Skoda Fabia Greenline achieves 2,006 km on a single tank

Economy driving world champion Gerhard Plattner has taken a Skoda Fabia GreenLine from Austria to Denmark and back, a distance of 2,006 km, on just one 45 litre tankful of diesel. The Austrian began his journey on May 10 in Reutte, Austria, and made his way to Bov, Denmark before travelling back, mainly using Germany’s longest motorway, the A 7, for his trip.

The result means the 1.2 litre diesel-powered car achieved a record-low consumption of 2.21 litres per 100 km, a significant jump from the Europe-standardised model’s already frugal consumption of 3.4 l/100 km. The refuelling, as well as Plattner’s whole trip, were supervised by International Police Motor Corporation (IPMC), which also sealed the fuel tank before Plattner set out from Reutte.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• arcana on May 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm

TDi is the way to go……quality diesels for malaysians please and stop talking about subsidy burden when the quality is not even up to standards.

• littlefire on May 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Diesel rocks!!! Got any hybrid petrol or electric car can go so far with one full tank? Still some local manufacturer cant see it… and a lot of people awareness of diesel is “dirty” WTF! G please buck up Euro4 & bring in more better new technology diesel engine cars!

I forseen that Hybrid diesel is best hybrid compare to the current petrol hybrid cars… Just imagine with the current diesel engine can go so far.. add in hybrid technology, i think it maybe can reach another 300~500km easily..

• chris on May 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Woow!!!2k km frm 1 tankful of 45lit of diesel!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• DonkeyKong on May 16, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Was he driving at 50km/h with the air conditioning off, or was he driving like a normal human being would? A lot of these high-mileage challenges end up with participants driving in ways that totally doesn’t reflect everyday driving and hence their record-breaking distances doesn’t make any practical sense.

• Citroen Zx on May 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

i suspected so too..

• diesel is really more save compare to hybrid, u see alot of bmw, vw clean engine diesel more fuel efficient then hybrid.

as well u not worry abt the battery life right. but it had to be clean diesel lo…since malaysia diesel is not suite for the engine.

• likehondanotsomuch on May 17, 2011 at 11:52 am

hes a professional gas saver driver ,your suspicion is correct.

• Lets put it this way… given a petrol engine car with the same driving condition with this Skoda, there is no way it can pass the 2000km mark…

This challenge is meant for proof of technology… any Tom Dxck and Harry know normal driving condition can never beat those figures….

But I bet under normal driving condition, diesel technology beats petrol engine handsdown anytime..

also… why we need petrol hybrid anymore..

• jalan54 on May 16, 2011 at 4:17 pm

They should bring this car in so that we wouldn’t suffer when the government cut the petrol subsidies and increase the fuel price.

• Who needs a hybrid? Diesel is the future!

• ttooyyoottt on May 16, 2011 at 4:57 pm

LoL!! Petrol Station bankrupt la ini macam!

• Gavin on May 16, 2011 at 5:17 pm

diesel diesel diesel

malaysia really fed up with you

• jtiongwl78 on May 16, 2011 at 6:14 pm

This is something that can killed the two national car producer, as I believe that they can hardly achieve this.

Malaysia should grant tax exemption for the importation of such economical vehicle. If it is available, it will be very economical for our daily usage. If on highway is 2.21L/100km, then per km travel on the highway is only 4 cents per km, based on the price of the diesel at RM1.70 per liter.

• jtiongwl78 on May 17, 2011 at 2:02 pm

NAP is the one make you fed up. Bear in mind that. G in fact should give special exemption on tax, as what they do to hybrid cars, to such diesel vehicle.

• Seriously on May 16, 2011 at 5:37 pm

woah, seriously?

• nobody on May 16, 2011 at 5:40 pm

What is his optimum driving speed?

For all you petrol-heads, I want to know, how do we calculate or know a car’s optimum driving speed for maximum fuel economy? Do we refer to the RPM? Or do we need to get the graph of the car’s speed vs RPM or something else?

• jtiongwl78 on May 16, 2011 at 6:11 pm

If they did the driving test based on EURONCAP standards, then the data shall have certain % of reliabilty. But if it is that economy may be is for highway consumption, as based on the report above, it take most of its journey along the highway and I believe the travelling speed consistency is maintained.

Dont know how much is the fuel consumption for city driving?

• jalan54 on May 16, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Believe with fuel consumption like this, even if you step the throttle to the max, the fuel consumption is still low compare to any of the petrol and hybrid vehicles.

• lonelyobserve on May 16, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Refer this one:

http://www.skoda-auto.com/SiteCollectionDocuments/Catalogue/NewFabia/FL/25_GreenLine_Catalogue_ENG.pdf

Urban fuel consumption is 4.1L/100km.

• wow, urban at 4.1l/100km….If urban real world FC (ie wt sudden acceleration to get away from junction/mad busses & trucks) at 5 liter/100km will be great!

• Kelvin on May 16, 2011 at 11:47 pm

On an average car with average drag coefficient (~0.3), driving at 90km/h with as low rpm as possible should be optimum. Drag increases exponentially with speed.

• I don’t mind paying RM2.90/liter of Euro4 diesel….provided, abolish those car taxes and we can buy this for RM35K….real world driving/commuting realistic to achieve 3.5liter/100km wt this skoda or Polo Bluemotion/Fiesta econetic….plus, this small cc diesel cars have enough torque at low rev to put any 1.8 liter ivtec/vvti/mivec to shame!

• lonelyobserve on May 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Correct. That’s the mighty of turbo engine. Better torque and fuel consumption.

• speedywinger on May 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm

No aircond, driving at 50km/hr.. no overtaking.. only a gentle tap on the accelerator.. and the police escort in a slow mo drive.. that’s why he is able to achieve that.. hmm..

• Vincent on May 16, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Nar.. bolehland big G.. this is the solution for tramsportation and the never ending subsidy…

Let give 0 tax for those car that can achieved lower than 5 little fuel per 100KM.

End up, you can remove the subsidy, save billions a year and rakyat remain enjoying fuel price of Rm0.10 per KM.

• ilovefuelsavingcar on May 16, 2011 at 10:20 pm

now there is solution to cut down petrol subsidy, but would the government have any problem to bring in this car? or wait for proton to come out with that kind of cars N years later? change the car policies or change the government, please… :)

• jtiongwl78 on May 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm

NAP is there to prevent the implementation of such system. Dr. M, I am sure will be the first one who oppose. Bear in mind that. PM N listen to him and take his advise.

• shawal on May 16, 2011 at 10:56 pm

they should do it with 5 people on board with travel bags for 5 in the back

• Carl Wong on May 17, 2011 at 12:29 am

Yet another GREAT ACHIEVEMENT :]!!!! 2000km+ per tank for long distance FINALLY!!! But I would like to know what was his cruising speed? For most sedans the cruising speed for optimum fuel efficiency is believed to be 70-90km/h. And the car is not even that aerodynamically efficient compared to the likes of Toyota Prius and Honda Insight. Keep it up :)!!

• Carl Wong on May 17, 2011 at 12:31 am

The car’s emission rating is already Euro 5 standard, we’re still light years behind for diesel.

• fantausy on May 17, 2011 at 8:55 am

If government using this car or better quality diesel, I think their subsidy can cut by at least half!!

• jtiongwl78 on May 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Dr. M will hate you. As this will kill his beloved Proton.

• Jerry on May 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm

I think more details of the run are required. But a 2.21 km/L car is very tempting.

• Ash Menon on May 17, 2011 at 2:45 pm

I think you mean 2.21 L / 100km ?

But honestly, even if it shot up to about 5L / 100KM with some heavy footing and air-con full blast, it’s still pretty awesome.