FC, I drive one at 90kmph and still only get at best 11km/L).

So to Malaysia Memang Boleh and the people who have the same thinking, I say you have your views (which is fair) but I think a lot of average joes like myself would love to see it happen. Heck, if BN can do it and beats PR to it, I’d vote for them! At the end of the day, we all want to live comfortably and get to enjoy the money we earn, right? I’d rather try for a change than sit and complain and not do anything about it. The power is in your hands at the balloting table, my friends!

• Norman on Feb 09, 2011 at 4:37 am

Very realistically down to earth and well said bro!

I just signed up another 9 year car loan for my wife to send my kids to school. Why? Because the bloody LDP is so jammed that the aunty who used to send my kids to school bei tahan any further so she quits! So I am actually buying a car to counter problems that cause by traffic jam, isn’t that ironic?

And the reason I am taking 9 year loan, which ultimately makes my already 3 times more expansive car compare to where it came from another 50% more expansive, it’s because it is the only car I think is reasonably safe and comfortable for my family that comes with a monthly installment that I could afford. Lucky you that still got balance every month and can count how much left and what to spend. I don’t even dare to count cause I suspect there is actually anything positive balance left. How do I know? I am using my credit card to do family grocessory shopping and though we paid on time and nothing extra or fancy is added to my apartment, the balance just keep growing. In other words, we indebted people now adding more debts monthly a bait equally, if not more, hard working than you.

Like you, I just want a better life. Or at least a reducing monthly debts. Will BN came out with redical plans to help folks like me? Not unless we have more kapal and Lim checking their management and their only-god-know spending. Will PR really do what they promised? Only time will tell. But hell, at least give them a boost to get more seats or maybe, a chance to proove what they really could do!

• Haha…you bought a Honda or a Toyota didn’t you? =p, joking joking.

Yeah, you’re right. Suspect you’re also an average joe earning average income trying to make a decent living for your family in Malaysia. I can afford to count what I have left because I have not take away cost for groceries, my lunch at work (i eat nasi campur almost everyday with hot chinese tea, totalling RM5), electricity, my personal taxes, other taxes, supporting my retired parents (small amount but at least something there for them on top of their retirement fund), investments for MY retirement (you obviously and realistically CANNOT depend on EPF alone). So what’s there left? Like you, I barely have enough.

BTW, do you realise that EPF is a joint-bidder for PLUS? They’re taking YOUR EPF money to buy it and may not even reduce the price of toll! Renunglah! It’s like paying more for toll!

• ehem.. on Feb 09, 2011 at 3:09 pm

u know epf still give u interest with ur money? although they’re using ur money they still give back to you when u’re 55 years old with interest.your money didn’t short. think before comment la.

• Are you VERY SURE they will? Very? VERY very? If you read the papers recently, there is talk that EPF wants to implement what they call a “monthly payment” scheme where they only pay you in installments after age 55. They don’t allow you to take out all you money. Apparently, the rakyat (you and me included) don’t know how to spend your retirement fund.

Let’s think of it this way, if EPF has got TONS of money to give you back when you are age 55, do you think they would even consider paying you monthly? How many government agencies actually audit the EPF? They only tell you how much you get in interest. How true is it actually?

But good for you if you think EPF is making your retirement fund healthy…..hope your money is waiting for you when you retire.

• Norman on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Bro MZ, I posted up a reply earlier and dun know why it was not shown here. Maybe I failed moderation.

Yeah! I bought my wife a City to transport our offsprings to school. No! We bought that car not because we want to tell our neighbors that we could afford better car than Proton. Simply, we think City would be a safer bet to last for at least good 9 years till the installment payment is completed. Imagine having a piece of worthless crap before you even finish paying!! This is the only sadder part than an already pretty laughable 9-year car loan!

Sorry ya, I didn’t know much about the EPF+PLUS things. I hardly flip local press cause I reckon I already have enough problems to deal with and I don’t need to add news of corruptions, poor G performance and unfairly attended matters into my life. So what RON95 gone up to RM2.50 a little tomorrow? You still need to pump, go to work, and get your RM5K-EPF paycheck at the end of the month to settle your RM500 Saga installment. Is there any other choice?

I think our nation was pretty much OK and sort of developing gradually during the first 30 years of BN ruling. I am really not sure if they had gone wrong or more daring in the recent 20+ years that cause so much dissatisfactions! Or simply the recent IT that enable us to communicate and find out more about what’s wrong with current G? Maybe more than that.

Right now, I only care if my vote would help the other party to gain the capability to end all these AP/NAP/toll/RON95 nonsense, plus close to 300+ of unhappy postings in the thread!

• And btw, just a thought….remember sometime last year the G said that the petrol prices would not go up (RON 95)? And they even repeated that just a few weeks before they announced an increase? So PR “hancus” after election? I don’t see the difference between a government who never keeps its promise.

Tough choice, ain’t it? Well, I don’t think so……….

• Norman on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Yeah! You got that right! I bought a City for my wife to transport my kids.

No, it is not just because it is a better car than Proton’s made. It is also a safer bet to last the whole 9 years! Taking a 9 years loan for a B segment car already a sad thing to do. And if that car couldn’t even last till the completion of the loan would be…… well, I let you find the most suitable word to describe that feeling!

The whole idea of having all citizens to endure (paid higher prices) and setup a national car suppose to make our life better with easier car ownership, and maybe, feeling proud that we are “industrialized” or “developed”. Guess what? After quarter of century, this baby still fed with milk (our monies) and can’t even stand on his own feet! And they are still some economic genius up there think jerking up prices of others is the right thing to. Fine! But, sorry to say, your RM40K Saga will be piece of junk worths maybe less than RM5K by the time you finish paying it. And I doubt that’s not even enough for the down payment of your replacement Saga on the 8th year!

Sometimes, I wonder why not Proton just offers low monthly long term leasing of their vehicles to the people instead. We never actually own the car, we just use it within a specific period and change to a new model when the term expires! For instance, we pay RM2K down and RM200 X 48mth for Saga, a bit more for Gen2, and so on. They can make more cars, we pay and worry less. Just an idea.

Sorry bro, I can’t really comment EPF + PLUS shit because I hardly flip through local press and hardly watch RTM and TV3. I didn’t because I am sick of seeing shows performed by BN politician, hard pain to learn about ridiculously expansive G spending on simple things, and also many sad cases left improperly attended.

And about the RON95 thing, ahmmm… what’s the point of knowing when and wonder why? You wouldn’t join the late evening pile ups at petrol kiosks to save a few ringgit nor you will go to parliament to demonstrate your dissatisfaction nor you will boycott driving, would you? You just got to pay what’s stated at the pump so that you can go to work thus you can get your RM5K minus EPF at month end yo pay to pay XX/84 RM500 monthly installment for…again, your sorry Saga, right?

The only way to solve, maybe lighten or at least get someone with the right capabilities to look into all the above issues would be making proper use of what we only left -> our votes! I want check and balance. I want proper planning, control and monitoring systems. Like you, I just want my hard work to be rewarded with better life.

• Haha….you got that right on my sorry little Saga there my friend. It’s already started to feel like junk. For all the promise of building better cars, there are always issues with their cars. My Saga actually shutdown once when I was driving. Good thing I was already almost reaching home. Talk about sub-standard safety QC.

The comment about “hancus” was directed at someone further up the post. If he/she say PR can’t deliver, I say the G lied to us as well. So, trying to make his/her point invalid.

But in all, you’re right, our hard work shouldn’t be used to service goods sold at artificial prices. We deserve to enjoy every bit of our money in a fair market!

• Frankly, getting your wife to work may be the best option available. With several times your salary, I own a Sutera, take buses on all working days (spending two hours on buses everyday), and drive only during weekends. Perhaps this gives an idea how one is expected to spend his or her money. In my opinion, Malaysians are way over-spending.

• From the sound of it, it seems like you’re one of the lucky few who can rely on public transportation. But, due to the nature of my work and the location of my office, I cannot depend on it. So I had to use my car to and from work and during work. If you spend 2 hours daily on buses I assume it’s 1 hour to work and 1 hour back? I take the same amount of time with my car AND by paying toll on NPE, NKVE.

Sorry, but define “overspending”? is 60% of my salary for toll, loans and gas overspending? I don’t own a fancy TV. My handphone is 2 years old. I don’t shop in designer brand outlets. My wife and I take turns to cook (she’s on a part-time sales work) dinner. We haven’t even gone on a holiday for 3-4 years now. My furniture is minimal and I even stopped buying newspapers (there are papers in the office). If I overspend and try to live a luxurious life then yes, that comment is all fair. But I don’t.

Plus, I remember the G at one time told me to curb my spending and to change my lifestyle. In all due respect, who are they to tell me to change my lifestyle? What right do they have in telling me that when they can spend enormous wads of cash on subs which can’t submerge, paying “consultant” companies mind-boggling fees when analyzing the country’s debt and thousands of ringgit for “stationaries”? So, no, I disagree with you that Malaysians are over-spending. Some yes, but not all. At least I know I can’t afford to over-spend…..

• Actually, I spend 2 hours minimum on buses everyday, plus 1.25 to 1.5 hours in the train network, plus 0.5 hours of walk (2 kilometers). Of course, I can drive to work, which can possibly cut the total daily commuting time to 2 hours like yours, but that will inflate my monthly transport expenses to 3000-3500 MYR. By adopting my current approach, I cut it down to about 1000-1200 MYR, which includes 600 for five years of car hire-purchase, fuel, automobile insurance, road tax, bus fare, train fare and sometimes taxi fare. I rarely drive long distance these days, and instead use express buses and intercity trains which are definitely cheaper for solo travelers.

In my opinion, 5k of monthly income in a big city (I suppose you are in one) is not enough for a family to adopt the middle-class lifestyle. Such families are actually in the border of low-income and middle-income categories. This is true, whether in KL or Singapore. So, I think many people (may not be referring to you) in Malaysia are leading a middle-class lifestyle when they are not really qualified for it. In Malaysia and Singapore, if we want to stay in 1500-2000 square feet houses, have a 1.3-1.6 liter car, drive around the city whenever we like or drive to office everyday, and have a 20 MYR/SGD meal in a restaurant every week, while still saving a reasonable amount of money for retirement, we better make sure we have 10k of monthly income. If we have only 3k-5k, we need to realize we cannot live very much different from our rubber-tapper parents’ way.

• By the way, if I drive to work, my total toll charges everyday is about 40 MYR, and season parking costs about 500-600 MYR a month. This does not include fuel for 70 km and city charges (ERP in Singapore). We spent a few years requesting for a bus company to provide a service, and for governments to approve the service, so that the toll charges can be shared by passengers, thus reducing the transport expenses of everyone to an acceptable level, which include about 14 MYR a day for a bus passenger. In my opinion, this is one way how people are supposed to deal with transport issues. Everyone buying a car and using it to travel all the way to the office everyday is not a suitable choice in any big city, whether for financial, pollution or congestion reason.

• Bingo. That’s what some countries are doing, ie. China, certain Asian & EU countries. Although Im earning rm10k above, i take a bus & walk 20mins to & from office, only it’s not in msia.

• even though it sounds too good to be true, i rather give pr a chance. so that most of us don’t need to drive 3rd world cars anymore and suffer massive bank installments to enrich a small group of cronies.

aside from that i notice from the thumbs up that most ppl dislike Barang Naik. but how come the results show otherwise?

• RideHandling on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:48 am

sad to see nowadays the only 20k car is a 10y old kelisa or 10+y waja while you can get a new civic 19k before taxation in 1980’s.

• suweypaul on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:26 am

you can get nasi lemak for 10-30 cents at that time too! seriously! or even cheaper! :)

• RideHandling on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:33 pm

i’ll give u a more objective comparison – apollo wafer during 1980’s is 20cents and its 50cents now. thats 2.5x more. yet 19k civic vs 120k is 6x more. if u wanna compare apple2apple we should be paying a civic for circa RM50k only now. if u are too blind to see the difference, then happy paying the taxes blindly.

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2011 at 1:56 am

but penang dap govt has yet to abolish tolls, and its been 2-3 years now. aha.

• suweypaul on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:34 am

see? nothing really change when pr takeover. it is worse than previous gerakan.
      all they want is only the POWER to rule malaysia! and get rich quick! it is not about RAKYAT or anything. it is all about their pocket sake! that is all! so they can be ‘corrupted’ like BN now. see? you are voting on a meaningless paper for an exchange of something that is not going to be better than what you have now. see? pr have no experience to rule. i dont think you would want to wait for another 50 years to remake another what we have now because BN is a ‘failure’? see?

• Gentlemen,
        Since you already side tracked, then allow me to side track. I don’t wanna post statistics here but you can readily check online (do a Google search). You talk about tolls? Let’s talk about the debt the state is holding. Penang was a bankrupt state during BN’s rule and within a year, the Penang’s state coffers is in the Black. You want BN to continue sucking up Penang’s state funds for their own people? Of course you don’t, come on!

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:10 am

i agree that malaysia car taxes are to much, should reduce it so that proton cars could compete with vios, city, latio etc, if not theyll be complacent like now… buat benda2 bangang je, (sorry), but not to abolish the taxes altogether

• wasTe_bucKet on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:39 am

Most of them here missing some important fact/points

PR never told that they would abolish all tax for a car/vehicle

they told that they might reduce the tax amount and make cars more affordable

so there is still income for the G but just a reduced income!!

simply by being more efficient PR could afford the absorb the impact of reduction in tax

secondly,

cheaper cars doesnt mean more traffic but traffic is filled with better cars.people can travel further and work and live in less congested areas reducing the traffic in towns/cities.Population growth can be spread more evenly and not concentrated in larger cities.

to be constructive we do need to give them idea on how to do it…

it would be ok if national cars get subsidy and current tax remains the same..and in order for national car to get the subsidy they would need to pass a minimum quality test/criteria

it would be good if the current tax is reduced gradually and all secondhand car before the new tax regulation gets low interest loan for the Government. and also all national cars get low interest compared to foreign cars

it would be great if tax is at minimum and cars must be changed every 5 or 7 years and tax depends on petrol consumption,efficieny and enviroment effects. and petrol price subsidies at minimal rate or none at all but we are provided with premium quality fuel!!

• Azuan Nazri on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:40 pm

“cheaper car doesn’t mean more traffic”

Really? Lets say I stay in Rawang, or Tanjong Malim for instance. Now, would I not be using the same road as everyone else once I’m in the centre of city/town?
      More cars means more traffic, man.

“and also all national cars get low interest compared to foreign cars”
      We have that right now. http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?sec=business&file=/2010/6/2/business/6381651

“tax depends on petrol consumption,efficieny and environment effects”
      Huh? *scratches head*

• Azuan Nazri on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:44 pm

“cheaper cars doesnt mean more traffic but traffic is filled with better cars”
      Let’s say if I stay in Tanjong Malim or Bangi for instance. Would I not still be using the same road as anyone once I’m the centre of the city/town?
      Just take Japan, people there commute everyday using trains to Tokyo. Most traveled equivalent of the distance between Ipoh to KL.

“all national cars get low interest compared to foreign cars”
      We have that now. http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?sec=business&file=/2010/6/2/business/6381651

“tax depends on petrol consumption,efficieny and enviroment effects”
      Huh? *scratches head*

• Fence Sitter on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:22 am

Previously all this while I thought high tax on cars were there merely to protect proton. but now I realize the bigger picture is that it provides the G with heaps of tax money. Abolishing it I think is just a distant dream. Sigh. I have american & british friends who laughed in disbelief when they heard that Malaysians pay car loans up to nine years at exuberant prices.

• Norman on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Tell me about it!

When I stayed in US, I earned around USD2K a month doing part times. After working damn hard with little entertainment for 9 months, I got myself a 4 year-old Accord EX for USD8K, paid in cash term!

If I am buying a 4 year old Accord now in Malaysia, I would have to take a 7-year loan. That’s nearly 9 times the shitty period of ‘working damn hard with little entertainment”!!

• biggie on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:30 am

I like to see the proposal before making any comments. If you read the budget report then you can find where your tax money being used, and from what I have read over the years budget always very tight (never have a surplus). Therefore if you want to reduce tax in one area then you must increase in another.

If the solutions do not involve taxes for things that I used daily (petrol, food, books) then I can support. May be they can introduce tax to buy houses.

• AP lover on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:59 pm

JUST REDUCE THE PAY FOR IPP…TOO MUCH WASTAGE

energy reserve cannot be too much…are u gonna buy a barrel of petrol just for ‘pegi kedai’ driving?

• farizY on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:24 am

Down with the cut-throat taxes!!! More purchasing power to the people!! Enough pampering Proton and feeding the cronies (Barang-Naik cronies, that is)!!

• lchan on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:32 am

drop the excise tax and float the petrol!

• Shaycoat on Feb 09, 2011 at 9:51 am

Dear all,

Sebelum PKR merancangan untuk mengurangkan peratusan tax untuk kereta, mereka perlu tahu di mana lagi G akan dapat income. From what i had been told, the biggest revenue is from the car tax. So, the income for G will be highly reduced when car tax reduced. So, bagaimana nak tolong rakyat yang banjir, keluar dari Mesir? Yang lain tahu menunding jari mengatakan kerajaan tak proaktif, padahal duit G dah tinggal ciput. PKR, PAS ada bantu pelajar kat Mesir tak???

• PesaLKauStupid? on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Before u open ur mouth, have u ever read LAPORAN AUDIT NEGARA? in running a country, the govt should be prudent in sending it. Apa hal nak charge screw driver 20 kali ganda then market price? u think who run the business buluh kasap ni? Apa hal nak charge meter air 50 kali ganda market price? kenapa perlu wife perdana menteri ada her own office complete with officer? siapa bayar? for what?

If the govt itself is not interested in saving the Nation coffer, the bagi RM1000 trillion to BM also will never cukup.

running a govt is like running a business. but if u run the business like its never urs and u only sit there to warm up the chair, so its non ur bloody concern to make sure the company making profit or take care the benefit of its people.

I think, ur must be one of the anak-anak yg mak bapak penghisap darah bangsa sendiri aka UMNO/BN. sebab tu ko takut.. takut lepas ni jatuh miskin & tak tahu macam mana nak cari duit halal utk suap nasik ke mulut sendiri..!

• johndol on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

sorang lagi katak bawah tempurung, you know that Petronas pays 20-30B taxes to the G a year? and it was only a small portion of the G’s revenue which consists of the income tax, car tax, cukai pintu and everything. And how much the G spend to people’s welfare? Let me see, budget for the MRT is around 5B and its not even started yet? Water and electricity that you will have to pay for life? Please tell me what the G’s gave to people?

• Automotive tax should be greatly reduced, so that more people has option to choose what car they want, whether an expensive fuel guzzler, cheap efficient car or expensive but still efficient car.

And then, petrol price should be left to float as per market price. Public transport should be continuously improved so that rakyat have more choice…

So, if this happen, don’t go bash the government again cause i believe such strategy is more fair and equal.

• bahrain on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:23 am

b4 you BN ball carriers go ballistic, listen to what PR is trying to relay.
    Azmin was merely highlighting the huge amount of debt/ hardship
    that every msian household is facing.
    From credit card debts / exorbitantly high taxes on cars/ sky rocking property prices
    and lastly the the higher cost of living as compared to the rise in salary increment.
    Its a pity that people just whack the opposition for highlighting the “pains” of the rakyat.

• karim on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:35 am

i wonder if they abolish this tax, where they going to get the money for the next budget?

oh well, i like a RM100k BMW 3-er

• BalanceD on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:38 pm

After reading most of the post in here, truthfully, how many of the local Joe is above the average income bracket ? Has anyone considered, instead of getting loan to pay the taxes to our G, we could have use the taxes to pay for better houses? Getting better facilities? Paying for better services from our ‘G Servants’?

It has been said times and times again, AP Holders are earning our sweat money. Why is the G so supportive of them? How many of them are there? 98? 100? And how many other Bumiputera are suffering because of that either?

Our G like to compare between the Bumiputera against the Chinese, Indians and etc. Why not they compare it as a single form? Malaysians? Is that so hard?

For myself, I’m proud of my heritage. Grandmother (Chinese born in Malaysia) and Grandfather (English born in UK), Father (Eurasian born in Malaysia) and Mother (Chinese born in Malaysia). When my friends from overseas ask me, i tell them i’m a full fledged Malaysians. End of story. I am the third generation of Malaysians and yet, i see stories of people like ‘us’, being second class and etc. What B**L S**T is this?

Back to the main topic, abolish AP. At the same time, abolish subsidies for Fuel.
    Whether it’s for the better or for the worst of our rakyat, untill we try, we would never know.

• If Proton Saudi Arabia can sell Persona at RM35K while here priced at RM55K then it is RM30K cheated out of local rakyat Malaysia buyers.

That RM30K cheated otherwise can be spent/saved for:
    – 10 years worth of car expenses like petrol, repairs, service maintenance
    – refitted entire car with full-spec safety items ie.ABS, 8 airbags, ESP, GPS etc
    – easily worth RM60K if invested in unit trust ASB etc (compounded 7-9 years)
    – worth entire cost for your children education for local bachelor degree

On top of being cheated for RM30K, that amount also factored inside the HP loan interest or double taxed (bank interest charged on car tax/ tax on tax) means that the total car ownership cost as much as RM70-80K(depends on loan period) for a Pesona. Talk about discriminative HP loan interest rate, higher for local cars vs lower for foreign cars. Crap!

And once loan fully settled 7-9 years later, the actual price of depreciated Pesona then luckily at RM15K. So total lost finally at RM60K, or exactly double the initial car duty taxes cost of RM30K. This is where compound interest works AGAINST you instead of you earning it double if that RM30K can be saved elsewhere like putting it in saving banks or unit trusts.

Anyway keep on voting BN you all fools!

• The best revised NAP should be:
    Ex-Factory car price + 10 pct Sales Tax = OTR price

If BN still breastfeed Proton, then limit it to 2000cc cars and 2500cc for diesel cars SUVs. Any cars above that then subject it to heavy taxes which target the very high income group of people, and not burden the middle, low income folks that require car as needs not luxury items.

Govt must promote sales of smaller engine car with better fuel efficient engine, but with open competition.

Also any new car models must be taxed on its fuel efficiency and CO2 emission. The less fuel efficient and dirtier engine must be slapped with Petrol Tax.

Now carmakers (within the 2000cc, 2500cc limit rule) can only introduce more fuel efficient cars and car buyers too must choose carefully the best car in the market at open market price. Why should you buy Ferrari just to drive it to pasar sayur?

Anyway keep on voting BN you all fools!

• littlefire on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Paul, another sad day for us… No change to AP policy…

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/no-change-to-ap-policy-says-miti/

• What are APs for? According to that Malaysian Insider news article, “the number of APs awarded every year, is 10 per cent of the total industry volume (TIV) of the previous year.” I suppose TIV is the total automobile sales volume per year. The volume is about 500k a year recently. That means the number of APs per year is about 50k. According to http://www.etawau.com/HTML/Car/INDEX_TopModel.htm , the total number of Toyotas sold in 2009 was already about 50k. How were other cars imported into Malaysia then? Are APs involved in the purchase of “normal” cars that the vast majority of the people choose?

• Noobius on Feb 09, 2011 at 6:51 pm

only grey import cars use Open APs. the rest use Franchise APs.

• hexagon on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:50 pm

hahaha i think if Paultan registered as one of party in malaysia compete with BN. I will vote for paultan, as long as make sure the price of oil & cars are going down.

• kaswira on Feb 09, 2011 at 4:29 pm

888 billion lost through illicit capital flight and they are talking abt lost revenue by car tax reduction.

• silleh on Feb 10, 2011 at 12:00 am

I thought Msia is rich in its natural resources
      ie Oil / Palm Oil and not forgetting Magnum, Toto and Genting !!!
      Don’t tell me these thriving businesses are not generating revenue for the govt ??
      That is why Vincent Tan wanted a sports betting license – > taxes for govt. rather
      than to illegal bookies.!!
      It puzzles me when the rakyat can say Msia govt will not have money if car taxes are slashed. Then why issue AP’s at only 10K ..it should be auctioned to the highest bidder …then we can see revenue for the govt.

• kaswira on Feb 09, 2011 at 11:37 pm

they need the car taxes to make up for the 888 billion they have squandred by the illicit capital flight,stop the singaporeans from complaining abt their car taxes to lee kuan yew and enrich the cronies.

• ikrarpemuda on Feb 10, 2011 at 1:25 am

Azmin also got one ferrari meh..

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_6KEX-9v9rO8/TKrag_7i6mI/AAAAAAAAGik/6ZSG2Sm4rKg/s1600/azmin+ferrari.jpg

and yet he said that govt imposed very high tax for cars….in fact he’s just a member of parliment and states rep in Selangor…how come have ferrari??

• littlefire on Feb 10, 2011 at 8:54 am

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/pkrs-azmin-ali-clears-the-air-on-his-character-and-integrity/

Azmin Ali mention that photograph with a Ferrari doent mean he owns it.. If i photograph with Ferrari Enzo does that mean i own it?

• hexagon on Feb 10, 2011 at 10:26 am

hahahha photoshop gile image ni.. its a super imposed laa bro. use your eyes and brain too, if u have one laa.. i’m already 10years in visual effect industry and this is 100% super imposed. just look at the scale & shadow casting which are truly crap. This guy who done this impose are truly a joke. kalau nak buat, buat laa cantik2 sikit.. haha kantoi..

• ikrarpemuda on Feb 10, 2011 at 3:18 pm

10 years in visual effect industry?sadly (for you of course) this pic is taken right from Azmin’s facebook album hehehe..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2552732&id=1195858874&ref=fbx_album

so he wouldn’t put a photoshop pic of his family with a ferrari on his FB album would he?

and..with azmin status, i doubt that he would take picture along with his family with other people’s car for memorable hari raya pic..coz i also wouldn’t do it if I was him..

10 tahun visual effect industry?sekarang siapa yang kantoi?huhuu…

• Faisal on Feb 11, 2011 at 9:03 am

10 years?? 10 days maybe..

• Holla on Feb 10, 2011 at 9:48 am

just want to share some of 2 cent.

fact 1: Car in malaysia is one of the highest.
    fact 2: Income for average joe is still low. (salary for fresh engineer today & past 6-8years back is similar).
    fact 3: People need to pay various type of tax. (I know gov need income but they suck too much from rakyat)
    fact 4: For car, most people are borrowing money from bank to pay their car tax, and bank will charge interest to them too. Loan for 5~15 years some more. Too sad.
    fact 5: Development of public transport system is still slow. (If we have good system, maybe less income for gov from car tax, and they need more money for system maintenance.) Are they purposely slow it down? Dunno.

I have 1 wife, 2 kids (plan to get another 2) and with 8.9k monthly income.
    My current ride is year 2002 wira, still serve me good.
    This is enough for me to have comfortable home, insurance, entertainment & time for family and good sleep.
    Man, you only spend, say 1~2hour/day in your car.
    And man, we still need to think for the future of my kids, our generation.
    I will not take another car HP loan to fulfill my ‘nafsu’ and to pay car tax to gov, as long as my wira can move well.
    (Although, my heart always telling me to get better ride.)
    Just let other people says about whatsoever ‘status’ or ‘pride’ issue.
    So people, pls think wisely. We are in Malaysia.
    Try to use your car as long as you can.

• shbeh on Feb 10, 2011 at 7:27 pm

I concur, if you have to get a car, try to get a used car that offers great value. Why spend huge sum ob a new car when 70% of that price tag is for some connected AP holder and government coffer that has lots of questionable projects that bleeds huge amount of public fund. I don’t mind paying taxes as long as its being put into good use for the people, not being diverted into some connected guy pocket.
      The way I see it, the standard of quality of our country is going down comparing to our neighbour and we know where the sources of the problems are. Its no harm done giving the alternative front the chance to govern, how much worse can it get.

• PR belum pernah memerintah Malaysia lagi la .. dah ada komen x percaya with PR agenda. Apa la punya pemikiran dalam negara demokrasi nih . Kalau U tak pernah bagi PR manage Malaysia mana U tahu PR tak boleh buat .
    Kenapa BN sampai bermati2an nak pertahan takhta ? kerana mereka tahu kalau sekali PR memerintah sampai bila2 pun mereka tak dapat nak ambil balik .

Pro-BN boleh bagitahu kenapa BN tak serah royalti minyak RM600j time terengganu diperintah oleh PAS ? Kenapa mahathir tahan wang royalti ? Kerana PAS dah janji wang tu untuk kebajikan rakyat . That`s why Mahade takut nak serah royalti tuh .. pastu tuduh PAS tak fulfill janji2 pilihanraya . Mana nak penuh janji .. masa janji tu berdasarkan pendapatan wang royalti , tiba2 BN sekat . Macam tu la kjaan negeri PR perintah . Belanjawan pusat disalurkan melalui BN bukan kjaan negeri so .. macam mana nak tadbir dan fulfill their promise ? Kenapa Kjaan pusat tada berani serah peruntukan teruk kepada kjaan negeri ?

Kalau PR boleh kurangkan harga kereta dalam 30 % pun dah dikira OK . Lebihan wang tu tak kemana pun ..akan kembali kepada kerajaan yang perintah . Hatta kalau simpan dalam bank pun kjaan akan dapat juga cukainya ….. fikir2 lah …

• Rambo Ramsey on Feb 11, 2011 at 9:57 am

Bukan pasal dia tau PAS nak bagi kebajikan rakyat lah, its about having access to funds. Everybody knows when you get to power, you have access to money. By PAS getting the state yg ada minyak, dia dapat access duit. Bila ada power dan duit, they can start buat project, which later create economic impact (to both the state and the party). Bila PAS pon ada duit dia boleh start attract talent and can implement janji dia, so BN disadvantage lah sket. So in playing game (any game) apa bodoh ko bagi bola tanggung kat lawan kan, so mmg tak gentlemen, tapi politic mmg tak gentlemen. Mat salleh US, UK pon tak gentlemen tapi tak nampak terang, sbb diorang pandai main. Cuba cari article newspaper kat US ngan iklan Republicans yg tunjuk Obama terrorist? tak gentlemen jugak kan?

• niceone on Feb 11, 2011 at 1:55 am

makes me wonder, if they abolish the vehicle tax, will malaysia be bankrupt? i’m pretty sure malaysia got many more income source, so other than some few elite people who will cry all night long knowing vehicle tax / AP will be abolished, us rakyat will be very grateful.

to BN / PR, we know whether you guys sincerely work and really concern for the rakyat, or whether u are a populist party, announcing good things for the sake of getting more votes.

• Faisal on Feb 11, 2011 at 10:42 am

to say that BN didn’t do anything is not fair.. they hv done a lot of good things for the rakyat.. this kind of discussion should be heard by them so that they can do something about it.. if they didn’t do anything, so what can i say, it is their lost..

i would also like to say that banyak business r still own by Chinese. Malays and Indian r still far left behind.. hope pakatan rakyat will also look into this to make it fair for all races.. kereta2 mewah, rumah2 mewah Malays n Indian x mampu nak beli..

i also see that gaji org kerja kerajaan mmg sikit sangat.. kesian la pada mereka..

• http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/2/11/focus/8040926&sec=focus

• well imagine you can buy a new golf GTI for 100k and proton for 20k MAYBE kancil for 10k

In the not so near future the car which is 5 years and above will go to chop chop shop and export to indian or thailand maybe to indonesia.

We are categorize as 3 rd country and we are paying 1 country to afford a car which make us look stupid and dump, reasons we are stupid to have put our vote to our smart government or we love to feed our fat cat

• LonJon on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:06 am

Malaysians also subsidising the banking & insurance industry with the higher car purchase prices. More interests/premiums.

But the worst thing is that Malaysians are forced to do with yesteryear technologies and inferior parts. Access to technology is vital for Malaysia to develop its human resources to catch up and compete with the developed nations.

I wish the auto policies be reviewed to provide more ‘market driven’ competition as our mobile telco industry — so cheap that we have 28 milion lines for the population of 27 million!! [may be the extra lines include those registered for foreigners too and those with 3~4 which involve in covert operations??]

• temakol on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:46 am

It is like symbiosis…win-win situation….gov already reduce subsidy to all necessities and oil….so to contra back the burden (which rakyat face now) the tax of involved items need to be lift up or maybe reduce slightly. Eg: Gov float the price of petrol to market price – reduce subsidy>>>so gov need to remove/reduce all the tax related to transportation…so this will CONTRA the burden of RAKYAT. Especially the PURE NATIONAL car maker should be 0% tax…

• kalau betul PKR nak kurang kan cukai dan bantu rakyat.. kenapa x kurang kan dulu cukai kerajaan negeri selangor, kelantan, kedah n penang dulu.

dah 2 thn memerintah xde pun cukai pintu, tanah or cukai niaga yang kurang.

• ada beza dengan wang persekutuan dgn wang negri tahu ?? wang petronas tnb apa apa pun masuk tabung persekutuan..

sebab itu PR tak boleh suka suka kurang cukai tau..

• charles chia on Feb 20, 2011 at 7:04 pm

The Rakyat should have kick out the BN govt. long long time ago for mismanaging the economy. The car taxes resulted in the govt. making more profit than the car manufacturers themselves at the expense of the ordinary peoply who aspire to drive a car. The govt. income could come from more expensive unsubsidised fuels in that the more you travel the more you pay. Many countries does not tax imported cars so heavily and yet can run the govt. more efficiently and smoothly. The question is not income generating but to protect the sickening PROTON burdening the rakyat unnecessarily since mad Dr. Kutty goes into car. How long more do we the car lovers need to suffer, just get rid of BN and vote Pakatan. VOTE FOR CHANGE.

• So the book was launched yesterday. Any news about this?

Or was it a load of hot water?

• Sapu Malaysia on Mar 31, 2011 at 2:40 am

kereta malaysia ni overpriced due to tax rupanya.. proton jual overpriced gila2 pun rugi lg.. apa sebab? hehe.. sengal.. tease rakyat, god tease u back, ‘hand’ that control proton.. note this.. see how superior u r in the end.. overthrow ‘the controlling hand’ guys, not the party.. overhaul.. replace costly la.. mcm enjin kereta.. seems mereka semua ni mcm dah plan la.. x nampak lg ke?

p/s: when hard things come, always see with your heart, u will see it very clear..