Mitsubishi to end the life of Eclipse, Spyder and Endeavor

Mitsubishi’s older models aren’t doing very well in the USA, and some will be killed off. Those on death row are the Eclipse, Eclipse Spyder and Endeavor SUV, while the Galant’s future will be decided later, according to Yoichi Yokozawa, CEO of Mitsubishi Motors North America.

Production will stop in August this year, and the freed capacity at MMNA’s Illinois plant will be taken over by the Outlander Sport (ASX to us) starting next year. MMNA says that it will built 50,000 units of the compact crossover per year at the plant and export around half of that number.

The Eclipse is no stranger to those who have followed the Fast and Furious franchise. The second-gen Eclipse was driven by Paul Walker in the first F&F and in 2 Fast 2 Furious, Tyrese drove a third-gen Eclipse Spyder. The current fourth-gen Eclipse made its debut in 2006. The yellow car you see here sporting a Nissan GT-R style nose is a 2009 model year GT.

The Endeavor is an old school SUV built for the American market. It has never achieved sales targets since launch in 2003, and is not a surprise candidate for the chop, looking out of place among today’s smaller and more fuel efficient crossovers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Halem on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm

That the price they pay for Selling their engine to the Korean.

Now pay back Time.

• always love the fourth-gen Eclipse but is strict sold in U.s only ,now day it face discontinue too disappoint …..R.I.P

• punch buggy on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Evo X is also killed… R.I.P
      Mitsubishi Eclipse, the Ford Mustang rival, also killed… R.I.P
      but wait!!!

Mitsubishi should make the next generation Lancer so the Evo 11 will be based on it.

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm

same here, always love th eclipse… too bad usa market only

• Bronx on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Yes! they are not really popular in Canada. The two door Korean/ Japanese sports coupe cars that are selling very well here is the Hyundai Genesis Coupe.

• confused on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm

eclipse in one of my favorite ride in NFS Most Wanted.. RIP..

• yeah rire! on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Nooo, not the Eclipse! still saving $$$

• jflee169 on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Proton always will help to “develop” mitsubishi models.

• SeriuosSAM on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm

awwwwww

don’t be sad, I’m sure our beloved PROTON will kutip this dead eclipse

• kutip?? what u mean by that?? u think P1 is like P2 arr..kutib and use, and claim 600 malaysian engineers involved in the project… stupid basher!!

• Joanneshu on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

too ugly. period.

They should learn from Korean for car designing.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:25 pm

The Eclipse lost its selling point after they watered down the 3rd Gen.

Having owned 2 Eclipses and 2 Galants, its not without a heavy heart to see Mitsubishi’s downward spiral. In the early 90s, they had a trio of turbocharged AWD product line (Galant VR4, 3000GTO, Eclipse GSX) that is second to none.

With a later range of neither here nor there products like the Outlander (raised softroader version of the Airtrek), old lancers and the long in the tooth Galant, they just didn’t have the products to compete…

but however the new Lancer has been doing well, as well as the Evo X..

• bankrupted because of crony-ism and horny top executives. <- not a joke

• Mazzy on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Proton should buy out the eclipse platform and make it for their putra. Definitely will sell!!

• redboy on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Yes, the Eclipse is one of the cool car when in USA. even the 1st Gen gets lots of attraction back to 199x.

proton, please buy that for Putra replace! :)

• Mazzy on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Proton should buy out the eclipse platform and turnit to the putra!

• ForteLover on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

go buy forte koup….value for money,best in class performance….

• jumbo on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:03 pm

proton should rebadge eclipse, tune with lotus handling, and reduce the price. waulawei!!!

• Insider) on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Proton planning to reBadge Eclipse Spyder next year.

• destop on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:48 pm

how about selling the eclipse model to p1, rebadge it and sell it much cheaper in malay.sure sell like hot cakes

• destop on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:50 pm

dfs

• mansory on Apr 26, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Days go by and still I think of you… Days when I couldn’t live my life without you….
    (Wake up and drive) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OH0zWrDi6GA

we will always think of you Eclipse…

• meepok on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:46 pm

have always love th eclipse, drove one for a short period during my years in the state, bought my from a hongkee friend. During my time in the state side, most if not all oversea students that were able to buy a car would look enviously to those that drove the mitsu GTS(or is it gto), eclipse, toyota Celica, jetta 2.4 to 3.6 and the ultra cooool….. drum roll..- toyota Supra. the joke was why does all the foreign students that work part time in the Uni have to work at all for a min5.25 an hr.(that time) when the carpark are all fill with the cool cars, all better than the fac members/workers :)

And yes not to forget or get some readers here angry, other drooling cars for us at the time was, honda 2000, civic; both 2dr and 4dr US version, mazda “miyata”, and there was even a sing who bought a brand new 1st triptronic car by honda at the time, a honda prelude. And to the readers here, please list the cars that you have drove or love to have during your years oversea, be it study times or station oversea. Could be a fun list.

One thing that have bother me ever since then, was that none of us, either or all of us from jap, kor, mal, sing, indo, india, hk, even those form russia and china, in my UNI, have ever bought a US car. funny isn’t it.

Goodbye, or so long eclipse. Thank you for the great times that you have brought us. Will never forget you.

• aminlife on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Eclipse Spyder : Putra replacement model .. so good to be true

• Black Dog on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:34 pm

That’s why Proton can get Inspira so cheap! Very inspiring!

Malaysians still buying Mitsu just for the name. Many not aware that other car makers (esp Koreans) have over-taken them in terms of design & technology. Many ppl already complaining about the Tritons with so much problem. The cheaper version Triton looks like a vehicle from China! And surprisingly ppl buying ASX which cost over 150K yet have very bare basics compared to others.

• zusss on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Yo Black Dog, you got problem with Mitsu or what ah?? First of all, Tritons don’t give problems, and 2nd of all, ASX don’t cost that much. . . only 139K la bro! Check your facts first lah, ok??

• BD'sMaster on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:05 pm

technology?oh you mean engine start stop button?

• Lancer will be obsolete next after it was cloned here.